Canton, OH 
Arboretum-Spiker Park Share
Uploaded By: timg Hole #4
3 / 325ft.   3 / 440ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #4 Long Tee

Reviews: 45
Avg. Rating:
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Reviews between: and Sort By:
Exp. (in years): Played: Reviewed: Only Trusted Reviewers
 on the shoulders of giants

1    8/9/2011   8/11/2011
Review By: bygwyllay
Played: 87  Reviewed: 78  Exp: 8.6 Years
11 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Course plays through TWO parks kiddie-corner to each other, with a sleepy, winding road splitting the two.

1-5 are in Arboretum Park and a stellar way to start the round - 1 is a bit downhill with a fairly open fairway and a few aged trees guarding the approach to the pin. 2 is an uphill approach and easy enough to par. 3 is a nice downhill bomber with half a tree hanging perilously in your way. 4 is a nice anhyzer and 5 flies over rolling hills with an open uphill pin shot.

6-14 lie southeast of Arboretum, across the street in Spiker Park, and bombs abound in some absolutely gorgeous and serene surroundings. 6 shoots right-to-left across a smallish, stagnant river, and provides adequate difficulty with its pin devilishly placed on a hill sloping into the pond that feeds the aforementioned river. 7 drives over said pond, and has its pin uphill with a lone pine tree as your main obstacle. 8 is a bomb over open flood plain. 9 is another great anhyzer that follows the edge of the woods, with a solid pin placement just inside the treeline. 10's is the lengthiest hole, and with its tee in the woods, you're staring and a small opening to blast back out into the flood plain. it's basket provides another tricky approach all the way back at the pond. 11 shoots back towards the woods with another great pin placement tucked into the trees. 12 is a great birdie opp over some lowlands, as is 13, which plays over a small hill with some troublesome pines standing guard. 14 finds you back at the river, this time shooting left-to right, with its basket along the far shore.

15-24 are back in Arboretum, and the hits keep on coming. 15 is a birdieable sharp left hook, 16 has some large shrubs blocking your path, and 17 has you drive along the road and down to the open pin. 18 and 19 cross-cross back over some lowlands with mature trees as your enemies. you then cross the parking lot to play 20, a signature shot around a cattail-lined pond and a very tough approach with the pin entrenched into the side of a hill. 21 is an lazy downhill run, and 22 threads through trees to a precariously placed pin in front of a stream. the last two holes are probably the trickiest shots of all, and a great way to close out the experience: 23 is a tight drive with a stream on your right and the cat-tailled pond on your left, and 24 has a lot of low-hanging trees in your way, and another stream that separates fairway from green. a double-bogey here really ruined my score, so stay sharp until the end, my friends.

overall this is a phenomenal course in both design and layout. the parking lot is perfectly placed so that 1 starts and 24 ends less than 100 feet from your car. there are also a number of ways you can play if you don't have time for the full 24. you can play just Arboretum (15 holes) or Spiker (9), you can skip 11-13 if you're in a rush or it's busy (I saw several people do this), and you can stop after 19 as you're back at the parking lot. i played straight through, and the length of this course really started to set in after leaving Spiker...the holes are so long there, i can see why the locals play it in doses.

upkeep was oustanding as well. here's something i've NEVER seen on a course before: underbrush actually cleared out beneath bushes! the bushes themselves are still there and in your way, but you can easily see underneath them if your disc happens to go in...i thought this was awesome, and as a result your chances of losing disc on this course is practically nil, unless you chuck the river in Spiker. there were some trash cans in Arboretum, although none in Spiker. even still, i didn't spot any excessive trash.

the main (am) tees were all concrete, and all holes had a pro tee, and very many had novice tees as well. these were all clearly marked on the outstanding tee signs, which listed the distance from each tee and also had a map detailing the path to the pin from all tees. there were also pegs sticking out of both sides of the signs to hang your bag on (i love this).

the parks themselves are in a ridiculously wealthy-looking neighborhood, with mansions dotting the landscape throughout. in the distance, church bells tolled out the quarter-hours as I threw in the dusklight... it was both eerie and beautiful and really added to the overall ambiance of the round.
Cons: my main complaint is the age of some of the baskets, especially the ones in Arboretum. rusted out chains and small rims on the baskets make them a little tougher to aim at, and they do not grab your putter very well at all. i had two bounce-outs that hit dead centre...other baskets are brand new so i'm not sure what the deal is here but if they replace the older ones this course would get 5 stars from me - no joke.

the only other con i can possibly think of is that some people may think this course is too easy/static. everything plays fairly open and leaves a lot of room for error on your drives, with the technical side of things coming more into play on your approach. i personally love courses like this because you can let 'em rip from the box and then really work your mids. there are no pesky tunnel shots to worry about, and you're never in a dense forest that that requires lady luck to be at your side. as i said before, there really is no chance to lose a disc, and the water hazards, while challenging, tend to be a little TOO managable... however the layout is superb and you do need to be on your A game in critical spots. while it is not daunting, this is not, IMHO, an "easy" course.
Other Thoughts: this is one of the best courses i've played, period. as the reviewer said below, this is absolutely a destination course, and extremely enjoyable whether playing a round by yourself or with a large group of friends. take a day and come down, go the the pro football hall of fame (less than a mile away), and throw some plastic. i will be back, and that is both a threat and a promise. AMEN.

11 of 12 people found this review helpful.

 Great Course

2-4    9/18/2010   4/6/2011
Review By: Brall
Played: 43  Reviewed: 38  Exp: 7.3 Years
This review was updated on 4/15/2011
15 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: - Plenty of parking at hole #1 with a pavilion for gathering
- The entrance is well marked by the disc golf course sign
- The billboard provides a lot of information and also has boxes for scorecards and comments. You can tell that the people who maintain this course really care and put a lot of effort into it.
- The map was very accurate and helpful. #6 long tee could be added to it though.
- Practice basket with round the world game
- Two tees per hole. #6 long is natural with a wood kickboard.
- Concrete tees
- 24 holes!
- Nice tee signs
- The flow is done well and utilizes the full space provided on this very large park
- Excellent mix of hyzer and anhyzer shots
- The scenery and landscape are pretty with rolling hills and water holes with stone sides and bridges
- Bathrooms are located at the parking area
- Trashcans are provided around the course and the course is very clean
- There is no vandalism
- I think the grass could be cut more often as it can get somewhat high but overall the course has good upkeep. The wooded areas are kept clear.
- The distance and elevations are absolutely spectacular! Arboretum-Spiker is one of the longest courses in Ohio. Rolling hills on long holes, obstacles causing you to use a different throw than you might have otherwise used, water hazards on 7 holes!
Cons: - There are only a few benches around the course. This long course could really use a few more.
- The baskets are a mix of mostly old and a few newer, with a mix of good and rusty conditions.
- Those that love the technical wooded course, you will feel this is too open. This course can favor the big arms much more than the risk/reward seekers.
- Use a map the first time. You have to cross over to the different parks between holes #5 to #6 and #14 to #15.
- More strategically placed trees would be a huge addition!
Other Thoughts: - This is a very technical and challenging course for everyone. The disc golf course covers two different parks, Arboretum and Spiker. Beginners beware, the water hazards will be very dangerous for you.
- There is some traffic by walkers and those sitting around the water holes on benches. There is a lot of traffic by disc golfers. Very busy course. Because of the courses size, I do not count this as a Con.
- The most challenging hole is #20. The pond really makes you consider playing this birdie hole safe and going way around to the right towards the road.
- The water hazard around holes #20, #21 & #23 probably has around one thousand (PLUS) discs sitting at the bottom. Be extra careful on these holes because you cannot retrieve your discs from this very stinky, swampy water. I would love to be there when that pond get drained one day!!!
- My favorite hole is #14. Absolutely beautiful and it scares the hell out of me at the same time. I choose the not so safe path of across the water from the long tee... and I've dropped right in the water before. You will think about this hole 30 minutes before you get to it, and probably 30 minutes after you leave it.
- Set a day aside, make the trip, you will be grateful you did. A truly fantastic course!

15 of 15 people found this review helpful.

 Nice open course

2-4    3/14/2011   3/23/2011
Review By: culinarywiz
Played: 185  Reviewed: 66  Exp: 27.3 Years
12 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Two concrete pads per hole. Each pad varies not just in distance but also lines and difficulty. Particularly in Spiker Park, where the course was more open, the long tee's were more fun and challenging due to some cool placements.

Great length. Many holes in the 400ft range. A sweet tendem was hole 10 - a 700ft bomb, out through an elevated shoot in the woods to an open field, followed by a 500+ft shot back into a tucked basket from the open field. This course boasts a respectable 9660ft over all distance.

Very well maintained. The trees and shrubs are all trimmed and the fairways are kept mowed and tight.

Cool water holes throughout. There are several holes over and/or near ponds. Holes 6 & 7, 14 and many of the 18 through 24 holes play through water hazards.

You gotta love 24 hole courses
Cons: The course is on the open side. This may not be a con to some, but I have alway felt complete balance is needed for excellency.

Besides the water holes, there is little in the risk/reward department. The rough (when there is rough) is typically forgiving. Bad tee shots can often be recovered with little effect.
Other Thoughts: Bring your distance drivers.

This course begs you to air it out. Ideal distances. Big guns will go from driver to putt and approach where typical players will need driver then mid then p&a off many tee's.

The course has respectable elevation for the location. You are not gonna shoot up or down anything significant, however, the course has rolling fairways throughout.

There are some nice pin placements. Some pins are blind. Some pins are guarded.

A map is not essential but if it is your first time you should bring one. The signage is pretty solid. It gets a little tricky in a couple areas. You have to understand this layout spans 2 parks. Holes 1-5 are in Arboretum Park. Then you cross the street to Spiker Park to play 6-14. Holes 15-24 are back over at Arboretum.

I recommend this course for a road trip. Close by you will find Deis Hill and Oak Ledges. Also, Roscoe Ewing isn't too far. There is some good disc'n up 'round here. Check it out.

12 of 12 people found this review helpful.

 Beautifully Deceptive

1    9/19/2010   9/19/2010
Review By: dallamjm
Played: 4  Reviewed: 4  Exp: 5.4 Years
This review was updated on 6/20/2011
7 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: My "boys" and I played this course on a beautiful sunny fall day. The park itself is very pretty, and the surrounding homes on well maintained and upscale. I had five males in my group ranging from 11 to 54! All enjoyed. We liked the mixture of wide open spaces and wooded areas. If you are there for the exercise, then this is a good course, because there is a good hike in between holes. I found the tee area signs to be helpful and even though we are rookies, the testosterone surging through my group made them want to throw from the Pro holes, just like in ball golf they can't resist playing from the blue or white tees, instead of the juniors or ladies tees. If you can throw it straight, then you will love this course.
Cons: The ponds and creeks look like they should be out of play except on 7, 13 and 20 but they are definitely a factor, and we lost two discs : ( .The ponds may not be deep, but they are dark and slimy and noone from my party was about to venture in as long as I was around. It would be nice if someone would mark a tree with an arrow like at some other courses, to let you know which direction to find the next hole, with so many "tee boxes" for pro, am and novice, it was hard to figure out where to go next.
Other Thoughts: It was nice to have real restrooms in the parking area. I am thrilled to find in this new pasttime how helpful the other experienced players are.

7 of 7 people found this review helpful.

 Very nice dual - park course

2-4    8/21/2010   8/24/2010
Review By: Conect11
Played: 17  Reviewed: 15  Exp: 5.6 Years
This review was updated on 6/14/2011
8 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Sprawling course laid out between two beautiful parks.
Pro and Am pads, with novice option at nearly every hole.
24 holes.
Water comes into play on seven holes. Many holes go directly over water.
Near several other disc golf courses and pro shops.
Beautiful and accurate tee signs.
Both parks seem very well maintained.
Practice Basket with Round the World game.
Cons: For as scenic as the park is, most of the holes seem to be out in the wide open.
There are parts of the course that flow very smoothly, (1 - 5, 14 - 24 come to mind) but the course is broken up by crossing a (non busy) street and walking about 1/4 block. Once you've done it, it makes sense. The first time, even with a sign guiding you it's a tad confusing.
There is plenty of water. (ponds, streams, river, etc.) That's a plus. Unfortunately, much of it is nasty with some kind of weird oily film on it. That's a minus.
Said water eats discs. Play conservatively.
Not really a con here, but there are a lot of reeds and tall grass around some areas of the creek, and around one pond. The reeds are thick enough to slow down an errant disc, so check them before assuming your disc has sunk in the water.
Bathroom is scary beyond all reason.
Other Thoughts: My friends and I went to the beautiful Arboretum - Spiker Parks in Canton this past Saturday. It's extremely nice to have so many good courses in the Canton area, and we hope to get down there more often. The courses straddles two parks, and tends to play in the open, grassy areas with the occasional hole in the woods. There is plenty of water, with creeks, ponds, and a river coming into play on 7 of the 24 holes. This water will gladly eat your discs. You've been warned. Not a lot in terms of elevation changes. Holes on the course overall slightly favor LHBH or RHFH style deliveries with their straight to slight right bends, though there are some left bends here too. Tee pads are all concrete, though I only saw the pro and am pads. Am not positive if the listed "novice" pads are actually installed. The bathroom at the hole 1 parking lot if a bit scary, with no lighting, and rumors that made me want to consider waiting till I got home to do my business.

8 of 8 people found this review helpful.


1    8/4/2010   8/10/2010
Review By: jkdisc
Played: 113  Reviewed: 109  Exp: 7.2 Years
9 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Absolutely beautiful park! Actually it's two parks next to each other. You start at Aboretum. There are many water hazards but only the ponds have murky water so if you toss one in the other waters you should be able to retrieve your disc. Other pros:
-course maps/scorecards at kiosk near tee #1
-detailed tee signs with bag holders
-3 sets of tees
-variety including: distances, some elevation, open/ wooded, and turns
-24 holes is a great bonus
-clean and peaceful even when the course is busy
-challenging for all level players
Cons: I guess my only con would be the lack of a signature hole, all the holes are nice but none really stuck out to me when I was done.
Other Thoughts: The first tee was near the bathrooms and pavillion in the Arboretum. Make sure to grab a map/scorecard to make navigation extra easy because you will cross a non-busy street to Spiker Park after the first quarter of the course and then back. Definitely worth playing this course.

9 of 10 people found this review helpful.

 Local Course

5+    8/2/2010   8/3/2010
Review By: kinger
Played: 43  Reviewed: 43  Exp: 5.7 Years
This review was updated on 10/25/2010
7 Helpful / 1 Not
~24 holes set up for an assortment of various sized rounds.
~Great setting, the course is set throughout two parks dedicated primarily to open green space.
~12' concrete tees.
~Great variety of holes, each hole has it's own individuality and the course contains enough variety to keep things interesting.
~Multiple tee locations
~Easy to navigate.
~Signs at each hole with poles to hang your bag.
~Peaceful setting, the parks are nestled in the heart of the Avondale Community.
~Lots of parking with a large shelter between the 1st and 19th holes and a restroom as well.
~Practice basket next to the shelter.
~The water is nasty.
~Baskets are showing some wear & tear
Other Thoughts: I play this course on a consistent basis, and I am always pleased with the conditions and atmosphere.
Depending on the mood and time frame, there are options for rounds of: 24, 19, 10, or 9 holes.....this also helps if the course is crowded.
Well thought out course design, you can tell that careful planning and enjoyment went into developing the entire course.
Top notch for my preferences.

7 of 8 people found this review helpful.


1    7/2/2010   7/12/2010
Review By: swatso
Played: 420  Reviewed: 356  Exp: 7.3 Years
9 Helpful / 0 Not
24 holes. 3 tee positions per hole (blue and white concrete, red natural). Tee signs, which show a map of the hole, location of the other two tees, distances, and pegs to hang bags, are located at the white tees. Trash cans scattered about. Grass kept low. Bathroom at parking lot, between tee-1 and tee-20
If technical is your preference, you'll need to look elsewhere (try Freelander). Right-turning #4 throwing blindly past tee #5 is less than ideal.
Other Thoughts:
The course plays in the gently-rolling open space of two (nearly) co-located public parks, just a few minutes from the NFL Hall of Fame. With some exceptions, the types of holes on the course cluster into various groups:
- Holes 1-5, 12 & 13, and finale #24 have some elevation changes, bring groups of trees and/or bits of woods into play, and often required turns of various degrees,
- Holes 7-11 are long, mostly open, and straight, although 9-11 bring the edge of the forest into play.
- After hole 15's short-n-sharp left-turn, 16-19 are shorter versions of 7-11 - straight, flat, open with typically a tree or two to avoid.
- Water potentially comes into play on 1/3rd of the holes. 6 & 14 have you throw diagonally across a rectangular-shaped pond, with baskets fairly close to the water's edge. 7 has you go across water early, and 10 has water some distance behind its basket. 20-23 play in a counter-clockwise fashion around a pond, so water will be on your left side on 20, 21, and 23. There is a stream not too far away, behind basket 22 and to the right of 23, making #23 a challenging hole due to water being on both sides

Favourite hole #20: a left-turner which needs to trace the shore of the oval pond, to a basket somewhat elevated on a slope and partially protected by a couple large hardwoods.

Navigation: After finishing basket-5, exit right to reach the side road, turn left to access the main road, go right, then crossover at the first side-street on left to find tee-6. Optionally, there is a small parking-lot near tee-6, so you could play 1-5, 15-24, then drive over to play 6-14.

The water makes this not the best course for beginners, and the relative flatness/openness probably makes it less interesting to pros, but the course is quite well-suited for intermediate and advanced players. Was fun to play, easy to find (near I77), and worth the visit.

9 of 9 people found this review helpful.

 good all around course

5+    6/18/2010   6/18/2010
Review By: discgolfer10205
Played: 30  Reviewed: 3  Exp: 21.5 Years
5 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: Well laid out course, a decent mix of hyzer and anhyzer shots on the course. Cement tees on both long and short tees. Great for practicing distance and also control. Hole ten is still a challenge no matter how many times you play it. If you are on a roll, you can shoot a great score from the short tees.

Its a great compliment to the Oak ledges course in Massillon, which is much tighter and much more technical.
Cons: The baskets are still mach 2's for most of the course, so a lot of spit outs.

The course could use some more trees in different areas of the course to increase the challenge and technicality of the course.

Hole 9's long tee could have definitely been thought out better, because it is basically a lucky drive if you get anywhere near the basket on your first shot.
Other Thoughts: Overall this has always been a great course with the swirling breeze/ winds and the variety of distances of the holes. This course, as any other could be improved, but for now it is still one of the best in Ohio in my book, and home to me forever.

5 of 8 people found this review helpful.

 Loves it

1    5/29/2010   6/1/2010
Review By: Jermy
Played: 60  Reviewed: 11  Exp: 5.5 Years
8 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: - Very exciting layout that makes excellent use of risk/reward scenarios.
- Signs were in good shape, easy to see where pin placements were. Course was well marked and would be hard to get lost.
- 24 holes - always a good thing
- Easy to find, has plenty parking, bathrooms on site
- Concrete tee pads
- Beautiful park
Cons: -Very old baskets
- The tee signs are placed in front of the pro tees which seems kind of out of place. I don't know how many people play the pro tee's out there, but it was kind of pain on several holes to find the sign then go look for where I throw from.
Tee pads seem really short / narrow, not a very big deal though
Other Thoughts: Had this course on my wish list for awhile and was lucky enough to be in the cleveland area for the weekend and ound time to play, and time well spent it was! Had a great time and would recommend the course to anyone.
I played all of the holes from the pro position, some of them are just - WOW when compared to the regular tee. Lots of drives through gaps that really demand accuracy as well as distance.
Water comes into play on several holes, for good and bad... but that much more exciting!
Lost 2 dyed discs on hole 19's pond, I'm from IN so theyre pretty much up for grabs if you wanna go for a swim! :)

8 of 9 people found this review helpful.

Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.