Sugar Camp, WI 
Sugar Camp DGC Share
Uploaded By: Geoffro Hole #13 (Taken 5/2009)
4 / 325ft.   4 / --   4 / --   4 / -- Par / Distance:
Hole #13 Tee: 325 feet.



Reviews: 7
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
Sugar Camp is pretty sweet!

1    8/17/2014   8/18/2014
Review By: glassila
Played: 16  Reviewed: 3  Exp: 2.3 Years
0 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: -Very well laid out, easy to follow, good signage.
-The fairways are immaculate and the rough is clean as well. Very little time spent searching.
-Nice concrete tee pads on every hole.
The open holes (back 9) are fairly picturesque.
Cons: A bit of a long walk back to the parking area.
Other Thoughts: If you are looking for a 5000 foot, pro level course, then Sugar Camp is not for you.
If you want to play a nicely laid out, fun, well manicured and beautiful course you can't go wrong with Sugar Camp.

0 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Not quite as sweet as sugar, but not bad

1    11/3/2012   11/16/2012
Review By: harr0140
Played: 715  Reviewed: 478  Exp: 5.7 Years
1 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: 1) Adequate signs with Distance, Par, and the line of the fairway.
2) Nice concrete tees are always appreciated.
3) Alternate tees are rubber tees which is an adequate option.
4) Portopotty on the course is nice to see.
5) There are a couple of benches on the course.
6) A few garbage cans available on the course.
7) Variety of the holes is adequate. There are 9 holes with some wooded sections or trees as obstacles, then there are 9 prairie holes. It is unfortunately 9 in a row in the trees, then 9 in the prairie so the 's feel a little repetitive.
8) This was a fun course because there are plenty of holes you can park with a great shot.
9) Nice Mach baskets with the number plates facing the tee.
10) Very beginner friendly course . . . everyone has to start somewhere.
Cons: 1) The distance variation overall is pretty weak. Most of the holes are under 200 or just slightly over with only 2 fairly long 300' or more.
2) Dangerous areas on the course in a couple spots.
3) The prairie half of the course was a little bit boring. Just mowed fairways through tall prairie grass that does not make for really challenging disc golf.
4) Too many options on many of the holes . . . I prefer that some holes have options, while some are dictated left to right or right to left. Sometimes I just like to see a person forced into a specific shot on occasion.
Other Thoughts: While there are not many cons, many of the pros are almost expected. The course does not stand out as a great course by any means, but it does have some redeeming values. Iw ould say the front 9 gets a 3.0-3.5 and the back gets a 1.5-2.0. I will average it to a 2.5 middle of the pack rating. I enjoyed some shots, but got bored on others.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Nice front 9

2-4    6/6/2011   7/25/2011
Review By: J-Bright
Played: 24  Reviewed: 3  Exp: 5.1 Years
This review was updated on 4/7/2014
1 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: The front 9 are the best holes on the course. they have a variety of shots, and obstacles in the way so it's not too easy of holes.
Cons: The only down side to the front 9 are they are fairly short holes. the back 9 is the biggest con with this course. there is not much difference hole to hole. basically just a straight shot with no obstacles, but they are like 300-400 feet long. gets kind of old after the first 2 holes.
Other Thoughts: If it was a course in my neighborhood, or if i was going on a trip up there i would still play it, but there are better courses than this course.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

 Great City Course

2-4    9/15/2010   9/15/2010
Review By: E_Rock25
Played: 74  Reviewed: 34  Exp: 4.2 Years
This review was updated on 7/25/2011
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Fun front nine! Great hole placement. The front plays throught the woods and the layout is awasome. Not overly challanging but not easy. There are lefts and right as well as ups and downs. Great for working on your accuracy. Back nine is wide open and longer. I like 13 alot nice downhill shot over a big patch of grass. If they could add water this would be the hole to do it on. Back nine is easier than the front but it is still fun to let some rip in the feilds. Well kept course with great signage that is easy to fallow. Players of all abilities will enjoy this course. It is hard to loose a disk here for the most part.
Cons: For me the back nine can be a con because it is so wide open. I wish there was some water on this course as well. The holes could be a little bit longer too.
Other Thoughts: I didn't play disk golf for 6 years and this was the first course I played when I started back up. I really like it.

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 Home Base Course

5+    3/14/2010   3/15/2010
Review By: matrathvy
Played: 91  Reviewed: 9  Exp: 15.3 Years
3 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: The first 9 holes are in the woods, last 9 in the open. The diversity plays to the abilities that every player needs to have in their bag of tricks. Wind and elevation changes are used very well throughout the course.
Cons: The back 9 being in the open like they are, it doesn't call for a lot of strategy in shot placement, get it down towards the hole and a good putt could finish it up easily.
Other Thoughts: Very well loved course, groomed weekly(sometimes more). Community owned and built. There are softball fields, basketball courts, jungle gyms, porta-potties, picnic tables and so such more at this course for family fun.

3 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 Nice, for the area.

5+    10/30/2008   10/30/2008
Review By: J.W.I.
Played: 30  Reviewed: 15  Exp: 7.8 Years
2 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Accurate signage. Multiple pads make the course more challenging. I once played with the Town Commissioner that put the course in. Small town values pervade.
Cons: In wide open (and windy) fields much of the time. Tall grasses can drive you crazy when looking for a disc, but they did take my suggestion a couple years back and mowed some clean rows through the fields to help you keep track of where you've looked and where you haven't.
Other Thoughts: There are not a lot of courses up there, so this one is a nice find. Not overly challenging, but it keeps your arm loose until you go back to wherever you're visiting the area from.

2 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 Nice mix

5+    5/31/2009   9/20/2008
Review By: Geoffro
Played: 16  Reviewed: 16  Exp: 8.4 Years
This review was updated on 6/4/2009
3 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: A nice mix through the front and back. Front 9 is relatively short holes through woods, with a good elevation changes both up and down, and both left and right-turning fairways.

The feel of the front nine is really cool - with the limited space the designer has created some really interesting holes with several tracks to the baskets if you take a step back and look at them. Some holes are blind (this is a pro for me), and many short holes require surgical strikes to birdie, or even make par. 200' is a long way if you have to deal with multiple obstacles. At the same time, if you get in the rough, you can find your way our relatively easily.

Back nine is all open. Lawn golf. This could be a pro or a con, I guess, but moderate elevation changes keep it interesting to some degree. You have to throw farther on the back nine, so it's nice that you've warmed up on the front.

Oh, and really good signage. Check out the photo of the hole 9 sign posted here - the guys made the sign poles out of PVC pipe, and it came out looking pretty good.
Cons: The back 9 can get a bit redundant, as there is little in the way of hazards and obstacles. Elevation changes are nice, but they don't necessarily compensate for the lack of a defined (or ill-defined) fairway. Playing the back nine at this course always feels like I'm practicing drives in an open field.

There has been some effort at multiple tees - laying out rubber mats further back than the concrete red tees - but the last time I played the course, many of these mats had been removed, leaving only a dead section of grass as an alternate tee. The course would benefit from establishing alternate tees in concrete.
Other Thoughts: A really fun 18 holes. Continued improvements on this course - new signs and concrete tee-pads were added in 2007. I would encourage growth of foliage on the back nine. I expect this course only to improve with time.

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.
Disc Golf Center