Rupert, ID 
Lake Walcott State Park Share
Uploaded By: Trav Hole #18
3 / 290ft.   3 / 290ft.   -- / --   -- / -- Par / Distance:
Hole #18 Tee



Reviews: 21
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
 another fun weekend

2-4    5/22/2011   5/24/2011
Review By: appysdad
Played: 19  Reviewed: 6  Exp: 5 Years
0 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: absolutley stunning course by far my favorite one in idaho. great pin placments, a good mix of short ace runs and long par 3 and 4s. the campsites are great with excellent views of the lake and dam. woke up at 3 in the morning to use the restroom and had a furry racoon at my feet. wildlife is abundant. the course even has a shop to go buy dga discs on site. restrooms and gazeebos spread out through the park. far away from any town so its really never packed.
Cons: the mayflies were terrible all of us and our camping gear were covered head to toe in little green dots. mosqoiutoes are abundant at certain times of the year other than insects beeing pesky i have no cons

0 of 2 people found this review helpful.

Near The Lake

1    4/30/2011   5/3/2011
Review By: sillybizz
Played: 219  Reviewed: 206  Exp: 11.3 Years
This review was updated on 6/23/2014
4 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Lake Walcott is a very pretty place for a nice disc golf course. Not only do you get the nice green grass and the pretty lake but you get some nice trees and rock built platforms that add challenge, fun and uniqueness to the course. There are plenty of crafty pin locations and some trees to block your path but there are a couple of holes out here that are a little short and a little too open to challenge the pro players but intermediate and advanced players will have a good time. Some of the longer holes including the par fours are well thought out but could use some lengthening to add more challenge and threaten more bogey opportunities. The balance of right to left and left to right favors RHBH players slightly like a lot of courses do but this course does have good variety in that aspect as well hole distances and open and technical throws. Navigation is fairly easy with only one real walk that I can remember from one end of the park to the other across the road and by some space that could have been used but overall not bad at all. I like the rubber tee pads and the signs do a good job of showing where all of the basket locations are with the multiple pins. There is even a non marked secret second tee pad for hole twelve that has you throw out over the water.
Cons: All that I can think of is that some of the distances on the long par three holes and the single par four hole could be moved to create a better hole or two. Some of you out there aren't going to like the $5 charge to pay the course so I suppose that could be thought of as a con but for me coming from a ball golf background that is dirt cheap and I have no problem with it. It would be nice if there was a little more elevation change but I'm just nitpicking at this point in the game.
Other Thoughts: I wouldn't call this a super duper challenge or anything extremely unique but this is a solid all around course. Being right in between Twin Falls and Boise this could be a good stop for a road trip where you can camp and stay a couple of nights or just stop for a picnic and some golf, either way you really can't go wrong here, enjoy yourself.

4 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 Disc Golf Oasis

5+    4/26/2011   4/27/2011
Review By: Valktastic
Played: 66  Reviewed: 17  Exp: 14.3 Years
This review was updated on 5/18/2011
9 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: - Easy to navigate
- Kiosk with scorecards and info
- Good balance of technical and open holes
- Almost No People
- Well maintained landscaping
- Large trees block sun and wind
- Great tee-pads and signs with pictures
- Bathrooms and drinking fountains
- Won't lose discs
- Firepits, park benches, and covered picnic areas
- Great campground
- If you have kids its a safe place for them to play on the playgrounds and all around the park while you play disc.

Some people have listed "off the beaten path" as a con to this course, but that is one of the great aspects of this course. Its an escape to go play there.
Cons: - Can be a LOT of mosquitoes in the summer
- Entrance fee $5 (but that's why its so nice)
Other Thoughts: Pack a lunch and make a day of it, or camp and stay longer. This is one of the best kept secrets in disc golf. I have played courses in a lot of other states that get a lot of hype, and Walcott is just as good or better than most.

If you have kids this is a great place because they are safe to play with you, or on the playgrounds while you golf. Also fun for bike riding, basketball, and other activities.

If you get there on a windy day the back 9 is great. I have played it in STRONG winds and it is protected by the trees.

****Killer fish and chips at Alaska's Best in Rupert!! It's one of those great dives with awesome food*****

Thanks to the staff at Walcott for how well they maintain this course!!!

9 of 9 people found this review helpful.

 

5+    2/5/2011   2/5/2011
Review By: Trav
Played: 6  Reviewed: 3  Exp: 6.1 Years
5 Helpful / 7 Not
Pros: Maybe I am a bit biased.

After installing and playing on the Launchpads, I am really glad we went with them. So much better than concrete.
Cons: Could easily be 27 hole course. I can go on and on, but when you're here everyday, there's always something you could be improving on.
Other Thoughts: I'm always looking for suggestions. If you see something that could be improved, please let me know. Don't forget to stop by and say hello!

5 of 12 people found this review helpful.

IDAHO Lake Walcott de PIMP

2-4    5/30/2010   6/2/2010
Review By: JMONEY
Played: 225  Reviewed: 41  Exp: 5.3 Years
This review was updated on 2/13/2013
11 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Very clean, well maintained restrooms, water faucets throughout, picnic benches, info kiosk with a posted flight chart and pamphlet containing a custom scorecard. Quiet, large unique rubber tee pads, great tee signs(actual pictures) providing distance and locations of pin placements.Well maintained ground with mature trees in a park like setting. A campground on Lake Walcott is within the park as well.
Cons: No practice basket, $5 entrance fee, off the beaten path. Insects during summer!
Other Thoughts: This was an outright fun course to play, whether you are a beginner or advanced DG'r. This course has never been crowded no matter what day of the week! The park ranger who drives around in the go-cart totes around a bag of discs and even joined us on the back nine during Memorial weekend...It was not busy at all! On Hole #5 your disc may land in some pine trees, the park provides a lenghty white PVC pipe to retrieve from the trees preventing any destruction to them. There is no store nearby so bring a lunch and enjoy this great destination course. Even though this course is off the beaten path I still make it back everytime i'm in Idaho...Well worth it!

11 of 12 people found this review helpful.

 Totally rad!

2-4    11/7/2009   3/7/2010
Review By: Carl311
Played: 4  Reviewed: 4  Exp: 5.3 Years
2 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Wow. What a fun course. First off, its beautiful scenery! An oasis of green and trees in the middle of southern Idaho sagebrush prairies. The course makes great use of the rolling terrain, with most holes incorporating some form of elevation change. Great variety of open holes, to really narrow fairways. A few real long holes, the rest are medium and short, which I prefer. Many chances for an ace! The trees calm the almose incessant southern Idaho wind.
Cons: Ummm, I dunno. I heard it gets buggy in the summer...
Other Thoughts: Super duper fun to play. I didn't want to stop! I played as it got dark one night, and finally had to call in an evening when I lost a disc because I just couldnt see it anymore.

Definitly a "destination" course, with camping and plenty of other area attractions (City of Rocks, Pomerelle, Jackpot...)

2 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 Hidden Gem

1    7/18/2009   7/21/2009
Review By: Starwraith169
Played: 46  Reviewed: 21  Exp: 11.4 Years
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Wow, what a course. In a beautiful park right next to the snake river. Great layout with a variety of shots, both long and short. Great place to come and camp and get your game on. Favorite holes would have to be either 13 or 6
Cons: We drove almost 500 miles t get there,and when we arrived, a family had rented out all the camping spots in the park for a reunion, so we had to find a spot outside the park next to the river, but my buddy said that it is NEVER like that, and ill take his word for it.
Other Thoughts: Overall, if you are traveling through the area or are going on a road trip, definitely make the park one of your go-to courses.

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 Walcott

5+    7/18/2009   7/20/2009
Review By: russkins
Played: 13  Reviewed: 10  Exp: 13.3 Years
2 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: An amazing course! Alot of variety in long to short holes with alot different shots. Its never busy threre so no rush. Park supplies alot of bathrroms and water fountains. Great view of the Snake river and wildlife.
Cons: Not too many negatives to say here except the bugs and have no place to buy supplies so a long drive if you forget refreshments.
Other Thoughts: I drive about 5hrs to play this course and have done it many times. By far my favortite place to play in Idaho.

2 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 Walcott

5+    9/20/2008   12/19/2008
Review By: Justin H
Played: 49  Reviewed: 8  Exp: 10.3 Years
1 Helpful / 4 Not
Pros: amazing course located on a wildlife reservation. this is a disc golfers hidden paradise. giant oak trees and groomed fairways. camping right next to the course. water and bathrooms w showers.
Cons: lots of bugs from the lake. the drive from the interstate is well worth it. pesky racoons.
Other Thoughts: check the schedual for some awsome PDGA event here in 2009

1 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 Wonderful place on earth

2-4    7/11/2006   12/11/2008
Review By: kinfolkfan
Played: 96  Reviewed: 18  Exp: 9.3 Years
This review was updated on 1/23/2009
1 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: -Great course set in a beautiful area.
-Not overly busy when we were there.
-Camping.
-Fun open holes and some slightly
wooded holes.
-Rest Rooms
-Pic nic shelters.
Well manicured.
Cons: I guess mosquitos lots and lots.
Other Thoughts: There is a lot of wild life. We saw so many really cool owls every night. Like I said mosquitos are bad, but worth braving them. Check it out!

1 of 3 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.