Stevens Point, WI 
Standing Rocks Share
Uploaded By: koogs Hole #W8 (Taken 6/2012)
3 / 209ft.   3 / 209ft. Par / Distance:
Hole W8 Tee



Reviews: 34
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Reviews between: and Sort By:
Exp. (in years): Played: Reviewed: Only Trusted Reviewers
 Beautiful, but Short

1    9/1/2012   9/10/2012
Review By: steinkecm
Played: 43  Reviewed: 4  Exp: 9.5 Years
1 Helpful / 6 Not
Pros: Lots of technical shots
Great signage
Lots of holes to make P2P worth it
Beautiful area
Cons: Very few benches
A few signs are a bit "off"
Quite short. Only a few holes break the 400+ mark. It doesn't take a whole lot of arm to park most holes.
Other Thoughts: I would have preferred less holes for more distance, but overall this course was well worth the trip.

1 of 7 people found this review helpful.

 A Fav

1    4/4/2007   8/14/2012
Review By: mndiscg
Played: 357  Reviewed: 355  Exp: 7.3 Years
10 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: -Nice parking lot with bathroom near the loops, big course sign with map, maps and scorecards at pay station.
-It is 33 holes!
-Nice baskets which are different color based on which loop of the course you are on.
-Course is designed so that you can play a big combination of holes. Options:
Just West 12 holes
West and Mid 21 holes
Mid and East 21 holes
East 12 holes
All 33 holes
I guess you could skip the mid loop and play the others but it would take a lot of walking.
-Nice tee signs, very informative. Good for the blind shots.
-Great elevation use. There is shots uphills, downhills, on the side of hills, valley type shots, fast greens. This really adds to the course.
-The course is very wooded and challenging but almost all the holes have good lines and are fair.
-The tee pads are good and are big, grippy rubber pads.
-This course caters to all levels of players. Some parts of the course were longer than others. I would recommend the mid loop for beginners with the exception of hole 8. The East loop was a little harder and many of the long holes are found in the West loop.
-This course is very clean. I attribute that to its remote location and pay to play. It is well worth the 4 dollars.
-All the rock formations are cool. I really liked the basket locations of M8 and 9.
-Lots of wildlife. I came quite close to deer on M2 when I play early in the morning.
-This course isn't very busy. Again, I attribute that to its remote location and pay to play.
-I have mentioned the remote location a few times. You are in the Wisco Woods out here. You are going to see only other park users and not too many of those even. I really appreciate this setting.
-Next tee signs are needed in woods like these and are there on almost every hole.
-Finding discs off the fairway is very easy for a wooded course. Not saying that you won't lose one but the brush is pretty controlled here.
-This course truly requires all kinds of shots to be successful. It is very important to have a controlled drive on many of the holes or you will be off the fairway hitting trees. There are longer holes but they are still fairly wooded. There are right and left turning holes and many many ups and downs. One hole has a huge dogleg to the right. Like 90 degrees. This course contains everything but water in its 33 holes.
Cons: -This course isn't as long as a true championship course but that doesn't mean that it doesn't have its longer holes or that it isn't challenging.
-It is also missing the water factor that a true championship course needs (unless it's a mountain course)
-All the possible cons for a wooded course: bugs, muddy, erosion. They weren't really a factor when I played but I could see them being an issue.
-Some may find pay to play as a con but I don't. It is only 4 dollars and this course is a beautiful 33 holes. Well worth the money.
Other Thoughts: This course is great. I had high expectations for it and it even exceeded them. I think this course is better than its high ranking on this site because many of those reviews are from before this course was 33 holes and before the signage was put in. If this course was a little longer I would have given it a 5 for sure. more props to Randy for the design and maintenance of this course. I would stop in and play at Yulga as well if I were in the area again.

10 of 10 people found this review helpful.

 One of Wisconsin's Finest

2-4    8/4/2012   8/14/2012
Review By: Fighter
Played: 35  Reviewed: 13
2 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: + Elevation and Wooded beauty
+ Landscaping of rock structures on pins and pads
+ Grippy Rubber Mats
+ Loop design options
+ Incredible variety of shots
+ Tight, technical fairway design
Cons: - Sometimes overgrowth can be an issue for disc hunting on semi-blind holes
- Bugs can be a concern
Other Thoughts: One of top 5 favorites I've played. This course brings elevation, tight fairways, left and right turns all together into a very challenging course. A little length would give this course the final bump it needs to be the top tier of the state, but even now its such a phenomenal design that won't disappoint. Tournament layout bomber hole down the ski hill would be a great permanent addition if possible.

2 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 Standing Rocks DGC

1    5/27/2012   5/27/2012
Review By: DiscGolfer947
Played: 36  Reviewed: 23  Exp: 5.1 Years
This review was updated on 6/8/2012
3 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: 1) For being mats the tee pads are surprisingly grippy, even when wet.
2) Great design, good mix of left right and straight holes. Uphill, downhill, sidehill, cliffs, valleys, this course has got it.
3) Great baskets, catch awesomely.
4) Good variation of distances, the first 19 holes (for the most part, are under 300ft but very technical. Then hole M8 (the infamous Barry Shultz hole) and on the course has got some daunting distance. A few par 4 holes on the west loop, and they remain just a technical as the mid and east loops.
5) VERY wooded while still remaining fair.
6) course is very clean (thanks to the 4 dollar fee keeping the chuckers out)
Cons: 1) not a single bench or trash can on the entire course, but the rocks made good benches in some areas.
2) Only ONE hole that is not in the woods, and it still finishes in the woods. Playing so many tight and technical shots is quite mentally draining.
3) A little confusing in places, sign for hole W9 is completely missing and some signs are wrong. But other than that navigation is fairly easy.
Other Thoughts: This is an amazing course and should not be passed up for any reason. It is quite the hike, bring lots of liquids, your hiking shoes, and about 3 hours of your time...you'll need it. Benches and trash cans on all the holes and concrete tees would make this a no brainer 5/5 disc course.

3 of 4 people found this review helpful.

  Best in Central Wisc

5+    5/1/2012   5/1/2012
Review By: plex
Played: 19  Reviewed: 1
This review was updated on 5/5/2012
4 Helpful / 4 Not
Pros: Challenging course in the woods with a large variety of shots, angles, and distances on all of its 33 holes. Spectacular rock work, landscaping and tree placement makes it a beautiful course for the whole family to enjoy. I like the "middle of the woods" atmosphere. I am confident that many great disc golfers will develop because of this well designed course. Standing Rocks constantly forces me to improve my disc control because of all the tight angles and gaps. Standing Rocks is the best course i have played in central Wisconsin.
Cons: I can think of 1 or 2 holes that seem to be "connectors" in order to get from one tee to the next... would be nice if a little more creativity and work was done on these connector holes to make this course perfect.
Other Thoughts: The $4 fee to play eliminates the "scrubs" and routy teens who seem to invade most of the other free to play courses in my area. Its truly enjoyable and tranquil playing at Standing Rocks. No trash laying on the ground, No Vandalism, No bullshit!

4 of 8 people found this review helpful.

 A superb course in the state of WI.

5+    10/31/2010   11/29/2010
Review By: link_smitty42205
Played: 63  Reviewed: 7  Exp: 8.4 Years
11 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: 33 holes!!! The variety is endless. The different loops play to all styles of players. If you want a great day of disc golf, that is also rather challenging, all 33 holes is just a blast.

The elevation play is great when you compare it to most courses in central Wisconsin, which are for the most part flat, and the obstacles (mostly trees and rocks) are endless. Accuracy is a must!

Multiple tee pads and pin locations on nearly all the holes. The new holes are still under a little bit of construction but overall they are coming together very nicely. The tee pads were uneven on a lot of the original holes, but they have gotten leveled off and compacted before the park was closed this year.

The terrain and the area is simply beautiful (A fall trip should be a must if you plan on visiting). I love playing this course every time I am there. The name is Standing Rocks for a reason.

The landscaping and work done on the holes is hard to overlook. Randy and the volunteers have done a great job on this course and have obviously taken great pride in the work they do on it.

I love the accuracy and finesse required to play this course. It may not have many long holes, but you can't come to this course and just chuck it and expect to score well. You need to have a strategy and know your bag.

You get the bang for your buck. I have played 18 hole courses that charge you upwards of 5 dollars. 3 dollars to play 33 holes??!?!! You can't ask for a better deal if you ask me. The season pass did go up to $25 this year, but you can see the money is being put right back into the course, which makes it worth it.

I could go on and on about the positives of this course, but it is my home course (I feel VERY privileged to live within 15 miles of it) and it is a great course that everyone should play if they get a chance.
Cons: I love this course, but there is a reason its a 4-disc review, for there are a three major cons:

Lack of distance. Granted the new loop has some long holes, they are still holes you need to have an accurate 200 to 300 foot drive and then have a great up shot because of all the obstacles. This loop was built to make golfers utilize all parts of their game. STRATEGY!! Ace runs on the west loop are pretty much non-existent. There are a lack of shots you can just open up and wing it without worrying about hitting a tree. I think every course should have at least one or two holes that let you just chuck it without worrying about hitting something. I really wish the parks dept. would allow the use of the ski hills by the ski lodge for some holes!!! The new west loop does play the edge on one of the holes, but to be able to throw down the hills all the time, not just in tournaments, would make this course a 5 discer, no questions asked. Then Bear lake would also come into play as well!

The general flow of the course, even though it is much improved with new signs, proper hole numbers, and maps at a kiosk in the parking lot, is very confusing for newcomers.The course can be confusing if you have never played it. I direct people to the proper holes almost every other time I am there. I remember the first time I played it and I struggled finding the next holes in a few spots. But, like I said, it has improved drastically towards the end of the summer.

Lack of a water hazard is my last major bug-a-boo. The lake on the property is not a legit hazard, unless your disc gets a mind of its own and overcomes the odds to dodge about a hundred trees on the two holes on the east loop you can see it from, (east loop #'s 8 and 9 - which are two of the easier holes on the course) you are staying dry on this course.

One minor con for me is that it is out of your way to make it to the course, even though it is worth it. Most people probably overlook this negative, but it is still a negative.

Other Thoughts: The hole numbers in the pictures uploaded by tenaciousMV are now invalid. The whole course is renumbered properly in three different loops:

The west loop-12 is the newest addition and has some very technical shots. These are holes that require you to bring your A-game to really stay around par when playing your standard par-3. Good Luck!

The mid-loop 9 (minus the newly added first two holes and the very last hole) and the east-loop 12 is the original 18-hole course. You can play these 21 holes and do fairly well if you can control your drives and make putts. The holes are all shorter, with mid-loop #8 being the longest at over 400 ft (aka the Barry Schultz hole) and hardest par on that part of the course.

Play with a local if you get a chance, you will probably learn a lot about the course and the dedication and hard work that goes into maintaining it.

Standing Rocks is gradually becoming a premiere course to visit not only in central Wisconsin, but in the entire state if you ask me. Some people would probably already say it is. Big props go out to Randy and the Ace Holes from UWSP and all the hard work and man hours they have put into the course. It shows.

Don't forget the bug spray and something to drink, for there is some hiking and the bugs are bad in the summer after rains.

11 of 11 people found this review helpful.

 Constant Improvement

5+    10/29/2010   11/2/2010
Review By: Dr Derek
Played: 142  Reviewed: 7  Exp: 10.3 Years
This review was updated on 6/27/2011
5 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: An unbelievable 33 hole course with 3 unique loops for various skill levels.

New 12-hole West Loop is already very well manicured and looking great! These West Loop holes add another dimension of play to the Standing Rocks disc golf course, namely distance.

Cons: Course is closed from Nov. 1st to Apr. 30
Bummer...
Other Thoughts: If you live in Wisconsin and haven't played this course, DO IT!

The hole signs have all been redone and renumbered, and are color coded between the 3 loops.

From the parking lot, you may start on the West Loop of 12 holes, or start on the Mid-Connect Loop.

To play 9 holes: Play the Mid-Loop only

To play 21 holes: Start on the Mid-Loop, and cross the road after Mid hole 6 to East hole 1.
After East-Loop 12 you cross the road again and finish on Mid-Loop holes 7-9.

To play 33 holes: same as 21 holes, but you decide to play the West-Loop either first or last.

5 of 6 people found this review helpful.

 Best in Central WI

2-4    7/21/2010   8/23/2010
Review By: Bushmaster
Played: 9  Reviewed: 9  Exp: 10.4 Years
This review was updated on 8/27/2010
0 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: Awesome use of elevation changes. The tee shot might be downhill and then you have to shoot uphill to the basket. Huge boulders throughout the course. Every hole is a little different, none of the holes seem the same.
Cons: Currently underconstruction and can be a little confusing.
Other Thoughts: This course is a must play if your in the area and is definetly worth driving longer distances to play here. The work and thought that has gone into this course has payed off. When the construction is done and the extra 18 is finished this course will be phenomenal. My favorite course I've played so far.

0 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 Standing On Some Rocks In My Mountain Of Dreams...

5+    5/15/2010   7/5/2010
Review By: Ace D
Played: 33  Reviewed: 15  Exp: 15.3 Years
This review was updated on 10/7/2010
4 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Unprecedented variety of holes. Beautiful views of lake and well-aged, sculpted forest leave a lasting impression. Large boulders and mature trees dominate the landscape, adding an artistic quality to the park. Tee pads and hole areas are frequently surrounded by deliberately placed rocks that serve to create flat, side-hill areas. Semi-soft, black rectangular pads make for mostly-flat tee areas. Most holes have two sets of tees. Roughly half of the holes have one obvious flight path while other half have a couple distinct possibilities. For example, hole 2 has a nice path for backhand hyzer, mirrored by a sidearm hyzer route. Even mix of flat, downhill, and uphill shots. Signs with distances and maps are present on all holes. The $3 daily pass and $20 season pass fees, as well as distance from major cities, seem to discourage casual groups of golfers who may mistreat course with slow play or vandalism. Majority of course is carpeted by leaves, wood chips, or well-maintained grass.
Cons: Big arms will be left unsatisfied by lack of 400+ foot holes and open holes. This course requires some finesse throws, so those who cannot command hyzer, anhyzer, and sweeping S-curve shots may become frustrated. Deep woods course can get buggy during wet summers.
Other Thoughts: Course is now up to 33 holes.

4 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 Fun wooded course

2-4    6/3/2012   6/15/2010
Review By: mashnut
Played: 819  Reviewed: 774  Exp: 13.5 Years
This review was updated on 7/27/2012
5 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: The course plays through a hilly and forested area dedicated to disc golf. It feels very secluded and peaceful when you're on the course, with no interference from non-players. The elevation is used well to make some great holes, including a couple fun downhill ace runs. Nearly all the holes are wooded with well-defined fairways and moderate brushy rough that didn't seem to eat discs too badly. The holes force a great mix of different shots to be successful here, and will often punish an errant drive with at least an extra stroke. The alternate tees on one of the loops add even more variety; several change up the shot quite a bit.

The boulders throughout the course add a really nice touch, especially where extensive work has been done to build retaining walls and other course features out of the rocks. A ton of work has gone into this course, and it seems to be an ongoing effort with lots of improvements made in the couple years between my visits here.

The hole signage is decent, with basic maps and distance. The rubber tees are nicely leveled, and the ground is compacted well underneath them to prevent settling. The baskets are all in good shape and catch well. The flow within each loop of holes is easy to follow, with obvious trails between holes, and a great staircase to take you up one particularly steep path.
Cons: Navigation can be a little funky with 3 loops and some decisions on how many holes to play. Make sure to check out the map by the parking lot, and perhaps snap a picture of it for later reference. The loops have different characters, which is cool but can lead to each set of holes feeling just a little repetitive. The signage is a little weak, the lines shown are pretty generic and don't really give you a great idea of where to throw.
Other Thoughts: This is a fun wooded course, with lots of tight lines and great elevation shots. You will need to hit a variety of lines to be successful. Beginners might find the woods and brush a little daunting. More experienced players will find some great challenges despite the lack of length on two of the loops. I would definitely recommend a stop here; it's a fun round and a beautiful place for a walk in the woods.

5 of 7 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.