Toccoa, GA 
Stephens County/Rose Lane DGC Share
Uploaded By: whalaw Hole #4 (Taken 9/2009)
3 / 296ft.   4 / 520ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #4 Fairway



Reviews: 18
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
1 2 Next >
 A great play

5+    7/17/2009   7/22/2009
Review By: dragon18
Played: 3  Reviewed: 3  Exp: 20.6 Years
1 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: The elevation and strategic pin placements. Nice mix of open and wooded holes.A fun play
Other Thoughts: This is a beautiful course in NE Georgia.The long tees are a great challenge.Hole #11 sits on a ridge line that falls off in 3 directions.The wind here can be really tough.

1 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 Great Course!

5+    7/10/2009   6/26/2009
Review By: nixonrocks
Played: 6  Reviewed: 2
This review was updated on 8/25/2009
4 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: -Great complex with beautiful scenery

-Good design! There's a great mix of straight, hyzer, and anhyzer shots.

-Multiple pads for more experienced and beginners/intermediate

-Good scoring opportunities on the front 9, and a few in the more woody holes.

-The more woody back 9 holes are great for introducing newer players to woods, they weren't so thick that you had to throw a miracle shot to get to the basket, but were challenging enough to make you earn your score.

-They had a cool little practice area.

-Concrete Tee-Pads are great!

-There was a real good mix of Par 3 and Par 4, even a Par 5 (that was the first one I had ever seen, my home course is all par 3's)

-The extra holes are a good challenge.

-The Island hole in the extra course is really cool!!
Cons: -Some of the fairways in the woods run real close together. 2,3,4 and 8, 9, 10 and 16,17 are all right on top of one another. It's not really an issue unless there is a group playing ahead of you.

-No real ob on the main 18 course unless you hit access roads or throw into the neighboring woods on 5 or 10. And if you throw into the woods on 10, you better just kiss that disc goodbye. Barbwire fences ain't fun to climb through.

-On extra hole #20, if you throw into the woods on the right of the pad, kiss that disc goodbye. There's a barrier of briars and shule that's thick and sharp. You'll get cut up pretty bad. Trust me.
Other Thoughts: My experience at Rose Lane was great! I live over an hour away, but I'm looking for any chance to go back and play it!! The drive is really nice, and the scenery is worth taking a camera.

4 of 6 people found this review helpful.

 Let it rip

1    6/24/2009   6/24/2009
Review By: DiscGolfinDave
Played: 4  Reviewed: 2
0 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: The front 9 is great. Lot's of open throws. The best is #7, just throw as hard as possible. The back 9 is almost as fun, not quite as open. Really nice elevation changes throughout the course.
Cons: This course really needs NEXT TEE markers pointing to the next tee location, especially on back 9 (goodluck finding the 15 tee box). If you park at the first hole get ready for a long trek back to your car from either 18 or 24. The tee boxes are too small.
Other Thoughts: I really would recommend making a trip to this course. Bring plenty of drink, as you will be out in the sun alot,

0 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 B- = Lots of cool, but more mediocrity

5+    6/18/2007   4/18/2009
Review By: Dave242
Played: 366  Reviewed: 275  Exp: 20.3 Years
3 Helpful / 5 Not
Pros: What I personally like and how this course stacks up:
1) Holes with good risk/reward -- C+
2) Holes that have rewarding birdie opportunities -- B-
3) More wooded than open - lots of variety of shots required caused by hole shape and topography -- B
4) Natural beauty (Appalachian beauty preferred) and seclusion -- C
5) Multi-shot holes with defined landing zones, good risk/reward and multiple options to play them -- NA
Other Thoughts: I ranked this course subjectively based on my own personal enjoyment factor…more accurately my "personal addiction factor". Since I have played a decent number of courses (115 18-hole, 50 9-hole as of early 2009), my hope is that players/explorers who have similar tastes will find my ratings list helpful as they chose courses to play and explore.

Over time, I expect to fill some of my reviews in with more descriptive verbiage…if what I say adds anything to what has already been written. For now, my list is more important to me than the verbiage of my reviews.

I fully expect others with different tastes/philosophies to disagree with me. See my profile for my rating philosophy.

3 of 8 people found this review helpful.

 

1    3/7/2009   3/10/2009
Review By: heelboycraig
Played: 173  Reviewed: 169  Exp: 10.3 Years
9 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Good variety of holes. Great use of elevation changes. Uphill holes, especially #6 & 10 play much longer because of dramatic elevation change. You'll get a real workout walking up and down the hill, especially in the middle of the summer.
- The front 9 has few trees, but baskets are strategically placed to take full advantage of them. Throughout the entire course, there's a high risk/reward factor with the trees.
- Front nine (actually 1 - 11) more wide open, back nine (actually 12 - 18) is more wooded.
- Course has good flow around ball fields. Not much wasted space between baskets and next tee pads. As mentioned in an earlier post, some holes play next to each other in opposite direction, so you'll need to pay attention to discs coming your direction.
- Multiple tee pads for beginners and advanced.
- Low risk of lost discs. Only real threat is throwing a shot over the OB fence on a couple holes.
- 24 holes. For those who need more than 18. The last 6 holes aren't as good as the original 18, but it's still 6 more holes. No complaints there.
- Tee shot for #7. Tee pad is 30 - 40 feet up on a hill, which lets you unleash some massive drives. Hole is 430 feet, but probably plays 100 feet short due to elevation drop. Where's Olorin's elevation chart formula when you need it?
Cons: No major problems with the course, but several things that could be a real nuisance.
- Tee pads are short. I wasn't able to get my full X-step throwing motion without going off the end of the tee pad.
- Tee signs only have distance and an arrow pointing in the general direction of the hole. Several times I was standing on the tee pad and could see two baskets close to each other. On #2, for example, the baskets for #2 & #4 are within 100 feet of each other. Without a map it'd be easy to throw to the wrong basket.
- Several holes are close to OB fence or baseball fence. #1 is a dogleg left with a baseball field to left of fairway and a steep drop-off to the right.
- As mentioned above, and in earlier reviews, several holes are really close, so watch out for discs when playing, especially if course is crowded.
Other Thoughts: As mentioned, I was pleasantly surprised how good this course is. For a course that is mostly open, it really was challenging. Course designer did a great job laying things out to create such a fun course that requires a variety of shots.
- I went back and forth between giving this a 3.5 or a 4. I'm giving it a 3.5 because I'd need to play it again to see if it deserves a 4, or if I was just that suprised how good it was that I was overestimating the course. That said, it's well worth the 20-25 minute detour off I-85.
- The last 6 holes were kind of a let down because they were so different (not as good) from the first 18. Also, if you play the extra 6 holes, you have a much longer walk back to the parking lot than if you quit after 18.
- I enjoyed the holes with the dramatic elevation changes, both uphill and downhill. It brings in new strategy when throwing.
- Favorite hole is #7. It's really not that challenging, but it's a perfect hole to empty the bag to throw some monster drives. Think of it as the ultimate ego boost.

9 of 9 people found this review helpful.

 A fun course

5+    8/2/2008   2/9/2009
Review By: dandaman
Played: 55  Reviewed: 21  Exp: 19.3 Years
3 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: This course has a little bit of everything. Nice ratio of hyzers and anhyzers, good pin placements and in a scenic park.
Cons: Holes 8-10 are the only thing that makes this course a little frustrating. They are great holes as is and are not an issue for casual play. During tournaments however delays can be long and you have to be very wary of incoming discs..especially on hole 9.
Other Thoughts: This course is well worth the visit. Hole 7 alone is worth the drive. The course is excellently maintained and more holes than 18 is always a bonus.

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 

1    11/8/2008   11/9/2008
Review By: rgarcia140
Played: 4  Reviewed: 4  Exp: 6.1 Years
0 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Great course to really appreciate the flight patterns of the discs. This course will test your scanning abilities. on a good day you can score really well, and on a bad day, well you know... Great design and even better upkeep. the course is well marked and the pins are easily visible.
Cons: A little more woods play would be a nice addition to this course in my opinion, but is great just hte way it is

0 of 1 people found this review helpful.

 A Good Fun Round

3/7/2008   7/14/2008
Review By: tfcdawg
Played: 71  Reviewed: 6  Exp: 10.1 Years
8 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: I have played few courses as enjoyable as Rose Lane Park. An excellent design by John Nisewonder, the variety of holes will require you to pull out every shot in your arsenal. Two sets of tees make for two very different golf courses. From the short teepads, birdie can be accomplished on all but about three holes. Course record on the original 18 set by Rand Eberhard at 16 under. The back tees will require you to earn a couple of difficult pars. This course has expanded into an excellent tournament venue, and has hosted the Georgia State Championships on several occasions.
Cons: A couple of the additional holes beyond the original eighteen will require you to play over the roads and parking lots. If the park is congested, this can prove problematic and will require caution on the part of the disc-thrower. Few opportunities for water on the course, so bring some with you. Don't be like me and drink out of the creek on five. It flows directly out of a water treatment plant.
Other Thoughts: This course and the wonderful folks who keep it running have started a disc golf revolution in the small mountain town of Toccoa. The events held at Rose Lane are top-notch with seamless organization and pay-outs that are second-to-none.

8 of 8 people found this review helpful.

1 2 Next >

Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.