Kyle, TX 
Steeplechase Park DGC Share
Uploaded By: timg Hole #10
3 / 216ft.   3 / 216ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #10 Tee



Reviews: 30
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
 Good but not Great

2-4    5/19/2012   10/18/2012
Review By: finesse1
Played: 28  Reviewed: 6  Exp: 14.3 Years
3 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: -good variety, shots, open and tight areas, elevation, and lenth
-practice baskets with wide open driving areas immediately adjacent to the course
-concrete tees and signage
Cons: -course flow is not the greatest, holes cross each other and you have to shoot right near houses sometimes
-the locals, i have played there twice now and each time i have witnessed families/groups exhibiting mob/gang mentality collecting right next to baskets making them unplayable. the first time it happened i was not angry but did approach the groups in a very non intrusive, respectful, and calm manner to make them aware of the situation, they acted completely unconcerned, and brushed me off with a whatever attitude, got mean mugged, i caught a very territorial protective type vibe. there was plenty of shaded areas under trees off the course and close to the parking lot, but got the serious feeling they set their tents, tables, grills right next to baskets intentionally, thought more so when it happened again the second time, each time i had to skip 2 holes due to basket parties
Other Thoughts: the people crowding baskets is the one thing that tanks this course from say a 3.5 or 4 for me. the water isnt much of a factor i believe, i made sure to shoot safely around the water hazards, as long as you employ this strategy you will have to be extremely errant to end up in the drink. aggression around these areas will definately increase the odds of ending up wet. but purely going on the course, a fun play with solid variations. not a bad day in the park

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 The Banks of Plum Creek

1    9/28/2011   9/28/2011
Review By: hefalump
Played: 23  Reviewed: 19
1 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Good use of terrain and land. Some good technical shots. Several good birdie holes. Some signs missing, but course not hard to navigate. Excellent beginner course, especially if the short tees are used.
Cons: The course winds around Plum Creek in this park. Several different opportunities to lose a disc. Hole 16 is especially bad for this. If the creek had not been dry when I played, I would have lost 5 discs no less.
Other Thoughts: I enjoyed playing at this park. Good piece of advice:Be careful with your throws. You will lose a disc, maybe more than one. Otherwise this course is fun to play and I would recommend it to anyone.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

 This is a Love/Hate Course

5+    8/8/2011   8/25/2011
Review By: js1573
Played: 6  Reviewed: 3  Exp: 11.6 Years
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Houck designed (he did the best that could've been done with Steeplechase Park!). cement tee boxes. not too crowded at any time of the day. driving range and practice basket are nice.
Cons: missing some tee signs as of now (8/25) and confusing course layout (it's nice to play with someone who knows the layout!). when it rains, this course is flooded. with all the trees on the course, it's not if you'll end up in the creek, but which disc you'd rather end up in the creek. lots of poison ivy in the rainy season and muddy as all get out!
Other Thoughts: i live 5 miles from this course and really wanted to love it but it's one of those love-hate relationships. i enjoy the course in the dry season because i hate fishing for my disc and since the majority of holes line up against a creek that flows with ANY amount of rain, it's easy to find yourself in the water.

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 Steeple Chase Windy Day

1    3/20/2011   3/20/2011
Review By: SirSycoSexE72
Played: 7  Reviewed: 3  Exp: 3.6 Years
0 Helpful / 6 Not
Pros: The course is well laid out and I used a Katana 175 that a buddy was letting me try for most of my drives. Wind was hardly a factor except a bit on 4.
Cons: The water was a bit still so there was a bit of an odor on back 9 but if you stay away from water it wasn't noticeable. Too bad I lost a putter to the gods.
Other Thoughts: Really enjoyed the course as usual even with the wind. Note to self " Get a Katana ".

0 of 6 people found this review helpful.

 Great water course

5+    12/26/2009   12/29/2009
Review By: dreadlock86
Played: 214  Reviewed: 164  Exp: 7.6 Years
This review was updated on 5/17/2010
6 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: -awesome course design!
-great use of the land/creek
-LOTS of water hazards (14 holes) but the water isn't too deep
-great signs
-dual concrete teepads
-many great technical holes, 4 semi-open holes
-big variety in distance, 6>500', 11<250'
-driving range (i'm told the distances are a little off)
-requires great accuracy and shot variety
-great risk/reward
-alternate pin locations
-close to I-35, easy to find
-nice park has baseball field, basketball courts, jungle gym, big open field
Cons: -LOTS poison ivy (i get some almost every time)
-no bathrooms
-prevalence of water can get irksome
-not many places to air out your arm
-little elevation change
-wind can sometimes be brutal
-alt pin locations but i've only ever seen them in 1 position
-water in the creek gets deep and dark on the back 6
-front 12 are pretty tight, no crossing fairways but possible to have people wander in front of you
Other Thoughts: This is a really fun little course, if you can deal with the water. The creek runs through the entire course and comes into play to some degree on all but 4 or so holes. It is a great challenge and really adds to the strategic aspect of the course but it can grate your nerves if you're not successfully avoiding it. Thankfully, most of it is not too deep and discs can be easily retrieved in most spots on the front 12. It's a little deeper and more treacherous on the back 6.

In addition to the water hazards, there are trees lining the creek all throughout the course as well. So you have to plan your lines around the trees as well as avoid the water. This makes the course very technical and creates a lot of risk/reward opportunities as well. There are lines to be found but it's a matter of accuracy.

Most of the holes are straight ahead to the basket but with lots of obstacles, forcing you to choose a line. No doglegs and only 3 left to right holes. There is also little elevation but the design does make use of what little elevation is available.

The course signs are great, very detailed, and the concrete tees are well sized and level. Solid Procatcher baskets are in good condition.

Despite the tricky trees and water hazards, this course is beginner friendly. 11 holes are under 250' so beginners won't be punished for distance, only accuracy.

Just keep a very close eye out for the poison ivy. It lines the creek and is very prevalent. Bring some technu or liquid soap and wash your hands frequently in the creek if you are susceptible.


**Like this review? Hate it? Message me and let me know why! I want to make them better!**

6 of 6 people found this review helpful.

 Trees, Creek...... Ivy.

1    1/23/2009   2/13/2009
Review By: DGtourist
Played: 188  Reviewed: 106  Exp: 11.7 Years
10 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: This course crisscrosses along Plum Creek with interesting water hazards that make it worth throwing. Sadly I have to admit to finding it a couple of times. From tee to basket is never far at all and marked on the signs. The design does a good job of staying in or near the trees. The signs are top notch, such is the case with most Austin area courses, the only information missing is incoming jogger statistics from the bike path and wind speed (jk). This course ends better than it starts with holes 13-18, in my opinion, being the most interesting.

This course has mostly upstanding pin placements for putting, some of which are very close to water. The length was a good balance of long and short holes. Unlike Austin, the boxes here at Steeplechase are paved, and a little bit of research tells me that this course is the first in the world with pervious concrete tee pads. I would recommend this course to experienced golfers as well as beginners. It is not the tightest course by any means but the accurate golfer will have an edge here.
Cons: First thing and hopefully by the time you read this it will be changed, but someone needs to post directions to this course from the interstate. Not many people have an intimate knowledge of the rough and tumble (quaint) streets of Kyle. I had to go to the chamber of commerce to get hooked up with directions, which they were very happy to do. This place, looks like in can get wildly overgrown in the springtime. I have never had an experience with poison ivy, I suspect I may be one of the lucky men who are unaffected, but there are signs posted everywhere.

The design is pretty tight and there was more than one occasion in which I had a drive speeding my way. Some of the holes out in the open, like three and four, felt boring and I couldn't imagine having much fun on them during really hot days. I got confused a little on 17 or 18 when I aimed for a practice basket instead of the actual basket. Considering the tightness of the course, I would rather be in tight next to neighboring fairways than the alternative of having more holes out in the open.
Other Thoughts: The map from this sight only shows the one teebox per hole, and as such I only saw the one location that I was directed to. Searight was packed! So I headed south to bag this course and it was nice to be able to hop right on and start throwing. John Houck designed this course, as well as my home course that utilizes a similar creek and it felt familiar to me.

10 of 11 people found this review helpful.

 

1    11/25/2008   11/25/2008
Review By: metis314159
Played: 26  Reviewed: 14  Exp: 7.6 Years
5 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: 2 Concrete tees on each hole; however, they do have a drop-off at the front which can be a problem for a large follow through. Good markers at each tee giving the pin location (and the pins are labeled), distance, and par. The course uses the creek extensively on almost every hole and requires you to really read the flight lines and have an accurate throw.
Cons: As others stated, there is poison ivy near the creek (which the course hugs); however right now it is not bad. Personally I felt like bad shots were not punished enough since many of the narrow tunnel holes were short enough to allow recovery with a decent approach shot. Virtually no elevation change on any of the holes. Finally, while there was good markers at each tee; they really could have used signs to the next hole since the course crosses itself several times.
Other Thoughts: While the creek is down right now, it definitely has the potential to be very deep and formidable (both shot-wise & lost discs) with just a little rain. Personally, I felt the course was slightly biased to sidearm throws. I feel this course will challenge intermediate players and piss off beginners.

5 of 6 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.