Appling, GA 
IDGC - Steady Ed Headrick Memorial Share
Uploaded By: timg Hole #11 (Taken 10/2011)
4 / 591ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #11 Tee Sign



Reviews: 51
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
 A+ = Top Shelf!

2-4    8/22/2008   4/18/2009
Review By: Dave242
Played: 371  Reviewed: 275  Exp: 21 Years
7 Helpful / 10 Not
Pros: What I personally like and how this course stacks up:
1) Holes with good risk/reward -- A+
2) Holes that have rewarding birdie opportunities -- A+
3) More wooded than open - lots of variety of shots required caused by hole shape and topography -- A+
4) Natural beauty (Appalachian beauty preferred) and seclusion -- A
5) Multi-shot holes with defined landing zones, good risk/reward and multiple options to play them -- B
Other Thoughts: I ranked this course subjectively based on my own personal enjoyment factor…more accurately my "personal addiction factor". Since I have played a decent number of courses (115 18-hole, 50 9-hole as of early 2009), my hope is that players/explorers who have similar tastes will find my ratings list helpful as they chose courses to play and explore.

Over time, I expect to fill some of my reviews in with more descriptive verbiage…if what I say adds anything to what has already been written. For now, my list is more important to me than the verbiage of my reviews.

I fully expect others with different tastes/philosophies to disagree with me. See my profile for my rating philosophy.

7 of 17 people found this review helpful.

 Straight from Wisconsin

1    2/8/2009   2/8/2009
Review By: CoopDeVille
Played: 16  Reviewed: 3  Exp: 15 Years
3 Helpful / 5 Not
Pros: good mix of short and long holes, lots of tricky pin placements and hazards. Very challenging and good to use as the first course you play out of the three. Well mapped out tee off to tee off.
Cons: needs to be groomed a bit, made it a bit difficult to determine pin placement. not too much else to say.
Other Thoughts: We drove st8 through the night to get here (16 hours) and played this course immediately. By far a great start to great area for disc golf.

3 of 8 people found this review helpful.

 

5+    2/4/2009   2/4/2009
Review By: Marc B.
Played: 28  Reviewed: 14  Exp: 11 Years
6 Helpful / 4 Not
Pros: I Love Ed! It can definitley put you in your place. The lines are there but they are tight. Placement is key. Just 'cause it's the "easiest" doesn't mean it is easy! These are gold level courses at the IDGC,so yes, there are trees on the course and fairways! The piece of land they used for the IDGC is a good spread. The Ed has cool granite boulders and outcroppings with nice pin placments within the rock formations. Water in play on a few holes when it's high enough.
#5 is sick!
Cons: Not too fond of the alternate pin placements.

6 of 10 people found this review helpful.

 A Great Course

1    1/22/2009   1/22/2009
Review By: dandaman
Played: 55  Reviewed: 21  Exp: 20 Years
1 Helpful / 6 Not
Pros: One of the best layouts that I have seen in course design. Holes are fair, challanging and scenic. Baskets are of superior quality. Course is easy to navigate.
Cons: Very little negative. I noticed that the distance on hole #16 was incorrect.
Other Thoughts: Overall this course is one of the best that I have seen/played. It is still a little rough around the edges, but given a little 'beat-in time' this course will only continue to impress. The lake was down when I played, so hopefully those water shots will eventually come back into play.

1 of 7 people found this review helpful.

 fun course

5+    12/17/2008   12/22/2008
Review By: krazybronco
Played: 11  Reviewed: 5
This review was updated on 4/15/2009
1 Helpful / 8 Not
Pros: the course is the easiest of all the courses at the IDGC the fairways are fair and if you dont go to far off the fairways they are easy to get back onto but you will need to bring every disc un your bag because each hole is different
Cons: some of the fairways where you need bomb of a drive could be widened
Other Thoughts: the pin positions can be change around and the course can be made longer with just a few changes so before going out to play ask at the idge club house what the pin positions are in

1 of 9 people found this review helpful.

 A true mental test

2-4    11/25/2008   11/26/2008
Review By: rnance7
Played: 74  Reviewed: 9  Exp: 7.1 Years
This review was updated on 3/15/2009
3 Helpful / 5 Not
Pros: Very challenging. This course will put anyone in their place and helps you figure out very quickly how good you really are. A humbling experience. Very good tee signs, easy to navigate, multiple pin placements, very pretty setting and its at a wonderful facility.
Cons: Not a whole lot...can be very frustrating at times
Other Thoughts: This is a championship style course, so its not supposed to be easy...beginners would not have a good time here..

3 of 8 people found this review helpful.

 if you can't take the trees..stay off the fairway

1    11/13/2008   11/13/2008
Review By: Innovadude
Played: 226  Reviewed: 179  Exp: 17 Years
22 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Long and tight, many placement shot holes. Some even allow you to bomb drives through tight woods- just be sure you know where you need to land. Scenic, rolling wooded hills by the lake. Cement tees, signs. All possible amenities on-site at the IDGC. 1 of 3 courses to pick from on site. Bad shots deservingly punished, but usually can make the shot to try and recover.
Cons: -When set up anything but shortest layout, it may be too tough (as in more of a hassle and frustrating experience) for beginners.
-Lake water level so low the water was nowhere NEAR being in play, instead 100's of feet away and therefore not adding a challenge yet still marked off OB area.
-With many layouts, can be hard to know which one it's in.
-A few holes (#3, #16) probably need re-designed or widened.
Other Thoughts: Other reviewers may not have had the necessary skill to play this course, which is frankly not meant to be played by lower level players without some high HIGH scores to be expected. I had no problem sticking to all but a few fairways, and making my shots work when needed.

22 of 22 people found this review helpful.

 Dissapointment

2-4    8/13/2008   10/20/2008
Review By: Redneck Machismo
Played: 131  Reviewed: 23
This review was updated on 5/19/2009
4 Helpful / 46 Not
Pros: The only pro I can really come up with is that some of the holes might have potential if dozens of trees were removed. UPDATE 5/19/09, after playing the course again recently it seemed slightly better than before. I think it is just because I am getting more used to playing unfair courses. As a result I have increased my rating from zero to one.
Cons: This course simply is too tight and unfair. It really is unplayable and is an extreme disappointment. It is not near any town and I have personally seen people leave in frustration. This is the type of course that a 900 rated player and a 1000 rated player can play the same depending on luck. I hate the idea of throwing a perfect shot only to have it hit a twig on a tree that you couldn't even see from the tee and watching your disc fly into the lake. One can throw good shots and still make double digit numbers on several of these holes.
Other Thoughts: This land is really not conducive to having a disc golf course unless literally hundreds of trees are removed. I will say that the W.R. Jackson course is slightly more playable but overall the IDGC should not have been built on this property.

4 of 50 people found this review helpful.

 

2-4    9/13/2008   9/17/2008
Review By: bazkitcase5
Played: 122  Reviewed: 56  Exp: 11.1 Years
This review was updated on 11/11/2010
25 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: The course has new DGA baskets, concrete tee pads, and good tee signs. There are benches on every hole.

The course is heavily wooded, but the fairways are mostly fair. Lots of variety throughout the course, including water, elevation, distances, shot selection, multiple pin placements, and scoring spread. This is a technical course because you have to bring your mental game as well as your physical game. This course is the tighter, but shorter of the 3 courses currently installed at the IDGC.
Cons: It costs money to enter the park ($2), then more money to play the courses ($5 for a weekend pass).

The drought in GA as mentioned already does take a lot of danger and beauty out of the water holes, turning many of them into easier birdie holes. The course does not loop back to the club house at the half way point.

If you are not at least an advanced level player, then you better enjoy a challenge or else this course can be very tough, especially if the water is up or if the positions are in the longs.
Other Thoughts: This is a Blue Level course when everything is in the longs and the water level is up. As a blue level pro player at the time of this review, I love the challenge of this course. Unfortunately, when I played the course, the water level was down and quite a few holes were in the shorts. I look forward to playing this course again when it is at its toughest.

Home of the IDGC, you can visit the pro shop, hang out in the club house in the air conditioner and watch disc golf videos, all between your rounds. The bathrooms are nice and clean. You can camp in the park, both with running water and electricity or primitive.

There is also 2 other good courses right across the parking lot. This is a great disc golf destination.

25 of 25 people found this review helpful.

 Stellar course, a must play

4/15/2007   8/6/2008
Review By: jdawg24
Played: 93  Reviewed: 51  Exp: 17 Years
18 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: *Located @ the IDGC -- you've got a pro shop, hall of fame, another championship course (with a 3rd on the way), bathrooms, refreshments, putting practice area, camping, and much more - all within WALKING distance of this course -- HUGE perk
*Multiple concrete pads, multiple baskets
*Great terrain - wooded hillside with a lake coming into play, full variety of shots needed
*Championship caliber course...real par 4's!...'nuff said
Cons: *IDGC is not close to anything - I wish it was 30 minutes not 2 hours from my house
*Costs $$ to get into park, but not much - i think it was $2 when I was there. When i visited it wasn't pay to play, but sounds like it might be now. Still, it's probably worth it...
*Drought in GA currently has lake levels down - so some of the best holes are lacking a bit of their character - see below
Other Thoughts: Favorite hole is #5 - elevated teepad on a hillside throwing downhill to a pin on a penninsula surrounded by water on 3 sides. Tough, tight but dry route left can play for a 3....must throw risky shot out over water and hyzer back to dry straight ~500' for a look at a 2 -- Stellar hole! Note - i've heard it's dry right now due to the lake being down.

This course is part of the great IDGC facility. I played both courses during the grand opening NT event last april, and have been meaning to get back down. Both courses are great & completely worth a trip. The facilities are top notch and you could easily spend several days here. Located on a beautiful lake with campground nearby, and Augusta is only 20 minutes away if hotels are your thing.

This is one of the best courses in Georgia.


18 of 18 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.