Kyle, TX 
Steeplechase Park DGC Share
Uploaded By: jdawg2008 Hole #1
3 / 285ft.   3 / 335ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #1 Tee Sign



Reviews: 30
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
Fun Tough Course

1    2/14/2014   2/18/2014
Review By: DPGRAY1962
Played: 13  Reviewed: 8  Exp: 2.3 Years
0 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Beautiful course with lots of trees and a creek running through it. Good mix of long and short holes. It includes a driving range.
Cons: Part of a busy city park and therefore there can be lots of people crossing the course or walking along the fairways. Signage could be better as it was frequently difficult knowing where the next tee box was.

0 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Fun Times in Kyle

5+    10/1/2013   10/18/2013
Review By: 4thechains@gmail.com
Played: 45  Reviewed: 7  Exp: 7.4 Years
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: This course offers an exciting selection of shots and a multitude of hazards. This course offers several very unique tee shots, and definitely keeps you thinking. There is enough OB to keep most players honest, and when the water is up in the creek the 'clench' factor goes WAY up. Overall, this course is well worth the time. Having short and long concrete tee boxes always adds to the fun, so go ahead and show up with enough time for two rounds!
Cons: When the water in the creek is up, retrieving wet discs will be a serious challenge. Some of the holes are layed out in such a way that there is some risk of players crossing fairways. Be aware, and be courteous, and everyone can have a safe/fun time. The grass is not always mowed as well as it should be, but there is usually enough room to keep your shots in the air.
Other Thoughts: Dead tree removal, proper pruning, and more attention to the grass would be the only way to improve the course. Intermediate level difficulty - shooting under par is more then attainable.

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 I like it

2-4    6/23/2012   7/30/2012
Review By: skiper220
Played: 9  Reviewed: 4
0 Helpful / 4 Not
Pros: Great if you like long shots thought trees and water hazards. its well maintained and kept clean
Cons: Might have to go through the streams to get to the next tee if it has rained recently
Other Thoughts: Good course for practicing long shots

0 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 The Course for Everyone

5+    7/16/2012   7/24/2012
Review By: Banditozzy
Played: 28  Reviewed: 7  Exp: 5.4 Years
1 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: I love that this course has a very well thought out red and blue tee set up. The more advanced players can be challenged by the blue tees and the beginers can have an enjoyable experence on the red tees.

A beautiful small creek runs throughout most of the course, I have on several occations had to fish my disc out. I like the constant water hazard factor.

Great signage and easy to follow. There should be no problem for a first time player.

The last couple of years the city of Kyle has done a excellant job of keeping the course maintained and mowed down. I have been out here when the grass is high and it takes a lot away from this course.

Every hole seems to offer a different challenge and a different look. I love how it has continued to challenge me. I might have an under round one day and shoot 5 over the next. Course also has a very nice driving range, be careful not to throw into someones back yard.

I think its great family course and has something for everyone. Its in a very nice sub division and locals are walking around the park constantly and are very friendly.
Cons: Poisen Oak can be found along most of the creek.

At times the grass can become overgrown, as I said in the Pros the city has been much better the last couple years.

If you don't like water hazards this course is not for you. You will put one in the water in all likelyhood every round here. Course can also be extremly windy.
Other Thoughts: My doubles parter lives right down the street from this course, so I play it regularly. It is a very nice diverse course that can beat you down on any given day. Highly recommeded for any player looking for a well designed course with a lot of options.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

  great beginner course, good overall course.

2-4    9/5/2010   9/10/2010
Review By: kendan
Played: 1  Reviewed: 1
This review was updated on 10/4/2010
5 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: The thing I like about steeplechase is the creek that runs through it. Right now it's sitting a bit out of it's banks which made crossing a little tricky on some holes. Overall though a nice challenging course for a beginner-intermediate. The driving range is a nice addition as well even if the numbers are off a bit it's still nice for a warm up. Like I said, it's a good course to play since it is kind of tucked away and if you live in the area you don't have to drive into austin. That being said there are better courses in Austin, but other than during the week most of them can get a little crowded.
So, Pros:
Creek adds a challenge to many holes
Not too crowded
Holes aren't too long, but the creek and trees add to the difficulty.
Nice baskets
Driving Range
Cons: A couple of days ago the creek was too high to pass, but that is because of the rain we had earlier in the week. The creek can be a pro and a con, on some holes if you hit a tree the discs usually will end up in the water, and this could take a little ingenuity to retrieve in the deeper parts. Most of the holes are on the shorter side, but with the creek and trees there it evens out. Also even a few days after rain the riparian zone around the creek stays fairly soaked so wear proper shoes.
Cons:
Creek level variability
Holes could be too short for some
Holes could have more trees than some people like
Grass can get kind of tall.
Other Thoughts: No real need for distance drivers other than for utility shots on this course. Most of the holes set up nice for quick birdies.

*update* Just got my first ace ever on hole 12 using my favorite DX 175g Banshee. Sidearm spike hyzer.

5 of 5 people found this review helpful.

  Steeplechase

5+    8/29/2010   8/31/2010
Review By: jmc_automatic
Played: 7  Reviewed: 1  Exp: 4.3 Years
5 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: If you've read some of the older reviews, this course might sound pretty crappy, but it really depends on when you go. I've been 4 times since it's only about 10 minutes away, and have seen it both overgrown and nicely mowed. I've seen the creek completely dry and so deep you can't see the bottom. On a bad day, this course might be a 2.5, but I give it a 3.5 because when it's good, it's a pretty fun course. It's well paced with some huge wide open drives and tight short par 3's. The signs are very clear and while some might not like concrete tee boxes, other than dirt, that's the only kind I've ever played on, so I don't mind them. Much of the course is shady, which is great during the summer. I didn't see any poison ivy, but I wasn't looking for it either.
Cons: A couple holes have you throwing alongside areas with very tall grass that might make it easy to lose a disc. If the creek is up, there's one hole where you throw diagonally across a wide section of the creek that I've seen someone lose a disc into. One or two are missing signs, but it's usually pretty easy to figure out where you're going.
Other Thoughts: I haven't seen the course overgrown in a long time, so I think they might be taking better care of it. I think it's a pretty sweet course. Nothing frustratingly hard, but still challenging.

5 of 5 people found this review helpful.

  Home Course

2-4    8/21/2010   8/27/2010
Review By: riverara
Played: 5  Reviewed: 1  Exp: 4.2 Years
4 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: This is my home course. And while this is maybe my 4th time playing here, it is also the first course I learned on.
It has a lot of trees throughout (perfect for hyzer, straight, and anny shots), some nice long drives, and some nice short holes that could be aced (for anyone better than myself). The park has a water fountain and restroom and playscape for your kids to play on.

Baskets are in good condition. I played once and basket #2 was missing. Ground keepers had it replaced by the next time I played. Nice signs too.

They also have a driving range. Measurements are a tad off though. No biggie. Also, to the right side of the driving range are a row of houses. So dont anny your drive and you should be good.
Cons: Poison Ivy. Ive never got it, and my father (who plays there at least 3 times a week) has never got it either. But its there. Ground keepers seem to do a good job at trying to keep it at bay and I noticed it all seemed dead this time around (vegetation killer maybe?)
Other Thoughts: There is a creek that runs throughout the whole course. I like the added challenge. It also allows for some good risk/reward type shots. Ive seen the creek dry as a bone and also deep enough to go over my head. So if your afraid to loose a disc don't play right after a rain.

4 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 This course will test you

1    5/21/2009   5/23/2009
Review By: shawn_l
Played: 29  Reviewed: 15  Exp: 5.6 Years
13 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: This course is a skillfully designed mix of shots you need to have. It's in the trees, it's out of the trees, it's next to the trees. It's over the water and next to the water.

The course is close to I-35, with gas stations and restaurants at the North and South exits, which is always nice. Parking is good, and close to #1 and #18.

The teepads are excellent! It's concrete, but with a rough, pebble like finish, so the traction is good and the footing is even.

The signage is top notch, with distance for both sets of tees and both sets of baskets (though only one basket is in play on each hole.) My favorite feature on the signs is the arrow pointing to the next tee. Here the pro tee and rec tee actually make a difference to the play, whereas most places it just makes it longer. Here it adds a significant difference in angle and shot selection.

There are plenty of benches to take a break on, and there's lots and lots of shade. Most holes are either completely in the trees or completely in the open field, but a few of them go from one to the other.

The creek looks like it was woven into the course after it was designed, it's so well integrated. Sometimes a boundary, and sometimes an obstacle, you must be conscious of it for about half the course. However, clear water and shallow depth make it a nuisance rather than a disc killer.
Cons: I was pretty excited to hear there's a driving range and a ranged putting practice area, but I could not find them. That doesn't mean they're not there, just that I couldn't find them.

For a first timer, teeing off #6 is very confusing. The basket to #10 looks like where you're going, but #6 is tucked into the tree line and you'll run right past it if you're not careful.
Other Thoughts: I see a lot of reviewers who say "holes are long and boring" and others who say "too many tight tree shots". This course is good because it mixes the two up. You get to bomb it off a handful of tees, you need to be able to throw an angle shot on a handful, and you need to be able to handle a few really tight alleys.

It is the combination that makes for a good course, and this course is masterful at using the terrain and gentle rolling elevation. Houck's design does the best job I've seen of using the creek here.

Hole comments: The back 9 is defintely stronger, but the front 9 is novel and interesting. #3 lets you really bomb your drive, and finishes with a cool little basket framed by the creek. #14 and #17 will measure your cojones as the basket is just across the creek.

Can I boil this review down to one sentence? This is a FUN place to play a round of disc golf.

13 of 13 people found this review helpful.

 Worth the short drive

1    2/8/2009   2/9/2009
Review By: skurf
Played: 21  Reviewed: 15  Exp: 12.1 Years
5 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Even though I live in Austin, this is a course I will be coming back to again and again. This course has a good mix of short, medium, and semi-long holes and makes good use of the creek on a couple of the holes.

The course makes good use of the small piece of land that it's on that makes for some interesting shots through trees. Even the short holes are not so easy because of tee placement and sometimes there is literally no fairway and you have to come up with a precision throw to weave through the trees.

They did a good job with the multiple tee box placements, which they have on about half the holes. The different tees can make a hole go from difficult to easy, which is what you want considering people of all different skill levels will be playing this course.

The driving range was an added bonus and impossible to pass up after you finish hole 18 as you have to walk right pass it to get to your car.
Cons: The distances on the driving range were not very accurate. I paced the distance between the 300 and 400 foot marker and it only came out to be 78' give or take a foot or two. The reason I even decided to do this was because the distance between the 225 foot marker and 300 marker looked further than the distance from 300 to 400.

The course is on a fairly small piece of land and some holes/fairways are a little too close for comfort if you have an errant shot.
Other Thoughts: Well worth the twenty minute drive from Austin. You can play this course pretty quick as it doesn't get as crowded as the courses that are actually in Austin and the general layout and flow of the course adds to its speed. I played in February and didn't notice any poison ivy.

5 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 Killer in the wind

5+    12/29/2008   1/12/2009
Review By: kerplunk
Played: 31  Reviewed: 14  Exp: 6.6 Years
This review was updated on 10/1/2009
5 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Fairly well laid out and easy to navigate. Great tee bads. Good signs and two tee positions on most holes. Water in play on many holes, depending on recent rainfall. Two baskets for putting practice and a driving range, which is pretty cool. Not too crowded. I didn't see any signs forbidding alcohol, just glass containers.
Cons: Not much elevation change. The course is fairly open, I played in a strong wind and it was so difficult at times it was comical. Most holes, both the short and long, are fairly straight- only a couple of big doglegs. One hole puts a well used playground way too close to a fairway, so watch out for childrens. Driving range is adjacent to backyards. The course is in a neighborhood, so the scenery isn't great. Some of the water was pretty rank when I played.
Other Thoughts: If you live in the area, this course is a diamond in the rough. It is a very fun course to play, and pretty easy to navigate. The duck flies at midnight. My parents live nearby, so being able to play this course when I visit has kept me sane.

5 of 6 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.