Stevens Point, WI 
Standing Rocks Share
Uploaded By: koogs Hole #W2 (Taken 6/2012)
4 / 450ft.   4 / 450ft. Par / Distance:
Hole W2 Tee



Reviews: 34
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Reviews between: and Sort By:
Exp. (in years): Played: Reviewed: Only Trusted Reviewers
 

5+    5/16/2010   5/17/2010
Review By: therealbigtrav
Played: 50  Reviewed: 4  Exp: 8.4 Years
2 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: The course is beautiful. The tee boxes are all have a natural look to them with gravel/rubber pad boxes lined with smaller rocks on the outer edges. the designers did a great job of making the holes seem natural with the terrain. Most of the fairways don't look like they had to be clear cut or bulldozed, and some of the baskets placements look as natural as the trees that surround them. It's heavily wooded, and the trees provide great protection against the elements. Most of the holes have at least some elevation change.
Cons: No length. There is only one hole here with the current layout over 300ft. Hole #12 is an extremly short (maybe 150ft) left dogleg down a 25ft incline. Behind the basket there is a steep ledge that slopes all the way (another 300 ft or so) down to a small lake. To protect against discs rolling down that hazard, there is a small rock ledge built up behind the basket (with the amount of trees, the disc would typically only roll away another 25ft or so). I know some people would see that as an pro, but it was the only thing remotely challenging about a 150ft hole. This holes illustrates my feelings that there is a lack of challenging holes with the current layout. Also there are a few navigational issues. After hole 4, you have to walk up a slight incline and cross the driveway to the shelter. I'm not certain how someone who hasn't played would even guess how to find #5's teebox (there are signs for the cross country ski trails pointing to a path in the wrong direction). Also, after hole #7 you cross directly in front of the box for #15. The tee signs will not help you here either. Most of the hole numbers are out of place. After #16 you have to walk back across the driveway to the shelter to #17. The two sets of tees are too close together, and the amateur boxes are far to short even for beginners.
Other Thoughts: As a season pass holder, I am excited to hear that there are plans for additional holes at Standing Rocks that will add some length to the course. This should help in clearing up some of the previously mentioned navigational issues as well. Overall, Standing Rocks creates a nice identity with a minimalistic and natural feel in a beautifully wooded county park.

2 of 4 people found this review helpful.

central wisconsin strong

5+    9/24/2009   12/24/2009
Review By: tallpaul
Played: 764  Reviewed: 133  Exp: 27.3 Years
This review was updated on 9/9/2013
9 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: 1. Reading through the reviews will give you the overall impression....more than anything else.....that just about everyone that plays here; enjoys their time spent. I believe this will sum up your overall experience. (you can now go to the cons section; if you want to see what will be lacking in the big picture; then, come back here for good point summation.)
2. You will use all of your shots. These holes are designed to allow even opportunity for rhbh and lhbh (or forehand opposites). I throw a few overhand here as well. There are some shots that will forces all but 980+ players to have a long straight glide; with a finish, left or right, on the end. This is even more present on the "newer" set of holes.
3. There are often more than 18 holes in the ground here. Soon; two 12 hole and one nine hole loop will be present full time. (go to cons...4)
4. Rock formations built around baskets and tees in a beautiful fashion. This feature is one of those "this is about as good as it gets" for this style of design. (It's not quite all that; compared to the very best; these days; but not far from the best that anyone is doing in this area.) The formations, fit with the landscape in a remarkable manner; and you may barely notice that they've been constructed; and were not always there. The "crew" has done an extraordinary job in this department. This feature also makes quite a few tees very nice, when they would otherwise, more than likely, have serious issues.
5. A number of fall-a-way greens. Some of the shortest shots require a solid landing....disc landing angle is an important aspect of scoring here...or you're rolling places you don't want to be!!!
6. Which leads to the simple fact that this course has very nice elevation; and yet, somehow, does not kill you. You are led around; up and down; rarely saying "that hill was brutal".... As has already been noted; all factors of design were well thought out here. (The biggest exception I can think of...and I get to give a shout out to a fellow FREAK here, though the sign was gone last time I was there; is that he came up with the name for; "stairway to eleven." This is a bit of a harsh breather hill and staircase.)
7. The "original" course does not have a major "lose your disc" aspect. Undergrowth not bad. There are holes on other layouts, that are quite a bit scarier. Some tourney holes; and these may be in the newer layouts, offer great risk/reward opportunities as to whether you're in the middle of the blackberry patch; or over it to the bucket; or, do you play it safe and require and upshot?... Berries are very nice tasting in season!
8. Knowing many course designers in this state; and others; and having participated in both design and especially maintenance, of many courses as well; I can tell you that Randy is among the "most hard working men is disc golf." The fool was out there hand planting schroom spores on tree stumps two years ago. No....not the "real special kind".....but a very unique feature all the same. This is the type of attention to detail you will find in all aspects of Standing Rocks.... (he he he....except for tee signs with correct information and arrows pointing you to the next tee!!!)
Cons: 1. Course is short.
At this point, I wanted to say something to the effect; "in a competitive situation, there will be low scores." In other words....you will need to be making birdies; because they are there. (Now, go back to pros...2)
2. This course is difficult to navigate. It always has been. Randy (course designer) Schukar, was one of the earliest proponents of course alteration. I am speaking of full 18 hole course alteration. Nine hole groupings have been altered and/or moved fairly often.
3. Course movement has made tee signs nearly useless. First of all, many current tees have no sign. Of those that do, many are numbered incorrectly. Correct yardage?....ya gotta be kidding me! (now go to other thoughts....1)
4. Until signs are updated (announced for 2010 or early 2011); you may need all your navigational skills to play here. Don't worry, if you wander in any direction from lot, you will shortly find a pin. Play that one....and the next....and so on. What is supposed to be #1 in the current layout, is labeled as #15 and is found off the right edge, as you park, of the lot, and in; @150 ft. You may find another pin first; depending which of the many path options you choose. This is all part of the fun here....he he he he....
I've played this course many times, over many years, and I can say, as a "local" (1.25 hours away); that I'm often searching for that first pin. But.... just for a few moments. Once you find one; the course flows for the most part. If you run into a little lost time; just settle down and concentrate on how much you're loving the atmosphere of the course and the hole design, etc. Beauty is all around at S. Rocks...don't let a little tough navigation get you down. I do want to make a point of this in the cons section, because it's been a tough course to navigate almost since it's inception. Even for semi-locals; due to the amount of change that occurs here for tournaments as well as, "regular play" course(s); it's tough to ever zero in on exactly what is in the ground at any given time. If you can get in touch with a local or grab one at the parking lot; do so. I will also keep on Randy to get a map or a contact, or something up on here for info. This is one of those courses, that they are so busy upgrading an already good experience; that they can't keep up with a lot of the stuff that first timers would like to see in place. These kinds of courses are really some of the best around IMHO. As I've already noted; the atmosphere here is to be enjoyed. Don't let any navigational issues stress you. Find a pin, play it. Find the next tee; play it....once you get going, the flow is pretty intuitive.
Other Thoughts: 1. Distances from all tees, to all pins, for at least 33 holes have been measured and noted; for tee signs in 2010/2011 (hopefully 2010). It is very likely that this part of Standing Rocks legacy will finally be ended in an awesome fashion.
2. I need to point out, as a number of other reviewers have; that tournament layouts are in the 4 to 4+ range at Standing Rocks. Pros attend the Standings Rocks Open, from fairly large distances; due to strength of course, payout, long standing, excellent tourney atmosphere, and the fact that it usually is one of the first two "big" tournies of each year, on the state tour. (In Wisconsin, the spring is always a time for happiness!! Especially getting to a wonderful course to throw plastic again.) This event long ago split into separate days for pros and ams; and ams enjoy themselves just as much as the pros. Also, somewhat in relation to this; and relating to the mentioned shortness of the "original" course, versus some other possible layouts you may find here; Troy Campbell held the record for a number of years, for the longest tourney ace, @570 ft.....at Standing Rocks. There are some nice, big, down hill shots in certain configurations....
The annual chilli cook off and tourney in the late fall, is also a full event; and well loved.
3. Excellent beverages at the Central Waters Brewery nearby.
4. You can see, with all I have written; that it is difficult to give you a general overview of Standing Rocks. Conditions change here... For the time being, you are never really sure what you will encounter. However,every layout here is worth play. The "original", which is the mainly discussed version, in reviews so far, is perhaps the weakest overall design; and the average rating for this course; as I write, is 4.5. Due to the navigation issues primarily, and course yardage secondarily, I have not rated as high as most. Non-tourney design does not have a 5 "Wow" factor. However, I agree with everyone here, that this is a second tier, destination spot. Plan to take extra time to play. Plan to play it twice; once you know we're you're going; second round will move right along.
As mentioned in other reviews; another Schuhkar designed course, Yulga, is fairly nearby; make a day of it. That course is a very fine example of 3 sets of tees usage. No elevation at Yulga, but straight driving is at a premium.
After all the cheers I've given to S. Rocks, and Yulga; I will none-the-less, point out, that; IMHO, Big Eau Pleine County Park is the best in the area.
This trio, in Central Wisconsin, won't leave you disappointed; unless you're looking for 4.5 to 5 courses. These are all 3.5's, up to possible 4 for Big Eau Pleine. Also, keep in mind, that 33 full time holes are very possible for 2010 and beyond.

9 of 11 people found this review helpful.

 

5+    10/4/2009   10/4/2009
Review By: erichyde
Played: 60  Reviewed: 2  Exp: 12.3 Years
3 Helpful / 5 Not
Pros: Elevation!!! This course has elevation on every single hole. Uphill, downhill, valley shots you name it. Every hole is wooded as well but its in an older growth forest which is excellent because there is not to much undergrowth to eat your discs. The course is in excellent shape, little to no liter. Some really nice risk and reward holes too. Bad shots can get you in very big trouble on most holes, not the longest course but some distance and lots of accuracy needed to get a good scores.
Cons: No cons at all!!!! In my mind, a signature Wisconsin course, wooded and hilly!!!
Other Thoughts: This place is amazing and soon will have two 18 hole couses! Yulga near by is a very nice course as well.

3 of 8 people found this review helpful.

 A must play destination

1    9/19/2009   9/19/2009
Review By: djphilzy
Played: 23  Reviewed: 17
1 Helpful / 6 Not
Pros: Had a blast! The locals are great. Squirrels are black, which is something I have never seen before. Gorgeous fairways laid out with nature appreciation in mind. Elevation changes like crazy. Super cozy atmosphere.
Cons: Not many long holes.
Other Thoughts: Good warm up before, or cool down after, playing Nordic hill ski area.

1 of 7 people found this review helpful.

 A must stop for beauty lovers

5+    6/22/2010   7/9/2009
Review By: superberry
Played: 194  Reviewed: 93  Exp: 17.4 Years
This review was updated on 6/22/2010
8 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: I love the amazing beauty and scenic tranquility of SR. The rolling elevation and terrain under a wooded canopy of trees is PRIME for disc golf in my opinion. I love this type of course. You get an good mix of left, right, short and long holes.

The landscaping is really great with elevated tees and terraced greens surrounded by hundreds of local boulders that weigh a ton.

I actually like the crushed stone tees with rubber pads. I don't worry about stepping off the edge like erosion around concrete, and the rubber is not too slippery. It also provides that definite front edge for foot faults (something the crushed stone tees at Winter Park lack cuz Scotty G ALWAYS steps 2' past the obvious front edge of the tee when he drives!)

One of the highlights is a bent and distroted tree on Hole #2 (6 when playing from the new parking lot) that perfectly frames out your shot from the tee. I love this and when/if that tree ever falls it will be sorely missed for what it provides to that hole.
Cons: Despite the good variety of play, the wide open bombers are missing and so are water hazards and OB on this course.

Being a fairly popular course will certainly attract the worthless and useless idiots who come out to be disrespectful, break things, leave gargbage behind, and grafiiti. It is a shame for such a beautiful course to see cigarette butts and glass all over, but the locals have HUGE pride in this course and do a great job maintaining it to best their abilities.

For a begginer the signage is definitely lacking, but I've played TONS of times. Tee signs are not available on all holes, and vary in their locations. Signs between holes are non-existent and there are some long walks here.

My biggest con is with the shear vastness of poison ivy all over the course. If you go off the fairly, you WILL be in ivy. BUT, there is also patches all over in heavy traffic areas right next to tees, paths, and greens. This should be killed off when it is right next to a tee or green. THERE IS A TON OF POISON IVY EVERYWHERE! It really detracts from a good round here! Playing here in the fall and spring is more advisable anyway because with less foliage on the trees, you can score a bit better under that canopy.
Other Thoughts: The club is working on another set of holes which will be rotated into play on some type of annual basis to help limit erosion on some of the other holes. You can be guaranteed that these new holes will be just as awesome and at any given time you will be able to play 18 of 27 holes their which are second to none.

During the spring Standing Rocks Open tournament, you must make it a point to attend as an entirely additional 18 hole course is created using the cross country ski trails, and 6 more holes added to the classic course which travel up and down the ski hills. During the SRO, disc golf gets NO BETTER and this tournament setup is a 5-disc experience! You get all the variety, challenge and beauty you could ever crave during one weekend.

This course would be a 5 in my book based on how many times I have come back to play, how often I want to play, and how many times I make a special trip 2hrs to the course just to play. But the standard layout just does not offer the required variety to make it a 5. The standard layout lacks water hazard, OB, large elevation change, and open rippers. The secluded park setting is top notch in allowing yourself to get lost in a round. This probably works out to be a 4-disc course in my mathematical review of courses. Despite being SO FUN to play, the main course is a just below a 4-disc rating due to lack of total variety. The setting, tournament layouts, and fun factor offer up a 5. The expanded layout (12 new holes??) will make it a SOLID 4.5! If the new holes on the ski hill were made permanent, bringing in huge elevation, water, and open rippers, I'd rate a 5 without hesitation!

The mountain bike trails at SR are amazing as well. They are another reason I plan special trips to the park.

8 of 8 people found this review helpful.

 Standing Rocks

5+    5/19/2009   5/20/2009
Review By: Ckrogs
Played: 3  Reviewed: 3  Exp: 11.3 Years
1 Helpful / 6 Not
Pros: Challenging shots. Makes you try shots that you wouldnt do on an open course. There are multiple tees so that beginners can play as well as the vets that like more of a challange. Rocks has a really nice upkeep.
Cons: Rubber Pads have uneven grounds under them. Bugs are bad, bring bug spray.
Other Thoughts: Make sure that you bring somthing to drink. And watch your step on old hole 12. If you live nearby buy a season pass, it is well worth it...after 7 times it pays for it self. Bugs are bad, bring bug spray.

1 of 7 people found this review helpful.

 Standing Rocks is Unique

5+    10/31/1999   3/7/2009
Review By: Herbert
Played: 21  Reviewed: 2  Exp: 37.3 Years
This review was updated on 10/23/2009
3 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: Disclaimer: I have a bias and a hernia for this course.

Such a property is a gift to the disc golf community. And the disc colf community has gifted this course with their enthusiasim and generousity, thank you.

Every property has only so much to work with and the layout at Standing Rocks uses it to our advantage. The course, albeit not so long requires control and a variety of shots.
besides that it is a georgous park. Rocks are everywhere, creative use of the elevation and rock retaining walls. Veiws of the lake are great
There is a user fee that keeps some of the riff raff off of the course
The rubber tee mats are great for traction and easy on the knees, while they were lumpy at first, have been leveled as of late
Cons: The new loop of 12 holes is not quite open yet!
Other Thoughts: I prefer this course in spring or late summer/fall when the bugs are not as bad.
This park has room for many more holes. at least 30 additional holes are used for the various tournaments at the park.

3 of 6 people found this review helpful.

 Standing Rocks

5+    10/25/2008   2/26/2009
Review By: jgros079
Played: 36  Reviewed: 3  Exp: 8 Years
This review was updated on 10/23/2009
7 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: This is an incredibly beautiful course; uber scenic with great rock walls and such. The course is extremely well manicured and is never busy. It is also an extremely creative course and utilizes the land it is on very well. It has tons of different elevation shots that make a player think before he/she throws. Simply awesome, and love playing it when i can.
Cons: Standing Rocks unfortunately does not have cement tee-boxes...and due to the course's hilly nature, some of these tee-boxes have become worn and uneven from usage and run-off. It has lots of short holes, so if you're looking for the ultimate disc golf challenge course, this isn't the one.
Other Thoughts: All in all, i believe this is one of the best courses I've ever played. It has a $3.00 usage fee, but it is well worth it. Also, for $20.00, you can buy a summer pass, which is a great deal. new holes at standing rocks are actually in the works and for those who were disappointed with the course's length, will be pleasant to know that they are much longer than most of the holes and should add some extra fun to the mix. Also, this course is known to host some pretty sweet tournaments too. The Standing Rocks Open in the spring, and the even more fun, Chili Blowout, in the late fall. What could be better than disc golf and a chili cook off eh?

7 of 9 people found this review helpful.

 Standing Rocks Rocks!

5+    5/17/2008   12/24/2008
Review By: Stashride
Played: 20  Reviewed: 18  Exp: 19.3 Years
1 Helpful / 6 Not
Pros: Real technical and personal..Great drastic elevation changes..Good mountain biking..$3 fee weeds out the scrubs..Great course maintenance..Cool rock formations..Real tranquil and secluded..
Cons: Pin was stolen recently! Bugs are bad in Summer..Some of the trees are old and rotted..One of them fell on my buddys disc! Rubber tee pads dont do this lovely course justice..
Other Thoughts: If you like the woods and chucking off some big hills youll enjoy yourself..Play your putter whenever you can..Wont need to break out the big stick until 18..

1 of 7 people found this review helpful.

 Rock On

7/3/2008   7/4/2008
Review By: TenaciousMV
Played: 25  Reviewed: 20  Exp: 9.2 Years
11 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Excellent variety of challenges; will force a player to use shots they're uncomfortable with; very little tall grass/thick brush in areas a miss may fall; creative hole design; short walks between holes; beautiful rock formations created for the purpose of the course (see the pictures I added of some tees and baskets); dual tees; signs that show distance on most holes; baskets have orange highlight to make location easier; rubber tee pads (as opposed to nothing); gorgeous area; elevation is used well and can be significant (see the picture I added of the 8th basket); generally easy to find the next hole (follow the beaten path); each basket displays the hole number; no two holes are terribly similar
Cons: The ground under the rubber tee pads can be uneven; while you can start on the first tee if you park in a certain area, the main parking lot will start you on the 15th hole; difficult to discern which tee you're on and where the other tee is on some holes; some holes are missing signs; sometimes difficult to locate the basket, as the signs on the holes lack that level of detail (no obstacles are shown to give you perspective); some tees are missing rubber pads; even from the back tees, the course isn't terribly difficult - my guess would be a scratch player would score between 44-49; only one hole (14th) can be considered 'long' and it's not much over 400'; you have to pay, but I don't consider this when scoring a course
Other Thoughts: We had a lot of fun and some very relaxed rounds of disc golf at Standing Rocks. Each hole was enjoyable to play and we didn't have to deal with any frustration around poor design or finding our discs in heavy brush. The topography, the creativity of the hole design, the beauty of the area, and the effort put in to some of the holes leaves this course with the potential to reach the level of perfection - 5/5. This course is such a blast, but due to the cons listed below falls a bit short of being disc golf heaven. For those people fortunate enough to play this course, I recommend you also play Yulga, which is located near by and is also excellent.

The combination of the strengths of Standing Rocks and Yulga could create a course that would be at a 4.5/5. Standing Rocks has the excellent variety, exceptional creativity, and elevation that Yulga is lacking. Yulga has the consistent quality of tee pads, signage, and reasonable difficulty that Standing Rocks is missing. If you can make it to the area, you need to play both - your collective memories will be near perfection. The only real shortcomings that both courses share are the lack of long holes and holes that will truly take your breath away.

Standing Rocks is 2.5 hours away from me. We visited it as part of a disc golf road trip to Central Wisconsin. With several dozen options that are significantly closer, I plan to make future trips to play this course. Standing rocks is excellent - 4.0.

11 of 11 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.