Rupert, ID 
Lake Walcott State Park Share
Uploaded By: Trav Hole #1
3 / 430ft.   3 / 277ft.   -- / --   -- / -- Par / Distance:
Hole #1 Tee



Reviews: 21
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
 3 new holes

1    9/2/2012   9/2/2012
Review By: kd7mxi
Played: 2  Reviewed: 2
0 Helpful / 5 Not
Pros: you can play as fast or slow as you want ,, new holes were a huge surprise , i scored 103 dad scored 110 on the new course straight score without birdies penalties and such
Cons: the new hole layout takes getting used to at first but there pretty good ,,, i lost a disc on the roof at hole 6
Other Thoughts: nice place as always

0 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 Classy Course

1    6/25/2012   6/25/2012
Review By: OldDog
Played: 49  Reviewed: 8  Exp: 38.4 Years
1 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: No more tromping through poisonous plants, stickers, and blackberries! This is an absolutely beautiful course with lush mowed grass, ornamental trees, neat stone walls, and friendly people. A few native trees and glimpses of the surrounding mountains remind you that you are indeed in Idaho.
The course itself is a super mix of long and short, left and right. I threw forehands - plenty, and needed them - backhands, and rollers as well. Yet the course is not clogged with tress; they are just well-positioned.
The Discatchers and rubber t-pads are in great shape.
Cons: Although most holes were easy to find, a couple gave me trouble.
Beware wet rubber t-pads in the morning.
Other Thoughts: I would happily make this my home course, but as a traveler I will certainly visit again. No holes really stick in my mind as outstanding, but I just loved the atmosphere of the place.

1 of 2 people found this review helpful.

Near The Lake

1    4/30/2011   5/3/2011
Review By: sillybizz
Played: 219  Reviewed: 206  Exp: 11.3 Years
This review was updated on 6/23/2014
4 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Lake Walcott is a very pretty place for a nice disc golf course. Not only do you get the nice green grass and the pretty lake but you get some nice trees and rock built platforms that add challenge, fun and uniqueness to the course. There are plenty of crafty pin locations and some trees to block your path but there are a couple of holes out here that are a little short and a little too open to challenge the pro players but intermediate and advanced players will have a good time. Some of the longer holes including the par fours are well thought out but could use some lengthening to add more challenge and threaten more bogey opportunities. The balance of right to left and left to right favors RHBH players slightly like a lot of courses do but this course does have good variety in that aspect as well hole distances and open and technical throws. Navigation is fairly easy with only one real walk that I can remember from one end of the park to the other across the road and by some space that could have been used but overall not bad at all. I like the rubber tee pads and the signs do a good job of showing where all of the basket locations are with the multiple pins. There is even a non marked secret second tee pad for hole twelve that has you throw out over the water.
Cons: All that I can think of is that some of the distances on the long par three holes and the single par four hole could be moved to create a better hole or two. Some of you out there aren't going to like the $5 charge to pay the course so I suppose that could be thought of as a con but for me coming from a ball golf background that is dirt cheap and I have no problem with it. It would be nice if there was a little more elevation change but I'm just nitpicking at this point in the game.
Other Thoughts: I wouldn't call this a super duper challenge or anything extremely unique but this is a solid all around course. Being right in between Twin Falls and Boise this could be a good stop for a road trip where you can camp and stay a couple of nights or just stop for a picnic and some golf, either way you really can't go wrong here, enjoy yourself.

4 of 5 people found this review helpful.

IDAHO Lake Walcott de PIMP

2-4    5/30/2010   6/2/2010
Review By: JMONEY
Played: 225  Reviewed: 41  Exp: 5.3 Years
This review was updated on 2/13/2013
11 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Very clean, well maintained restrooms, water faucets throughout, picnic benches, info kiosk with a posted flight chart and pamphlet containing a custom scorecard. Quiet, large unique rubber tee pads, great tee signs(actual pictures) providing distance and locations of pin placements.Well maintained ground with mature trees in a park like setting. A campground on Lake Walcott is within the park as well.
Cons: No practice basket, $5 entrance fee, off the beaten path. Insects during summer!
Other Thoughts: This was an outright fun course to play, whether you are a beginner or advanced DG'r. This course has never been crowded no matter what day of the week! The park ranger who drives around in the go-cart totes around a bag of discs and even joined us on the back nine during Memorial weekend...It was not busy at all! On Hole #5 your disc may land in some pine trees, the park provides a lenghty white PVC pipe to retrieve from the trees preventing any destruction to them. There is no store nearby so bring a lunch and enjoy this great destination course. Even though this course is off the beaten path I still make it back everytime i'm in Idaho...Well worth it!

11 of 12 people found this review helpful.

 Totally rad!

2-4    11/7/2009   3/7/2010
Review By: Carl311
Played: 4  Reviewed: 4  Exp: 5.3 Years
2 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Wow. What a fun course. First off, its beautiful scenery! An oasis of green and trees in the middle of southern Idaho sagebrush prairies. The course makes great use of the rolling terrain, with most holes incorporating some form of elevation change. Great variety of open holes, to really narrow fairways. A few real long holes, the rest are medium and short, which I prefer. Many chances for an ace! The trees calm the almose incessant southern Idaho wind.
Cons: Ummm, I dunno. I heard it gets buggy in the summer...
Other Thoughts: Super duper fun to play. I didn't want to stop! I played as it got dark one night, and finally had to call in an evening when I lost a disc because I just couldnt see it anymore.

Definitly a "destination" course, with camping and plenty of other area attractions (City of Rocks, Pomerelle, Jackpot...)

2 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 Hidden Gem

1    7/18/2009   7/21/2009
Review By: Starwraith169
Played: 46  Reviewed: 21  Exp: 11.4 Years
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Wow, what a course. In a beautiful park right next to the snake river. Great layout with a variety of shots, both long and short. Great place to come and camp and get your game on. Favorite holes would have to be either 13 or 6
Cons: We drove almost 500 miles t get there,and when we arrived, a family had rented out all the camping spots in the park for a reunion, so we had to find a spot outside the park next to the river, but my buddy said that it is NEVER like that, and ill take his word for it.
Other Thoughts: Overall, if you are traveling through the area or are going on a road trip, definitely make the park one of your go-to courses.

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 Walcott

5+    9/20/2008   12/19/2008
Review By: Justin H
Played: 49  Reviewed: 8  Exp: 10.3 Years
1 Helpful / 4 Not
Pros: amazing course located on a wildlife reservation. this is a disc golfers hidden paradise. giant oak trees and groomed fairways. camping right next to the course. water and bathrooms w showers.
Cons: lots of bugs from the lake. the drive from the interstate is well worth it. pesky racoons.
Other Thoughts: check the schedual for some awsome PDGA event here in 2009

1 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 Wonderful place on earth

2-4    7/11/2006   12/11/2008
Review By: kinfolkfan
Played: 96  Reviewed: 18  Exp: 9.3 Years
This review was updated on 1/23/2009
1 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: -Great course set in a beautiful area.
-Not overly busy when we were there.
-Camping.
-Fun open holes and some slightly
wooded holes.
-Rest Rooms
-Pic nic shelters.
Well manicured.
Cons: I guess mosquitos lots and lots.
Other Thoughts: There is a lot of wild life. We saw so many really cool owls every night. Like I said mosquitos are bad, but worth braving them. Check it out!

1 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 Lake Wolcott State Park

1    5/2/2008   5/2/2008
Review By: martinb
Played: 153  Reviewed: 58  Exp: 35.1 Years
This review was updated on 4/28/2011
9 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Atmosphere, environment, amenities all come to mind when talking about Lake Wolcotts' disc golf course. Caters to all levels of disc golfers, ease of use is huge. Never crowded for disc golf. Well marked and baskets have lately been upgraded. Camping available RV and tent, showers, fire pits, fishing.
Cons: Pay to play. Far from any store, or town. Some summers have an abundance of hornets, mosquitoes. Dog leash law (personal dislike), Some weekends you cannot find a campsite due to other attractions, (boating, fishing).
Other Thoughts: This disc golf course as a destination is awesome, and i would give it a higher rating but you have to pay to get into the state park, and its a course set up for beginner and advanced players as opposed to pro lplayers. The wind always picks up in the afternoon though and makes even the shortest holes a challenge. The front nine is stretched out and more open, with the back nine more sheltered and short relatively speaking. Night golf is a must on the back nine. When you enter the park you are transported to an experience/environment that lets you relax and leave all your worries behind and time flies by like you wouldn't believe. The area is a bird sanctuary on the Snake River with the Minnedoka Dam creating Lake Wolcott, so there are more things to do if you like boating, fishing, or just bird watching. The best way to play the course is to spend a couple of days camping and enjoying the area in full. You wont get bored during the time you spend whether your a travelling pro, or a family unit who enjoys spending time together playing disc golf, or just recreating.
04-28-11: this course has been tweaked by the local players for a higher ablility level, ie. longer pin placements and tougher technical aspects down the fairway. not sure if this is a pro or con, it definitely takes some of the "fun factor" out of the course.

9 of 9 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.