La Mesa, CA 
Sun Valley Share
Uploaded By: osborncl Hole #9 (Taken 4/2011)
3 / 306ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #9 Approach



Reviews: 24
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
 

2-4    12/23/2012   12/26/2012
Review By: BENFTS
Played: 81  Reviewed: 26  Exp: 20.8 Years
Pros: -Nice elevation change
-Pro shop w/ food, drink, scorecards, & discs
-Lush green grass
-Ball & disc golfers share the course very well
-Easy Navigation
-Play out & back, finishing where you start
-Easy to get to & tons of parking
Cons: -$6 to play per 18 holes
-It gets repetitive
-Natural grass tees
-No DG specific signage
-Some long walks to the next tee
-Lots of wasted space
Other Thoughts: This course is worth checking out just to add it to your resume. I feel like owners could squeeze a few more short holes throughout the course to add to an already good start.

 A fine alternative to Morley

2-4    4/7/2011   5/7/2011
Review By: Danger
Played: 87  Reviewed: 70  Exp: 5.4 Years
8 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: -Well maintained grass
-Innova DISCatchers
-$5 pay-to-play keeps the riff raff out
-Practice Basket right next to putting green
-Elevation shots!
-Good Vibe
Cons: -Only 9 holes
-Shots are generally straightforward
-No tee protection
Other Thoughts: Sun Valley is a disc on ball golf course, meaning the course is on an actual golf course. Disc Golfers share the course with Ball Golfers, who tend to play slower than Disc Golfers. The course itself is on a very hilly, semi wooded course in a suburban neighborhood bordering a freeway. Pleasant green grass, rolling hills, and a cozy pro shop create an inviting, laid back vibe.

The course is $5 to play, which buys you two laps. The ball golfers pay $10. When we played this course on a weekday afternoon, there was a father and son and two other groups playing disc, and 3 groups playing golf. While it was busy, the golfers were generally young and playing multiple balls, and were more than happy to let us play through, and even a couple of times, right along-side them. We dealt with absolutely no excessive waiting or attitude. This is not a country club. A golfer returned my iPhone to the pro shop from tee 3, if that says anything about the clientele.

The course itself relies mostly on elevation to keep itself interesting. The first hole is a fantastic downhill bomb off the tee, to a pin on a steep slope. An easy layup can result in a horrible roller.

The next couple of holes shoot across valleys, with hole three incorporating OB and some trees to add to the challenge. Hole 4 is a short, flat hole, but playing the ball greens and sand traps as OB adds landing zone challenges for most players.

The second half of the course has a little less elevation but is still fun. The 8th hole plays very short but has a dogleg, and the 9th hole is a fairly steep uphill shot. Once again, the hills are the primary challenge, not only with shot selection but the landing gamble as well.

There are multiple tees for ball golf, and as others have mentioned, a good number of them are just not designed with disc golf in mind. They are rectangular, but long side-to-side, so no room for a run up. There are obvious naturally worn areas near these tees that we used as our own. Since you are allowed two laps with your green fees, you can play the easy tees the first round and the harder ones the second round to add some variety to your day.

With the ability to take your time and not worry about an errant disc nailing you in the back of your head, Sun Valley is a great alternative to the mayhem at Morley Field. It is very casual and not all that difficult, but the slower pace allows time for a couple of shots and some practice. I am a supporter of disc on ball golf courses, and this course, albeit a 9 hole, is a fine example.

8 of 9 people found this review helpful.

 

2-4    7/12/2010   9/3/2010
Review By: pjc77
Played: 3  Reviewed: 3
0 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: Very clean cut and well maintained, not extremely crowded
Cons: Very short, on the pricier side, not very challenging, if you shank your drive it could end up in someones backyard or on the freeway.
Other Thoughts: Worth trying, but wouldn't recommend going out of your way to play it

0 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 It is what it is...

2-4    4/22/2012   11/19/2009
Review By: Ninja_Disc_Master
Played: 39  Reviewed: 30  Exp: 6.6 Years
This review was updated on 4/22/2012
0 Helpful / 6 Not
Pros: Play- Excellent use of elevation changes and basket locations.
Baskets- Good condition and challenging locations throughout.
Condition- Since it is on a ball golf course the scenery and "greeness" of the course was nice, with trash cans and benches throughout.
Elevation changes...nice baskets, interesting cage locations.
"Pro Shop"- Wide selection of discs and refreshments/snacks. Pretty much anything you might want for discs, food or drink.
Cons: Play- Ball golfer coordination was an issue when I went. Some were friendly and easy to play with, others not so much.
Tee boxes- Not your standard cement type. More of the green synthetic carpet stuff. Sometimes not pointed correctly, but usually manageable.
Cost- A bit expensive for what you get. (9 holes)
Other Thoughts: Nice change up from Morley. Not my first choice for the SD area if you only have time to play one course. I had never played on a ball golf course before and I don't know if I ever will again. Fun course just not a big fan of the ball/disc golf coordination.

0 of 6 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.