Royal Oak, MI 
Starr-Jaycee Park Share
Uploaded By: timg Hole #1
3 / 266ft.   -- / --   -- / --   -- / -- Par / Distance:
Hole #1 Tee



Reviews: 17
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
< Prev 1 2
wooot wooooo... you sound like a c-c-c-choo choo train

1    4/17/2014   4/17/2014
Review By: apdrvya
Played: 245  Reviewed: 238  Exp: 4.4 Years
Pros: Aesthetic-- plays through a large wooded park. Small amount of amenities that don't really interfere/intertwine with DG. The train tracks are nothing short of phenomenal... amazing the work that must go into them to maintain them.

Teesigns-- nice, with basic outline of the holes, distance and hole number. I can see where putting the tee number on all four sides of the top of the tee sign would help with routing here.

Routing and nav-- not terrible but not great. it's not always apparent where the next tee is until you're on the teepad. As mentioned above, it would be helpful to put the hole number on all sides of the teesign.

Teepads-- long but super narrow. make for a awkward followthrough and x-step. there are some long holes here that will require a run-up.

Cons: Dual teepads-- I am fully convinced that the second set of tees are superfluous here. they don't offer a ton of difference between the first and second round and don't really add a different dynamic. I am pretty sure this course would be better served with a 9-hole course only.

Water retention-- soupy ground in many places. not terrible but not great.

Tripping hazards-- while the train tracks are pretty sweet, they do present some pretty serious tripping hazards if you aren't paying attention.

Garbage-- a ton of garbage and broken beer bottles litter this course. there were no garbage cans present when we played.

Baskets-- wonky and bent a lot of the time. horribly UNvisible in most places.
Other Thoughts: nice park with a nice feel but has a ton of room for improvement.

 Quiet and empty course

1    7/1/2012   7/1/2012
Review By: dirtdog48188
Played: 9  Reviewed: 3  Exp: 4.1 Years
Pros: Not busy at all, plenty of shade and a beginner friendly course. With dual tee pads it is an 18 hole course. Less then a mile from Wagner Park so if you come you can play both courses.
Cons: Dual tee pads have you somewhat confused. Easy course with too much reputition.

 Simple, yet effective

5+    3/26/2012   3/26/2012
Review By: BogeyNoMore
Played: 168  Reviewed: 136  Exp: 10.3 Years
This review was updated on 8/11/2012
4 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Great setting; clean, quiet, city park in suburban USA - well maintained and easy to get to with plenty of parking.
Makes great use a moderately wooded section of the park to provide some challenging holes; fairways require decent accuracy off the tee, but are open enough for a good rip. Several trees figure prominently on every hole, emphasizing shot shaping.
Not a just pitch'n'putt, has a nice mix of distances - over half the holes exceed 300' with couple topping 400 ft.
While this set-up with 18 tees and only 9 baskets is less than optimal, the dual pads really do make the most of 9 baskets and IMO is executed quite well to provide significantly different looks, and often have you throwing completely different discs/shots at the same basket, to provide a full round of 18.
Simple wooden tee posts installed in the past couple of years show distance and direction and REALLY improve getting from hole to hole. (May not seem like much, but finding the next tee was a significant shortcoming on this course).
Short walk to next tee - great for squeezing in a quick 9 or 18 hole round if you're tight on time and traffic is light (weekday afternoons, evenings).
No nasty underbrush.
Cons: Formally posted on a couple of signs near the course: NO DISC GOLF12-4 PM the 1st weekend of each month (see Other Thoughts).
I don't mind fly pads: they provide sure footing and prevent the tee area from getting worn out - they can't do either if they're missing chunks and are badly torn up (which a few of them are). Players could easily catch an edge and take a spill on a drive if they're not careful.
Missing tee posts for holes: 8, 11, and 13. Doesn't look like they were broken or stolen, there's no indication they were ever installed.
Most holes are relatively straight, requiring only moderate amounts of hyzer or annie. Can feel repetitive by the time you get to the 2nd round for holes 10-18. They could have worked in some more extreme curves.
Dual tees makes more efficient use of baskets, but it can mean you have to wait a bit: you step up to tee 10, only to find you have to wait for some players to finish on hole 1.
Completely flat (not that you can do much about it).
Other Thoughts: Rating bumped from 2.5 to 3.0: Recently added Tee markers really enhance navigation, and concrete pads are a big improvement over the old, chopped up fly pads.

Starr-Jaycee is a solid course and pairs well with Wagner (1.25 miles away) for nice day's discing. They really made the most given the available land and the need to co-exist with other park activities. Course isn't on land dedicated to disc golf, but is fairly well isolated from most other park activities in a multi-use city park that gets decent traffic (just watch out for people around the pavilion when playing holes 8 & 17).

Miniature train tracks run throughout the heart of the course. DG is prohibited a couple of afternoons a month so kids can ride the trains. Sometimes I think the old guys who drive (and maintain) the trains enjoy it more than the kids do! All they're asking for is a couple of afternoons a month. The least we can do is respect that - it's their park, too. Kudos to the City of Royal Oak for having the cajones to set some rules and avoid some of the safety issues that often plague similar multi-use park settings.

There's a pavilion with bathrooms near the course, but they were locked last couple of times I played (weekday evenings).

Convenience store a few blocks away sells discs and typical snacks/drinks. Lots of eateries nearby.

4 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 Great course in public park

1    7/23/2011   7/26/2011
Review By: Scazmatic
Played: 12  Reviewed: 11  Exp: 4.3 Years
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: - Great location in suburban park close to many residential areas. Ample parking is available.

- Dual tees for each hole allow for a full found of 18 shooting on 9 baskets. Alternate tees vary in difficulty when compared to original tees, and all alternates provide additional variety to each hole.

- Course layout available on large sign next to first tee. Distances and tee boxes marked very clearly on each hole.

- Good use of wooded areas to increase difficult. Overall good variation, providing chance for long drives while also requiring a few technical shots into protected baskets.

- Course, and park in general, are fairly well maintained. Multiple shelters and trash cans are available on site.
Cons: - Tee pads are rubber and several have weathered to the point of missing large pieces.

- While signage is better than a lot of courses I've played, dual tees make the course somewhat difficult to navigate the first time around. Not every basket is marked with a number, which adds to the confusion.

- The park is pretty active, and the course plays right through the middle of the property, so you'll have to share the space with runners, bikers, and other park patrons. In particular, Hole 9/18 was shut down this summer for an outdoor theater stage.

- The park shuts down for disc golf once a month as a miniature train provides rides to kids.

- Lots of leaves, even in the middle of summer, could result in discs burying themselves in the fairway.

- No real elevation changes. This course might be a little monotonous for a more experienced player.
Other Thoughts: This is one of three courses within a short drive of my in-laws home in suburban Detroit, and I started here based on reviews I read on this site. The course is located on a small city park in a residential area of Royal Oak. Locals will know this as the "train park," as a miniature train setup runs throughout the park and operates the first full weekend of each month, giving rides to kids. While this shuts down disc golf for that day, I can't begrudge children of that awesome opportunity.

Overall I was very pleased with the course. I am by no means a great player, but I wasn't at all bored with the layout. I think it's a perfect fit for both beginners and the slightly more experienced. While pro level players will probably find it a bit short and straightforward, I was very impressed with how they managed to used the landscape they had available to them to make a challenging course. Lots of holes are wooded, while some allow for bombing drives. I'm also impressed with the length they managed to get on the course despite an otherwise limited amount of real estate.

Located in the heart of the residential area, it's an incredibly convenient place to play, and I can definitely recommend the course to anyone in the area looking for a casual game.

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 Nice Course In Royal Oak

2-4    8/1/2010   8/6/2010
Review By: Malachy
Played: 13  Reviewed: 4  Exp: 5.3 Years
Pros: Course is well maintained all holes and tees are there
Nice beginner course
Easy to get too
Cons: No elevation changes
back 9 can be slightly confusing
Other Thoughts: most holes are in the woods and there are train tracks everywhere for the kiddie train that runs through the park be careful not to trip over them

 

5+    5/14/2010   5/14/2010
Review By: Jsteele
Played: 2  Reviewed: 2
Pros: Some challenging holes
i prefer rubber tees (although these need a little work)
nice length on the holes
some ace opts
Cons: lots of leaves in the spring and fall hard to find discs they get buried.
If you over drive some holes you end up in traffic.
NEEDS SOME TLC 1st hole was missing chains last time i played maybe a month ago
Other Thoughts: Nice course with a decent location needs some love. Some times you have to deal with little kids.

 

1    8/25/2009   8/25/2009
Review By: radsnowsurfer
Played: 115  Reviewed: 37  Exp: 10.4 Years
1 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Many of the holes are fairly long with a decent amount of trees for an in-city 9 holer.
Great place to take first timers yet still air out drives if you're more experienced.
The map at hole 1 gives you some idea of where your going and explains the dual pads.
With the dual pads there are a number of interesting and challenging shots.
Distances and hole numbers on most of the tee pads.
Cons: Tee pads aren't in the best of shape, at least one has been partially destroyed.
Baskets don't catch too well.
Other than the smattering of trees there is little that makes the course layout interesting.
Lack of elevation or true doglegs.
Dual tees are very confusing, and some of the tee pads are left unmarked.
Other Thoughts: Playing Starr-Jaycee for the first time with a couple of newer players was definitely an enjoyable experience, though we had to first find the tee sign for hole 1 to catch our bearings. For an in-city 9 hole course it was certainly a passable layout, I was able to stretch out my longer drives while my friends didn't get too frustrated navigating the course. Also with Wagner near by you can get a play 18 holes expediently.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

 Dual tees are not good

1    7/22/2009   7/23/2009
Review By: DiscGolfinTheD
Played: 21  Reviewed: 15  Exp: 10.4 Years
1 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: The map at hole 1 is a great touch. Having facilities is good and it is pretty flat but wooded. All the baskets are present and in good condition and the people actually playing disc golf are very helpful if you get mixed up or lost.
Cons: DUAL TEES! I just can not get behind this idea on a course this small. If it wasn't such a busy park(not just with discr's) Dual Tees could work but you have alot of people either hanging out in fairways or just walking thru the park in your way. Most of the tee pads are falling apart and hard to recognize especially the "back 9". Because of the Dual tees we had to wait a long time to throw our next disc since people were getting lost and kinda wandering around looking.
Other Thoughts: I have to say if they would have just left this course a 9 hole course it would be easily a 3 out of 5! I understand the fun of being able to get out and throw 18 different holes. But when you try and pack it in with the space alloted here it just doesnt work out. The only way I could see it working here is if you were the only ones playing that day and yo ucould easily make it through 18. Other then that I would suggest just playing the first 9 and enjoying that! Because its a great layout!! As usual there are facilities here and the actual course is well maintained (outside of the pads).

Also there is shakespeare in the park going on so they set up right next to the facility pavilion so be careful when you are throwing.

1 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 Basic course in a crowded park

1    7/10/2009   7/17/2009
Review By: phishbrained
Played: 23  Reviewed: 13  Exp: 8.6 Years
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Quick rounds- Mostly shorter holes
Playing with the other set of pads, the course varies straight shots, lefts and rights all on the same elevation.
Only real obstacles are trees with no brush and all low grass.
Cons: Rubber pads are falling apart.
On weekends this place is crowded with non-disc golfers and they don't seem to notice they are doing some activity in the middle of a hole.
Layout a bit confusing as many of the tee pads are not labeled.
Other Thoughts: Definitely bring a map or take a picture of the map at the course.
Good for a quick round or beginners.

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 needs signs

1    6/22/2009   6/22/2009
Review By: Innovadude
Played: 226  Reviewed: 179  Exp: 16.3 Years
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Wooded city park with no rough or real hazards and beginner friendly design although tough enough in cases to challenge anyone.
Some rubber tee pads.
Course map.
Cons: Tee signs non existent, some rubber pads have hole #'s on them. Must find course map before you begin (in front of middle of parking lot) or you will get completely lost trying to navigate it.
Other Thoughts: Helps to know where Tee #1 is and the map. If you don't stumble on it first, hard to figure out what to do.

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

< Prev 1 2

Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.
Disc Golf Center