Rupert, ID 
Lake Walcott State Park Share
Uploaded By: Trav Hole #15
3 / 252ft.   3 / 230ft.   -- / --   -- / -- Par / Distance:
Hole #15 Tee



Reviews: 18
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
State Champion

1    6/2/2013   12/17/2013
Review By: idahooldguy
Played: 27  Reviewed: 26  Exp: 2.2 Years
1 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: 21 holes makes for a nice, long round.
Beautiful park with some massive old growth trees (there is a Cottonwood tree there that must be 9-10 feet in diameter)
Multiple pins with good signage.
Uncrowded!
Holes 11-21 are particularly nice with plenty of birdie chances.
Wide variety of shots needed.
Cons: Lots of bugs in late summer.
A little out of the way (but maybe this is a "Pro")
Rupert's streets can be confusing, so use your GPS or print directions before you go.
Other Thoughts: This course is #1 in Idaho for a reason. I wish I lived a little closer so I could play it more often. My DG buddies and I did a weekend trip last June. We hit Walcott, Massacre Rocks, Upper Ross Park, and Sister City. It was an epic trip that I plan on making an annual tradition! You could also hit CSI and Rock Creek while you're in the area.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.


1    6/24/2013   6/24/2013
Review By: Joey Pauley
Played: 24  Reviewed: 8
0 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: - Tee pads - love the soft rubber
- Flat with nice challenging hole locations to make it interesting
- well manicured lawns not sage brush
- mix of short and long holes
- 21 holes
Cons: - Off the beaten path
- Flat - a little more change in elevation would make this course a 5
Other Thoughts: - Getting to Hole 11 and 18 was confusing w/o a map.
- the back 11 are short challenging holes. If we camped we would have played them again.
- Car camping looked nice. Not very many people.

0 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 another fun weekend

2-4    5/22/2011   5/24/2011
Review By: appysdad
Played: 19  Reviewed: 6  Exp: 4.9 Years
0 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: absolutley stunning course by far my favorite one in idaho. great pin placments, a good mix of short ace runs and long par 3 and 4s. the campsites are great with excellent views of the lake and dam. woke up at 3 in the morning to use the restroom and had a furry racoon at my feet. wildlife is abundant. the course even has a shop to go buy dga discs on site. restrooms and gazeebos spread out through the park. far away from any town so its really never packed.
Cons: the mayflies were terrible all of us and our camping gear were covered head to toe in little green dots. mosqoiutoes are abundant at certain times of the year other than insects beeing pesky i have no cons

0 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 Disc Golf Oasis

5+    4/26/2011   4/27/2011
Review By: Valktastic
Played: 66  Reviewed: 17  Exp: 14.3 Years
This review was updated on 5/18/2011
9 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: - Easy to navigate
- Kiosk with scorecards and info
- Good balance of technical and open holes
- Almost No People
- Well maintained landscaping
- Large trees block sun and wind
- Great tee-pads and signs with pictures
- Bathrooms and drinking fountains
- Won't lose discs
- Firepits, park benches, and covered picnic areas
- Great campground
- If you have kids its a safe place for them to play on the playgrounds and all around the park while you play disc.

Some people have listed "off the beaten path" as a con to this course, but that is one of the great aspects of this course. Its an escape to go play there.
Cons: - Can be a LOT of mosquitoes in the summer
- Entrance fee $5 (but that's why its so nice)
Other Thoughts: Pack a lunch and make a day of it, or camp and stay longer. This is one of the best kept secrets in disc golf. I have played courses in a lot of other states that get a lot of hype, and Walcott is just as good or better than most.

If you have kids this is a great place because they are safe to play with you, or on the playgrounds while you golf. Also fun for bike riding, basketball, and other activities.

If you get there on a windy day the back 9 is great. I have played it in STRONG winds and it is protected by the trees.

****Killer fish and chips at Alaska's Best in Rupert!! It's one of those great dives with awesome food*****

Thanks to the staff at Walcott for how well they maintain this course!!!

9 of 9 people found this review helpful.

 Walcott

5+    7/18/2009   7/20/2009
Review By: russkins
Played: 13  Reviewed: 10  Exp: 13.2 Years
2 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: An amazing course! Alot of variety in long to short holes with alot different shots. Its never busy threre so no rush. Park supplies alot of bathrroms and water fountains. Great view of the Snake river and wildlife.
Cons: Not too many negatives to say here except the bugs and have no place to buy supplies so a long drive if you forget refreshments.
Other Thoughts: I drive about 5hrs to play this course and have done it many times. By far my favortite place to play in Idaho.

2 of 4 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.