La Mesa, CA 
Sun Valley Share
Uploaded By: RYFLE Hole #2 (Taken 3/2009)
3 / --   3 / --   3 / 375ft.   3 / -- Par / Distance:
Hole #2 Blue Tee



Reviews: 24
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
Tougher than it looks

2-4    7/9/2014   7/24/2014
Review By: joecross98
Played: 7  Reviewed: 5  Exp: 2.3 Years
Pros: - Quiet location set on a nice golf course
- Every hole is technically challenging and/or long
- Not crowded at all
Cons: - Bring your hiking boots cause there are serious hills
- It's weird yelling "fore" to a regular golfer when a disc is flying at their head
Other Thoughts: The roads winding around the course mean you are throwing over a street on several holes. Gut check time!!

TIP: If you throw into the freeway on #3, there is a hole in the fence at the end of the tree line.

Excellent little course

5+    2/19/2014   2/20/2014
Review By: DrCreek
Played: 2  Reviewed: 2
1 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: EXCELLENT folks inside the pro shop. And the regulars that golf here are some of the nicest people I've ever met. It's quiet on the course, and there's a great breeze that comes through the valley. Like all disc courses, this little gem is much better in the early morning. When I play there's rarely anyone in front of me. Plenty of trees to get in your way, but not a disc trap like Morley. Lots of ups and downs to throw through. Baskets are all exposed and easily visible - there is no having to throw blindly into forests filled with fire hazards. Baskets are all top-notch. The local police make frequent area checks here. It's an excellent deterrent.
Cons: Here it is...Wednesday mornings are horrible from 10am until around 1pm or so. The big CON is the presence of a beginners golfing class from one of the local colleges. Avoid Wednesday late mornings as a rule unless you enjoy that kind of craziness.
Other Thoughts: Start around 8am-9am ANY other day than Wednesday and you'll have a GREAT time. Play two rounds to make it an even 18. Time flies when you're having this much fun !

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

$6 make you holla

1    12/28/2012   12/29/2012
Review By: nuttinbutchain
Played: 34  Reviewed: 20
1 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: -great elevation changes (mostly rolling hills, throwing downhill and uphill)
-course seems well maintained, especially for disc golf
-great basket placements, alot of cliff hanger baskets
-also, alternate basket locations
-very easy navigation
-Hole highlights:
-Hole 1 is by far the best "top of the world" hole I have played out of all the courses I have visited so far
-Hole 5 is another cool "top of the world" throw
-Hole 3 and Hole 9 are both interesting uphill throws
-Deceptively long holes, I found this a plus as I always felt I had a chance to air out my disc
Cons: -$6 to play, both weekends and weekdays alike...pricey for a 9 hole course
-only 9 holes
-no signage, sometimes hard to see where the basket location is
-gotta share the course with ball golfers, most are nice but waits might be long if you go during a busy time
Other Thoughts: My very first time at Sun Valley and I was surprisingly impressed. I've heard many negative things about this course, such as its not worth checking out and that ball golfers are not friendly. Believe me, this course is worth checking out and the ball golfers were friendly to my group. Because of the $6 price tag, I wouldn't play here often, but its definitely a fun course. Hole 1 has a ridiculously awesome top of the world shot, even better than Hole 11 at Morley Field imo. Easily Hole 1 is one of the nicest, best holes I've ever played on out of any of the courses I've played (I'm up to 15 courses so far). Overall you play through rolling hills with enough obstacles to keep it interesting. On about half of the holes there's a risk reward factor, especially with cliff hanger baskets and potential death rolls. A beautiful alternative to Morley Field, but pricey. Would definitely play again, just not as often as I would play Morley or Kit Carson (in the San Diego area). I've played about four 9 hole courses and this is easily in the top two if not the best 9 hole course that I've played so far.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

 Fun 9 holer

5+    11/2/2010   11/22/2010
Review By: Crackers
Played: 36  Reviewed: 6  Exp: 19.4 Years
0 Helpful / 7 Not
Pros: Very clean course.
Awesome first hole.
Nice pro shop.
Cons: $5 for two 9 hole rounds, where at Morley you can play 19 for $3.
Ball golfers.
Some jerk who has a fence against one of the holes despises disc golfers and won't allow them to retrieve their discs. If you attempt jumping the fence, he lets out his pack of Cujo dogs.

0 of 7 people found this review helpful.

 

5+    3/20/2010   4/4/2010
Review By: DuXterra
Played: 5  Reviewed: 5
0 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: Very well maintained
Great high elevation shots making long drives challenging and fun
Pin positions change
Quick to play, you can play it in about 30 min if you jog
Usually not to crowded
Great short course
Cons: Not great pads to throw from, some a facing wrong way
Have to watch for less experiences ball golfers, almost got hit twice here
Only 9 holes
Its $5 to play (although you can play as much as you want)
Other Thoughts: A great break from the crowded Morley on weekends. It gives you a different feel and is also great to practice some long throws. Bring your driver to this course.

0 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 A good alternative

5+    5/2/2009   5/4/2009
Review By: coast2coast
Played: 93  Reviewed: 32  Exp: 11.3 Years
6 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Practice basket. Lots of elevation. Very well maintained. Good variety of short and long holes. Pro shop with a great selection of discs, food and drinks. Friendly staff. Ball golfers will usually let disc golfers play through. Lots of different types of trees and plant life. Multiple tee areas for each hole. New Baskets. Pin positions change weekly on a few holes. OB greens and bunkers add challenge. Benches and trash cans on most holes.
Cons: Inexperienced ball golfers can make for a long wait. Wet in the morning. Windy in the afternoon. 9 holes. A couple of the holes are wide open with no obstacles.
Other Thoughts: I asked someone who works there why some of the astro-turf tee boxes were installed horizontally, and they replied that those are for the ball golfers to hit from, so the disc golfers usually throw from the grass. This course is a much appreciated alternative to Morley Field.

6 of 6 people found this review helpful.

 Sun Valley is growing on me

5+    2/24/2009   2/25/2009
Review By: RYFLE
Played: 9  Reviewed: 3  Exp: 6.3 Years
4 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: This is a nice, well maintained 9 hole on a ball golf course. Because of the valley where the course lies your major challenge will be the elevation changes. The valley can humble you a little bit but there are birdies to be made on most holes. Basket locations make very good use of the trees and bushes on the course. There are tee boxes on almost all the holes except #5 but #4, 7, & 9's tee boxes are facing the wrong direction. They have white and blue tee areas for the ball golfers and you can tee off from either of those if you like. Because of all the options you can pretty much choose what type of course you would like to play (long, med, shorts) and mix it up whenever you like. The pro shop has drinks, discs, and a friendly staff and all the baskets/chains are in good condition. All greens and bunkers are OB which makes it a little more challenging. Great place to play whenever Morley is a zoo.
Cons: It is a pay to play course but its only 5 bucks. Also the tee boxes being faced in the wrong direction makes for some short run ups. You're better off just driving off the grass but then whats the point of having the boxes out there?

4 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 

2-4    12/3/2008   12/3/2008
Review By: Survivor
Played: 447  Reviewed: 6  Exp: 21.4 Years
4 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: Located on a clean, well-groomed, nicely landscaped par 3 ball golf course.
Great scenery and several 50-100' elevation changes.
Pro shop with friendly staff, score cards, and snacks.
Cons: Only nine holes
Mostly wide open shots
Short holes
Ball golfers share the course
Other Thoughts: I enjoyed playing this course and would play it often if I lived in this area.

4 of 7 people found this review helpful.

 

5+    6/9/2008   6/12/2008
Review By: austinirish
Played: 10  Reviewed: 2  Exp: 6.8 Years
This review was updated on 12/4/2008
5 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Wide open shots.
Good pin placement
newly installed tee boxes
very little wait if any
Great elevation shots
Cons: Not many precision drives needed
Pretty wet in the morning
Windy in the afternoon
Some of the tee boxes are facing the wrong way
Other Thoughts: I enjoyed this course. I had played ball golf on it many times before, and enjoyed the switch over. It is fun to see your drives sail for a while with the canyon shots. Hole 8 presents a good ace opportunity.
Sun Valley crew is trying to accomodate the disc golfers. The tee boxes are a nice addition, but there are two, (hole 4 and 9) that are set up that the length of the box is in the wrong direction giving the disc golfer only a two foot run up.

5 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 

3/11/2008   3/11/2008
Review By: gwillim
Played: 161  Reviewed: 41  Exp: 13.3 Years
10 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros:
-Lots of fun elevation shots
-Baskets are in good shape
-Friendly staff
-Discs and food available at pro shop
-Lots of events to participate in
-Windy
-Greens and sandtraps are OB making it more challenging
Cons:
-Grass tees are not fun
-Windy
-Long waits for ball golfers to finish holes at times
-Pay to play (not too bad, keeps grounds up)
Other Thoughts:
Another Disc Golf on a Ball Golf course! Sun Valley is a great course to practice in the wind, and bigger elevation shots. It also helps to thin out the crowds a bit from Morley Field, which is ALWAYS outlandishly crowded.

The tee shots at SV are very fun, throwing up down and across small valleys. And the staff are very pleasant. Moderate amount of well placed vegetation to protect the baskets and add to the challenge, as well as the OB make SV challenging.

The only thing, other than the tees, that annoyed me when I would pay at SV is the ball golfers. It is a pitch-n-putt ball golf course, so you get the guys that bring their friends out that have never played before, and sometimes they have no desire to allow the more serious and competent disc golfers to play through. Generally, everyone is in a good mood though. If you're in San Diego, I would definitely suggest playing Sun Valley over Morley Field, it's just more fun.

10 of 10 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.