Canton, OH 
Arboretum-Spiker Park Share
Uploaded By: Brall Hole #12 (Taken 10/2011)
3 / 250ft.   3 / 270ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #12 Tee Sign

Reviews: 45
Avg. Rating:
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Reviews between: and Sort By:
Exp. (in years): Played: Reviewed: Only Trusted Reviewers
 Very Fun and Well Balanced

5+    3/23/2010   3/23/2010
Review By: Mike C
Played: 63  Reviewed: 18  Exp: 6.7 Years
This review was updated on 8/23/2011
16 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: -There is excellent shot diversity. There are multiple left and right turning holes, straight shots, more open holes and fairly wooded holes. The multiple pin placements adds to the variety of lines the course demands.

-Brand new baskets.

-Very high quality concrete tee pads that are sufficient in length for throwing long drives. The teesigns feature well drawn diagrams and accurate distances (Except #10). There are benches by 1, 6, 7, 10, 12 pro tee and 24's basket.

-It's mostly wide open with sparse trees in the fairways, so it's pretty easy to keep track of a disc and avoid losing it. There are a few rough spots to potentially grip lock into (#3, #4, #9) but they're easy to avoid.

-The course is well maintained. The club has been active in installing the new pin placements, replacing the baskets and fixing some bridges and teepads. I try to keep the paths maintained with my machete.

-Some nice elevation changes keep things interesting. In particular, driving hole 10, 15, 17, 18 and 21 from the longs feature fun elevation to play from.

-Beautiful scenery throughout the entire course. Plenty of mature trees from a variety of species, with Spiker being lined with some beautiful houses.
Cons: -Overall the course has been too wide open to present as much of a challenge as it could. Currently though the course is evolving to try and remedy this problem. New pin placements have been devised to try and take advantage of the trees the course offers, and trees are being donated by the city to be installed on holes like #10 and #8 to increase their challenge. The course offers a lot of diversity and the challenge will vary greatly depending on tee choice and pin placement. Throwing from the shorts in the original pin positions things will be pretty open and easy and deuce opportunities are everywhere, but throwing from the longs with the new pin positions will demand a lot more line shaping, distance and a diverse upshot skill set.

-The backside (#6-#14) can sometimes have dog walkers out on the fairways, but most of them have learned which areas to avoid by now.

-Gays creep out in the parking lot / bathroom near main entrance at times. Beware of a man in his 40's that drives a silver Dodge SS Avenger with license plate EFD 6456, he chased me around with a steel baseball bat threatening to kill me. The police have been notified.

-Hole 4 throws over hole 5's teepad. With the new pin placements, some baskets will be close to the next hole's teepad, such as 1b and 2 short, 16b and 17's tees etc. Keep care to look for groups a head of you.

-Don't go in the water. It's some stinky shit. Not worth it unless you have some good waders.

-Gets pretty crowded during the middle of summer. Rightfully so, but expect delays. Backside usually isn't as crowded.
Other Thoughts: This is a damn good course, one of the better ones I've played. It was the first one I ever threw, and two years later I spend as much time here as I do at my own home. Some of the longer holes were pretty intimidating as a noob, but it still made for a good introduction to the sport. Lets you work on a nice variety of shots.

Once the new pin placement putting greens have broken in and the trees are installed on holes 10 and 8 this will easily be a 5 star course. The club has been responsive to the most frequent criticisms of the course (Old baskets and holes too open / easy) by replacing the baskets and creating more challenging pin placements for the holes. The course is maturing into a more challenging and diverse disc golf course.

One thing that's nice about the layout, is you can play the front 10 in under half an hour by yourself, or you can do 19 or 24 hole rounds in about an hour if you move quick. Or do a 24 followed by the front 10, two 19's etc.. It's a fun's easy to do two full rounds.

This is a damn solid course and alone would make a destination course. The fact that Massillon, Dover, Portage Lakes and numerous enjoyable 9 holes like Louisville and Malone are just a short drive away make this area a requirement for any serious disc golfer in the area. Make a weekend of it!

16 of 17 people found this review helpful.

 One of NE ohio's best

2-4    1/21/2010   1/26/2010
Review By: TommyGun'n
Played: 66  Reviewed: 17  Exp: 9.5 Years
This review was updated on 8/13/2013
2 Helpful / 5 Not
Pros: very nice wooden tee signs show length and layout of hole (these are new and not shown in course photos). good balance of holes - from long to short holes , hyzer to anhyzer shots, open to wooded holes.

great shot over water with alternate pin positions (#6). nice teepads with two different tee's for all levels of players.

actually had score cards with course map at first hole!!!!!
Cons: some baskets are a little sketchy. muddy at times as this course is played by many during all seasons.

without a map this course may get confusing as it weaves through two parks.
Other Thoughts: if you are in the area you have to play this course! 24 holes all great! you will want to play two rounds!

2 of 7 people found this review helpful.

 Great "Long" Short Course

2-4    6/1/2009   9/24/2009
Review By: PsyStal
Played: 16  Reviewed: 13  Exp: 9.5 Years
6 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: An extremely well-maintained course, everything is top-notch. From the tee pads to baskets, to the course upkeep.

Course design is also phenomenal for the space and length of the holes. While most holes are relatively short compared to regular 18 hole courses, the layout is challenging and varied. The baskets are within reach for families and new players, but the veteran players will love the tight angles. Strategy and solid play are well rewarded at Arboretum.

Use of water hazards is also a unique feature. Many courses simply throw a pond or two in the way, forcing you to drive straight over them. Arboretum's water hazards are designed so that you often need only drive near them, and in many cases can circumvent them entirely. However, a well placed and angled shot will always get your disc within easy reach of the basket, you'll just have to brave some water to do it!

There's also 24 holes! And who doesn't want more disc golf holes?
Cons: This course is very popular (rightfully so), and often packed on weekends.

Holes are shorter on average, so veteran players won't realize as much of an advantage from the extra distance they can generate on shots.

Some holes are a bit too open for better players to feel challenged.
Other Thoughts: This is a superb course that is suitable for new players and experts alike. Although better players might not feel quite as challenged here, there's still enough variety to the course to keep things interesting.

The extra 6 holes really do a lot to make up for the length of the course!

6 of 6 people found this review helpful.

 A delight

1    8/16/2006   9/16/2009
Review By: DavidSauls
Played: 123  Reviewed: 63  Exp: 20.4 Years
12 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: A real pleasure to play in this park. It's a garden (arboretum, after all). Well manicured grass, specimen trees to shape shots around, ornamental ponds, surrounded by a pretty nice neighborhood and away from heavy traffic noise.

The course offers 24 holes, a bonus in itself. Many are in pretty level areas, with trees to dictate flight paths but little underbrush to deal with. For variety, there are also a few holes with good elevation and/or dense foliage defining fairways.

Water holes---which add risk/reward excitement, yet it's not to difficult to play cowardly---uh, safe---and avoid them. (An unusual feature is that 2 fairways cross over water; crossing fairways with little danger of hitting anyone).

There are plenty of opportunities to boom a shot 350' or more, not completely wide open but open enough to let it rip, and some nice roller opportunities as well.

Multiple teepads. I played only longs, but looked like course would play well, if rather short, from the shorts.
Cons: Barely a "con", but no real signature holes. I thought all were fair and most were fun, but none with the "wow" factor that would elevate the course's rating.
Other Thoughts: The course is actually split between two nearby parks. After hole 5, you don't just walk across the street, but down through the neighborhood a block or so. A fairly long walk between holes, but at least a pleasant walk.

My visit was on a weekday in a steady drizzle,so I had the course to myself. I had very little problem navigating. I have no idea what crowding issues or non-disc-golfer issues there may or may not be on busier days.

12 of 13 people found this review helpful.

 get your fix in Canton

2-4    6/25/2009   9/16/2009
Review By: bthoma1
Played: 37  Reviewed: 16  Exp: 8.5 Years
This review was updated on 6/3/2010
7 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Very well maintained course is this one.
Decent variety of shots here, you can easily get by with just your backhand though, or sidearm if thats the way you go.
But if you have a wide variety of shots you can use them all here.
Multiple cement pads, so you can shoot the "pro" pads or just the normal ones depending on how you feel.
Practice basket
24 holes!!

Cons: course is broken in half, and even though there is a sign, I have seen many people get confused. Part of course is on the other side of the road.
If you don't like water then don't come here.
Not that it is overwaterlated<----Fake word I know
But water does come into play on atleast 6 holes
Other Thoughts: not quite half way through the course you have to cross the street..which I have seen many people get lost on.
There are also a few holes with water that I have also seen people lose many a disc on.
But there are a few long poles around these spots so you should be fine
They have bag hangers on the teesigns which is nice.
Bring a lunch, 24 holes are long

7 of 7 people found this review helpful.

 Very Nice Course

1    7/27/2009   7/29/2009
Review By: calcuttajoe
Played: 12  Reviewed: 9
0 Helpful / 10 Not
Pros: This is a fairly open course. Very well maintained. Water is in play on some holes. A few long holes. 24 holes. Nice tee signs and pads. Front nine designed by "Steady Eddy". Players of all ages will like this course.
Cons: None

0 of 10 people found this review helpful.

 Diverse Course

1    8/2/2009   7/29/2009
Review By: Technohic
Played: 15  Reviewed: 10  Exp: 6.4 Years
This review was updated on 8/3/2009
8 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: This course has everything from some holes that require accuracy with water and other hazards, to just wide open shots. 24 holes and big. Well marked. Every hole has a sign with the holes layout and "par" which most of them are 3 with a couple 4s with the really long holes. Signs telling you where the next tee is...This course isnt just plopped down and sitting there like some I have ben to. It is well kept and caters to disc golfers rather than just be a side note for a park that has other purposes.
Cons: Water hazards can be a pro or a con. Pro is as stated, adds the challenge. Con is; well, no one wants to lose discs so its eitehr throw a beater or lay up safe, but there is only a couple of holes with this. The shot by the busy street does make me nervous; as I have played from someones lawn across the street before.

Have to add in, some of the water hazards really stink. By that, I mean they smell bad.
Other Thoughts: Actually, I would suggest this for a beginner and pro alike. Gives amateurs a diverse course to experience many different types of throws and a lot of wholes; they can just not worry about it and let some fly. just as long as they dont expect to be a pro the first time and accept it took them a ton of throws to get there, but the more throws for a beginner the better in my opinion.

For a pro type player, it lets you really open up and spread your wings with your distance throws while at times still challenging your technical precision.

I had to update this as I just went again. If you have any chance of visiting this course, dont think twice and GO!

8 of 8 people found this review helpful.


5+    6/13/2009   6/19/2009
Review By: thadon
Played: 33  Reviewed: 31  Exp: 10.6 Years
This review was updated on 8/22/2011
5 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: What can possibly say about this course that hasn't already been said.
Awesome layout . 24 holes,Tees for long and short. Its all about distance and accuracy here. This course offers several holes you'll have to have a good anhyzer, several holes on distance , several holes with water in play, and several holes that are ..ace-able. Brand new tee signs added recently.
Cons: The water. Parking lot can be overcrowded on nice days. Some people will go in the water....i won't . I've seen the water moccasins ...yup...i'll just go buy another disc.
Other Thoughts: This course is the best maintained in stark county. One of the best overall in my opinion. This park is definatley a good hike. Take a water bottle with on hot day, Better yet have a retreiver handy just in case.

5 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 Big Blue

2-4    6/12/2008   6/12/2009
Review By: nate_0198
Played: 2  Reviewed: 2
0 Helpful / 5 Not
Pros: Good practice. Fairly diverse course. It is a very good challenge.
Cons: Some holes were a bit plain, just open land. Some tees were right next to a pretty busy road, made me a bit nervous.
Other Thoughts: Definately not for starters. Water hazards were quite fun as everyone took those holes very serious. :-)

0 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 Wow, what a great time!

1    5/30/2009   6/1/2009
Review By: Disc Dog
Played: 66  Reviewed: 44  Exp: 8.4 Years
10 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: I found this to be a course that required a great deal of precision in the placement of your drives. With several water hazards and many of the baskets tucked up into the tree line being able to throw an accurate drive was paramount. It also had some great grip and rip places with maybe just a tree or 2 in the way.

There new signs were some of the best I've seen. They are accurate and easy to read. They were on the short tee. The sign post also gave you somewhere to hang a bag.

Some nice usages of the elevation here.

This park is in a beautiful neighborhood and is well maintained.

It actually plays on two parks that are across the street from each other. Many people only play the first park and skip the baskets in Spiker Park. Unless you are pressed for time don't do it. You will be misssing out on some great baskets. Especially if you want too air some out.

There are picnic and playground facilities here.

There is a bathroom that can be easily gotten too while playing, from some tees.

My favorite was 10. It begins in the trees and is long. The initial throw is through a tunnel of trees into the open and the tee is on a higher elevation than the rest of the basket. Your next drive better be a good one because there is a water hazard about 10 yards behind the basket.

The baskets are in good shape. Although a couple were beginning to rust.

The tee pads are old but in great shape. They are skinny but long.

I played with a local and found the others I came across to be courteous and helpful.

Parking was good.
Cons: While I enjoyed this course immensely there are a few draw backs.

The first one I encountered was getting to the correct parking area. If you use the GPS address on the course page it will get you to the park but the wrong parking lot. With the parking lot on your right continue to the next right turn then go about 2/10's of a mile and you will see the course sign.

Some of the tees and baskets are very close. The one that bothered me the most was 4. It is a blind left to right along some trees. About half way, and out of sight of the number 4 tee, is the tee for 5. If you hook it tight it could hit someone if they are not paying attention.

Six and 14 cross there fairways over a man-made pond that some people were fishing in.

The foliage along the edge of the park can be very thick. The local I played a round with lost a disc on 9 because of this.

There were no benches and very few trash cans.

Bring something to drink. To play the entire course take about 90 to 120 minutes with no water fountains. You are going to get real thristy.
Other Thoughts: This is a must play course when you are in the area.

While it is not a technically challenging course from the perspective of lots of trees to throw around, the water hazards and other issues make drive placement a must ( I know. I short armed my Beast on 23 causing it to fade hard and it went in the pond never to be seen again). There is something here to challenge everyone.

One thing I will have to work harder on is a good anhyzer or turn over. It is essential on about 7 baskets for us right handed throwers. The distance will be to far to flick for most players.

10 of 10 people found this review helpful.

Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.