Royal Oak, MI 
Starr-Jaycee Park Share
Uploaded By: timg Hole #5
3 / 287ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #5 Tee



Reviews: 19
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers
A challenge, if it doesn't lull you to sleep

5+    12/26/2014   1/3/2015
Review By: Zinc_Alloy
Played: 5  Reviewed: 5  Exp: 16.8 Years
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Nice concrete teepads. Each hole is well marked. Good mix of open and tree laden fairways. No throwaway holes. Average hole distance is around 300 feet. Decent shot variety needed. Great parking.
Cons: Baskets are iffy, at best. Some are nice but others spit out discs even when center chained. 18 holes with only nine pads. Can feel monotonous after the first nine. No elevation changes or deceptive pin placements. Shot making is not at a premium. Up shots are an afterthought unless drives go seriously array.
Other Thoughts: This course definitely does not need the additional nine holes. They do not offer variety to the course. This is a course where pars are accepted but birdies are preferred. Every hole less 3,16 and 18 are consistently reachable from the pad. Double digit under par rounds are easily achieved if your hyzer is working properly.

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

wooot wooooo... you sound like a c-c-c-choo choo train

1    4/17/2014   4/17/2014
Review By: apdrvya
Played: 250  Reviewed: 244  Exp: 5.2 Years
Pros: Aesthetic-- plays through a large wooded park. Small amount of amenities that don't really interfere/intertwine with DG. The train tracks are nothing short of phenomenal... amazing the work that must go into them to maintain them.

Teesigns-- nice, with basic outline of the holes, distance and hole number. I can see where putting the tee number on all four sides of the top of the tee sign would help with routing here.

Routing and nav-- not terrible but not great. it's not always apparent where the next tee is until you're on the teepad. As mentioned above, it would be helpful to put the hole number on all sides of the teesign.

Teepads-- long but super narrow. make for a awkward followthrough and x-step. there are some long holes here that will require a run-up.

Cons: Dual teepads-- I am fully convinced that the second set of tees are superfluous here. they don't offer a ton of difference between the first and second round and don't really add a different dynamic. I am pretty sure this course would be better served with a 9-hole course only.

Water retention-- soupy ground in many places. not terrible but not great.

Tripping hazards-- while the train tracks are pretty sweet, they do present some pretty serious tripping hazards if you aren't paying attention.

Garbage-- a ton of garbage and broken beer bottles litter this course. there were no garbage cans present when we played.

Baskets-- wonky and bent a lot of the time. horribly UNvisible in most places.
Other Thoughts: nice park with a nice feel but has a ton of room for improvement.

 Great course in public park

1    7/23/2011   7/26/2011
Review By: Scazmatic
Played: 12  Reviewed: 11  Exp: 5.1 Years
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: - Great location in suburban park close to many residential areas. Ample parking is available.

- Dual tees for each hole allow for a full found of 18 shooting on 9 baskets. Alternate tees vary in difficulty when compared to original tees, and all alternates provide additional variety to each hole.

- Course layout available on large sign next to first tee. Distances and tee boxes marked very clearly on each hole.

- Good use of wooded areas to increase difficult. Overall good variation, providing chance for long drives while also requiring a few technical shots into protected baskets.

- Course, and park in general, are fairly well maintained. Multiple shelters and trash cans are available on site.
Cons: - Tee pads are rubber and several have weathered to the point of missing large pieces.

- While signage is better than a lot of courses I've played, dual tees make the course somewhat difficult to navigate the first time around. Not every basket is marked with a number, which adds to the confusion.

- The park is pretty active, and the course plays right through the middle of the property, so you'll have to share the space with runners, bikers, and other park patrons. In particular, Hole 9/18 was shut down this summer for an outdoor theater stage.

- The park shuts down for disc golf once a month as a miniature train provides rides to kids.

- Lots of leaves, even in the middle of summer, could result in discs burying themselves in the fairway.

- No real elevation changes. This course might be a little monotonous for a more experienced player.
Other Thoughts: This is one of three courses within a short drive of my in-laws home in suburban Detroit, and I started here based on reviews I read on this site. The course is located on a small city park in a residential area of Royal Oak. Locals will know this as the "train park," as a miniature train setup runs throughout the park and operates the first full weekend of each month, giving rides to kids. While this shuts down disc golf for that day, I can't begrudge children of that awesome opportunity.

Overall I was very pleased with the course. I am by no means a great player, but I wasn't at all bored with the layout. I think it's a perfect fit for both beginners and the slightly more experienced. While pro level players will probably find it a bit short and straightforward, I was very impressed with how they managed to used the landscape they had available to them to make a challenging course. Lots of holes are wooded, while some allow for bombing drives. I'm also impressed with the length they managed to get on the course despite an otherwise limited amount of real estate.

Located in the heart of the residential area, it's an incredibly convenient place to play, and I can definitely recommend the course to anyone in the area looking for a casual game.

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 

1    8/11/2008   8/11/2008
Review By: Pizatman
Played: 11  Reviewed: 9  Exp: 9.1 Years
1 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: The course plays very fluid and flows from hole to hole. Tee pads are clearly marked with hole numbers and distances. Course laid out across the back half of the park, each hole has a different layout, some require straight shots, others curving around trees. The course isn't challenging, but not necessarily the most simple. Has something for everyone.

Very nice people around the course.
Cons: Flat course, with dual tee pads, confusion can occur on busy days. The only sign for the course is the map near the first tee behind the large play structure, this can make the first trip to the course a little slow to start.

Some of the fly pads have been torn up and need repair.
Other Thoughts: Very nice park, trees everywhere so play is shaded and cool even on sunny days. With no water hazards and all holes far enough away from the roads, course is relatively forgiving for beginners/the occasional bad throw.

Despite the course being large, flat and wooded area, it does its absolute best and is enjoyable.

1 of 2 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.