Disc Golf Store
Appling, GA 
IDGC - Steady Ed Headrick Memorial Share
Uploaded By: timg Hole #5 (Taken 10/2011)
3 / 416ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #5 Basket to Tee



Reviews: 46
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
1 2 3 4 5 Next >
 A true mental test

2-4    11/25/2008   11/26/2008
Review By: rnance7
Played: 71  Reviewed: 9  Exp: 6.3 Years
This review was updated on 3/15/2009
3 Helpful / 5 Not
Pros: Very challenging. This course will put anyone in their place and helps you figure out very quickly how good you really are. A humbling experience. Very good tee signs, easy to navigate, multiple pin placements, very pretty setting and its at a wonderful facility.
Cons: Not a whole lot...can be very frustrating at times
Other Thoughts: This is a championship style course, so its not supposed to be easy...beginners would not have a good time here..

3 of 8 people found this review helpful.

 if you can't take the trees..stay off the fairway

1    11/13/2008   11/13/2008
Review By: Innovadude
Played: 225  Reviewed: 178  Exp: 16.2 Years
22 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Long and tight, many placement shot holes. Some even allow you to bomb drives through tight woods- just be sure you know where you need to land. Scenic, rolling wooded hills by the lake. Cement tees, signs. All possible amenities on-site at the IDGC. 1 of 3 courses to pick from on site. Bad shots deservingly punished, but usually can make the shot to try and recover.
Cons: -When set up anything but shortest layout, it may be too tough (as in more of a hassle and frustrating experience) for beginners.
-Lake water level so low the water was nowhere NEAR being in play, instead 100's of feet away and therefore not adding a challenge yet still marked off OB area.
-With many layouts, can be hard to know which one it's in.
-A few holes (#3, #16) probably need re-designed or widened.
Other Thoughts: Other reviewers may not have had the necessary skill to play this course, which is frankly not meant to be played by lower level players without some high HIGH scores to be expected. I had no problem sticking to all but a few fairways, and making my shots work when needed.

22 of 22 people found this review helpful.

 Dissapointment

2-4    8/13/2008   10/20/2008
Review By: Redneck Machismo
Played: 126  Reviewed: 23
This review was updated on 5/19/2009
4 Helpful / 46 Not
Pros: The only pro I can really come up with is that some of the holes might have potential if dozens of trees were removed. UPDATE 5/19/09, after playing the course again recently it seemed slightly better than before. I think it is just because I am getting more used to playing unfair courses. As a result I have increased my rating from zero to one.
Cons: This course simply is too tight and unfair. It really is unplayable and is an extreme disappointment. It is not near any town and I have personally seen people leave in frustration. This is the type of course that a 900 rated player and a 1000 rated player can play the same depending on luck. I hate the idea of throwing a perfect shot only to have it hit a twig on a tree that you couldn't even see from the tee and watching your disc fly into the lake. One can throw good shots and still make double digit numbers on several of these holes.
Other Thoughts: This land is really not conducive to having a disc golf course unless literally hundreds of trees are removed. I will say that the W.R. Jackson course is slightly more playable but overall the IDGC should not have been built on this property.

4 of 50 people found this review helpful.

 

2-4    9/13/2008   9/17/2008
Review By: bazkitcase5
Played: 122  Reviewed: 56  Exp: 10.3 Years
This review was updated on 11/11/2010
25 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: The course has new DGA baskets, concrete tee pads, and good tee signs. There are benches on every hole.

The course is heavily wooded, but the fairways are mostly fair. Lots of variety throughout the course, including water, elevation, distances, shot selection, multiple pin placements, and scoring spread. This is a technical course because you have to bring your mental game as well as your physical game. This course is the tighter, but shorter of the 3 courses currently installed at the IDGC.
Cons: It costs money to enter the park ($2), then more money to play the courses ($5 for a weekend pass).

The drought in GA as mentioned already does take a lot of danger and beauty out of the water holes, turning many of them into easier birdie holes. The course does not loop back to the club house at the half way point.

If you are not at least an advanced level player, then you better enjoy a challenge or else this course can be very tough, especially if the water is up or if the positions are in the longs.
Other Thoughts: This is a Blue Level course when everything is in the longs and the water level is up. As a blue level pro player at the time of this review, I love the challenge of this course. Unfortunately, when I played the course, the water level was down and quite a few holes were in the shorts. I look forward to playing this course again when it is at its toughest.

Home of the IDGC, you can visit the pro shop, hang out in the club house in the air conditioner and watch disc golf videos, all between your rounds. The bathrooms are nice and clean. You can camp in the park, both with running water and electricity or primitive.

There is also 2 other good courses right across the parking lot. This is a great disc golf destination.

25 of 25 people found this review helpful.

 Stellar course, a must play

4/15/2007   8/6/2008
Review By: jdawg24
Played: 92  Reviewed: 50  Exp: 16.2 Years
18 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: *Located @ the IDGC -- you've got a pro shop, hall of fame, another championship course (with a 3rd on the way), bathrooms, refreshments, putting practice area, camping, and much more - all within WALKING distance of this course -- HUGE perk
*Multiple concrete pads, multiple baskets
*Great terrain - wooded hillside with a lake coming into play, full variety of shots needed
*Championship caliber course...real par 4's!...'nuff said
Cons: *IDGC is not close to anything - I wish it was 30 minutes not 2 hours from my house
*Costs $$ to get into park, but not much - i think it was $2 when I was there. When i visited it wasn't pay to play, but sounds like it might be now. Still, it's probably worth it...
*Drought in GA currently has lake levels down - so some of the best holes are lacking a bit of their character - see below
Other Thoughts: Favorite hole is #5 - elevated teepad on a hillside throwing downhill to a pin on a penninsula surrounded by water on 3 sides. Tough, tight but dry route left can play for a 3....must throw risky shot out over water and hyzer back to dry straight ~500' for a look at a 2 -- Stellar hole! Note - i've heard it's dry right now due to the lake being down.

This course is part of the great IDGC facility. I played both courses during the grand opening NT event last april, and have been meaning to get back down. Both courses are great & completely worth a trip. The facilities are top notch and you could easily spend several days here. Located on a beautiful lake with campground nearby, and Augusta is only 20 minutes away if hotels are your thing.

This is one of the best courses in Georgia.


18 of 18 people found this review helpful.

 

4/6/2008   4/19/2008
Review By: fedsigMaster
Played: 9  Reviewed: 2  Exp: 9.4 Years
3 Helpful / 9 Not
Pros: Lots of variety, concrete tees, very well marked, different hole locations, having the headquarters at the end is an added bonus.
Cons: It's a new course so it's not quite broken in, it's a long walk through the course, it costs to play.
Other Thoughts: Having to pay to get into the park and then having to pay to play was disapointing. The trees are everywhere, which makes a round fun and/or aggrivating.

3 of 12 people found this review helpful.

1 2 3 4 5 Next >

Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.