Kyle, TX 
Steeplechase Park DGC Share
Uploaded By: timg Hole #15
3 / 205ft.   3 / 276ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #15 Tee



Reviews: 30
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
< Prev 1 2 3
Fun Tough Course

1    2/14/2014   2/18/2014
Review By: DPGRAY1962
Played: 13  Reviewed: 8  Exp: 2.2 Years
0 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Beautiful course with lots of trees and a creek running through it. Good mix of long and short holes. It includes a driving range.
Cons: Part of a busy city park and therefore there can be lots of people crossing the course or walking along the fairways. Signage could be better as it was frequently difficult knowing where the next tee box was.

0 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Fun Times in Kyle

5+    10/1/2013   10/18/2013
Review By: 4thechains@gmail.com
Played: 45  Reviewed: 7  Exp: 7.2 Years
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: This course offers an exciting selection of shots and a multitude of hazards. This course offers several very unique tee shots, and definitely keeps you thinking. There is enough OB to keep most players honest, and when the water is up in the creek the 'clench' factor goes WAY up. Overall, this course is well worth the time. Having short and long concrete tee boxes always adds to the fun, so go ahead and show up with enough time for two rounds!
Cons: When the water in the creek is up, retrieving wet discs will be a serious challenge. Some of the holes are layed out in such a way that there is some risk of players crossing fairways. Be aware, and be courteous, and everyone can have a safe/fun time. The grass is not always mowed as well as it should be, but there is usually enough room to keep your shots in the air.
Other Thoughts: Dead tree removal, proper pruning, and more attention to the grass would be the only way to improve the course. Intermediate level difficulty - shooting under par is more then attainable.

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

Good but not Great

2-4    5/19/2012   10/18/2012
Review By: finesse1
Played: 28  Reviewed: 6  Exp: 13.9 Years
3 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: -good variety, shots, open and tight areas, elevation, and lenth
-practice baskets with wide open driving areas immediately adjacent to the course
-concrete tees and signage
Cons: -course flow is not the greatest, holes cross each other and you have to shoot right near houses sometimes
-the locals, i have played there twice now and each time i have witnessed families/groups exhibiting mob/gang mentality collecting right next to baskets making them unplayable. the first time it happened i was not angry but did approach the groups in a very non intrusive, respectful, and calm manner to make them aware of the situation, they acted completely unconcerned, and brushed me off with a whatever attitude, got mean mugged, i caught a very territorial protective type vibe. there was plenty of shaded areas under trees off the course and close to the parking lot, but got the serious feeling they set their tents, tables, grills right next to baskets intentionally, thought more so when it happened again the second time, each time i had to skip 2 holes due to basket parties
Other Thoughts: the people crowding baskets is the one thing that tanks this course from say a 3.5 or 4 for me. the water isnt much of a factor i believe, i made sure to shoot safely around the water hazards, as long as you employ this strategy you will have to be extremely errant to end up in the drink. aggression around these areas will definately increase the odds of ending up wet. but purely going on the course, a fun play with solid variations. not a bad day in the park

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

I like it

2-4    6/23/2012   7/30/2012
Review By: skiper220
Played: 9  Reviewed: 4
0 Helpful / 4 Not
Pros: Great if you like long shots thought trees and water hazards. its well maintained and kept clean
Cons: Might have to go through the streams to get to the next tee if it has rained recently
Other Thoughts: Good course for practicing long shots

0 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 The Course for Everyone

5+    7/16/2012   7/24/2012
Review By: Banditozzy
Played: 28  Reviewed: 7  Exp: 5.2 Years
1 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: I love that this course has a very well thought out red and blue tee set up. The more advanced players can be challenged by the blue tees and the beginers can have an enjoyable experence on the red tees.

A beautiful small creek runs throughout most of the course, I have on several occations had to fish my disc out. I like the constant water hazard factor.

Great signage and easy to follow. There should be no problem for a first time player.

The last couple of years the city of Kyle has done a excellant job of keeping the course maintained and mowed down. I have been out here when the grass is high and it takes a lot away from this course.

Every hole seems to offer a different challenge and a different look. I love how it has continued to challenge me. I might have an under round one day and shoot 5 over the next. Course also has a very nice driving range, be careful not to throw into someones back yard.

I think its great family course and has something for everyone. Its in a very nice sub division and locals are walking around the park constantly and are very friendly.
Cons: Poisen Oak can be found along most of the creek.

At times the grass can become overgrown, as I said in the Pros the city has been much better the last couple years.

If you don't like water hazards this course is not for you. You will put one in the water in all likelyhood every round here. Course can also be extremly windy.
Other Thoughts: My doubles parter lives right down the street from this course, so I play it regularly. It is a very nice diverse course that can beat you down on any given day. Highly recommeded for any player looking for a well designed course with a lot of options.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Fun white level challenge with some flaws

1    6/4/2012   6/4/2012
Review By: denny ritner
Played: 161  Reviewed: 107  Exp: 16.3 Years
This review was updated on 9/3/2012
6 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Solid white level challenge with a variety of shots required and distances. Serves as a good introduction for the "all par 3's" crowd to golf that's big and real. There are several holes with unique shapes, requiring more than the typical hyzer shots associated with many beginner-friendly courses.

There's a good balance between power and technical requirements and a good amount of strategic decision-making. Many of the baskets are well situated near the creek, creating dynamic putting greens with the potential for three-putting.

The course is situated in a subdivision, affording many families and kids the opportunity to be introduced to the sport. The park is safe for pre-teens to be able to play golf without being chaperoned. The challenge is good for red and white level players and still affords blue level players a decent work out.

There is a practice basket and a driving range with marked distances adjacent to the parking lot.

Some of the highlights include:

Hole 4 is a nice, fairly short par 4 that requires a low, accurate tee shot over the creek to set up a mid-range shot over a an OB area to an elevated basket.

Hole 8 is a nice, short par 3 that requires hitting a low, tight line, while shaping a shot, with the creek running down the left and behind the basket.

Hole 9 is another fairly short par 4 that forces a low, technical tee shot to set up a mid-range to a basket on a ridge with a drop-off to OB down the right side.

Hole 12 is a short par 3 that smoothly bends to the right with the creek tight on the right for the length of the hole.

Hole 16 is a short dogleg left par 4 with the creek running down the length of the hole on the left. The basket is nicely placed on the downside of a drop-off with the creek immediately behind.
Cons: While each of the individual holes on this course is good to very good, the overall course routing has significant flaws. The course has very squirrelly, non-intuitive flow. Several places could use "next tee" signs. (Be sure to print and bring a map.) There are many places where the holes crowd each other dangerously. There are many places where players on nearby holes provide visual distraction.

Specifically, hole 2's "B" basket is very close to a house; shots thrown over the top can easily get over the wooden fence and into the backyard. Holes 4 and 5 crowd each other. Second shots on the par 4, 6th hole hyzer in over the crest of a hill and can easily hit someone teeing off on hole 4. Hole 10 provides a tight route up the middle, but can easily be circumvented with a spike hyzer over the top, which can hit players on the tee of either hole 7 or hole 11. Tee shots on hole 12 can end up in hole 3's fairway. There is a long, awkward walk from hole 12 to hole 13. Holes 16 and 17 have hyzer routes that run through the adjacent fairway.

While the creek makes for an interesting challenge, the water is murky and deep in places, making lost discs quite possible. The grass was long in the park when I played the course.

The tee pads are some sort of pervious pavement that is lumpy with inconsistent grip on many pads.

Several of the tee signs have been vandalized or stolen.
Other Thoughts: Don't be a dirty discer; leave the course cleaner than the way you found it.

To read about my review philosophy check out the other info section on my profile.

6 of 6 people found this review helpful.

 The Banks of Plum Creek

1    9/28/2011   9/28/2011
Review By: hefalump
Played: 23  Reviewed: 19
1 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Good use of terrain and land. Some good technical shots. Several good birdie holes. Some signs missing, but course not hard to navigate. Excellent beginner course, especially if the short tees are used.
Cons: The course winds around Plum Creek in this park. Several different opportunities to lose a disc. Hole 16 is especially bad for this. If the creek had not been dry when I played, I would have lost 5 discs no less.
Other Thoughts: I enjoyed playing at this park. Good piece of advice:Be careful with your throws. You will lose a disc, maybe more than one. Otherwise this course is fun to play and I would recommend it to anyone.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

 This is a Love/Hate Course

5+    8/8/2011   8/25/2011
Review By: js1573
Played: 6  Reviewed: 3  Exp: 11.2 Years
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Houck designed (he did the best that could've been done with Steeplechase Park!). cement tee boxes. not too crowded at any time of the day. driving range and practice basket are nice.
Cons: missing some tee signs as of now (8/25) and confusing course layout (it's nice to play with someone who knows the layout!). when it rains, this course is flooded. with all the trees on the course, it's not if you'll end up in the creek, but which disc you'd rather end up in the creek. lots of poison ivy in the rainy season and muddy as all get out!
Other Thoughts: i live 5 miles from this course and really wanted to love it but it's one of those love-hate relationships. i enjoy the course in the dry season because i hate fishing for my disc and since the majority of holes line up against a creek that flows with ANY amount of rain, it's easy to find yourself in the water.

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 Not a Happy Round

1    7/13/2011   7/13/2011
Review By: VandeWalle1977
Played: 10  Reviewed: 2  Exp: 3.2 Years
This review was updated on 1/24/2012
0 Helpful / 6 Not
Pros: Pretty long course given the size of the park. Solid teepads. Lots of interesting shots. Good mixture of short and long holes (one par 5). Friendly neighborhood. Lots of trees and nice scenery...during the wetter months.
Cons: During summer this place is bone dry and the creek is pretty dried up. Some of the holes are missing signs. The layout can be kind of confusing as you pass by hole 9 a couple time going to 8 then going to 11. Given that it was built in a small neighborhood park it is not too shabby.
Other Thoughts: After hitting this course with some buddies, one played it before, the course can grow on you. LOTS of WATER. It is not a matter of "if" you hit the water it is a matter of "When" you hit the water. During Summer water is minimal. Right now it is pretty high in spots. Needs some upkeep from the City of Kyle or the Neighborhood groups but it is a course we plan to play again now that we are more aware of the layout and the fact that there is water in play on roughly 70% of the course.

0 of 6 people found this review helpful.

 Steeple Chase Windy Day

1    3/20/2011   3/20/2011
Review By: SirSycoSexE72
Played: 7  Reviewed: 3  Exp: 3.2 Years
0 Helpful / 6 Not
Pros: The course is well laid out and I used a Katana 175 that a buddy was letting me try for most of my drives. Wind was hardly a factor except a bit on 4.
Cons: The water was a bit still so there was a bit of an odor on back 9 but if you stay away from water it wasn't noticeable. Too bad I lost a putter to the gods.
Other Thoughts: Really enjoyed the course as usual even with the wind. Note to self " Get a Katana ".

0 of 6 people found this review helpful.

< Prev 1 2 3

Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.