Rupert, ID 
Lake Walcott State Park Share
Uploaded By: Trav Hole #3
3 / 384ft.   3 / 327ft.   -- / --   -- / -- Par / Distance:
Hole #3 Tee



Reviews: 18
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
1 2 Next >
 

5+    2/5/2011   2/5/2011
Review By: Trav
Played: 6  Reviewed: 3  Exp: 6 Years
5 Helpful / 7 Not
Pros: Maybe I am a bit biased.

After installing and playing on the Launchpads, I am really glad we went with them. So much better than concrete.
Cons: Could easily be 27 hole course. I can go on and on, but when you're here everyday, there's always something you could be improving on.
Other Thoughts: I'm always looking for suggestions. If you see something that could be improved, please let me know. Don't forget to stop by and say hello!

5 of 12 people found this review helpful.

IDAHO Lake Walcott de PIMP

2-4    5/30/2010   6/2/2010
Review By: JMONEY
Played: 225  Reviewed: 41  Exp: 5.2 Years
This review was updated on 2/13/2013
11 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Very clean, well maintained restrooms, water faucets throughout, picnic benches, info kiosk with a posted flight chart and pamphlet containing a custom scorecard. Quiet, large unique rubber tee pads, great tee signs(actual pictures) providing distance and locations of pin placements.Well maintained ground with mature trees in a park like setting. A campground on Lake Walcott is within the park as well.
Cons: No practice basket, $5 entrance fee, off the beaten path. Insects during summer!
Other Thoughts: This was an outright fun course to play, whether you are a beginner or advanced DG'r. This course has never been crowded no matter what day of the week! The park ranger who drives around in the go-cart totes around a bag of discs and even joined us on the back nine during Memorial weekend...It was not busy at all! On Hole #5 your disc may land in some pine trees, the park provides a lenghty white PVC pipe to retrieve from the trees preventing any destruction to them. There is no store nearby so bring a lunch and enjoy this great destination course. Even though this course is off the beaten path I still make it back everytime i'm in Idaho...Well worth it!

11 of 12 people found this review helpful.

 Totally rad!

2-4    11/7/2009   3/7/2010
Review By: Carl311
Played: 4  Reviewed: 4  Exp: 5.2 Years
2 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Wow. What a fun course. First off, its beautiful scenery! An oasis of green and trees in the middle of southern Idaho sagebrush prairies. The course makes great use of the rolling terrain, with most holes incorporating some form of elevation change. Great variety of open holes, to really narrow fairways. A few real long holes, the rest are medium and short, which I prefer. Many chances for an ace! The trees calm the almose incessant southern Idaho wind.
Cons: Ummm, I dunno. I heard it gets buggy in the summer...
Other Thoughts: Super duper fun to play. I didn't want to stop! I played as it got dark one night, and finally had to call in an evening when I lost a disc because I just couldnt see it anymore.

Definitly a "destination" course, with camping and plenty of other area attractions (City of Rocks, Pomerelle, Jackpot...)

2 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 Hidden Gem

1    7/18/2009   7/21/2009
Review By: Starwraith169
Played: 45  Reviewed: 21  Exp: 11.3 Years
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Wow, what a course. In a beautiful park right next to the snake river. Great layout with a variety of shots, both long and short. Great place to come and camp and get your game on. Favorite holes would have to be either 13 or 6
Cons: We drove almost 500 miles t get there,and when we arrived, a family had rented out all the camping spots in the park for a reunion, so we had to find a spot outside the park next to the river, but my buddy said that it is NEVER like that, and ill take his word for it.
Other Thoughts: Overall, if you are traveling through the area or are going on a road trip, definitely make the park one of your go-to courses.

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 Walcott

5+    7/18/2009   7/20/2009
Review By: russkins
Played: 13  Reviewed: 10  Exp: 13.1 Years
2 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: An amazing course! Alot of variety in long to short holes with alot different shots. Its never busy threre so no rush. Park supplies alot of bathrroms and water fountains. Great view of the Snake river and wildlife.
Cons: Not too many negatives to say here except the bugs and have no place to buy supplies so a long drive if you forget refreshments.
Other Thoughts: I drive about 5hrs to play this course and have done it many times. By far my favortite place to play in Idaho.

2 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 Walcott

5+    9/20/2008   12/19/2008
Review By: Justin H
Played: 49  Reviewed: 8  Exp: 10.2 Years
1 Helpful / 4 Not
Pros: amazing course located on a wildlife reservation. this is a disc golfers hidden paradise. giant oak trees and groomed fairways. camping right next to the course. water and bathrooms w showers.
Cons: lots of bugs from the lake. the drive from the interstate is well worth it. pesky racoons.
Other Thoughts: check the schedual for some awsome PDGA event here in 2009

1 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 Wonderful place on earth

2-4    7/11/2006   12/11/2008
Review By: kinfolkfan
Played: 96  Reviewed: 18  Exp: 9.1 Years
This review was updated on 1/23/2009
1 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: -Great course set in a beautiful area.
-Not overly busy when we were there.
-Camping.
-Fun open holes and some slightly
wooded holes.
-Rest Rooms
-Pic nic shelters.
Well manicured.
Cons: I guess mosquitos lots and lots.
Other Thoughts: There is a lot of wild life. We saw so many really cool owls every night. Like I said mosquitos are bad, but worth braving them. Check it out!

1 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 Lake Wolcott State Park

1    5/2/2008   5/2/2008
Review By: martinb
Played: 149  Reviewed: 58  Exp: 35 Years
This review was updated on 4/28/2011
9 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Atmosphere, environment, amenities all come to mind when talking about Lake Wolcotts' disc golf course. Caters to all levels of disc golfers, ease of use is huge. Never crowded for disc golf. Well marked and baskets have lately been upgraded. Camping available RV and tent, showers, fire pits, fishing.
Cons: Pay to play. Far from any store, or town. Some summers have an abundance of hornets, mosquitoes. Dog leash law (personal dislike), Some weekends you cannot find a campsite due to other attractions, (boating, fishing).
Other Thoughts: This disc golf course as a destination is awesome, and i would give it a higher rating but you have to pay to get into the state park, and its a course set up for beginner and advanced players as opposed to pro lplayers. The wind always picks up in the afternoon though and makes even the shortest holes a challenge. The front nine is stretched out and more open, with the back nine more sheltered and short relatively speaking. Night golf is a must on the back nine. When you enter the park you are transported to an experience/environment that lets you relax and leave all your worries behind and time flies by like you wouldn't believe. The area is a bird sanctuary on the Snake River with the Minnedoka Dam creating Lake Wolcott, so there are more things to do if you like boating, fishing, or just bird watching. The best way to play the course is to spend a couple of days camping and enjoying the area in full. You wont get bored during the time you spend whether your a travelling pro, or a family unit who enjoys spending time together playing disc golf, or just recreating.
04-28-11: this course has been tweaked by the local players for a higher ablility level, ie. longer pin placements and tougher technical aspects down the fairway. not sure if this is a pro or con, it definitely takes some of the "fun factor" out of the course.

9 of 9 people found this review helpful.

1 2 Next >

Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.