Kyle, TX 
Steeplechase Park DGC Share
Uploaded By: jdawg2008 Hole #16
4 / 468ft.   4 / 567ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #16 Tee Sign



Reviews: 30
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
1 2 3 Next >
 

5+    10/12/2008   2/23/2009
Review By: biggio1
Played: 39  Reviewed: 27  Exp: 8.3 Years
1 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Beautiful creek that runs through most of the holes. Dual tees for most holes. Nice signs and many shade trees. PRACTICE RANGE!!!
Cons: Not a lot of elevation and some poison Ivey to watch out for. You can loose discs, but when there is water it is mostly clear so carry a disc retriever.
Other Thoughts: On of the better Greater Austin area courses.

1 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 Trees, Creek...... Ivy.

1    1/23/2009   2/13/2009
Review By: DGtourist
Played: 188  Reviewed: 106  Exp: 11.3 Years
10 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: This course crisscrosses along Plum Creek with interesting water hazards that make it worth throwing. Sadly I have to admit to finding it a couple of times. From tee to basket is never far at all and marked on the signs. The design does a good job of staying in or near the trees. The signs are top notch, such is the case with most Austin area courses, the only information missing is incoming jogger statistics from the bike path and wind speed (jk). This course ends better than it starts with holes 13-18, in my opinion, being the most interesting.

This course has mostly upstanding pin placements for putting, some of which are very close to water. The length was a good balance of long and short holes. Unlike Austin, the boxes here at Steeplechase are paved, and a little bit of research tells me that this course is the first in the world with pervious concrete tee pads. I would recommend this course to experienced golfers as well as beginners. It is not the tightest course by any means but the accurate golfer will have an edge here.
Cons: First thing and hopefully by the time you read this it will be changed, but someone needs to post directions to this course from the interstate. Not many people have an intimate knowledge of the rough and tumble (quaint) streets of Kyle. I had to go to the chamber of commerce to get hooked up with directions, which they were very happy to do. This place, looks like in can get wildly overgrown in the springtime. I have never had an experience with poison ivy, I suspect I may be one of the lucky men who are unaffected, but there are signs posted everywhere.

The design is pretty tight and there was more than one occasion in which I had a drive speeding my way. Some of the holes out in the open, like three and four, felt boring and I couldn't imagine having much fun on them during really hot days. I got confused a little on 17 or 18 when I aimed for a practice basket instead of the actual basket. Considering the tightness of the course, I would rather be in tight next to neighboring fairways than the alternative of having more holes out in the open.
Other Thoughts: The map from this sight only shows the one teebox per hole, and as such I only saw the one location that I was directed to. Searight was packed! So I headed south to bag this course and it was nice to be able to hop right on and start throwing. John Houck designed this course, as well as my home course that utilizes a similar creek and it felt familiar to me.

10 of 11 people found this review helpful.

 Worth the short drive

1    2/8/2009   2/9/2009
Review By: skurf
Played: 21  Reviewed: 15  Exp: 12 Years
5 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Even though I live in Austin, this is a course I will be coming back to again and again. This course has a good mix of short, medium, and semi-long holes and makes good use of the creek on a couple of the holes.

The course makes good use of the small piece of land that it's on that makes for some interesting shots through trees. Even the short holes are not so easy because of tee placement and sometimes there is literally no fairway and you have to come up with a precision throw to weave through the trees.

They did a good job with the multiple tee box placements, which they have on about half the holes. The different tees can make a hole go from difficult to easy, which is what you want considering people of all different skill levels will be playing this course.

The driving range was an added bonus and impossible to pass up after you finish hole 18 as you have to walk right pass it to get to your car.
Cons: The distances on the driving range were not very accurate. I paced the distance between the 300 and 400 foot marker and it only came out to be 78' give or take a foot or two. The reason I even decided to do this was because the distance between the 225 foot marker and 300 marker looked further than the distance from 300 to 400.

The course is on a fairly small piece of land and some holes/fairways are a little too close for comfort if you have an errant shot.
Other Thoughts: Well worth the twenty minute drive from Austin. You can play this course pretty quick as it doesn't get as crowded as the courses that are actually in Austin and the general layout and flow of the course adds to its speed. I played in February and didn't notice any poison ivy.

5 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 My favorite

1    12/6/2008   1/13/2009
Review By: Forbes
Played: 8  Reviewed: 7
2 Helpful / 4 Not
Pros: This course is my favorite out of all of them. It has a good mix of long shots and short shots, hard shots and birdie. The lay out it fantastic with signs on every hole and cement walk ways from hole to hole. This place even has a driving range!
Cons: There are several tricky water hazards.
Other Thoughts: If you play here notice how many squirrels there are here. Me and my buddy call it squirrel haven haha

2 of 6 people found this review helpful.

 Killer in the wind

5+    12/29/2008   1/12/2009
Review By: kerplunk
Played: 31  Reviewed: 14  Exp: 6.5 Years
This review was updated on 10/1/2009
5 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Fairly well laid out and easy to navigate. Great tee bads. Good signs and two tee positions on most holes. Water in play on many holes, depending on recent rainfall. Two baskets for putting practice and a driving range, which is pretty cool. Not too crowded. I didn't see any signs forbidding alcohol, just glass containers.
Cons: Not much elevation change. The course is fairly open, I played in a strong wind and it was so difficult at times it was comical. Most holes, both the short and long, are fairly straight- only a couple of big doglegs. One hole puts a well used playground way too close to a fairway, so watch out for childrens. Driving range is adjacent to backyards. The course is in a neighborhood, so the scenery isn't great. Some of the water was pretty rank when I played.
Other Thoughts: If you live in the area, this course is a diamond in the rough. It is a very fun course to play, and pretty easy to navigate. The duck flies at midnight. My parents live nearby, so being able to play this course when I visit has kept me sane.

5 of 6 people found this review helpful.

 Squirrel Haven.

2-4    12/14/2008   12/31/2008
Review By: Jeff
Played: 3  Reviewed: 3  Exp: 6.1 Years
2 Helpful / 4 Not
Pros: Over all an awesome course although I'm not allergic to poison ivy. A great challenge for all players. A great diversity of long and short holes.
Cons: Poison ivy and a death creek. Although I enjoy the challenge.
Other Thoughts: Squirrel Haven. One of those damn squirrels ran off with my disc! There running wild and someone needs to take care of the rodent problem.

2 of 6 people found this review helpful.

 

1    11/25/2008   11/25/2008
Review By: metis314159
Played: 26  Reviewed: 14  Exp: 7.3 Years
5 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: 2 Concrete tees on each hole; however, they do have a drop-off at the front which can be a problem for a large follow through. Good markers at each tee giving the pin location (and the pins are labeled), distance, and par. The course uses the creek extensively on almost every hole and requires you to really read the flight lines and have an accurate throw.
Cons: As others stated, there is poison ivy near the creek (which the course hugs); however right now it is not bad. Personally I felt like bad shots were not punished enough since many of the narrow tunnel holes were short enough to allow recovery with a decent approach shot. Virtually no elevation change on any of the holes. Finally, while there was good markers at each tee; they really could have used signs to the next hole since the course crosses itself several times.
Other Thoughts: While the creek is down right now, it definitely has the potential to be very deep and formidable (both shot-wise & lost discs) with just a little rain. Personally, I felt the course was slightly biased to sidearm throws. I feel this course will challenge intermediate players and piss off beginners.

5 of 6 people found this review helpful.

 ivy

1    9/15/2008   9/15/2008
Review By: Innovadude
Played: 225  Reviewed: 178  Exp: 16.3 Years
5 Helpful / 6 Not
Pros: -Well marked
-Clean and well mowed
-Good, dual cement tees
-Long, tough and tight design stressing powerful accuracy, bad shots not punished too bad
Cons: The POISON IVY is just at an unacceptable level, you cannot even play perfect golf and avoid getting covered in it. It crawls trees, surrounds baskets and lines the creek.
Other Thoughts: DO NOT play here if allergic to ivy. Rating somewhat skewered by that fact, since I could not enjoy the course because of it.

5 of 11 people found this review helpful.

 Super course, very fun.

5+    11/4/2008   8/19/2008
Review By: discinator
Played: 9  Reviewed: 9  Exp: 12.3 Years
This review was updated on 11/11/2008
4 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Multiple cement tee boxes on each hole. Good signs that show distance and hole layout. No problem navigating this course. Great mix of shot selection from narrow tunnels, pinball, and wide open big arm holes. Nice driving range and practice area. Usually its not too crowded. One of the Austin area's best kept secrets.
Cons: Poison ivy around creek. Easy to lose a disc or two in the water hazards if your not careful.
Other Thoughts: I really like this course, in fact it is my favorite South Austin course. It is one of the more refined courses in the Austin area. It can be difficult from the pro tees, but if its too much the regular tees make it much easier.

4 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 Scary Course

6/10/2008   7/18/2008
Review By: sidewinding
Played: 81  Reviewed: 68  Exp: 6.6 Years
5 Helpful / 4 Not
Pros: Pretty park with creek and trees. Very diffucult. Will test all of your technical skills.
Cons: Too difficult for me. The design is such that it is difficult to stay out of the deep water. I normally enjoy throwing over water but this creek is scary. I almost stepped on a huge snake.
Other Thoughts: They have a driving range but it runs along the back fences of a neighborhood. You can't air it out or it might turn over into a back yard.

5 of 9 people found this review helpful.

1 2 3 Next >

Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.