La Mesa, CA 
Sun Valley Share
Uploaded By: osborncl Hole #9 (Taken 4/2011)
3 / --   3 / --   3 / 306ft.   3 / -- Par / Distance:
Hole #9 Basket



Reviews: 24
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
Great Alternative To Morley!

1    6/29/2014   7/18/2014
Review By: The Valkyrie Kid
Played: 683  Reviewed: 635  Exp: 36.3 Years
Pros: As you're driving here on the freeway, you'll see the sign for Sun Valley Golf. Mounted above it is a sign saying "Disc Golfers Welcome." Wow, disc golf now merits an advertising sign on the freeway. Another step towards mainstream.
Sun Valley is a little 9 hole golf course with some great elevation to play with. I wouldn't say it wonderfully maintained as it was plenty dry and brown when I play in late June.
It's a bit pricey at $6 which gets you around twice.
I was lucky to have two big armed locals guide me around the course and show me the alternate pad locations making this a full 18. There are up to 4 basket locations per hole. There are now signs in place which are new.

# 1 is great top of the world shot over the valley which had a very tricky basket location the Sunday morning I played. The second pad here is even a higher and longer version of # 1.
# 5 played as a 507' downhill bomb.

Playing the greens OB only adds to the courses difficulty/challenge.
Cons: $6 is a little pricey for some players to play on a regular basis. Then again, it does keep the riff raff out.

I was a little disappointed in the upkeep here. Lots of dirt areas, lots of brown grass. This wasn't the prettiest, green little golf course I've seen.

I played on a Sunday morning at 8 and there was only one twosome of golfers and there 4 disc golfers on the course. I don't know when the regular golfers would be much of a problem.
I think navigation would have been a little problamatic without the help of the two locals.
Other Thoughts: Because I'm independently wealthy (joking), if I lived in the area, I'd play this course on a regular basis. # 1 is worth the price of admission alone. The course is challenging and it seems relatively not busy. I was told that disc golfers not bring in more $ here than the regulars. Not use some of that $ on some water to green it up a bit.


1    9/2/2013   9/2/2013
Review By: tdkrizenshine
Played: 26  Reviewed: 12  Exp: 1.3 Years
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Great place to air out your LD and fairway drivers. Tons of elevation! Kind of cool to run it once and then try and improve the second time around.
Nice chill atmosphere and friendly staff and patrons. Decent pro shop.
Cons: Signage for disc is nonexistent. Not very technical, although a few fallaways take up some of the slack in that department.
Other Thoughts: I played this the first time this morning and was pleasantly surprised at the fun factor. Gripitandripit is the name of the game here. Some BIG tee shots and a few uphills will have you sweating. This is a little course that has some big holes and with a discount punch ticket for 25 rounds @ $75 it's cheaper than Morley (as well as NO expiration and IS good on weekends!) and although not nearly as crowded you can still get slowed down by the bolfers. The biggest con here is the lack of technicality but I really enjoyed it as a beginner.

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 Loads of fun for a moderate/advanced player

1    6/30/2013   6/30/2013
Review By: ESchurr
Played: 1  Reviewed: 1
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: -Decent pin placements. Some holes some are weirdly short but overall the holes are reasonably distanced.

- Tree placements are enough to make you think about your shot and block easy/obvious lines but not enough to make you go insane.

-Eye catching hole 1. Massive elevation difference makes it loads of fun.

-$6 buys you two laps on this 9 holer which makes it as satisfying as a full 18.

-I really enjoyed playing the full 9 twice around for a second shot at botched holes the first time.

-The end of your first lap is planned well and takes you right past the pro shop if you want to pick up a drink/snack.

Cons: -Piss poor watering effort. I understand its California and water is tight/expensive but having the majority of the course be entirely dirt really detracted from the experience for me.

-Errant drives will roll like hell on the dirt. This course is shared with ball golfers, and it was easy to see their frustration as their balls rolled wherever they felt like.

-Most ball golfers are respectful but you may end up waiting behind some groups as they play much slower than Discers.

-Some tee pads are very unclear and there's almost zero signage. We were left to assume that some tee pads were supposed to be shared with the grass ball golf pads.

-One hole is very close to the highway and is subject to unretrievable throws into the road.

Other Thoughts: Very fun course. A little compact but the space is used well with no intersecting fairways. Some may not like playing the same 9 twice but some may enjoy the "second chance" it offers.

It could use more watering to avoid absurd and frustrating rolls on the hard dirt but in such a dry area, that's hard to do.

As this course is close to San Diego and is a WONDERFUL alternative to the overwhelming mayhem at Morley field, I'll probably be playing here again. Would recommend to friends.

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

Friendly course

5+    5/11/2013   5/11/2013
Review By: jtrod
Played: 7  Reviewed: 7
1 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Good baskets
Friendly staff and players, including ball golfers
Variety of shots if you utilize all the tees
Limited amount of traffic
Monthlies held 2nd Sunday of month
Some holes have multiple tee pads
Cons: I wish there were tee signs at each hole showing where the different tee pads are and showed the distances for each pad and backet
Other Thoughts: I dont mind the $6 fee to play because there is limited traffic and I can play several discs per hole.

They do have coupons on certain day for $3 rounds

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

 Fun, but overpriced

2-4    8/12/2012   8/12/2012
Review By: rmcguire86
Played: 17  Reviewed: 8  Exp: 6.1 Years
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: -Very well kept up. Its on a little 9 hole golf course. I gotta say, I'm a huge fan of these mixed use golf courses. Great way for owners of local courses to make an extra buck with minimum effort.

-Despite the size of the land the course is located on, they dont skimp on the holes. A few more technical shots, one or two straightforward point and throws. Hole one has a nice 100 foot elevation change, with about 320 feet to the pin. Nice little set-up, for the most part.

-Pro shop on site, good food, decent disc selection. Friendly staff.

-Ball golfers were super friendly, let me play through when I was behind them. Was concerned that there might have been some prejudice against disc golfers but it wasn't a problem.

-Not crowded. Saw some other folks
Cons: -Still a short course. 9 nice holes, but still only nine holes. One fee gets you two run-throughs, but it gets repetative.

-The biggest con here is the fee. Its up to 6 dollars on the weekends, and you just don't get your money's worth. Morely is only four bucks, and a much, much better course. With so many awesome free courses in the area I just don't see any reason to go to Sun Valley unless I happen to be in the area, or there's some kind of tournament going on.

-Tee pads are inconsistent. Rubber on some, on others you just kind of have to guess as to where to throw from.
Other Thoughts: Its a nice little course, its just not worth the fee. If you live in the area, and want a change of pace, by all means give it a shot. There's no reason to go out of your way though.

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 Fun Fly Course

1    8/7/2010   8/8/2010
Review By: DaKineSurfer32
Played: 429  Reviewed: 56  Exp: 13.4 Years
3 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: - VERY well maintained due to the fact that it's a ball golf course
- practice basket next to the putting green
- combination ball/disc golf score cards and pencils are given by the pro shop when they take you out for your tee time
- large disc and food/drink selection in the pro shop, most everyone is very friendly
- once you pay you can play all you want that day
- great elevation changes and challenging pin placements
- bathrooms in pro shop
- benches near every tee
Cons: - $5 pay-to-play because it's on a ball golf course
- the tees were not made with disc golf in mind, so you basically have to throw from made-up "natural" tees next to the ball golf tees
- if you go on a busy ball golf day, plan on waiting a lot (while it takes a group of 4 disc golfers 5-6 minutes per hole, it takes 2 or 3 ball golfers more like 15+)
- no disc golf tee signs and the distances on the scorecard are in yards (not a huge issue, but still, put the measurements we use in our sport too)
Other Thoughts: Despite the fact that a round at Sun Valley can really drag out due to the slowness of ball golfers it is a really fun, and rewarding course. Each hole is different, and each hole is quality (maybe with the exception of 8 because it's so short it's really a joke), so the fun factor of this course is way up there.

I've always liked playing on fly courses because they are so well maintained and Sun Valley is no exception. Each hole is as nice to look at as it is to throw, and the elevation changes between tee and basket provide great challenges, and great fun, when you get to air out 400'+ drives.

About half of the pin placements are on hillsides, or near very steep hills, that will punish errant putts, so SV forces you to come with your putting game on (the practice basket will help with this).

The issue about not having tee pads is really a minor one, because there is plenty of space to throw to either side of the ball golf tees.

My biggest qualm with the course, other than the rate of play on a busy day (other reviewers have said that the ball golfers let them play through, I did not experience any similar etiquette when playing) is how much it costs to play. $5 can seem a little steep to some players, especially when you can get a DX disc for $8, but in this case it does help because you'll generally have the disc course to yourself for most of the day.

All in all I would recommend Sun Valley to anyone. It's a pretty, fun, and not overly challenging course to the advanced player, but can still make you scramble. Definitely a welcome change from overcrowded Morley, but just make sure you plan on spending enough time there to get your $5 worth.

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 Up and Down

5+    7/28/2009   3/16/2010
Review By: Cyrus333
Played: 33  Reviewed: 4  Exp: 8.6 Years
1 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: A well groomed Pay to Play BG 9-hole with HUGE elevation changes. Proshop is stocked full of friendly personel and a great selection of discs. Every time I played SV, the BGer's were more than willing to let me play through since my group played faster than most of them. SV was also a good course to get some additional exercise. Lots of up hill and down hill walks. Baskets were in great shape, not marked up or tagged in any way. Hardly any crowd when it came to ther DG'ers. No "riff raff", I guess because of location.
Cons: Not very challenging with the exception of the elevation. Hole number 5 (I think) is situated on the backside of a few house fence lines, and a gust of wind or bad release will more than likely send it into a yard with a particularly angry dog, however If you happen to catch an owner they will call and leave your disc on thier porch.
Hole #3/ a local ate my favorite disc. (marked)
Other Thoughts: The course was fun to play because it was a little easier for some of the group I was with that were not having good rounds earlier in the day. It was cool/funny watching discs sailing off the tee pad of hole one, fade off and sometimes stake halfway into the ground.

1 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 Simple and fun 9

5+    1/15/2009   12/31/2009
Review By: vince
Played: 7  Reviewed: 7
0 Helpful / 4 Not
Pros: Escape the crowds at Morley. Pro Shop. Well taken care of. Fun elevation changes.
Cons: A bit wide open. Ball golfers. 5$
Other Thoughts: Just a fun little 9 that you should check out sometime...probably when the crowds get a little thick at Morley.

0 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 Decent Choice in San Diego

2-4    1/13/2009   1/13/2009
Review By: progprowl
Played: 18  Reviewed: 17  Exp: 12.3 Years
5 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: 1. Situated on a clean, well maintained ball golf course. Garbage cans, clearly marked holes, grass tees.
2. Staff is great, Good pro shop, plenty of locals to bestow sage like advice.
3. Not a Techniquely challenging course. The course's main challenge is drastic elevation changes (Hole #1 and #5 particularly). Some trees and bushes offer challenges, but not as challenging as the more crowded Morley. Holes #4 and #9 make sure your drives don't tail off the hillsides on the left side of the fairway. can add a couple strokes.
5. Should be able to birdie a few holes.
Cons: 1. Like most courses in SD it is a pay to play $5 wkdy, $6 wknd, $8 for 18 holes..
2. Lot's of ball golf traffic potential on the weekends. 9 hole pitch and putt that draws first timers. I recommend playing during the week when possible, less potential for a ball in the forehead.
3. Obviously they want you to stay off greens and Sandtraps, but most baskets are clear of them.
Other Thoughts: Probably the 3rd best course out of 4 in San Diego county. Play Morley, then Emerald Isle first. Great place to go if you are sick of the Morley crowds, but you don't want to drive up to North County.

5 of 6 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.
Disc Golf Center