La Mesa, CA 
Sun Valley Share
Uploaded By: osborncl Hole #7 (Taken 4/2011)
3 / 405ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #7 Tee

Course Rating Distribution

Reviews: 25
Avg. Rating:
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Reviews between: and Sort By:
Exp. (in years): Played: Reviewed: Only Trusted Reviewers
< Prev 1 2 3
San Diego elevation course

2-4    1/10/2016   1/18/2016
Review By: Mr. Butlertron
Played: 86  Reviewed: 56  Exp: 13.7 Years
- Lots of elevation changes
- Landscaped fairways
- Challenging layout
- Pro shop sells discs and snacks
- Bathrooms
- Pay to play
- Confusing tee pad set up, had a hard time finding the correct tees
- Mostly natural tees
- No tee signs
- Baskets not numbered
Other Thoughts:
Sun Valley is a pay to play 9 hole disc golf course that shares a fairway with both regular golfers and foot golfers. The course landscaped is a hilly mix of mowed grass, wood chips, and trees that line the fairways. The mostly natural tees are marked with white and blue painted bricks. You're supposed to play 9 holes from each color, but they share the same pad sometimes. Not even the pro shop knew whether or not one color was intended to be more difficult than the other. The baskets are typically behind the green of the fairway you are teeing off from.

I thought this was a very fun 9 hole set up despite there not being many obstacles to shoot around. The course uses changes in elevation, mandos, and sand bunkers to add difficulty. There are a few chances to lose your disc over the fences that surround the facility, so be mindful of how you throw. It's not a super challenging course, but neither are the rest of San Diego's courses.

6$ for 9 holes x2 seems a little steep, especially for a 9 hole course that plays twice and shares fairways with golfers/foot golfers. Fortunately, there are options that make it cheaper. Multiple round punch cards are available at the pro shop, those will dip prices down to 2$ per round. I visit family every few years in El Cajon, this is thee pay play I'm most likely to replay the next time I visit.

 Tougher than it looks

2-4    7/9/2014   7/24/2014
Review By: joecross98
Played: 8  Reviewed: 5  Exp: 4.4 Years
Pros: - Quiet location set on a nice golf course
- Every hole is technically challenging and/or long
- Not crowded at all
Cons: - Bring your hiking boots cause there are serious hills
- It's weird yelling "fore" to a regular golfer when a disc is flying at their head
Other Thoughts: The roads winding around the course mean you are throwing over a street on several holes. Gut check time!!

TIP: If you throw into the freeway on #3, there is a hole in the fence at the end of the tree line.

 Great Alternative To Morley!

1    6/29/2014   7/18/2014
Review By: The Valkyrie Kid
Played: 1005  Reviewed: 955  Exp: 38.4 Years
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: As you're driving here on the freeway, you'll see the sign for Sun Valley Golf. Mounted above it is a sign saying "Disc Golfers Welcome." Wow, disc golf now merits an advertising sign on the freeway. Another step towards mainstream.
Sun Valley is a little 9 hole golf course with some great elevation to play with. I wouldn't say it wonderfully maintained as it was plenty dry and brown when I play in late June.
It's a bit pricey at $6 which gets you around twice.
I was lucky to have two big armed locals guide me around the course and show me the alternate pad locations making this a full 18. There are up to 4 basket locations per hole. There are now signs in place which are new.

# 1 is great top of the world shot over the valley which had a very tricky basket location the Sunday morning I played. The second pad here is even a higher and longer version of # 1.
# 5 played as a 507' downhill bomb.

Playing the greens OB only adds to the courses difficulty/challenge.
Cons: $6 is a little pricey for some players to play on a regular basis. Then again, it does keep the riff raff out.

I was a little disappointed in the upkeep here. Lots of dirt areas, lots of brown grass. This wasn't the prettiest, green little golf course I've seen.

I played on a Sunday morning at 8 and there was only one twosome of golfers and there 4 disc golfers on the course. I don't know when the regular golfers would be much of a problem.
I think navigation would have been a little problamatic without the help of the two locals.
Other Thoughts: Because I'm independently wealthy (joking), if I lived in the area, I'd play this course on a regular basis. # 1 is worth the price of admission alone. The course is challenging and it seems relatively not busy. I was told that disc golfers not bring in more $ here than the regulars. Not use some of that $ on some water to green it up a bit.

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 Excellent little course

5+    2/19/2014   2/20/2014
Review By: DrCreek
Played: 2  Reviewed: 2
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: EXCELLENT folks inside the pro shop. And the regulars that golf here are some of the nicest people I've ever met. It's quiet on the course, and there's a great breeze that comes through the valley. Like all disc courses, this little gem is much better in the early morning. When I play there's rarely anyone in front of me. Plenty of trees to get in your way, but not a disc trap like Morley. Lots of ups and downs to throw through. Baskets are all exposed and easily visible - there is no having to throw blindly into forests filled with fire hazards. Baskets are all top-notch. The local police make frequent area checks here. It's an excellent deterrent.
Cons: Here it is...Wednesday mornings are horrible from 10am until around 1pm or so. The big CON is the presence of a beginners golfing class from one of the local colleges. Avoid Wednesday late mornings as a rule unless you enjoy that kind of craziness.
Other Thoughts: Start around 8am-9am ANY other day than Wednesday and you'll have a GREAT time. Play two rounds to make it an even 18. Time flies when you're having this much fun !

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.


1    9/2/2013   9/2/2013
Review By: tdkrizenshine
Played: 31  Reviewed: 12  Exp: 3.4 Years
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Great place to air out your LD and fairway drivers. Tons of elevation! Kind of cool to run it once and then try and improve the second time around.
Nice chill atmosphere and friendly staff and patrons. Decent pro shop.
Cons: Signage for disc is nonexistent. Not very technical, although a few fallaways take up some of the slack in that department.
Other Thoughts: I played this the first time this morning and was pleasantly surprised at the fun factor. Gripitandripit is the name of the game here. Some BIG tee shots and a few uphills will have you sweating. This is a little course that has some big holes and with a discount punch ticket for 25 rounds @ $75 it's cheaper than Morley (as well as NO expiration and IS good on weekends!) and although not nearly as crowded you can still get slowed down by the bolfers. The biggest con here is the lack of technicality but I really enjoyed it as a beginner.

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

  Loads of fun for a moderate/advanced player

1    6/30/2013   6/30/2013
Review By: ESchurr
Played: 1  Reviewed: 1
3 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: -Decent pin placements. Some holes some are weirdly short but overall the holes are reasonably distanced.

- Tree placements are enough to make you think about your shot and block easy/obvious lines but not enough to make you go insane.

-Eye catching hole 1. Massive elevation difference makes it loads of fun.

-$6 buys you two laps on this 9 holer which makes it as satisfying as a full 18.

-I really enjoyed playing the full 9 twice around for a second shot at botched holes the first time.

-The end of your first lap is planned well and takes you right past the pro shop if you want to pick up a drink/snack.

Cons: -Piss poor watering effort. I understand its California and water is tight/expensive but having the majority of the course be entirely dirt really detracted from the experience for me.

-Errant drives will roll like hell on the dirt. This course is shared with ball golfers, and it was easy to see their frustration as their balls rolled wherever they felt like.

-Most ball golfers are respectful but you may end up waiting behind some groups as they play much slower than Discers.

-Some tee pads are very unclear and there's almost zero signage. We were left to assume that some tee pads were supposed to be shared with the grass ball golf pads.

-One hole is very close to the highway and is subject to unretrievable throws into the road.

Other Thoughts: Very fun course. A little compact but the space is used well with no intersecting fairways. Some may not like playing the same 9 twice but some may enjoy the "second chance" it offers.

It could use more watering to avoid absurd and frustrating rolls on the hard dirt but in such a dry area, that's hard to do.

As this course is close to San Diego and is a WONDERFUL alternative to the overwhelming mayhem at Morley field, I'll probably be playing here again. Would recommend to friends.

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 Friendly course

5+    5/11/2013   5/11/2013
Review By: jtrod
Played: 13  Reviewed: 7
1 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Good baskets
Friendly staff and players, including ball golfers
Variety of shots if you utilize all the tees
Limited amount of traffic
Monthlies held 2nd Sunday of month
Some holes have multiple tee pads
Cons: I wish there were tee signs at each hole showing where the different tee pads are and showed the distances for each pad and backet
Other Thoughts: I dont mind the $6 fee to play because there is limited traffic and I can play several discs per hole.

They do have coupons on certain day for $3 rounds

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

 $6 make you holla

1    12/28/2012   12/29/2012
Review By: nuttinbutchain
Played: 36  Reviewed: 20  Exp: 0.4 Years
1 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: -great elevation changes (mostly rolling hills, throwing downhill and uphill)
-course seems well maintained, especially for disc golf
-great basket placements, alot of cliff hanger baskets
-also, alternate basket locations
-very easy navigation
-Hole highlights:
-Hole 1 is by far the best "top of the world" hole I have played out of all the courses I have visited so far
-Hole 5 is another cool "top of the world" throw
-Hole 3 and Hole 9 are both interesting uphill throws
-Deceptively long holes, I found this a plus as I always felt I had a chance to air out my disc
Cons: -$6 to play, both weekends and weekdays alike...pricey for a 9 hole course
-only 9 holes
-no signage, sometimes hard to see where the basket location is
-gotta share the course with ball golfers, most are nice but waits might be long if you go during a busy time
Other Thoughts: My very first time at Sun Valley and I was surprisingly impressed. I've heard many negative things about this course, such as its not worth checking out and that ball golfers are not friendly. Believe me, this course is worth checking out and the ball golfers were friendly to my group. Because of the $6 price tag, I wouldn't play here often, but its definitely a fun course. Hole 1 has a ridiculously awesome top of the world shot, even better than Hole 11 at Morley Field imo. Easily Hole 1 is one of the nicest, best holes I've ever played on out of any of the courses I've played (I'm up to 15 courses so far). Overall you play through rolling hills with enough obstacles to keep it interesting. On about half of the holes there's a risk reward factor, especially with cliff hanger baskets and potential death rolls. A beautiful alternative to Morley Field, but pricey. Would definitely play again, just not as often as I would play Morley or Kit Carson (in the San Diego area). I've played about four 9 hole courses and this is easily in the top two if not the best 9 hole course that I've played so far.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.


2-4    12/23/2012   12/26/2012
Review By: BENFTS
Played: 92  Reviewed: 30  Exp: 22.6 Years
Pros: -Nice elevation change
-Pro shop w/ food, drink, scorecards, & discs
-Lush green grass
-Ball & disc golfers share the course very well
-Easy Navigation
-Play out & back, finishing where you start
-Easy to get to & tons of parking
Cons: -$6 to play per 18 holes
-It gets repetitive
-Natural grass tees
-No DG specific signage
-Some long walks to the next tee
-Lots of wasted space
Other Thoughts: This course is worth checking out just to add it to your resume. I feel like owners could squeeze a few more short holes throughout the course to add to an already good start.

 Fun, but overpriced

2-4    8/12/2012   8/12/2012
Review By: rmcguire86
Played: 17  Reviewed: 8  Exp: 8.2 Years
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: -Very well kept up. Its on a little 9 hole golf course. I gotta say, I'm a huge fan of these mixed use golf courses. Great way for owners of local courses to make an extra buck with minimum effort.

-Despite the size of the land the course is located on, they dont skimp on the holes. A few more technical shots, one or two straightforward point and throws. Hole one has a nice 100 foot elevation change, with about 320 feet to the pin. Nice little set-up, for the most part.

-Pro shop on site, good food, decent disc selection. Friendly staff.

-Ball golfers were super friendly, let me play through when I was behind them. Was concerned that there might have been some prejudice against disc golfers but it wasn't a problem.

-Not crowded. Saw some other folks
Cons: -Still a short course. 9 nice holes, but still only nine holes. One fee gets you two run-throughs, but it gets repetative.

-The biggest con here is the fee. Its up to 6 dollars on the weekends, and you just don't get your money's worth. Morely is only four bucks, and a much, much better course. With so many awesome free courses in the area I just don't see any reason to go to Sun Valley unless I happen to be in the area, or there's some kind of tournament going on.

-Tee pads are inconsistent. Rubber on some, on others you just kind of have to guess as to where to throw from.
Other Thoughts: Its a nice little course, its just not worth the fee. If you live in the area, and want a change of pace, by all means give it a shot. There's no reason to go out of your way though.

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

< Prev 1 2 3

Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.