Appling, GA 
IDGC - Steady Ed Headrick Memorial Share
Uploaded By: timg   (Taken 10/2011)
Course Entrance



Reviews: 51
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
< Prev 1 2 3 4 5 6
A Great, Fun Course

2-4    4/2/2015   4/2/2015
Review By: markmcc
Played: 106  Reviewed: 94  Exp: 3.1 Years
8 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: First of all, the IDGC is an amazing Disc Golf destination. With three outstanding 18 hole courses it is hard to imagine a better place to spend a day or several.

The Steady Ed course is described as the "fun" course of the three and I agree. It offers a great variety of long and short holes, water carries, elevation changes, and loads of trees to work around (and hit).

Two concrete tee pads for each hole, and two basket placements. Pads are large, level concrete with good texture. Tee signs are the outstanding John Houck signs that give an excellent graphic of the hole, including the various routes to the basket. Baskets are in excellent condition and catch well.

Hole lengths vary from as short as 215' to the 685' par 5 Hole 15. The shorter holes are typically tighter, while the longer holes have wider fairways. But all holes place a premium on accuracy and the ability to hit a line with your drive. Being off of the fairway even a few feet will often place you behind a tree and force an awkward approach shot. I used my flick more here than anywhere I can remember.

This course makes the most of the large lake and various streams. Holes 4, 5, 12, 13 and 14 all encourage drives out over the lake, with the obvious danger of dunking a disc if things go wrong. But for the most part the water is clear and fairly shallow, so most discs are recoverable with a Golden Retriever or by just wading. Hole 12 from the long tee is most memorable as you are carrying about 275' of water if you go directly at the basket. Hole 8 brings a small creek into play, where discs are also easy to fish out.

Along with the great course goes the amazing scenery. The courses are in unspoiled forest, and while I was there it couldn't have been nicer. Birds singing, trees just leafing out, cool breezes. What else could you want in a DG course?
Cons: It is hard for me to come up with cons. I am an intermediate player and found this to be the most enjoyable of the three courses here. There is a ton of challenge, but much to enjoy.
Other Thoughts: Great pro shop on site, along with the PDGA museum and hall of fame. The location itself (Wildwood Park) is a great place to camp. We spent four nights here and enjoyed ourselves.

The modest fee to play ($3 a day for PDGA members) is more than fair, considering how nice these courses are.

8 of 8 people found this review helpful.

Best of the Best

1    3/21/2015   3/21/2015
Review By: sjberry2017
Played: 21  Reviewed: 3  Exp: 2 Years
8 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: - Blue tees are concrete, red tees are very well laid rubber.

- Great tee signs on the blue tees, but red tees are marked and include distances.

- Lots of next tee signs, which are needed because navigation can be tricky.

- Elevation changes and water carries galore.

- Runs right along the lake, great scenery and keeps it a little cooler.

- The holes don't really get repetitive. Lots of different shots required and as a 95% RHBH player, I was throwing a lot of annys to cope with the lines.

- Plenty of benches.

- Lots of tree-lined, open fairways; really makes these holes feel like actual golf holes, but in a disc golf style.
Cons: - Some of the baskets are close to each other or to other tee areas (particularly the baskets for 6 and 14, I believe).

- The course can get pretty busy but people will typically let you play through.

- The elevation changes do make this somewhat of a hike, bring plenty of water.

- There's only one trashcan, near #7's blue teepad. You pass this can twice, but a few more cans would be great. The course was really clean though, so it may not be an issue.

- Some of the bridges need minor repair; they aren't unsafe per se, but could definitely use a little more love. They're also not always the most convenient, making the walk on a few holes really long. You also have to double back on a few fairways because of this.

- Hole 17 and Hole 5 can be a little tight, as the line for 17 takes you by #5's red pad.

- I don't really care for the baskets personally; they catch just fine but they look kind of old school to me and I'm not sure at how great they are at catching (I personally really like Mach II baskets, like what is on the nine holer across the river at USCA).
Other Thoughts: The Steady Ed Headrick Memorial Course at the IDGC is probably my favorite; there's plenty of elevation changes, tight but fair gaps, and lots of different lines and water carries required. All 18 holes require an accurate shot to score well, and the numerous par 4's do make a round fun. They are broken up well with some shorter and more technical par 3's that are not just gimme birdies. However, my favorite feature of this course is the grassy, open fairways which are lined with trees (particularly Holes 7, 11 and 15); this removes the unlucky tree kick from the scenario and instead places the focus on the golfer being able to drive accurately to remain in the fairway. Overall, this is probably my new favorite disc golf course.

8 of 8 people found this review helpful.

"Steady" Ed

1    1/19/2015   1/26/2015
Review By: S.Cann
Played: 112  Reviewed: 72  Exp: 6.1 Years
1 Helpful / 4 Not
Pros: Steady Ed really is the most enjoyable experience of the 3 courses at the IDGC. It's challenging, but doesn't leave you feeling like you just got run over by a Mac truck. Its got the hills of Warner, but the elevation is better utilized and it's got the forested beauty of Jackson. With the addition of water in play on several holes (mainly 5 & 12-14) this makes for a very interesting and fun course in it's own right. It goes without saying that it would be worth making the trip if just to play Steady Ed. As stated in previous reviews, the clubhouse is awesome and the museum is worth a visit just to see some of the amazing memorabilia throughout the years including one of the discs containing some of Ed's ashes. Ed really was a pioneer and a visionary and this course is such a great way to remember him with a fantastic course that perfectly combines both fun and difficulty.
Cons: Unlike the other two courses on this property, this course does not loop back around after the front 9.

As stated on my review of Jackson, no restaurants nearby, so it makes for a miserable experience if you don't bring your own.

Other Thoughts: "We used to say that Frisbee is really a religion, "Frisbyterians", we'd call ourselves. When we die, we don't go to purgatory. We just land up on the roof and lay there."

-"Steady" Ed Headrick

1 of 5 people found this review helpful.

The "fun one"

5+    10/11/2014   12/30/2014
Review By: Pbmercil
Played: 32  Reviewed: 5  Exp: 9.8 Years
6 Helpful / 4 Not
Pros: This is the "fun" course at the IDGC. Which means that its still really challenging and has some beastly holes, but you won't be crawling off the 18th green begging for mercy.

This course is the prettiest of the 3 at the IDGC. Lots of elevation change and terrain features, as well as playing around the lake make for a very picturesque round. Its a gorgeous course, no doubt.

Having short tee's available on every hole is really nice for girlfriends, children, or just newer players who aren't quite there yet. Its really great to be able to play this course with a mixed skill level group and everyone can still enjoy the round.

Hole 5 is just a fantastic tee shot. One of the best tee's in disc golf, particularly when its in the long placement. Huge downhill shot, lake on the right, layup path on the left for pansies (aka lefties).

Hole 9 short is one of the prettiest greens I've ever seen. The basket is protected by this beautiful rocky outcropping, its just amazing.

Hole 15 long is awesome. One of these days I will get an eagle. If you can throw 350+ it is theoretically possible, but I have yet to convert. Someday!

All the other holes are great too, but this is a review not a walk through.

15 of the 18 holes have multiple pin placements, and pins are constantly being shuffled around. This means you can play this course many many times and not play the same layout twice, which is awesome!

This is the course I've played the most at the IDGC, because its the most fun and its not nearly as much of a grind as the other two. As much as I love Jackson I've probably played Steady 3-4x more, just because its beautiful, fun, and not a 3 hour slog.

One great thing about playing at the IDGC is that you will ALWAYS get a call back on a lost disc. Way to pay it forward guys!
Cons: I have none. The only thing that makes this a 4 and not a 4.5 or 5 is that I reserve those ratings for gold level courses, which this is not, nor does it pretend to be.
Other Thoughts: Pro tip: on your first round here make sure you take the time to walk up the fairway and spot the pin. Many pins are hidden off the tee and you need to know where you're aiming.

6 of 10 people found this review helpful.

IDGC - Steady Ed Headrick Memorial

1    11/9/2014   11/11/2014
Review By: craigd
Played: 97  Reviewed: 94  Exp: 6.8 Years
This review was updated on 11/26/2014
12 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: I didn't know Steady Ed personally but I would have to imagine he would be proud of his memorial course that calls the IDGC home. While there are two other courses on the property, this course is arguably the most popular and maybe the most fun.

Not unlike the other two courses, an arched trellis greets you at the first hole. The view of hole one's downhill shot with a glimpse of the lake in the background is a perfect introduction to what lies ahead. A course map, a list of sponsors, and other info lead you to the first pad. A newly added feature is a box with a complimentary map of the course, PDGA pencils, and a nice touch, scorecards that even reflect the current layout.

Beyond the pomp and circumstance of the IDGC and the grand entrance to the course, great disc golf backs up the hype. Throughout the course, there is a considerable amount of elevation changes. The first four holes play up and down the side of a steep slope. Just when you start to feel that it is becoming repetitive, the next downhill shot on 5 introduces water into play and gives you a couple of options with a split fairway. From that point forward, it was a steady dose of mixed shots and holes for the rest of the course. For a wooded course, there is lots of variety in terms of length, par's, and required placements shots. Several ace runs and seemingly easy birdie opportunities offer some reprieve from some of the tougher, more demanding holes.

Multiple basket placements mean there will always be fresh layouts, especially here where the course gets more attention than a common county park would. I happened to visit before a tournament so the baskets were placed in the "Mad Professor" layout which meant it brought all three par 5's into play on this par 67 - 7495' arrangement. However, other times and most often I believe it is a much more relaxing (and some may say more enjoyable) shorter mix. After all, there are more daunting courses next door if you want a good whipping. The blue painted DGA baskets are nice and a color you do not see every day. They are in great shape and of course catch very well.

There are two tee pads on the course. There are concrete tees on the long pads and rubber pads framed with timbers on the shorts. No matter which pad you choose, you will find them well maintained with a spread of mulch around to keep things tidy.

Perhaps one of the highlights you are sure to remember is the scenic layout. The course plays through a wooded area of the park that will remind you of hike in the woods. Views of the lake of are on many if not the majority of the holes. It really is just a beautiful area.

Naturally, this is the IDGC so there are plenty of amenities off the course.
Cons: You will find yourself walking up fairways on the first visit to spot some of the baskets, especially on the longer layouts/placements. The tee signs also seem to be a little off in terms of distances and approximate basket locations relative to actual placements. Be careful making assumptions on your first time out without spotting the baskets first.

I was surprised that the course did not employ the two-loop layout that would have brought you back to the parking lot after nine holes followed by a consecutive loop for the back nine. This is never a deal breaker for me but I just thought since it is such a desired design trend that it would be found at the Disneyland of Disc Golf. It would have been nice to take a break half way through and grabbed some refreshments and what have you. As a consolation though, there is the "roller coaster nine" where you can play holes 1-5 and then pick up at 15-18 for a quick (relatively speaking) nine on the hilly holes.

While it is not the courses fault, and does not affect my rating of it, the IDGC is closed on Sunday (courses still open though). This is not biggie unless you make a trip on Sunday as I did and find out after the fact that it is not open (my fault that I did not read!). Another thing that surprised me was that there are no bathrooms on site during non-business hours. A port-a-jon would be nice, especially for the ladies.
Other Thoughts: I cannot say enough about how nice the property is at the IDGC. I really do not think too many folks will be disappointed in the courses out here.

If you are on the fence about the traveling here, you need to pull the trigger and go! I only live 2-1/2 hours away and in the 6 years I have been playing, I had just never got around to it. That is probably because it is sort of out in the middle of nowhere. However, I can see myself visiting several times a year in the future.


12 of 12 people found this review helpful.

Steady Ed

1    8/5/2014   8/8/2014
Review By: heelboycraig
Played: 192  Reviewed: 183  Exp: 11 Years
14 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Steady Ed is the 'fun' course at the IDGC, if there's such a thing. With the most variety and most chances to catch for low scores, you'll appreciate this layout.
- This course is an absolute blast. Compared to Jackson and Warner, which are both grueling layouts, this one does allow you to be more aggressive. Plus this course is the most scenic, offering the most variety of all three IDGC courses.
- Course offers two pin positions and two tee pads for a total of four potential layouts. Whereas Jackson only has one tee and one pin locale and Warner has one basket and two tee setups, this offers the most variety. Inasmuch, this course is the most 'casual level' friendly. There are plenty of people I wouldn't recommend playing Jackson due to its difficulty (at times, myself included), Steady Ed has the most appeal to us mere peasants.
- There are some epic hole layouts. Starting with hole one, a long, 595 foot downhill hole to a pin located near the lake, your nerves and accuracy are challenged from the beginning. The short pin location is only 295 feet, but that still requires a level of accuracy.
- From there it just gets better. Two holes stood out to me as elite - #5 & 11. It was only after I played and read this site again, did I see that those were considered the course's signature holes. And I can see why.
- #5 is awesome. It's 395 feet to the short pin (510 to the long), downhill, over water and back to a pin protected by trees. Long downhill hole + water in play = what more could you ask for? There's also a safe, bailout route around to the left, taking water out of play.
- #11 is a 480 footer to the short pin (550 to the long pin) with both locations offering split fairways. There are essentially three different fairways, with the middle one being shared by both pins. To the short pin, the fairway doglegs to the right (to the left for the long) to a basket with trees playing around it. This isn't the most challenging of holes, but it's got one of those classic disc golf hole layouts that make us all love the game.
- Oh yeah, did I mention four holes play on, over or around the beach? Yes sir. You go from playing in the woods for most of this course, and all of the other two courses, to walking on the sand and throwing over the lake. The sand and lake come into play on #5 & 12 - 14. The water is to the left on #12 - 14, so safe to say you want your shots coming back to the right. All four have a high risk/reward element to them because the more you're willing to throw over the water, the better line you have to the basket. This is most prevalent on #14, which is a 215 footer with a wide open line over the water and a tight line over land. The irony here is that the safe line is so tight, there's a chance you could ricochet off a tree and still end up in the water.
- This course has the highest risk/reward factor of the three IDGC layouts. Steady Ed has more 'short' holes than the other two courses, especially when the pins are in the shorts. Because of having a lot of holes under 300 feet, you can actually be aggressive and see birdies appear on your scorecard. I had a five hole stretch on the back nine where I had potential birdies on each hole. I ended up with three birdies and one scramble for bogey because I got a little overly aggressive from the tee, and ended up with a horrible bounce off a tree.
Cons: The only glaring con was that the distances don't match up on the tee signs, online scorecards (from here) or the scorecards they provide in the shop. I couldn't ever tell what source was right because at different points, each seemed pretty accurate right on or somewhat off.
- This is going to be a copy and paste comment for all three IDGC courses. The overall difficult of the courses, terrain and elements are going to be a negative for some players. Basically, if you're not a good enough player, you should not play here. Know what you're getting into before you tackle this three-headed monster.
- Another copy and paste note. These courses probably present a higher than normal 'lost disc' factor. For errant throws, be prepared to spend considerable time searching or be prepared that you might lose a disc or two while playing.
- Final copy and paste note. Be prepared when playing. Pack plenty of food, water, bug spray and other essentials. You can purchase some items inside the center. Besides that there's one gas station a mile from the park. After that, it's another 15 minutes back towards Augusta and restaurants, gas stations, etc.
- I'll put this here because I need to fill up this space. As much as I loved the beach holes, it might be depressing standing on the beach in the middle of January as you play through. In the summer, it's great. Overlooking the water and standing on sand when it's 40 degrees out, probably not as appealing.
- Navigation was mostly very good, but could be improved. You cross past separate holes going from one hole to the next several times. I also had a hard time finding the tee for #18, having first stumbled upon a different (no longer used) long tee. My great tee shot from the incorrect, longer tee ended up being for naught, settling instead for a shanked shot from the proper tee.
Other Thoughts: Writing this review a couple days after playing the IDGC, I have the fondest thoughts about Steady Ed. The course, that is. While Jackson is the best overall and Warner is a solid beast throughout, I'm gravitating towards the best, and most enjoyable, round I had at the IDGC.
- One piece of advice I have for anyone visiting the IDGC is to play the courses from hardest to easiest. Knock out Jackson first, when (in theory) you're freshest, then Warner and end with Steady Ed. As a point of reference, I shot 12 strokes fewer at Steady compared to Warner and 18 strokes fewer compared to Jackson.
- Because of the variety and scenery, and the shorter layout, I enjoyed Steady Ed the most, with very little frustration. Had a disc or two landed in the water, I'm sure my opinion would be somewhat different.
- If the tee signs are accurate, the short pin location comes in at just over 6000 feet. When you go straight from Jackson to Steady Ed, you notice a huge difference playing a course that's 3300 feet shorter. It's very rare that a 6000 foot course feels so shorter and approachable.
- Of the shorter holes, I'll throw out two more that I enjoyed: #8 & 13. I already mentioned 13, so here's a plug for #8. It's a 235 footer to the short basket (250 to the long), through a tight, wooded gap to the basket. It takes a great shot to get it close to the basket. But, even if you hit a tree, you should have a good chance to salvage par. This isn't anything spectacular, just a solid, creative, well-designed layout.
- I'm giving Steady Ed a 4.5. If only the short pins existed, it would still probably be pretty close to a 4. With just a taste of a couple long layouts, I can see how great this course can be. This is a must play, even if this were a stand-alone course. I wonder how it took me so long to finally make a trip to the IDGC. Now I'm ready to go back.

14 of 14 people found this review helpful.

Steady Ed

2-4    4/30/2014   5/5/2014
Review By: Peter S
Played: 86  Reviewed: 28  Exp: 21 Years
This review was updated on 7/8/2014
2 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: Lots of challenge in the woods with some shots a bit more open. Cool gap shots. Scenic water carries. Shots up and down the hillside allow you to try overhand thumbers and every shot you can think of.
Cons: Some ticks but not as bad as other courses in the thick woods.
Other Thoughts: As a white level player, this course is my favorite of the 3 at IDGC.

2 of 5 people found this review helpful.

Waters Fine

1    12/26/2013   12/28/2013
Review By: reposado
Played: 228  Reviewed: 225  Exp: 3.9 Years
8 Helpful / 5 Not
Pros: Steady Ed may not have the length of WR Jackson but it has much better use of elevation and several holes in which water is seriously in play. It starts out slow and the first few holes had me wishing the long pins were installed that day, but on 4 it picks up and I was very satisfied with the layout on the last 2/3 of the course. 4 is unique little water hole that features a short carry where the bend in the fair way is directly over the water. Toss one out that can fade to the left and land on the slope. From there its an upshot that is very much an "up" shot to the green. It'd different. It's fun.

The fifth hole should be the signature hole here. Even to the short tee it's a solid carry from high above the water, down a long slope and then over the inlet and through a narrow gap on the other bank. Very rewarding. I'm also really fond of the hole design of the second set of water holes. 12-14 all allow a shot to hang over the water and fade right onto nicely located target zone for birdie opportunities. Between the hills and the water there is a a lot of variation and a huge fun factor here. With the two pin locations, there is solid replayability. With the additional short tees, it is the course at the IDGC for an inexperience discer to play.

It also boasts the amenities characteristic of the IDGC. Perfect, trapezoid-shaped teepads. Nice, no-frills signs that tell you what you need to know. Color-coded baskets that let you know if you are on the wrong course. Next tee signs at just about every juncture keep you on the right track. And as a final note, that water here is very retriever-friendly. Most of the places where you will go in, you will be able to fish it out.
Cons: After playing WR Jackson, some of the fairways here feel a bit cluttered.(especially the first few) They aren't as well shaped, or awe-inspiring. There's not a ton of brilliance here. It's a good solid, 4-star course but it suffers from comparison to its IDGC brethren. I think perhaps the long pins here would live up to the family name, but the short pins that were in place were a bit underwhelming. Steady Ed has more water than those two and more elevation than Jackson, but most holes just aren't that memorable.

And of course, I can only review the course that I played, and on that day, the water level had risen to a point that three holes were unplayable. At least one tee were under water. Baskets were poking up from
below the lake. And areas the looked to be target landing zones on the map were completely submerged. I don't think it's seasonal and it looks more like a recent development that will cause the course to have to be adjusted. Trees were dying dozens of yards from the shoreline and I would guess that the water had to have been higher than in years. The real shame is these looked like some of the best holes on the menu. On the same note, many of the bridges were out on the course, requiring some unintended lengthy walks.
Other Thoughts: If all eighteen were playable, and the long pins played as well as the map made them look, then I think this could be on par with the other two courses in the facility. But the fifteen holes that I played didn't quite live up to Warner and Jackson.

8 of 13 people found this review helpful.

My Kind of Course.

1    10/18/2013   10/22/2013
Review By: sgamerp
Played: 80  Reviewed: 64  Exp: 7.1 Years
4 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: As most people have said this course along with all the other courses on this land have the basics plus. Great Signs, Lots of benches, huge practice area, pro shop, grills before the course, maps/scorecards for all the courses and a power aid vending machine.

But this is Steady Ed!

I am nothing more then a rec player and this is the kind of course for me. When I played tees were in shorts, and I had a blast.

Two pin points and two tees on most of the holes.

DGA Baskets that have MPH wind flags on top of them, to let you know how the wind is flying.

Of all the courses this is the only one with the trash cans around the course, and also had the most benches of all the courses.

From what I have been told this is the oldest of all the courses and has the most history.

This course is hard and easy at the same way, none of the holes are extremly long(in the shorts) but still this isn't a pitch and put course. Plenty of trees/ob.s and still a great over all course.

Fun Factor, this course has the highest fun factor on the lot.

Perfect round of play after playing the other two courses.
Cons: Really the only real con, is this is more a course for a rec player.

They have two sleeves, so you have to play whatever pins they gave.

Pay To Play, but I don't really think this is a con for this course.
Other Thoughts: I loved this course, because of time, I had to break it up, and it has a nice little ten hole play for shorter rounds (1-6 15-18) so if you have to cut it short you aren't stuck out in the middle of the course at dark.

Like all others No Drinking at the course.

Camping on site which is extremely nice.

This is the oldest of all the courses and doesn't seem like that at all. Looks like it could of been put in two weeks ago the way it was, all these courses are Gold Caliber and some of the best courses in the areas.

If you have the time/money IDGC is well worth it to come out. You can camp in the primitive camping and all day green fees for 15 bucks a day.

______________________________________
If you do not like my review, please give me a PM on what I can improve. Thanks!

4 of 6 people found this review helpful.

A nice dedication to Master Ed

5+    10/13/2013   10/19/2013
Review By: forehandfranz
Played: 191  Reviewed: 124  Exp: 23 Years
6 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: This course at the IDGC probably has the most variety of all 3 here, and probably the friendliest (in terms of difficulty). This course has everything - elevation, the waters of Storm Thurman Reservoir to skirt, well-defined fairways lined with reasonable forested bounaries, and just an all-around great experience. There are two sets of tee pads - the longs are well geared to intermediate and advanced, and the shorts are for beginner to intermediate. I played the shorts for the first time this visit and they were fun, albeit a bit too easy for a 930 rated player (me), but fun as a pitch and putt round. This is definitely the course where a beginner would want to spend their time - as the other two courses are long and very beastly!

The DGA baskets are the top of the line version - powder coated blue with the DGA wind flags on top - indicating the current wind speed. I don't think I've seen those flags at any other course (probably because they are easily vandalized).

Cons: The course never loops back to the clubhouse, so you are more or less committed to the course until you're done. (Not a big con, but takes a small notch away)

For a pay to play course, this is well maintained, but I was disappointed to find the bridge on hole #5 (the first to go over the water) was out. For pay to play -especially at a high profile venue - I think that things need to be fairly pristine in terms of course mainenance. They had an open Ladies tourney the weekend I played and would think they would have fixed this bridge.
Other Thoughts: For all the years I've come here, this is the first where the water level at the shores was actually high enough to actually effect the danger of the shots made on those water holes. This is a big boon for the play on this course!

Due to the fact that you are experiencing disc golf history, as the IDGC features a museum, pro shop and clubhouse (and 4 practice baskets, shelter, etc, etc), I must bump up my rating .5 points. This is the full deal.

I very much have wanted to play some of the long pin positions at this course (and HAVE played some). But I can't ever recall when the pins have been all long or all short. One day, I hope the IDGC will install permanent long and short pin positions that would give the ultimate variety for this course.

6 of 6 people found this review helpful.

< Prev 1 2 3 4 5 6

Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.