Sunbury, OH 
Kinslow Park DGC Share
Uploaded By: roadtripstuff Hole #11 (Taken 6/2009)
3 / 270ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #11 Tee: Basket is pretty much a straight line from teepad, about 40ft past the trees.



Reviews: 18
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
1 2 Next >
 Great Short Course

5+    1/17/2010   1/17/2010
Review By: reanthon
Played: 38  Reviewed: 8
This review was updated on 6/23/2010
1 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: -Great Baskets
-Great course layout
- Easy to follow
- Wide range of shots
- Never Crowded
- Good Variation of wooded and open shots
Cons: - Natural tee pads can get really slick
- perhaps a little too short
Other Thoughts: Yes, this is course is short, but it offers a wide array of different shots. Plus the shortness of the course made it excellent to play in the snow because it wasn't a strain to reach most of the holes. This course is great for beginners and will teach them a variety of shots that will be required on more challenging courses. For intermediate players this course offers the opportunity to shoot well under par and have a few ace looks. For the advanced player, it's pretty fun to play a few times.

One point i'd like to make in this courses defense is that although concrete tee pads would be nice, they would make the course even easier. The natural tee pads don't allow you to throw (especially in the late fall - early spring) as far. Also, many of the holes play longer than listed either by doglegs or playing up hill. Every hole has a well defined fairway, and many require plenty of accuracy to give yourself a birdie putt. This course was tons of fun and I would recommend it to anybody in the Sunbury area.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

 Not as bad as everyone says

5+    10/4/2009   11/4/2009
Review By: Bikinimower
Played: 139  Reviewed: 67  Exp: 12.1 Years
3 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Good Flow
Great for beginners
Never Crowded
Good use of available land
Nice mix of wooded and open field shots
Cons: Small
Swampy in spring and fall
Not Challenging
Other Thoughts: Not every course can be an Idewild or a Flip City. But if you live near Sunbury and you don't like crowds, then this a good place to kill an afternoon

When this course was newly built there was trash everywhere and the grass was always way to overgrown. But lately it seems like someone has really taken an interest in this place. They cleared out the old washing machine from the fairway on hole 1 and drug all the rusty mattress frames out of the woods. It looks a lot better

Yeah the course is small but it's not a bad little course. I credit this place and Blenden Woods with teaching me how to play Disc Golf. Its a great place to develop your game. and once you get better you can move on to bigger and better courses. I still hit this place up from time to time.

Some of the wooded holes are tiny but most of them are fun. Some of the later holes are longer. I like a course that moves in and out of the woods. It keeps things from getting repetitious.

Maybe I just have a soft spot in my heart for this course for sentimental reasons, It is the place where I got my first ace. But I like it. It's a good place to bring girlfriends, kids, or first time players.

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 short and not sweet

1    11/1/2009   11/1/2009
Review By: culinarywiz
Played: 170  Reviewed: 66  Exp: 26.2 Years
2 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Secluded

All natural

Defined fairways
Cons: Swampy

Very short

Dirt tees

Not much diversity
Other Thoughts: Plainly stated - This course is not good.

I was hoping that the low ratings for this course were strictly due to it being heavily wooded. Nope. This course is poorly rated because it sucks.

Regardless of the fact that it is November 1st, it is obvious that this course plays in and through swamp land. It was ridiculously muddy. I had to tee from, often times, several feet from the pad just to have ground to drive. Around holes 12 - 14 the aroma of sewage was quite pungent.

I have nothing against short courses, as long as they still have some diversity (see my review of Blendon Woods). This course is Plain Jane. I could have played this course with only my putter and still have scored a 10 down - all par 3's. The front nine are in the 125 to 175 ft. range. The back nine opens up and the length stretches out a bit.

Most holes are heavily wooded. The fairways are defined and the holes flow well. You will not need a map here. Generally, you can see the next two holes from where you stand.

This course simply does not offer any challenges.

2 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 Nice little course

1    8/30/2009   8/30/2009
Review By: th1sjust1n
Played: 16  Reviewed: 8  Exp: 8.6 Years
This review was updated on 9/18/2010
2 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: ++Clearly marked and signed holes!
++Easy to navigate!
++Top quality baskets!
+Nice technical play in the wooded sections
+Aceable holes
+Trash cans throughout course
+Secluded and out of the way
Cons: -Natural tees are not maintaned the best
-Par for some holes seem absurd
Other Thoughts: First round today at this course. My group and I had a wonderful time. This course is out of the way and in a peaceful park well of the main road. Makes for a nice round of DG. Quite a few people came through the course while we were there.(Sunday afternoon)

Sunbury has a lot of wooded holes which makes for technical play on many of them. Thankfully there are some more open holes that you can throw a bit stonger on. Even so I enjoyed the whole course for its merrits. However, the shorter distances could be a deterent to some more advanced players or players looking for a different style of play.

The natural tees were well marked but many were in need of some TLC. It had rained recently and all of us did our share of 'sliding' into our throws. On a dry day the only real complaint is that some of the tee surfaces are really rough from lots of play and little maintenance.

As another reviewer mentioned, each hole is 'named'. This is a nice touch and is quite accurate in many cases. The only issue here is that some 'citizens' decided to use a Sharpie and rename some of the holes by writing on top of the plexiglas. This isn't the courses fault or the fault of those that made the signs. Just an unfortunate aspect due to jerky players.

This course has some aspects that I see as absolutes for a good DG course.
1. Good hole design and flow from one to the next.
2. Good signage. This course has excelent, well posted signs with good info
3. Nice consistent baskets. This course has Discatcher.
4. Varying forms of play and shot selection.

The quality upsides of this course heavily outweigh the downsides. Many of the challenges this course has would probably be due to, IMO, funding and local support. One of the local players we talked wth spoke of how many people leave the course angry because of the short distance holes and lack of open shots. Those could be/are valid complaints based on your play style but the course shouldn't suffer because of that. I'd like to have a couple more 400+ holes on the course but I still had a great time all the same.

2 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 Over the Hill and Through the Woods

5+    10/13/2012   6/28/2009
Review By: A.Mutt
Played: 34  Reviewed: 18  Exp: 11.4 Years
This review was updated on 10/15/2012
4 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: + Wooded holes force line shaping
+ Scenic and decently secluded, makes for a nice hike
+ Not a popular/crowded course
+ A logical flow to the course
+ Short walks between holes
+ A few ace-able holes
+ New permanent short tees and many long tees added
Cons: - Signage is now out of date on many holes
- Even with many layout improvements its still just an intermediate level course from the permanent tees.
Other Thoughts: This course is newly improved with nicely poured cement tee boxes now, as well as a few benches added. Other improvements include new pin locations on holes 2, 3, 6, 9, 12, and 14, as well as a new tee location on hole 7 making for a much more obvious fairway.

These changes made this a markedly better course. A lot of the gimmie 2s are gone now in favor of pretty simple 3s but tough birdies. It went from being a rec course to an intermediate level one in my opinion. A good option to play when you don't want to deal with crowded courses and aren't looking to stretch your arm, but rather work on your technical game.

4 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 Kinslow Park DGC

5+    6/4/2009   6/4/2009
Review By: roadtripstuff
Played: 111  Reviewed: 56  Exp: 11.6 Years
This review was updated on 5/21/2011
7 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros:
Good Variety
Rarely Crowded
Trash Cans Throughtout the Course
Benches On Many Holes
Easy to Navigate
Clean
Good Balance (wooded, Open, Long, Short)
Nice Tee Signs
Ample Parking
Disc Golf Exclusive Area
Baskets Are in Great Shape
Distances Vary
Easy to Navigate
Cons:
Natural Teepads are Really Rough
Underbrush Throughout (Can Eat Discs)
Known For Being Swampy Long After Rain
Some Benches Are Broken
Hard to Locate Course
Other Thoughts:
Kinslow DGC or Sunbury DGC is a small course located off of Route 3 and State Route 61 in Sunbury, Ohio. From I-71 head east to Route 3 and head North/Left. Make a left at the first intersection onto State Route 61. The entrance to the course can be easily missed, look for the large gravel entrance just past the church about .2 miles from the intersection. Follow the gravel road until it dead ends and the first tee is at the edge of the woods on the South side of the parking lot.

This course has the potential to be a pretty decent course. The holes are well laid out, with the front nine, even though short, being very technical and the back nine are mostly open and much longer.

While the course has a good layout and variety it needs a lot of improvements. The teepads use to be grass, but with play they have become dirt patches. For this I would say stay away from this course if it has rained within the last week, the teepads will be muddy and slick. Hole 7 can be particularly bad, its called the swamp if thats any indication. A couple of the benches are also broken and could use some repair and at least one of the tee signs are missing.

There are a couple other spots on the course that can get pretty swampy as well. The basket for 12 is located in a very low lying area. When we played today, my putter which is a champ rhyno, was stuck in the ground/tombstoned, the way a driver on an extreme angle would stick. When I went to retrieve it my entire shoe sunk into the mud. We decided to skip our putts and move on to the next hole.

Another thing to watch for when you are playing the front nine in the woods are stumps in the paths. They did not remove the small stumps completely and you can step on them or trip over them.

Overall I enjoy this course, I just wish they would put in the much needed improvements to take this course from a fair course to a good course. With concrete or rubber tee pads and a few maintanance issues addressed this course could be easily a 3 maybe 3.5 disc course.

7 of 7 people found this review helpful.

  

1    4/12/2009   4/12/2009
Review By: Swankdude
Played: 1  Reviewed: 1
3 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Decent variety of play at this course. Some great holes in the woods beginning the round, with a few surprises on the back nine. I really enjoy hole 13 which is a decent length hole down a sort of "Pine Alley" if you will.
Cons: Even though they do have some bridges out there it can get really sloppy after a good rain.
Other Thoughts: The course is named Kinslow I believe. Most of the holes curve to the left which is a bit different from the other local courses.

3 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 only course for miles

3/10/2008   3/10/2008
Review By: chuckynobbs
Played: 19  Reviewed: 18  Exp: 15.5 Years
1 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: nice baskets, easy to find way, not very crowded, behind a church (in case you need to pray)
Cons: rough, nothing real special...woods can be thick as can area around the last few holes...open holes boring
Other Thoughts: no other course in the area...mt vernon, gambier area needs a course.

1 of 4 people found this review helpful.

1 2 Next >

Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.