Stevens Point, WI 
Standing Rocks Share
Uploaded By: TenaciousMV Hole #E6
3 / 167ft.   3 / 229ft.   3 / --   3 / -- Par / Distance:
Hole #E6 Tee



Reviews: 30
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
< Prev 1 2 3
Standing Rocks - Middle & East

1    8/31/2013   9/1/2013
Review By: CaptainMo
Played: 35  Reviewed: 2  Exp: 18.4 Years
0 Helpful / 4 Not
Pros: > Nice rolling terrain and woodsy scenery.
> Really nice "greens" and basket placements. It felt like someone planned and cared about the course.
> Clearly marked hole maps and directions made getting around really easy on the first time through.
> Most of the holes felt really natural; that is, they clearly demanded one or two specific shots/flight paths.
Cons: > No benches or trash cans.
> Not many long holes. All but 1 or 2 were between 200' and 300'.
Other Thoughts: Really cool course. I'd definitely play it again when I'm in the area. Didn't have time to play the west loop this time. I really liked how a majority of the holes felt like some thought had gone into their design.

0 of 4 people found this review helpful.

Excellent Example

5+    9/1/2012   3/24/2013
Review By: in4d
Played: 17  Reviewed: 3  Exp: 9.2 Years
1 Helpful / 6 Not
Pros: Best Course available in Central Wisconsin.
Great Variations from long to short holes
Hilly ups and down with cliffs that make some holes very challenging and technical.
With 36 holes its a full day of enjoyment and absolutely worth the $4
Well maintained and beautiful course in a breathtaking hillside setting
Great pads for tee off
Always enjoyable people to talk to, great community of disc golfers play at SR
Mutliple Pin placements that get moved around periodically to change things up and keep it interesting year round.
Largest variety of angles, hyzers, anhyzer, gaps, straight fairways, uphill, downhill, over valleys to pins on top of hills, GREAT fun for experienced players!
Cons: Not many places to sit down and take a breather after walking up and down hills.
Could have better tee signs that are more accurate.
Would be nice to have a Full 36, maybe in the future.
Other Thoughts: If your deciding whether or not to check SR out.. don't think twice, its a course you will never regret checking out at least once.

1 of 7 people found this review helpful.

Fun for everyone!

1    8/25/2012   11/28/2012
Review By: notapro
Played: 419  Reviewed: 280  Exp: 11.2 Years
9 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: - Course is set in a large county park that has a lot of land to work with. It is a multi-use park with biking/hiking trails and whatnot, but there didn't seem to be many chances for interference. There are three separate loops here; they can be played independently of each other if desired.
- Lots of wooded areas here, which provides a fantastic variety of shots and lines. There are RHBH annys and flicks, like a sharp one on #E2 and #E11, and some gentler ones on #E6 and #M1. Abundance of hyzers of course, like some sharp ones on #W12 and #M7, and more subtle curves on #M2 and #E3. Also a ton of straight shots, of varying difficulty. Also a good amount of holes that offer a few different lines to the basket. #E7 is a tricky hyzer or a RHFH flex shot, and #M4 and #W9 offer a left or right curve to get around a copse of trees.
- A good majority of these wooded holes are on the shorter side, but demand creative shots to reach the basket. This allows for a lot of birdie chances, BUT, there is definitely the chance to bogey these same holes with a poor shot. It is definitely fun... if the shots are clean.
- Other holes are much longer, with straighter lines to the baskets. These rely on nasty rough/jail off the fairways to punish errant shots. With some tight gaps in the fairway, and some spots approaching tunnel status, it does not take much to throw an errant shot. These are very tough from start to finish. #W1, #W2, and #M8 fit this bill; easily par 4's. #W6 is another par 4; an uphill shot that finishes hard right into a clearing in the woods.
- One of the best features of the terrain at this park is the constant hilliness, which is used extensively. Lots of subtle ups and downs, and slopes left to right, as well as some more extreme examples. Keeps everything fresh and exciting. Some standouts include a steep downhill shot on #E1, a nasty rollaway potential on #E8, an uphill shot on #W6, a nasty valley on #E12, etc. etc. Lots of elevation changes!
- Some tricky basket placements here and there to add more difficulty, plenty behind trees, on a slope, next to a giant rock, next to a big dropoff, and so on. Hitting the lines is crucial to stay out of trouble, shaping the shot to land exactly where you want it goes a very long way to gather the birdies as well.
- Rubber pads are in good shape, as well as the baskets. Navigational signs really help to get around, especially between the various loops. Map definitely helps the first time through, as you switch the east loop after six on the main loop.
Cons: - The one thing missing at this course is any water; the main punishment for any errant shot is recovering from the woods or the rough. Not a big con, there just isn't any water present.
- There are a lot of short holes here, with 1/3 being under 230'. Might be a little bit of a let down for power players, but there are definitely longer ones to balance it out.
Other Thoughts: - Well, not much more to say. This course delivers! Lots of short, tricky, and interesting birdie opportunities; some tough longer holes to test any level of player, and lots in between. Shooting left, right, up, down, around and through the woods while avoiding jail, rough, and rollaways from start to finish will keep you on your toes. Lots of fun while still providing a challenge.
- With the option to mix and match between the different loops, this course is perfect for nearly anyone. Advanced players will love the west loop, beginners might want to stay away to keep the scores low.

9 of 9 people found this review helpful.

Standing Rocks ROCKS!!!

1    10/26/2012   11/2/2012
Review By: harr0140
Played: 737  Reviewed: 478  Exp: 5.8 Years
12 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: 1) Fairly well done rubber teepads . . . (see also negatives) but overall these rubber mats are better than bare dirt.
2) Signs have distance and a general hole layout.
3) The leaf cover in the woods is appreciated this time of year, as I am sure this would be a negative in the summertime when there is no leaf cover only bare soil and rocks on the ground.
4) Nice mature hardwood trees on this course . . . something that really makes it beautiful and also presents a challenge.
5) Very unique boulders all over the course . . . must be where the name "Standing Rocks" comes from.
6) Excellent directional signage to get you from hole to hole.
7) Excellent elevation changes on this course including some rolling hills. There is variety even in the elevation change . . . how awesome is that.
8) There is a really decent flow on these 3 sections of one course. They work well going from hole to hole but also from West to Middle to East. The signage is helpful, but it simply flows well on its own even.
9) Excellent distance variation on this course. This is a key design ingredient for me.
10) Excellent shot shaping requirements with the need to be able to throw left to right and right to left. The hills add in additional challenge to the shot making.
11) Nice kiosk at the beginning of the course. It shows a nice layout of the 3 sections of course. You can certainly decide where to start (and I chose west then middle and east) If you prefer a specific 9 or 12 holes you can easily play just those holes as each section plays its way back near the parking lot.
12) There is a pit toilet at the beginning of the West course. It's a lot of holes (33) to be played without the use of one toilet.
13) Very healthy grass even in the heart of the woods . . . keep it up whoever is working on this course.
14) DGA powder coated blue baskets . . .they look nice and help with spotting them in the woods.
15) Distance variation is awesome with holes from the 100's all the way to the 400's and everything in between.
16) Incredibly clean woods . . . meaning very little buckthorn, honeysuckle and other undesirable rough plant material. Keep it that way as long as you can please!
Cons: 1) The only issue I see with the tee-pads is the fact that the corners of the gravel underneath the rubber is falling away. These will eventually be unusable and the rubber will be worthless if this is not resolved.
2) I imagine during the growing season . . . the ground would be slippery because there is no leaf cover. I played in the fall when almost all of the ground had leaf cover making what would be bare soil or mud (in wet conditions) decent to walk on because of an inch of fallen leaves.
3) There are a lot of stump trippers around the course . . . but at least they have painted the stumps with paint so people can more easily see the stumps.
4) Gravel short tees leave a bit to be desired. Most of them are ok, but a handful of them have eroded enough to be nearly unusable or simple like teeing off of bare ground.
5) Little to no garbage cans throughout the course . . . I guess they expect the disc golfers to pack in and pack out. While the ideal is correct, the realistic view is that garbage will still be found on the course. I did pick up a handful of beverage containers around the course and tote them back to the garbage.
Other Thoughts:
Not much else needs to be said about this course . . . there are so many positives and so few negatives . . . you have to agree this is one of WI finest courses. It may not be top3 in the state overall . .. but it exemplifies what WI disc golf is all about. It has a little bit of everything, albeit heavily weighted towards the tight wooded holes.

I will say this . . . this course is a solid 4.25-4.35 course . . . I just cannot rate it 4.50 or better because some of the negatives are preventable with minor changes or improvements . . . but it hardly took away from my first trip here!

12 of 12 people found this review helpful.

 very fun short course!

1    4/28/2012   10/24/2012
Review By: IHearChains
Played: 120  Reviewed: 19
3 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: Disclaimer -- I played this course during the Standing Rocks Open tournament, and I am not sure how different the regular layout is, but I had the impression the tourney layout has a handful of temporary holes. My review pertains to the tourney layout only.

There are two parts of the course, an older shorter course, and a longer course with a few newer holes. Both are built on very hilly, wooded, and rocky terrain that is well-suited to challenging disc golf. However, both courses are mostly par 3 golf.

On the older course, almost every hole is a deuce run. Still it is challenging because of the technical lines through the woods, on most holes there is a good chance you'll end up scrambling for par after a tree kick. Even though some players might end up throwing a lot of midranges off the teepad, there are a lot of different shots needed, because there's a good mix of uphill and downhill, left/right/straight fairways. But the max distance drivers won't get much use on this course. There is one big downhill throw about 600ft down a ski hill (I think this was a temp hole) and the day I was here Will Shusterick was throwing putters at it. I threw driver and didn't make it. :-|

The newer course is a tougher challenge, several of the holes required more thoughtful disc choice and line shaping. There were also a few holes that had wider fairways where you could let 'er rip, kind of nice after playing the shorter old part of the course.

I took advantage of the camping at Lake Emily campground which was a pretty large campground. I didn't see the whole thing but the part I camped in was built into a sweet pine grove, it was nice and I would recommend it.

The whole area is beautiful and would be fun to hike around in, even without throwing plastic, so if natural beauty is important in choosing your disc golf courses, this one gets a bonus for that.
Cons: The older part of the course seems to have been designed in a different era of disc technology, and needs an updated redesign to fully take advantage of the beautiful terrain. Even if it means the number of holes is fewer, I think the course could be improved by a complete redesign to include several legitimate par 4 and par 5 holes.

There are no water hazards, and OB looks like it would rarely be a factor. Penalties for going in the rough were not all that bad when I was there, but might be worse during mid-summer.
Other Thoughts: All in all, I would say this is a great course for a relaxing day of golf suitable for lots of different skill levels, and I would definitely stop there again and have fun. But is not the supreme challenge that would warrant giving it a 4 rating or higher.

3 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 The best in central WI, period.

5+    8/29/2012   9/25/2012
Review By: wolfhaley
Played: 152  Reviewed: 113  Exp: 10.5 Years
4 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: 33 holes! Theres 3 different loops that can all be played together as one 33 hole loop or in different configurations for many different ways to play. Theres a 12 hole east loop, 9 hole mid loop and 12 hole west loop. The mid loop is where you would start at to play the whole 33 hole layout. You play the first 6 holes on the mid loop then cross the road and play the whole east loop, cross back over the road and finish the last 3 on the mid loop, then walk west and finish with the last 12 on the west loop. This sounds way harder than it actually is, especially by reading about it. The signage directing you thru the course is top level here, again its sooo well marked that the map is almost unnescessary. Excellent mach 5 baskets which are one of the best in my opinion. Very hilly area which is used very well here. The $4 to play this is alomost to cheap, you get what you pay for and then some. Solid signs at each and every hole with hole layout and distance plus loop and hole number. The landscaping here is unbelievable! It's called standing rocks for a reason, you gotta see the design of this course...I've never seen anything like it, beyond gorgeous. Theres a huge wooden sign with all the holes color coded by loop and numbers engraved into the wood before hole 1 of the mid loop. The map offered is accurate and will help tremendously to newcomers of this course. Very clean course. Garbage cans throughout, but again if you pack it in you should be able to pack it out. Like i've said in other reviews this is a Randy Shukar designed course, which are all top notch, and this is the crown jewel of them all in my opinion. Fair lines on all holes. Fair not simple, You gotta be accurate here, smart with shot selection too. Rollaways can kill you. A thinking mans course, execution will only get you so far, strategy is a key factor here. Bathrooms located just before the start of the west loop. The west loop offers more distance compared to the other 2 loops. Bugs never seem too bad here, though having bug spray playing disc golf in WI should be a no brainer. Almost all shorter but extra technical. Hole 1 on the east loop is an awesome downhill bomb, Super fun hole! Minimal walking between holes too, however you WILL be walking, up, down and across steep hills. Pretty hard to lose a disc here. Only about 15 minutes south of stevens point, so a great day of discin awaits with Yulga, Mead Park, and Mcdill Pond minutes away. And if you wanted Big Eau Pleine (another Randy Shukar designed course) Under an hour away for a ton of options to choose from for an awesome day(s) of disc golf. A MUST PLAY!
Cons: The black rubber mats get really slick in spots. When they get dirt on them they're at their worst. Just be careful. Pay to play but like I said its totally worth it. Open May 1st to October 31st, however the work they do when its closed shows up trifold every May. Besides the tees and maybe a lack of alternate pins and tees theres nothing you can honestly complain about here.
Other Thoughts: All I can tell you is this is a must play course. It's rated this high for a reason, its phenomenal. Many other fantastic courses nearby too (Yulga, Big Eau Pleine) and even very underappreciated 9 holers too (Waupaca H.S. and McDill Pond).However a whole day of discin here would be good enough in itself, and physically taxing enough for most, but the option is still there for it. Make sure to bring enough liquid! This course will test the best. I can't stress enough how great this course is. If even remotely close, take a trip here. Will not disappoint, guaranteed.

4 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 Beautiful, but Short

1    9/1/2012   9/10/2012
Review By: steinkecm
Played: 43  Reviewed: 4  Exp: 8.7 Years
1 Helpful / 6 Not
Pros: Lots of technical shots
Great signage
Lots of holes to make P2P worth it
Beautiful area
Cons: Very few benches
A few signs are a bit "off"
Quite short. Only a few holes break the 400+ mark. It doesn't take a whole lot of arm to park most holes.
Other Thoughts: I would have preferred less holes for more distance, but overall this course was well worth the trip.

1 of 7 people found this review helpful.

 A Fav

1    4/4/2007   8/14/2012
Review By: mndiscg
Played: 348  Reviewed: 342  Exp: 6.4 Years
10 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: -Nice parking lot with bathroom near the loops, big course sign with map, maps and scorecards at pay station.
-It is 33 holes!
-Nice baskets which are different color based on which loop of the course you are on.
-Course is designed so that you can play a big combination of holes. Options:
Just West 12 holes
West and Mid 21 holes
Mid and East 21 holes
East 12 holes
All 33 holes
I guess you could skip the mid loop and play the others but it would take a lot of walking.
-Nice tee signs, very informative. Good for the blind shots.
-Great elevation use. There is shots uphills, downhills, on the side of hills, valley type shots, fast greens. This really adds to the course.
-The course is very wooded and challenging but almost all the holes have good lines and are fair.
-The tee pads are good and are big, grippy rubber pads.
-This course caters to all levels of players. Some parts of the course were longer than others. I would recommend the mid loop for beginners with the exception of hole 8. The East loop was a little harder and many of the long holes are found in the West loop.
-This course is very clean. I attribute that to its remote location and pay to play. It is well worth the 4 dollars.
-All the rock formations are cool. I really liked the basket locations of M8 and 9.
-Lots of wildlife. I came quite close to deer on M2 when I play early in the morning.
-This course isn't very busy. Again, I attribute that to its remote location and pay to play.
-I have mentioned the remote location a few times. You are in the Wisco Woods out here. You are going to see only other park users and not too many of those even. I really appreciate this setting.
-Next tee signs are needed in woods like these and are there on almost every hole.
-Finding discs off the fairway is very easy for a wooded course. Not saying that you won't lose one but the brush is pretty controlled here.
-This course truly requires all kinds of shots to be successful. It is very important to have a controlled drive on many of the holes or you will be off the fairway hitting trees. There are longer holes but they are still fairly wooded. There are right and left turning holes and many many ups and downs. One hole has a huge dogleg to the right. Like 90 degrees. This course contains everything but water in its 33 holes.
Cons: -This course isn't as long as a true championship course but that doesn't mean that it doesn't have its longer holes or that it isn't challenging.
-It is also missing the water factor that a true championship course needs (unless it's a mountain course)
-All the possible cons for a wooded course: bugs, muddy, erosion. They weren't really a factor when I played but I could see them being an issue.
-Some may find pay to play as a con but I don't. It is only 4 dollars and this course is a beautiful 33 holes. Well worth the money.
Other Thoughts: This course is great. I had high expectations for it and it even exceeded them. I think this course is better than its high ranking on this site because many of those reviews are from before this course was 33 holes and before the signage was put in. If this course was a little longer I would have given it a 5 for sure. more props to Randy for the design and maintenance of this course. I would stop in and play at Yulga as well if I were in the area again.

10 of 10 people found this review helpful.

 One of Wisconsin's Finest

2-4    8/4/2012   8/14/2012
Review By: Fighter
Played: 35  Reviewed: 13
2 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: + Elevation and Wooded beauty
+ Landscaping of rock structures on pins and pads
+ Grippy Rubber Mats
+ Loop design options
+ Incredible variety of shots
+ Tight, technical fairway design
Cons: - Sometimes overgrowth can be an issue for disc hunting on semi-blind holes
- Bugs can be a concern
Other Thoughts: One of top 5 favorites I've played. This course brings elevation, tight fairways, left and right turns all together into a very challenging course. A little length would give this course the final bump it needs to be the top tier of the state, but even now its such a phenomenal design that won't disappoint. Tournament layout bomber hole down the ski hill would be a great permanent addition if possible.

2 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 Standing Rocks DGC

1    5/27/2012   5/27/2012
Review By: DiscGolfer947
Played: 34  Reviewed: 23  Exp: 4.2 Years
This review was updated on 6/8/2012
3 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: 1) For being mats the tee pads are surprisingly grippy, even when wet.
2) Great design, good mix of left right and straight holes. Uphill, downhill, sidehill, cliffs, valleys, this course has got it.
3) Great baskets, catch awesomely.
4) Good variation of distances, the first 19 holes (for the most part, are under 300ft but very technical. Then hole M8 (the infamous Barry Shultz hole) and on the course has got some daunting distance. A few par 4 holes on the west loop, and they remain just a technical as the mid and east loops.
5) VERY wooded while still remaining fair.
6) course is very clean (thanks to the 4 dollar fee keeping the chuckers out)
Cons: 1) not a single bench or trash can on the entire course, but the rocks made good benches in some areas.
2) Only ONE hole that is not in the woods, and it still finishes in the woods. Playing so many tight and technical shots is quite mentally draining.
3) A little confusing in places, sign for hole W9 is completely missing and some signs are wrong. But other than that navigation is fairly easy.
Other Thoughts: This is an amazing course and should not be passed up for any reason. It is quite the hike, bring lots of liquids, your hiking shoes, and about 3 hours of your time...you'll need it. Benches and trash cans on all the holes and concrete tees would make this a no brainer 5/5 disc course.

3 of 4 people found this review helpful.

< Prev 1 2 3

Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.