Disc Golf Store
Appling, GA
IDGC - Steady Ed Headrick Memorial Share
Uploaded By: timg Hole #6 (Taken 10/2011)
3 / 226ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #6 Blue Tee



Reviews: 44
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
< Prev 1 2 3 4 5
Waters Fine

1    12/26/2013   12/28/2013
Review By: reposado
Played: 145  Reviewed: 142  Exp: 3.8 Years
6 Helpful / 4 Not
Pros: Steady Ed may not have the length of WR Jackson but it has much better use of elevation and several holes in which water is seriously in play. It starts out slow and the first few holes had me wishing the long pins were installed that day, but on 4 it picks up and I was very satisfied with the layout on the last 2/3 of the course. 4 is unique little water hole that features a short carry where the bend in the fair way is directly over the water. Toss one out that can fade to the left and land on the slope. From there its an upshot that is very much an "up" shot to the green. It'd different. It's fun.

The fifth hole should be the signature hole here. Even to the short tee it's a solid carry from high above the water, down a long slope and then over the inlet and through a narrow gap on the other bank. Very rewarding. I'm also really fond of the hole design of the second set of water holes. 12-14 all allow a shot to hang over the water and fade right onto nicely located target zone for birdie opportunities. Between the hills and the water there is a a lot of variation and a huge fun factor here. With the two pin locations, there is solid replayability. With the additional short tees, it is the course at the IDGC for an inexperience discer to play.

It also boasts the amenities characteristic of the IDGC. Perfect, trapezoid-shaped teepads. Nice, no-frills signs that tell you what you need to know. Color-coded baskets that let you know if you are on the wrong course. Next tee signs at just about every juncture keep you on the right track. And as a final note, that water here is very retriever-friendly. Most of the places where you will go in, you will be able to fish it out.
Cons: After playing WR Jackson, some of the fairways here feel a bit cluttered.(especially the first few) They aren't as well shaped, or awe-inspiring. There's not a ton of brilliance here. It's a good solid, 4-star course but it suffers from comparison to its IDGC brethren. I think perhaps the long pins here would live up to the family name, but the short pins that were in place were a bit underwhelming. Steady Ed has more water than those two and more elevation than Jackson, but most holes just aren't that memorable.

And of course, I can only review the course that I played, and on that day, the water level had risen to a point that three holes were unplayable. At least one tee were under water. Baskets were poking up from
below the lake. And areas the looked to be target landing zones on the map were completely submerged. I don't think it's seasonal and it looks more like a recent development that will cause the course to have to be adjusted. Trees were dying dozens of yards from the shoreline and I would guess that the water had to have been higher than in years. The real shame is these looked like some of the best holes on the menu. On the same note, many of the bridges were out on the course, requiring some unintended lengthy walks.
Other Thoughts: If all eighteen were playable, and the long pins played as well as the map made them look, then I think this could be on par with the other two courses in the facility. But the fifteen holes that I played didn't quite live up to Warner and Jackson.

6 of 10 people found this review helpful.

My Kind of Course.

1    10/18/2013   10/22/2013
Review By: sgamerp
Played: 80  Reviewed: 63  Exp: 6.1 Years
2 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: As most people have said this course along with all the other courses on this land have the basics plus. Great Signs, Lots of benches, huge practice area, pro shop, grills before the course, maps/scorecards for all the courses and a power aid vending machine.

But this is Steady Ed!

I am nothing more then a rec player and this is the kind of course for me. When I played tees were in shorts, and I had a blast.

Two pin points and two tees on most of the holes.

DGA Baskets that have MPH wind flags on top of them, to let you know how the wind is flying.

Of all the courses this is the only one with the trash cans around the course, and also had the most benches of all the courses.

From what I have been told this is the oldest of all the courses and has the most history.

This course is hard and easy at the same way, none of the holes are extremly long(in the shorts) but still this isn't a pitch and put course. Plenty of trees/ob.s and still a great over all course.

Fun Factor, this course has the highest fun factor on the lot.

Perfect round of play after playing the other two courses.
Cons: Really the only real con, is this is more a course for a rec player.

They have two sleeves, so you have to play whatever pins they gave.

Pay To Play, but I don't really think this is a con for this course.
Other Thoughts: I loved this course, because of time, I had to break it up, and it has a nice little ten hole play for shorter rounds (1-6 15-18) so if you have to cut it short you aren't stuck out in the middle of the course at dark.

Like all others No Drinking at the course.

Camping on site which is extremely nice.

This is the oldest of all the courses and doesn't seem like that at all. Looks like it could of been put in two weeks ago the way it was, all these courses are Gold Caliber and some of the best courses in the areas.

If you have the time/money IDGC is well worth it to come out. You can camp in the primitive camping and all day green fees for 15 bucks a day.

______________________________________
If you do not like my review, please give me a PM on what I can improve. Thanks!

2 of 3 people found this review helpful.

A nice dedication to Master Ed

5+    10/13/2013   10/19/2013
Review By: forehandfranz
Played: 174  Reviewed: 104  Exp: 21.9 Years
4 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: This course at the IDGC probably has the most variety of all 3 here, and probably the friendliest (in terms of difficulty). This course has everything - elevation, the waters of Storm Thurman Reservoir to skirt, well-defined fairways lined with reasonable forested bounaries, and just an all-around great experience. There are two sets of tee pads - the longs are well geared to intermediate and advanced, and the shorts are for beginner to intermediate. I played the shorts for the first time this visit and they were fun, albeit a bit too easy for a 930 rated player (me), but fun as a pitch and putt round. This is definitely the course where a beginner would want to spend their time - as the other two courses are long and very beastly!

The DGA baskets are the top of the line version - powder coated blue with the DGA wind flags on top - indicating the current wind speed. I don't think I've seen those flags at any other course (probably because they are easily vandalized).

Cons: The course never loops back to the clubhouse, so you are more or less committed to the course until you're done. (Not a big con, but takes a small notch away)

For a pay to play course, this is well maintained, but I was disappointed to find the bridge on hole #5 (the first to go over the water) was out. For pay to play -especially at a high profile venue - I think that things need to be fairly pristine in terms of course mainenance. They had an open Ladies tourney the weekend I played and would think they would have fixed this bridge.
Other Thoughts: For all the years I've come here, this is the first where the water level at the shores was actually high enough to actually effect the danger of the shots made on those water holes. This is a big boon for the play on this course!

Due to the fact that you are experiencing disc golf history, as the IDGC features a museum, pro shop and clubhouse (and 4 practice baskets, shelter, etc, etc), I must bump up my rating .5 points. This is the full deal.

I very much have wanted to play some of the long pin positions at this course (and HAVE played some). But I can't ever recall when the pins have been all long or all short. One day, I hope the IDGC will install permanent long and short pin positions that would give the ultimate variety for this course.

4 of 4 people found this review helpful.

I'm sorry Ms. Jackson

2-4    6/27/2013   10/15/2013
Review By: Connor Jones
Played: 64  Reviewed: 33  Exp: 3.9 Years
20 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Fun. One of the most fun courses I've played. Maybe it's the fact that the other two courses on this property are such behemoths of disc golf. Maybe this is the exact change of pace needed. Maybe it's the perfect balance of elevation and hole shapes, the scenic views of the lake, who knows.

As with all courses at the IDGC, the baskets and teepads are pristine and perfect. Extra bonus to Steady Ed having a variety of pin locations for every hole.

As far as holes go, I'm a huge fan of the very first. A slow downhill shot requiring a midrange down the heart in the short, it's a basic hole but there's something about it. Maybe it's the fact that it's just a good way to build up the anticipation for the rest of the course.

Hole #5 is my favorite on the track. A beautiful shot overlooking the water, with the option to throw a slight hyzer over it to try and get the two, or to take the safe route. Both times I've gone over the water and shockingly enough, made it across.

All the holes out here are at the very least solid, some spectacular. I really just wanted to mention five because it's such a fantastic hole from a playing and aesthetic standpoint.

Even though this is the shortest of the three courses, certain pin placements can still be lengthy, so don't let it fool you. Play smart golf, stay in the fairway, you will score well. This is the easiest of the three by a large margin so after you get beat down by Jackson, this is a nice reminder that you don't suck as bad as you had thought.(hopefully)
Cons: None. The only thing separating this course from being a five in my mind is it does slightly lack that certain it factor required to score a five. The fact that it's on a property with two other fantastic courses though makes the destination as a whole an easy five.
Other Thoughts: This is my favorite of the three. It's what I consider to be the most fun & the prettiest, and while I certainly love and appreciate the challenging golf on the other parts of the property, sometimes its nice to just relax.

The IDGC is fantastic. I'm glad to have it in my home state. The pro shop has a solid selection of plastic and other disc golf related items, some cozy couches to cool down on and a lot of cool disc golf history to browse.

I'd say everyone needs to make the trip here at least once, there's some other courses absolutely worth playing in the area as well.

20 of 20 people found this review helpful.

More IDGC greatness!

1    9/12/2013   9/15/2013
Review By: sloppydisc
Played: 197  Reviewed: 141  Exp: 5.4 Years
8 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: 1 of 3 courses in the IDGC complex in Appling, GA. On site there is a great pro shop, picnic tables and gazebo, as well as a handful of practice baskets. This is a truly great destination course and facility.

The Steady Ed course offers multiple tee pads and basket positions so some of the exact hole layouts may change depending on when you play. There could also be issues with high water by the lake that could change the difficulty or set up. There are signs at each tee pad and navigation aids to help you get around. As could be expected here pads are well done concrete. Conditions and upkeep were excellent.

This course is simply on a great piece of land that offers up everything you could want for a top notch technical course. The first hole tee off downhill toward the lake and uses the woods and elevation well. It is just a glimpse of what is to come.

Almost every hole here is wooded and offer some sort of technical challenge. There are steeps uphill shots and steep downhill shots. There are some really tight holes that seem almost unfair to the untrained eye. And there are several holes along the lake just to add to the fun. If you like wooded disc golf with all sorts of challenges thrown in then this course is for you.

While most of the course is tight and technical, there are a couple long holes with multiple fairways and landing zones that'll keep those loving their high speed drivers happy. This course also seems to really favor tricky greens or protected baskets. Where possible baskets are protected by some nearby trees, or on a slop to add to the risk from a tee shot or approach. And of course, the baskets by the lake have there own inherent risks. Lots of fun risk and reward here. Reminds me a lot of some of my favorite NC courses.

While this a wooded course don't let that fool you. While number 1 was set at 201', there were also some long holes requiring long accurate drives to landing zones, followed by long approaches to the basket. This is not a wooded pitch and putt by any means.
Cons: None really. There were a couple holes I thought were almost too tight, but after getting to the basket, and walking the entire fairway the lines became more obvious.

Snake warning sign. I really hate snakes.
Other Thoughts: Everybody I talked to prior to my visit raved about WR Jackson, and rightfully so, but the Steady Ed course is every bit as solid. It has some great elevation, water holes with lake views, long open fairways, and just a bunch of challenging golf. Depending on your mood or preferences you could rate either course as the best at IDGC and you wouldn't be wrong.

#5 stands out to me as a hole that could stick in my mimd for a long time. A tee pad on the hill aiming down and out over the lake to a basket on a peninsula guarded by trees. Or take the cowards way out and the walk of shame like me, and throw down over the inside lane and Red tee pad to a nice, dry safe landing zone. It's your choice. Choose wisely.

I typically hate losing disc, and water holes on and over lakes sometimes really get in my head. But this course offers so many chances to throw a water hole you'd be foolish to pass it up. So enjoy the ups, downs and splashes. There is always the pro shop at the top of the hill to replenish your supply for the next round.

Go to IDGC. It's worth it.


8 of 8 people found this review helpful.

This is my favorite course!

1    8/5/2012   8/5/2012
Review By: BamaSlamaJim
Played: 65  Reviewed: 14  Exp: 5.9 Years
8 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: This is an amazing course at an amazing center in an amazing park! Of the three courses at the IDGC this is my favorite!

Steady Ed has absolutely everything in a disc golf course. The beauty is unparalleled. There are fantastic trees, lots of elevation changes, and great views of the water. It's amazing enough just to walk this course, yet alone play it. It's great that they have short pads. I played the longs, which are tough, and my girlfriend played the shorties and we had a great time!

The course has tons of variety in shots. It's got ups, downs, high shots, low shots, all kinds of curves, and there are lots of places with multiple options. You get the chance to decide to "go for it" or "play possum". If you throw a bad shot, there's trouble, but it's not super-brutal and it's easy to find your plastic. Just don't throw it in the water and you're good to go.

I got to meet Brian Graham and see the museum in the clubhouse and I caught a 7 lb. largie right by my campsite. What more do you need?
Cons: Zero, seriously, the Steady Ed rocks!
Other Thoughts: Can't wait to make another trip to the IDGC!

8 of 11 people found this review helpful.


1    7/9/2012   7/16/2012
Review By: cox3
Played: 219  Reviewed: 6  Exp: 9.4 Years
0 Helpful / 7 Not
Pros: Distance, accuracy, and versatility are all required.

The holes near the lake are pretty.

Signage is very good.

There is very significant elevation change.
Cons: Several of the fairways were not all that "fair".
Other Thoughts: Tee pads were okay.

The course was definitely a test although, as I mentioned, some of it required some luck.

Aesthetics, challenge, and variety were all good but nothing really stood out to me.

The IDGC experience was really great. I recommend it.

0 of 7 people found this review helpful.

The most fun of the courses at the International DG Center

1    6/12/2012   6/12/2012
Review By: Jashwa
Played: 89  Reviewed: 54  Exp: 9.9 Years
11 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: The proximity of the IDGC pro shop, the DG Hall of Fame, and the Headrick memorial museum make the three courses located on site worth every penny of the fees associated with going there. Add onto that the upkeep that the three courses on site receive from the IDGC workers and you've already got yourself a decently high rated course. The clubhous also provides disc golfers with plenty of practice baskets to putt on for busy days as well as a station to fill up water bottles, hang out, and relax between rounds. That right there makes this course better than many others, but Headrick was my favorite of the IDGC courses, each of which also benefit from the proximity of the facilities. Therefore I am giving it my third 5.0 rating. Here's what set it apart:

*Scenery. This course had breathtaking shots that just weren't present on the other courses at IDGC. It brought the beach into play, giving many disc golfers a brand new experience (especially for those of us from Illinois).

*Good mix of blind and visible-from-tee shots. Usually I enjoy throwing towards a target that is visible withing a few yards of the tee more than throwing towards a landing zone, but I don't mind it when a course has a few of these on its more challenging holes. The mix in this category was perfect.

*Challenge. The holes here were not daunting, but they all demanded specific lines to be hit as they wove their way through the trees.

*Distance. Excellent variety in this category. Some short ace runs mixed with some long bombs. This variety is even further enhanced by the fact that there were two sets of concrete tee pads with multiple pin positions for each hole.

*Elevation: Because this course played down onto the beaches, it had very good elevation changes from hole to hole.
Cons: Though this course definitely had challenging holes, if you are looking for the most difficulty, Jackson is the course for you.
Other Thoughts: This course (as well as the entire International Disc Golf Center) should be a destination stop for every disc golfer out there.

11 of 11 people found this review helpful.

Wonderful Experience

1    4/15/2012   5/16/2012
Review By: Jax11
Played: 91  Reviewed: 34  Exp: 4.9 Years
10 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: - Beautiful landscape
- Good shot variety
- Good use of elevation
- Well designed par 4's.
- Well defined and manicured fairways
- Rewarding Birdie opportunities
- Good distance variety
- Room for creative options
- Water in play (may be a con for some)
- Solid concrete teepads
- Great baskets
- On site PDGA HQ
- Benches throughout the course
Cons: - Challenging course (some may be turned off by this)
- Minor navigation issues
- Can be challenging for people with less distance.
- Some blind elevation shots where one could lose a disc (watch it finish, should be fine)
- Water can be treacherous if the level is high
Other Thoughts: Overall, the Steady Ed Memorial course was a highly enjoyable experience for my group. The course was extremely challenging and forces you to use most of your arsenal. It has a good variety of hole designs and does not favor a particular throwing style. The holes often have various routes that present different throwing styles with risk/reward decisions. This allows for some creativity in line shaping and shot selection. I think this is a great design feature that many courses lack.

The landscape is beautiful, you play through the woods, on the edge of a decent sized lake. The lake does come into play and if the water is high, there may not be a lot of safe area to land your disc. Lucky for us, it was low when we played and we didn't lose any.

This course is well put together as should be expected with it being the Steady Ed Memorial course. The equipment is all in great condition and adds to the enjoyment of this course. It is challenging and allows for a lot of risk reward decisions. Bring your "A" game and enjoy the beauty that is this course.

The PDGA HQ is not open on Sundays.

Watch for red ant hills, and don't step on them. they will attack!

10 of 10 people found this review helpful.

 Excellent representation of our sport

1    2/13/2012   2/28/2012
Review By: harr0140
Played: 683  Reviewed: 478  Exp: 5.3 Years
16 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: 1) Awesome blue powder coated baskets and number plates. These are some of the most attractive baskets I have seen. The number plates always face the tee and they even have flag on top of the basket to gage the wind and help you spot the basket more easily. Top of the line!

2) Benches, tee signs, and directionals are all around the course. You really have to expect all of the amenities at the headquarters of the governing body of our sport.

3) Nice signs with Hole #, Par, distance, a general hole map, and both pin placements on the sign.

4) Very nice grippy trapezoidal concrete for the regular tees and nice framed up rubber tees for the forward tees. Jason (the superintendent) said he really doesn't like these rubber tees and they require a lot of work because of washouts, settling, and such, but it certainly looks like he stays on top of any repairs because they all seemed to be in pretty good shape to me.

5) Next tee signs located on the poles to help with navigation. This system is nice but if you don't know to look for it you will not see it.

6) Chicken wire on the slick wet wood on the bridges in a few spots (see also cons) to keep people from slipping. At least they did something because the wood was definitely slick.

7) Water comes into play on a couple of holes . . .although the level was definitely down from where it is normally, that kind of feature is not available on all courses so it is still cool nonetheless.

8) The most unique hole I encountered on this course was #11 where there was basically a double split fairway . . . meaning four lanes to get to the two basket locations. You could take a hyzer line or an anhyzer at the right hand basket, or if the basket was on the left side you could take a fairly straight shot or another anhyzer. This was a pretty unique hole and something I have never seen before. (See also cons).

9) There are some nice rock formations in the woods here . . . something that I appreciated on this trip while I played Holler in the Hills. These formations can be used for some great basket locations and also to help create some more challenging putting areas. This is a feature of Stan McDaniel design if you know of Rennaisance Gold, Hornet's Nest etc. and something I really like in terms of design. Flat baskets in the middle of flat ground are all the same, these are each unique.

10) Pavillion and picnic tables are available along with a soda machine outside. There are restrooms inside the IDGA and a couch to sit down on too. Check out the pro-shop while you are there and help support the PDGA through other ways than just your annual dues. Check out the history of the sport and our founder Steady Ed Headrick in the Disc Golf Hall of Fame

11) Jason (the superintendent) also has a dog that likes to run around outside the building. He was timid at first but then he knew we were nice and he actually followed me for 1.5 holes on each course before turning around to go back to the porch.

12) Designed by two of the premier designers in our game Chuck Kennedy and Tom Monroe.

13) Excellent use of distance variation as a design element. There are all sorts of different distances out here so you need all your discs in your bag. You will also never have the same shot twice which is awesome. SO many courses get stuck on the 275-300' shots where you can only have so many hyzer shots before the holes become repetitive. Here the distances vary so much you never have the same shot on two holes.

14) Scorecards and maps available in the pro shop . . .always a bonus on a world class course that you have not played before.

15) Nice big sign and map along with sponsors and contributors to the course listed on another sign. I love the entrance gate that you walk through to get to the course.

16) Very clean woods . . . meaning Jason works very hard to keep the peripheral areas free of fallen limbs and debris. It is pretty rare that you see something that is in play off the fairway and that is greatly appreciated and it helps make the course look just that much better.

17) Incredible practice area with all of the types of baskets represented as well as plenty of angles and approaches to be thrown. I didn't warm up (because I already played Lake Olmstead and had to make sure I was able to finish all 3 courses) but if I was playing a tourney this would be greatly appreciated.

18) They did an excellent job keeping the trees that frame fairways and cleaning out the ones that do not need to be there. The fairways are very fair but they do still make you make the shot.

19) Excellent variety in shot shaping on this course. There were a lot of different shots off the tee but your recovery shots bring even more shots into play . . . I love throwing different shots all day . . . it keeps things from feeling boring.
Cons: 1) The only thing this course was missing in terms of amenities would be an indicator system for which basket location is currently in the ground. I expect that they will eventually do this because it is one of those things that sets courses above the rest, but as of right now there is nothing there to indicate the current basket location.

2) I like the idea of making the wood bridges safer but I could easily see someone getting stuck in the chicken wire and making their fall worse than if nothing was there. I made sure to lift my feet high each time I stepped on the bridge.

3) #11 was both good and bad . . . the good was mentioned above, but the bad comes from the fact that you cannot see the basket so you really have no idea which lane to choose. I chose the hyzer line figuring I could get all the way around more easily to either basket. I felt like the anhyzer line was going to be tougher to hold if it was in the right position and even moreso on the further left anhyzer line. The basket was fortunately on the right as I was hoping but I sure would have liked to know for sure.

4) I know I am nitpicking but I feel like these courses need to show everything that is possible with disc golf because of the fact that the PDGA is on site. The teepads in many spots do not have soil or material flush with the top and that can lead to falling off the teepad on occasion. If it was up to me I would make sure the ground is always flush with the teepad for at least a few feet on all sides. This will allow a greater runup and also a bigger follow through.

5) Unlike the other two courses . . . this one does not loop back to the clubhouse/parking area. It is also the easiest of the walks and least strenuous course of the three so it is less of an issue but still worth noting for those only into 9 holes.
Other Thoughts: This place definitely did it right. What more can be said other than this is an excellent . . . no . . .superb example of our sport. They have all the amenities (almost) that you can ask for and they have a lot of fun and challenge at the same time. Isn't that what Steady Ed would have wanted??? I know it's what I want when I play disc golf almost everyday.

16 of 17 people found this review helpful.

< Prev 1 2 3 4 5

Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.