Course Extinct
Storrs, CT
St. Paul's Collegiate Park DGC Share
Uploaded By: solomon.trenton Hole #3 (Taken 6/2010)
3 / 247ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #3 Basket to Tee



Reviews: 6
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
 

1    2/19/2012   2/19/2012
Review By: dclogic
Played: 37  Reviewed: 4  Exp: 2.9 Years
Pros: This course is fun. It is not a chamionship course, but for what it is I had fun. Lot's of trees. Tee boxes were clear, signs to the next hole were mostly good.
Cons: Hole 6 was confusing
Other Thoughts: Don't knock it. For what space they had, it is a good course

 Thread the needle (course redesign)

1    6/15/2010   6/16/2010
Review By: solomon.trenton
Played: 73  Reviewed: 66  Exp: 5.6 Years
10 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: The redesign has worked wonders with the course. There are no more "ridge" shots and the navigation is much better. There are scorecards available in a mailbox on the way to hole one and loaners available in the church office. Tee signs and next tee signs are bright, clear and easily visible. The pathways in between holes are lined with felled trees and clear of leaves. Most of the holes are short but have well placed baskets that make for some difficult putts. Even though the baskets are Disccather portable's they are in near new condition. The holes themselves defiantly make you work on your finese shots as this is one of the most heavily wooded courses I have ever played. If you want to work onyour short finese game come and play here. There is also a dumpster for trash and recyclables as well.
Cons: Some of the holes are too tight. The first tee comes into mind; two trees at the edge of the tee box three feet apart. I had to tee off a few feet behind them because I didnt want to hit my hand. Even with bug spray mosquitos are abundant, especially in the totally shaded holes. Because all of the baskets are portable they are chained to a tree with some thick chain and it could interfere with some of your putts. There are no stairs to six or sevens basket. This is dangerous because they are on the peak a ridge and difficult to get to. While the redesign is great the fairways need to be cleared after hole three. Hole four had a lot of underbrush and five had no discernable fairway. While the distances are posted on the signs I am not sure they are accurate.
Other Thoughts: The entrance to the course is near a small cluster of trees off to the right if the entrance.

10 of 10 people found this review helpful.

 What a strange course!

1    10/6/2009   10/6/2009
Review By: KazamaSmokers
Played: 24  Reviewed: 7
2 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: First three holes are great. Last couple holes are pretty good as well.
Cons: Heavily wooded with some undergrowth badly needing to be cleared. Swampy areas. Hole 6 is insane.
Other Thoughts: Not much in the way of signage, and the dense growth makes it easy to get a little lost. I never did find hole 4. Hole 6 is the most ludicrous thing I've ever played. Whether you think it's a great hole or not depends on whether you have a death wish or not. One slip on the narrow ridge and you would tumble down a good 20-25 feet onto rocks.

2 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 

1    8/20/2009   8/23/2009
Review By: SaturnDiscGolfer
Played: 96  Reviewed: 2  Exp: 6.2 Years
1 Helpful / 4 Not
Pros: Free play, closer to UConn campus.
Cons: No tee boxes, few baskets to next tee boxes are TOO CLOSE! Need trimming blocked view toward baskets because too many low branches. Poor direction basket to next tee boxes for first timers. Heavy bloodsuckers during summertime.
Other Thoughts: Hope course need improving better in someday! I might come back.

1 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 they put it in with out the work

1    6/27/2009   7/3/2009
Review By: gottafixit
Played: 413  Reviewed: 66  Exp: 11.1 Years
4 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: they had baskets?
Cons: Many, will explain below.
Other Thoughts: You park by the front of the building and go to the front right corner of the building. Find the mailbox in the trees and head on in. You will be able to follow the path to the first tee. the signs are pretty good marking the tees(natural), and there is a sign next to the baskets as well with it's number on it. The first few holes don't seem that bad just really crowded and under defined fairways, and navigation wasn't hard either if you had the map. At this point the only thing pissing you off are all the bugs eating you alive. You are now at the forth tee and wondering where the basket is as there isn't really a fairway to speak of, and you follow a path to find it kinda far away. I think the 5th and 6th tee signs got swapped as we found the 6th tee sign first in what on the map looked like the 5ths spot and vise verse, and again crappy fairway definition. I will say that in theory the ridge hole(5 or 6?) I thought was cool, huge risk verse reward as the fairway is technically the top of 177ft low clearance ridge, that if you don't stay atop you end up 15 ft down shooting up. 7 and 8 bring you back out into the field behind the church and then 9 they actually cleared a long tunnel threw the woods to brings you back to the front of the parking lot.

Overall this course was just not defined enough if at all on some holes and will need some major work before this course is fully playable. I would hope that in the winter it might be a bit easier to play as things might die down and the bugs might go away but I would rather go the few miles down the road to the UConn object course than fight these nine baskets.

4 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 A little rediculous

1    4/23/2008   1/23/2009
Review By: invidious
Played: 11  Reviewed: 11  Exp: 9 Years
4 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Close to UCONN, free.
Cons: Almost every hole is in dense woods, you are basically playing along a trail. It really limits how you can play and makes is almost impossible to be competative.

Certain holes are borderline dangerous as they have you playing along ridges that drop off 20+ feet. One hole even has you tee off on a giant mount of dirt/sand.
Other Thoughts: Very strange course, I probably wouldnt go back.

4 of 4 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.