Stevens Point, WI 
Standing Rocks Share
Uploaded By: lteppen Hole #W10 (Taken 9/2012)
3 / 176ft.   3 / 176ft.   -- / --   -- / -- Par / Distance:
Hole W10 Tee



Reviews: 30
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
  Best in Central Wisc

5+    5/1/2012   5/1/2012
Review By: plex
Played: 19  Reviewed: 1
This review was updated on 5/5/2012
4 Helpful / 4 Not
Pros: Challenging course in the woods with a large variety of shots, angles, and distances on all of its 33 holes. Spectacular rock work, landscaping and tree placement makes it a beautiful course for the whole family to enjoy. I like the "middle of the woods" atmosphere. I am confident that many great disc golfers will develop because of this well designed course. Standing Rocks constantly forces me to improve my disc control because of all the tight angles and gaps. Standing Rocks is the best course i have played in central Wisconsin.
Cons: I can think of 1 or 2 holes that seem to be "connectors" in order to get from one tee to the next... would be nice if a little more creativity and work was done on these connector holes to make this course perfect.
Other Thoughts: The $4 fee to play eliminates the "scrubs" and routy teens who seem to invade most of the other free to play courses in my area. Its truly enjoyable and tranquil playing at Standing Rocks. No trash laying on the ground, No Vandalism, No bullshit!

4 of 8 people found this review helpful.

 A superb course in the state of WI.

5+    10/31/2010   11/29/2010
Review By: link_smitty42205
Played: 63  Reviewed: 7  Exp: 7.2 Years
11 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: 33 holes!!! The variety is endless. The different loops play to all styles of players. If you want a great day of disc golf, that is also rather challenging, all 33 holes is just a blast.

The elevation play is great when you compare it to most courses in central Wisconsin, which are for the most part flat, and the obstacles (mostly trees and rocks) are endless. Accuracy is a must!

Multiple tee pads and pin locations on nearly all the holes. The new holes are still under a little bit of construction but overall they are coming together very nicely. The tee pads were uneven on a lot of the original holes, but they have gotten leveled off and compacted before the park was closed this year.

The terrain and the area is simply beautiful (A fall trip should be a must if you plan on visiting). I love playing this course every time I am there. The name is Standing Rocks for a reason.

The landscaping and work done on the holes is hard to overlook. Randy and the volunteers have done a great job on this course and have obviously taken great pride in the work they do on it.

I love the accuracy and finesse required to play this course. It may not have many long holes, but you can't come to this course and just chuck it and expect to score well. You need to have a strategy and know your bag.

You get the bang for your buck. I have played 18 hole courses that charge you upwards of 5 dollars. 3 dollars to play 33 holes??!?!! You can't ask for a better deal if you ask me. The season pass did go up to $25 this year, but you can see the money is being put right back into the course, which makes it worth it.

I could go on and on about the positives of this course, but it is my home course (I feel VERY privileged to live within 15 miles of it) and it is a great course that everyone should play if they get a chance.
Cons: I love this course, but there is a reason its a 4-disc review, for there are a three major cons:

Lack of distance. Granted the new loop has some long holes, they are still holes you need to have an accurate 200 to 300 foot drive and then have a great up shot because of all the obstacles. This loop was built to make golfers utilize all parts of their game. STRATEGY!! Ace runs on the west loop are pretty much non-existent. There are a lack of shots you can just open up and wing it without worrying about hitting a tree. I think every course should have at least one or two holes that let you just chuck it without worrying about hitting something. I really wish the parks dept. would allow the use of the ski hills by the ski lodge for some holes!!! The new west loop does play the edge on one of the holes, but to be able to throw down the hills all the time, not just in tournaments, would make this course a 5 discer, no questions asked. Then Bear lake would also come into play as well!

The general flow of the course, even though it is much improved with new signs, proper hole numbers, and maps at a kiosk in the parking lot, is very confusing for newcomers.The course can be confusing if you have never played it. I direct people to the proper holes almost every other time I am there. I remember the first time I played it and I struggled finding the next holes in a few spots. But, like I said, it has improved drastically towards the end of the summer.

Lack of a water hazard is my last major bug-a-boo. The lake on the property is not a legit hazard, unless your disc gets a mind of its own and overcomes the odds to dodge about a hundred trees on the two holes on the east loop you can see it from, (east loop #'s 8 and 9 - which are two of the easier holes on the course) you are staying dry on this course.

One minor con for me is that it is out of your way to make it to the course, even though it is worth it. Most people probably overlook this negative, but it is still a negative.

Other Thoughts: The hole numbers in the pictures uploaded by tenaciousMV are now invalid. The whole course is renumbered properly in three different loops:

The west loop-12 is the newest addition and has some very technical shots. These are holes that require you to bring your A-game to really stay around par when playing your standard par-3. Good Luck!

The mid-loop 9 (minus the newly added first two holes and the very last hole) and the east-loop 12 is the original 18-hole course. You can play these 21 holes and do fairly well if you can control your drives and make putts. The holes are all shorter, with mid-loop #8 being the longest at over 400 ft (aka the Barry Schultz hole) and hardest par on that part of the course.

Play with a local if you get a chance, you will probably learn a lot about the course and the dedication and hard work that goes into maintaining it.

Standing Rocks is gradually becoming a premiere course to visit not only in central Wisconsin, but in the entire state if you ask me. Some people would probably already say it is. Big props go out to Randy and the Ace Holes from UWSP and all the hard work and man hours they have put into the course. It shows.

Don't forget the bug spray and something to drink, for there is some hiking and the bugs are bad in the summer after rains.

11 of 11 people found this review helpful.

 Constant Improvement

5+    10/29/2010   11/2/2010
Review By: Dr Derek
Played: 136  Reviewed: 6  Exp: 9.1 Years
This review was updated on 6/27/2011
5 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: An unbelievable 33 hole course with 3 unique loops for various skill levels.

New 12-hole West Loop is already very well manicured and looking great! These West Loop holes add another dimension of play to the Standing Rocks disc golf course, namely distance.

Cons: Course is closed from Nov. 1st to Apr. 30
Bummer...
Other Thoughts: If you live in Wisconsin and haven't played this course, DO IT!

The hole signs have all been redone and renumbered, and are color coded between the 3 loops.

From the parking lot, you may start on the West Loop of 12 holes, or start on the Mid-Connect Loop.

To play 9 holes: Play the Mid-Loop only

To play 21 holes: Start on the Mid-Loop, and cross the road after Mid hole 6 to East hole 1.
After East-Loop 12 you cross the road again and finish on Mid-Loop holes 7-9.

To play 33 holes: same as 21 holes, but you decide to play the West-Loop either first or last.

5 of 6 people found this review helpful.

 Best in Central WI

2-4    7/21/2010   8/23/2010
Review By: Bushmaster
Played: 9  Reviewed: 9  Exp: 9.3 Years
This review was updated on 8/27/2010
0 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: Awesome use of elevation changes. The tee shot might be downhill and then you have to shoot uphill to the basket. Huge boulders throughout the course. Every hole is a little different, none of the holes seem the same.
Cons: Currently underconstruction and can be a little confusing.
Other Thoughts: This course is a must play if your in the area and is definetly worth driving longer distances to play here. The work and thought that has gone into this course has payed off. When the construction is done and the extra 18 is finished this course will be phenomenal. My favorite course I've played so far.

0 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 Standing On Some Rocks In My Mountain Of Dreams...

5+    5/15/2010   7/5/2010
Review By: Ace D
Played: 33  Reviewed: 15  Exp: 14.2 Years
This review was updated on 10/7/2010
4 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Unprecedented variety of holes. Beautiful views of lake and well-aged, sculpted forest leave a lasting impression. Large boulders and mature trees dominate the landscape, adding an artistic quality to the park. Tee pads and hole areas are frequently surrounded by deliberately placed rocks that serve to create flat, side-hill areas. Semi-soft, black rectangular pads make for mostly-flat tee areas. Most holes have two sets of tees. Roughly half of the holes have one obvious flight path while other half have a couple distinct possibilities. For example, hole 2 has a nice path for backhand hyzer, mirrored by a sidearm hyzer route. Even mix of flat, downhill, and uphill shots. Signs with distances and maps are present on all holes. The $3 daily pass and $20 season pass fees, as well as distance from major cities, seem to discourage casual groups of golfers who may mistreat course with slow play or vandalism. Majority of course is carpeted by leaves, wood chips, or well-maintained grass.
Cons: Big arms will be left unsatisfied by lack of 400+ foot holes and open holes. This course requires some finesse throws, so those who cannot command hyzer, anhyzer, and sweeping S-curve shots may become frustrated. Deep woods course can get buggy during wet summers.
Other Thoughts: Course is now up to 33 holes.

4 of 5 people found this review helpful.

Fun wooded course

2-4    6/3/2012   6/15/2010
Review By: mashnut
Played: 813  Reviewed: 749  Exp: 12.4 Years
This review was updated on 7/27/2012
5 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: The course plays through a hilly and forested area dedicated to disc golf. It feels very secluded and peaceful when you're on the course, with no interference from non-players. The elevation is used well to make some great holes, including a couple fun downhill ace runs. Nearly all the holes are wooded with well-defined fairways and moderate brushy rough that didn't seem to eat discs too badly. The holes force a great mix of different shots to be successful here, and will often punish an errant drive with at least an extra stroke. The alternate tees on one of the loops add even more variety; several change up the shot quite a bit.

The boulders throughout the course add a really nice touch, especially where extensive work has been done to build retaining walls and other course features out of the rocks. A ton of work has gone into this course, and it seems to be an ongoing effort with lots of improvements made in the couple years between my visits here.

The hole signage is decent, with basic maps and distance. The rubber tees are nicely leveled, and the ground is compacted well underneath them to prevent settling. The baskets are all in good shape and catch well. The flow within each loop of holes is easy to follow, with obvious trails between holes, and a great staircase to take you up one particularly steep path.
Cons: Navigation can be a little funky with 3 loops and some decisions on how many holes to play. Make sure to check out the map by the parking lot, and perhaps snap a picture of it for later reference. The loops have different characters, which is cool but can lead to each set of holes feeling just a little repetitive. The signage is a little weak, the lines shown are pretty generic and don't really give you a great idea of where to throw.
Other Thoughts: This is a fun wooded course, with lots of tight lines and great elevation shots. You will need to hit a variety of lines to be successful. Beginners might find the woods and brush a little daunting. More experienced players will find some great challenges despite the lack of length on two of the loops. I would definitely recommend a stop here; it's a fun round and a beautiful place for a walk in the woods.

5 of 7 people found this review helpful.

 

5+    5/16/2010   5/17/2010
Review By: therealbigtrav
Played: 50  Reviewed: 4  Exp: 7.3 Years
2 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: The course is beautiful. The tee boxes are all have a natural look to them with gravel/rubber pad boxes lined with smaller rocks on the outer edges. the designers did a great job of making the holes seem natural with the terrain. Most of the fairways don't look like they had to be clear cut or bulldozed, and some of the baskets placements look as natural as the trees that surround them. It's heavily wooded, and the trees provide great protection against the elements. Most of the holes have at least some elevation change.
Cons: No length. There is only one hole here with the current layout over 300ft. Hole #12 is an extremly short (maybe 150ft) left dogleg down a 25ft incline. Behind the basket there is a steep ledge that slopes all the way (another 300 ft or so) down to a small lake. To protect against discs rolling down that hazard, there is a small rock ledge built up behind the basket (with the amount of trees, the disc would typically only roll away another 25ft or so). I know some people would see that as an pro, but it was the only thing remotely challenging about a 150ft hole. This holes illustrates my feelings that there is a lack of challenging holes with the current layout. Also there are a few navigational issues. After hole 4, you have to walk up a slight incline and cross the driveway to the shelter. I'm not certain how someone who hasn't played would even guess how to find #5's teebox (there are signs for the cross country ski trails pointing to a path in the wrong direction). Also, after hole #7 you cross directly in front of the box for #15. The tee signs will not help you here either. Most of the hole numbers are out of place. After #16 you have to walk back across the driveway to the shelter to #17. The two sets of tees are too close together, and the amateur boxes are far to short even for beginners.
Other Thoughts: As a season pass holder, I am excited to hear that there are plans for additional holes at Standing Rocks that will add some length to the course. This should help in clearing up some of the previously mentioned navigational issues as well. Overall, Standing Rocks creates a nice identity with a minimalistic and natural feel in a beautifully wooded county park.

2 of 4 people found this review helpful.

central wisconsin strong

5+    9/24/2009   12/24/2009
Review By: tallpaul
Played: 702  Reviewed: 133  Exp: 26.2 Years
This review was updated on 9/9/2013
9 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: 1. Reading through the reviews will give you the overall impression....more than anything else.....that just about everyone that plays here; enjoys their time spent. I believe this will sum up your overall experience. (you can now go to the cons section; if you want to see what will be lacking in the big picture; then, come back here for good point summation.)
2. You will use all of your shots. These holes are designed to allow even opportunity for rhbh and lhbh (or forehand opposites). I throw a few overhand here as well. There are some shots that will forces all but 980+ players to have a long straight glide; with a finish, left or right, on the end. This is even more present on the "newer" set of holes.
3. There are often more than 18 holes in the ground here. Soon; two 12 hole and one nine hole loop will be present full time. (go to cons...4)
4. Rock formations built around baskets and tees in a beautiful fashion. This feature is one of those "this is about as good as it gets" for this style of design. (It's not quite all that; compared to the very best; these days; but not far from the best that anyone is doing in this area.) The formations, fit with the landscape in a remarkable manner; and you may barely notice that they've been constructed; and were not always there. The "crew" has done an extraordinary job in this department. This feature also makes quite a few tees very nice, when they would otherwise, more than likely, have serious issues.
5. A number of fall-a-way greens. Some of the shortest shots require a solid landing....disc landing angle is an important aspect of scoring here...or you're rolling places you don't want to be!!!
6. Which leads to the simple fact that this course has very nice elevation; and yet, somehow, does not kill you. You are led around; up and down; rarely saying "that hill was brutal".... As has already been noted; all factors of design were well thought out here. (The biggest exception I can think of...and I get to give a shout out to a fellow FREAK here, though the sign was gone last time I was there; is that he came up with the name for; "stairway to eleven." This is a bit of a harsh breather hill and staircase.)
7. The "original" course does not have a major "lose your disc" aspect. Undergrowth not bad. There are holes on other layouts, that are quite a bit scarier. Some tourney holes; and these may be in the newer layouts, offer great risk/reward opportunities as to whether you're in the middle of the blackberry patch; or over it to the bucket; or, do you play it safe and require and upshot?... Berries are very nice tasting in season!
8. Knowing many course designers in this state; and others; and having participated in both design and especially maintenance, of many courses as well; I can tell you that Randy is among the "most hard working men is disc golf." The fool was out there hand planting schroom spores on tree stumps two years ago. No....not the "real special kind".....but a very unique feature all the same. This is the type of attention to detail you will find in all aspects of Standing Rocks.... (he he he....except for tee signs with correct information and arrows pointing you to the next tee!!!)
Cons: 1. Course is short.
At this point, I wanted to say something to the effect; "in a competitive situation, there will be low scores." In other words....you will need to be making birdies; because they are there. (Now, go back to pros...2)
2. This course is difficult to navigate. It always has been. Randy (course designer) Schukar, was one of the earliest proponents of course alteration. I am speaking of full 18 hole course alteration. Nine hole groupings have been altered and/or moved fairly often.
3. Course movement has made tee signs nearly useless. First of all, many current tees have no sign. Of those that do, many are numbered incorrectly. Correct yardage?....ya gotta be kidding me! (now go to other thoughts....1)
4. Until signs are updated (announced for 2010 or early 2011); you may need all your navigational skills to play here. Don't worry, if you wander in any direction from lot, you will shortly find a pin. Play that one....and the next....and so on. What is supposed to be #1 in the current layout, is labeled as #15 and is found off the right edge, as you park, of the lot, and in; @150 ft. You may find another pin first; depending which of the many path options you choose. This is all part of the fun here....he he he he....
I've played this course many times, over many years, and I can say, as a "local" (1.25 hours away); that I'm often searching for that first pin. But.... just for a few moments. Once you find one; the course flows for the most part. If you run into a little lost time; just settle down and concentrate on how much you're loving the atmosphere of the course and the hole design, etc. Beauty is all around at S. Rocks...don't let a little tough navigation get you down. I do want to make a point of this in the cons section, because it's been a tough course to navigate almost since it's inception. Even for semi-locals; due to the amount of change that occurs here for tournaments as well as, "regular play" course(s); it's tough to ever zero in on exactly what is in the ground at any given time. If you can get in touch with a local or grab one at the parking lot; do so. I will also keep on Randy to get a map or a contact, or something up on here for info. This is one of those courses, that they are so busy upgrading an already good experience; that they can't keep up with a lot of the stuff that first timers would like to see in place. These kinds of courses are really some of the best around IMHO. As I've already noted; the atmosphere here is to be enjoyed. Don't let any navigational issues stress you. Find a pin, play it. Find the next tee; play it....once you get going, the flow is pretty intuitive.
Other Thoughts: 1. Distances from all tees, to all pins, for at least 33 holes have been measured and noted; for tee signs in 2010/2011 (hopefully 2010). It is very likely that this part of Standing Rocks legacy will finally be ended in an awesome fashion.
2. I need to point out, as a number of other reviewers have; that tournament layouts are in the 4 to 4+ range at Standing Rocks. Pros attend the Standings Rocks Open, from fairly large distances; due to strength of course, payout, long standing, excellent tourney atmosphere, and the fact that it usually is one of the first two "big" tournies of each year, on the state tour. (In Wisconsin, the spring is always a time for happiness!! Especially getting to a wonderful course to throw plastic again.) This event long ago split into separate days for pros and ams; and ams enjoy themselves just as much as the pros. Also, somewhat in relation to this; and relating to the mentioned shortness of the "original" course, versus some other possible layouts you may find here; Troy Campbell held the record for a number of years, for the longest tourney ace, @570 ft.....at Standing Rocks. There are some nice, big, down hill shots in certain configurations....
The annual chilli cook off and tourney in the late fall, is also a full event; and well loved.
3. Excellent beverages at the Central Waters Brewery nearby.
4. You can see, with all I have written; that it is difficult to give you a general overview of Standing Rocks. Conditions change here... For the time being, you are never really sure what you will encounter. However,every layout here is worth play. The "original", which is the mainly discussed version, in reviews so far, is perhaps the weakest overall design; and the average rating for this course; as I write, is 4.5. Due to the navigation issues primarily, and course yardage secondarily, I have not rated as high as most. Non-tourney design does not have a 5 "Wow" factor. However, I agree with everyone here, that this is a second tier, destination spot. Plan to take extra time to play. Plan to play it twice; once you know we're you're going; second round will move right along.
As mentioned in other reviews; another Schuhkar designed course, Yulga, is fairly nearby; make a day of it. That course is a very fine example of 3 sets of tees usage. No elevation at Yulga, but straight driving is at a premium.
After all the cheers I've given to S. Rocks, and Yulga; I will none-the-less, point out, that; IMHO, Big Eau Pleine County Park is the best in the area.
This trio, in Central Wisconsin, won't leave you disappointed; unless you're looking for 4.5 to 5 courses. These are all 3.5's, up to possible 4 for Big Eau Pleine. Also, keep in mind, that 33 full time holes are very possible for 2010 and beyond.

9 of 11 people found this review helpful.

 

5+    10/4/2009   10/4/2009
Review By: erichyde
Played: 60  Reviewed: 2  Exp: 11.2 Years
3 Helpful / 5 Not
Pros: Elevation!!! This course has elevation on every single hole. Uphill, downhill, valley shots you name it. Every hole is wooded as well but its in an older growth forest which is excellent because there is not to much undergrowth to eat your discs. The course is in excellent shape, little to no liter. Some really nice risk and reward holes too. Bad shots can get you in very big trouble on most holes, not the longest course but some distance and lots of accuracy needed to get a good scores.
Cons: No cons at all!!!! In my mind, a signature Wisconsin course, wooded and hilly!!!
Other Thoughts: This place is amazing and soon will have two 18 hole couses! Yulga near by is a very nice course as well.

3 of 8 people found this review helpful.

 A must play destination

1    9/19/2009   9/19/2009
Review By: djphilzy
Played: 23  Reviewed: 17
1 Helpful / 6 Not
Pros: Had a blast! The locals are great. Squirrels are black, which is something I have never seen before. Gorgeous fairways laid out with nature appreciation in mind. Elevation changes like crazy. Super cozy atmosphere.
Cons: Not many long holes.
Other Thoughts: Good warm up before, or cool down after, playing Nordic hill ski area.

1 of 7 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.