Stevens Point, WI 
Standing Rocks Share
Uploaded By: TenaciousMV Hole #E10
3 / 140ft.   3 / 200ft.   3 / --   3 / -- Par / Distance:
Hole #E10 Tee



Reviews: 30
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
1 2 3 Next >
 A must stop for beauty lovers

5+    6/22/2010   7/9/2009
Review By: superberry
Played: 168  Reviewed: 92  Exp: 16.3 Years
This review was updated on 6/22/2010
8 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: I love the amazing beauty and scenic tranquility of SR. The rolling elevation and terrain under a wooded canopy of trees is PRIME for disc golf in my opinion. I love this type of course. You get an good mix of left, right, short and long holes.

The landscaping is really great with elevated tees and terraced greens surrounded by hundreds of local boulders that weigh a ton.

I actually like the crushed stone tees with rubber pads. I don't worry about stepping off the edge like erosion around concrete, and the rubber is not too slippery. It also provides that definite front edge for foot faults (something the crushed stone tees at Winter Park lack cuz Scotty G ALWAYS steps 2' past the obvious front edge of the tee when he drives!)

One of the highlights is a bent and distroted tree on Hole #2 (6 when playing from the new parking lot) that perfectly frames out your shot from the tee. I love this and when/if that tree ever falls it will be sorely missed for what it provides to that hole.
Cons: Despite the good variety of play, the wide open bombers are missing and so are water hazards and OB on this course.

Being a fairly popular course will certainly attract the worthless and useless idiots who come out to be disrespectful, break things, leave gargbage behind, and grafiiti. It is a shame for such a beautiful course to see cigarette butts and glass all over, but the locals have HUGE pride in this course and do a great job maintaining it to best their abilities.

For a begginer the signage is definitely lacking, but I've played TONS of times. Tee signs are not available on all holes, and vary in their locations. Signs between holes are non-existent and there are some long walks here.

My biggest con is with the shear vastness of poison ivy all over the course. If you go off the fairly, you WILL be in ivy. BUT, there is also patches all over in heavy traffic areas right next to tees, paths, and greens. This should be killed off when it is right next to a tee or green. THERE IS A TON OF POISON IVY EVERYWHERE! It really detracts from a good round here! Playing here in the fall and spring is more advisable anyway because with less foliage on the trees, you can score a bit better under that canopy.
Other Thoughts: The club is working on another set of holes which will be rotated into play on some type of annual basis to help limit erosion on some of the other holes. You can be guaranteed that these new holes will be just as awesome and at any given time you will be able to play 18 of 27 holes their which are second to none.

During the spring Standing Rocks Open tournament, you must make it a point to attend as an entirely additional 18 hole course is created using the cross country ski trails, and 6 more holes added to the classic course which travel up and down the ski hills. During the SRO, disc golf gets NO BETTER and this tournament setup is a 5-disc experience! You get all the variety, challenge and beauty you could ever crave during one weekend.

This course would be a 5 in my book based on how many times I have come back to play, how often I want to play, and how many times I make a special trip 2hrs to the course just to play. But the standard layout just does not offer the required variety to make it a 5. The standard layout lacks water hazard, OB, large elevation change, and open rippers. The secluded park setting is top notch in allowing yourself to get lost in a round. This probably works out to be a 4-disc course in my mathematical review of courses. Despite being SO FUN to play, the main course is a just below a 4-disc rating due to lack of total variety. The setting, tournament layouts, and fun factor offer up a 5. The expanded layout (12 new holes??) will make it a SOLID 4.5! If the new holes on the ski hill were made permanent, bringing in huge elevation, water, and open rippers, I'd rate a 5 without hesitation!

The mountain bike trails at SR are amazing as well. They are another reason I plan special trips to the park.

8 of 8 people found this review helpful.

 Standing Rocks

5+    5/19/2009   5/20/2009
Review By: Ckrogs
Played: 3  Reviewed: 3  Exp: 10.2 Years
1 Helpful / 6 Not
Pros: Challenging shots. Makes you try shots that you wouldnt do on an open course. There are multiple tees so that beginners can play as well as the vets that like more of a challange. Rocks has a really nice upkeep.
Cons: Rubber Pads have uneven grounds under them. Bugs are bad, bring bug spray.
Other Thoughts: Make sure that you bring somthing to drink. And watch your step on old hole 12. If you live nearby buy a season pass, it is well worth it...after 7 times it pays for it self. Bugs are bad, bring bug spray.

1 of 7 people found this review helpful.

 Standing Rocks is Unique

5+    10/31/1999   3/7/2009
Review By: Herbert
Played: 21  Reviewed: 2  Exp: 36.2 Years
This review was updated on 10/23/2009
3 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: Disclaimer: I have a bias and a hernia for this course.

Such a property is a gift to the disc golf community. And the disc colf community has gifted this course with their enthusiasim and generousity, thank you.

Every property has only so much to work with and the layout at Standing Rocks uses it to our advantage. The course, albeit not so long requires control and a variety of shots.
besides that it is a georgous park. Rocks are everywhere, creative use of the elevation and rock retaining walls. Veiws of the lake are great
There is a user fee that keeps some of the riff raff off of the course
The rubber tee mats are great for traction and easy on the knees, while they were lumpy at first, have been leveled as of late
Cons: The new loop of 12 holes is not quite open yet!
Other Thoughts: I prefer this course in spring or late summer/fall when the bugs are not as bad.
This park has room for many more holes. at least 30 additional holes are used for the various tournaments at the park.

3 of 6 people found this review helpful.

 Standing Rocks

5+    10/25/2008   2/26/2009
Review By: jgros079
Played: 36  Reviewed: 3  Exp: 7 Years
This review was updated on 10/23/2009
7 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: This is an incredibly beautiful course; uber scenic with great rock walls and such. The course is extremely well manicured and is never busy. It is also an extremely creative course and utilizes the land it is on very well. It has tons of different elevation shots that make a player think before he/she throws. Simply awesome, and love playing it when i can.
Cons: Standing Rocks unfortunately does not have cement tee-boxes...and due to the course's hilly nature, some of these tee-boxes have become worn and uneven from usage and run-off. It has lots of short holes, so if you're looking for the ultimate disc golf challenge course, this isn't the one.
Other Thoughts: All in all, i believe this is one of the best courses I've ever played. It has a $3.00 usage fee, but it is well worth it. Also, for $20.00, you can buy a summer pass, which is a great deal. new holes at standing rocks are actually in the works and for those who were disappointed with the course's length, will be pleasant to know that they are much longer than most of the holes and should add some extra fun to the mix. Also, this course is known to host some pretty sweet tournaments too. The Standing Rocks Open in the spring, and the even more fun, Chili Blowout, in the late fall. What could be better than disc golf and a chili cook off eh?

7 of 9 people found this review helpful.

 Standing Rocks Rocks!

5+    5/17/2008   12/24/2008
Review By: Stashride
Played: 20  Reviewed: 18  Exp: 18.2 Years
1 Helpful / 6 Not
Pros: Real technical and personal..Great drastic elevation changes..Good mountain biking..$3 fee weeds out the scrubs..Great course maintenance..Cool rock formations..Real tranquil and secluded..
Cons: Pin was stolen recently! Bugs are bad in Summer..Some of the trees are old and rotted..One of them fell on my buddys disc! Rubber tee pads dont do this lovely course justice..
Other Thoughts: If you like the woods and chucking off some big hills youll enjoy yourself..Play your putter whenever you can..Wont need to break out the big stick until 18..

1 of 7 people found this review helpful.

 Rock On

7/3/2008   7/4/2008
Review By: TenaciousMV
Played: 25  Reviewed: 20  Exp: 8.1 Years
11 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Excellent variety of challenges; will force a player to use shots they're uncomfortable with; very little tall grass/thick brush in areas a miss may fall; creative hole design; short walks between holes; beautiful rock formations created for the purpose of the course (see the pictures I added of some tees and baskets); dual tees; signs that show distance on most holes; baskets have orange highlight to make location easier; rubber tee pads (as opposed to nothing); gorgeous area; elevation is used well and can be significant (see the picture I added of the 8th basket); generally easy to find the next hole (follow the beaten path); each basket displays the hole number; no two holes are terribly similar
Cons: The ground under the rubber tee pads can be uneven; while you can start on the first tee if you park in a certain area, the main parking lot will start you on the 15th hole; difficult to discern which tee you're on and where the other tee is on some holes; some holes are missing signs; sometimes difficult to locate the basket, as the signs on the holes lack that level of detail (no obstacles are shown to give you perspective); some tees are missing rubber pads; even from the back tees, the course isn't terribly difficult - my guess would be a scratch player would score between 44-49; only one hole (14th) can be considered 'long' and it's not much over 400'; you have to pay, but I don't consider this when scoring a course
Other Thoughts: We had a lot of fun and some very relaxed rounds of disc golf at Standing Rocks. Each hole was enjoyable to play and we didn't have to deal with any frustration around poor design or finding our discs in heavy brush. The topography, the creativity of the hole design, the beauty of the area, and the effort put in to some of the holes leaves this course with the potential to reach the level of perfection - 5/5. This course is such a blast, but due to the cons listed below falls a bit short of being disc golf heaven. For those people fortunate enough to play this course, I recommend you also play Yulga, which is located near by and is also excellent.

The combination of the strengths of Standing Rocks and Yulga could create a course that would be at a 4.5/5. Standing Rocks has the excellent variety, exceptional creativity, and elevation that Yulga is lacking. Yulga has the consistent quality of tee pads, signage, and reasonable difficulty that Standing Rocks is missing. If you can make it to the area, you need to play both - your collective memories will be near perfection. The only real shortcomings that both courses share are the lack of long holes and holes that will truly take your breath away.

Standing Rocks is 2.5 hours away from me. We visited it as part of a disc golf road trip to Central Wisconsin. With several dozen options that are significantly closer, I plan to make future trips to play this course. Standing rocks is excellent - 4.0.

11 of 11 people found this review helpful.

 Wow

7/3/2008   7/4/2008
Review By: -HUC-
Played: 32  Reviewed: 11  Exp: 12.1 Years
This review was updated on 7/12/2008
4 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: This Course is fantastic. Very tight technical wooded course with multiple teepads with multiple routes to the pin. On most holes you get a chance for a risky ace run or a safer deuce. After a bad shot it can be tough to find an easy route to the fairway let alone the basket.
It is obviously very well taken care of with concrete teepads, great landscaping, and very professional tee signs. The fee is reasonable ($3), it is pretty easy to find, and to navigate the holes. Even without huge vistas, it still looks great.
Cons: This course would be perfect if it was a little bit longer. From the long tees it only clocks in at 4700ft so the fun passes way too fast. There is only one hole that is over 300ft. On the bright side I guess it does let you get more for your money as playing twice is very do able and it is very beginner friendly from the shorts.
Other Thoughts: This is a fantastic course. Well worth the effort to get too. I just wish they could add a couple more holes to the ski runs on the back of the course like they do for the Standing Rocks Open. That would bring it up to a five big time

4 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 Great Course

6/5/2008   6/7/2008
Review By: Mars Volta
Played: 2  Reviewed: 2
1 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: Lots of challenging shots.
Great use of the varying levels of elevation.
Scenery is beautiful.
Good ratio of short to long holes.
Cons: Rubber mat teepads.
Vandals have removed several signs
Course Starts on Hole 15
Other Thoughts: 3 bucks is well worth it, my favorite course by far.
Bring Bug Spray!!!

1 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 Extended Home Course

6/1/2008   6/6/2008
Review By: wishingtan
Played: 16  Reviewed: 5
3 Helpful / 4 Not
Pros: Incredible on all levels. Has nearly every shot, swooping heights, technical turns, long double drivers, and even a short quick ace run or two. This is a course worth travelling for. It can be a workout, so come prepared.
Cons: No pavillion for grilling, but a cabin to rent out. Little far from home.
Other Thoughts: This course can be overwhelming for beginners, but the views and serene surroundings are worth it.

3 of 7 people found this review helpful.

 AMAZING!!!

4/14/2008   4/14/2008
Review By: pointdisc
Played: 42  Reviewed: 4  Exp: 10.2 Years
1 Helpful / 7 Not
Pros: Beautiful course through wooded trails. Lots of elevation, tight fairways, good workout when playing, well laid out, and can cause a love/hate relationship.
Cons: Not close enough to home.
Other Thoughts: Definately one of the tops in Wisconsin. Play it if you're in the area.

1 of 8 people found this review helpful.

1 2 3 Next >

Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.