Rupert, ID 
Lake Walcott State Park Share
Uploaded By: Trav Hole #14
3 / 248ft.   3 / 284ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #14 Tee



Reviews: 21
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
< Prev 1 2 3
Turf and Trees

2-4    9/13/2014   9/13/2014
Review By: markmcc
Played: 85  Reviewed: 73  Exp: 2.7 Years
1 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: This is a very nice park course, with acres of lush mowed grass and mature trees.

Variety of hole lengths from 178' to 684', with the long holes all in the front nine.

Ample parking around the course, with restrooms, water fountains, trash cans and benches in the area. Main kiosk has a large map of the course and free paper maps (which can also be obtained at the visitor center).

Tees are level, flat rubber pads which are excellent. Tee signs are photos taken from the tee with both pin locations marked.

Many of the holes were open, but I preferred holes like 7 and 8 that have narrow lines to hit and require shaping your drive to get a look at the pin.

Holes 11 - 15 are shorter holes with more trees that give good birdie opportunities if you can get a clean drive.
Cons: I am not a fan of photo-type tee signs. The big yellow "A" and "B" give only an idea of pin direction, but not if they are in front of or behind the tree that they are printed over. Map type signs give better information.

Many of the front nine holes require only big drives over turf with only a few widely spaced trees to navigate. Even clipping a tree doesn't necessarily add a stroke as you'll still have an open shot to the pin.

No real elevation change on the course, and only Hole 12 (barely) brings the lake into play.

Being a multi-use park you may find other users on the course. I had to skip Hole 19 one evening as a family was grilling in the fairway in front of the basket.
Other Thoughts: This is a very nice course, in a beautiful lush park. If you like to crank drives over open ground with little brush or low-hanging branches then you'll like enjoy it.

Having played about a dozen courses in Idaho I don't consider it the best course in the state. Not that it isn't a nice course, but it just isn't that challenging.

I think that AWOL and Wreakreator at Farragut State Park are more challenging and interesting. But those are woods courses that require accuracy more than distance. I also found Massacre Rocks State Park a more challenging course with lots of elevation changes and great views.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Great Destination Course

5+    6/11/2014   9/11/2014
Review By: Tjamesd
Played: 38  Reviewed: 5  Exp: 6.4 Years
1 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: This is one of the greatest courses that I play on a yearly basis.

- This course is very well maintained, always in tip top condition.
- Good signage that allows for a very easy navigation of the course.
- Rubber teepads are the best.
- Has a great mix of both longer holes, as well as some shorter technical holes, with a couple of ace runs mixed in.
- Camping on site.
- Almost never crowded, aside from tournaments, there are only a couple other groups playing at the same time.
- Pro shop on site
Cons: - Not much elevation change.
- It is out of the way, but that is part of the allure keeping the crowds down.
Other Thoughts: This course is always a blast. Plan a trip and stay for a coupe of days, get some glow rounds in. It's not necessarily a beginner-friendly course, but less experienced players can still play this course without risk of losing discs, and it is not really a tiring hike of a round.

Almost the entire course plays through grassy park like atmosphere. But dont let that fool you, it still presents a good challenge with the mature trees and well designed holes.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

superb!

2-4    8/30/2014   9/4/2014
Review By: willygriff
Played: 4  Reviewed: 4
0 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: ace run in the teens was a thrill. we played over and over and there was hardly a soul around. met some great people to play with and even the lady at the state park gate was a fan and an angel. I love the sign which instructs you to dwell on the lives and dreams which have played before you. swell place.
Cons: no cons

0 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 

1    6/28/2014   7/24/2014
Review By: Benx85
Played: 10  Reviewed: 1  Exp: 1.6 Years
0 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: - Nice layout.
- Lots of holes.
Cons: - Was missing hole 5/6 baskets.
- Course layout was very convoluted. Why go to the middle of the park for tee 1?
- Very confusing map and signage. They need a small sign at the basket indicating the direction of the next hole. That's it!
- Lots of wind!
- There must have been a hatch at the local reservoir; tons of gnats!
- Lawn had large dead spots.
- $5 to play.
Other Thoughts: Also it just happened that there was two weddings being set up at the time we were trying to play. Almost bounced a disc off one of those white tables. Whoops!

0 of 3 people found this review helpful.

State Champion

1    6/2/2013   12/17/2013
Review By: idahooldguy
Played: 31  Reviewed: 30  Exp: 2.6 Years
1 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: 21 holes makes for a nice, long round.
Beautiful park with some massive old growth trees (there is a Cottonwood tree there that must be 9-10 feet in diameter)
Multiple pins with good signage.
Uncrowded!
Holes 11-21 are particularly nice with plenty of birdie chances.
Wide variety of shots needed.
Cons: Lots of bugs in late summer.
A little out of the way (but maybe this is a "Pro")
Rupert's streets can be confusing, so use your GPS or print directions before you go.
Other Thoughts: This course is #1 in Idaho for a reason. I wish I lived a little closer so I could play it more often. My DG buddies and I did a weekend trip last June. We hit Walcott, Massacre Rocks, Upper Ross Park, and Sister City. It was an epic trip that I plan on making an annual tradition! You could also hit CSI and Rock Creek while you're in the area.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.


1    6/24/2013   6/24/2013
Review By: Joey Pauley
Played: 24  Reviewed: 8
0 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: - Tee pads - love the soft rubber
- Flat with nice challenging hole locations to make it interesting
- well manicured lawns not sage brush
- mix of short and long holes
- 21 holes
Cons: - Off the beaten path
- Flat - a little more change in elevation would make this course a 5
Other Thoughts: - Getting to Hole 11 and 18 was confusing w/o a map.
- the back 11 are short challenging holes. If we camped we would have played them again.
- Car camping looked nice. Not very many people.

0 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 Amazing

2-4    2/13/2013   2/13/2013
Review By: j_baller92
Played: 1  Reviewed: 1
0 Helpful / 6 Not
Pros: Beautiful course. I love the lake being right there, though it does mean insects. It is a wonderful challenge even on the short holes because of how they have set this course up. Glad they added some new holes to it as well just to make things more fun for all.
Cons: Pay to play, but that is even not an issue. Get a state park season pass for $10 to play all the state parks in Idaho that have one it is paid off in no time.
Other Thoughts: When I was a kid this was the first course I had ever seen and it got me very interested. Years later I made some friends who took me out and we were able to make it to Lake Walcott to play. It is an absolutely amazing course and they just make it better with the addition of the holes.

0 of 6 people found this review helpful.

 Fantastic Course

2-4    10/28/2011   10/21/2012
Review By: TheGrim
Played: 58  Reviewed: 43  Exp: 4.2 Years
0 Helpful / 6 Not
Pros: This was the first course I ever played on and is one of the reasons I took to the sport. It is amazingly well laid out with difficult shots through a beautiful park

The locals were fantastic. The atmosphere was great. The cages get moved often, which adds to the fun of the park. The park layout is really well done to avoid throwing at pavilions and such.
Cons: It's not much of a con, but it's a little out of the way, especially since I'm from Salt Lake and this is nowhere near me.
Other Thoughts: One of the best courses you can ask for.

0 of 6 people found this review helpful.

 3 new holes

1    9/2/2012   9/2/2012
Review By: kd7mxi
Played: 2  Reviewed: 2
0 Helpful / 5 Not
Pros: you can play as fast or slow as you want ,, new holes were a huge surprise , i scored 103 dad scored 110 on the new course straight score without birdies penalties and such
Cons: the new hole layout takes getting used to at first but there pretty good ,,, i lost a disc on the roof at hole 6
Other Thoughts: nice place as always

0 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 Classy Course

1    6/25/2012   6/25/2012
Review By: OldDog
Played: 49  Reviewed: 8  Exp: 38.6 Years
1 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: No more tromping through poisonous plants, stickers, and blackberries! This is an absolutely beautiful course with lush mowed grass, ornamental trees, neat stone walls, and friendly people. A few native trees and glimpses of the surrounding mountains remind you that you are indeed in Idaho.
The course itself is a super mix of long and short, left and right. I threw forehands - plenty, and needed them - backhands, and rollers as well. Yet the course is not clogged with tress; they are just well-positioned.
The Discatchers and rubber t-pads are in great shape.
Cons: Although most holes were easy to find, a couple gave me trouble.
Beware wet rubber t-pads in the morning.
Other Thoughts: I would happily make this my home course, but as a traveler I will certainly visit again. No holes really stick in my mind as outstanding, but I just loved the atmosphere of the place.

1 of 2 people found this review helpful.

< Prev 1 2 3

Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.