Canton, OH 
Arboretum-Spiker Park Share
Uploaded By: Brall Hole #2 (Taken 10/2011)
3 / 215ft.   3 / 320ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #2 Basket



Reviews: 42
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
 Beautifully Deceptive

1    9/19/2010   9/19/2010
Review By: dallamjm
Played: 4  Reviewed: 4  Exp: 4.2 Years
This review was updated on 6/20/2011
7 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: My "boys" and I played this course on a beautiful sunny fall day. The park itself is very pretty, and the surrounding homes on well maintained and upscale. I had five males in my group ranging from 11 to 54! All enjoyed. We liked the mixture of wide open spaces and wooded areas. If you are there for the exercise, then this is a good course, because there is a good hike in between holes. I found the tee area signs to be helpful and even though we are rookies, the testosterone surging through my group made them want to throw from the Pro holes, just like in ball golf they can't resist playing from the blue or white tees, instead of the juniors or ladies tees. If you can throw it straight, then you will love this course.
Cons: The ponds and creeks look like they should be out of play except on 7, 13 and 20 but they are definitely a factor, and we lost two discs : ( .The ponds may not be deep, but they are dark and slimy and noone from my party was about to venture in as long as I was around. It would be nice if someone would mark a tree with an arrow like at some other courses, to let you know which direction to find the next hole, with so many "tee boxes" for pro, am and novice, it was hard to figure out where to go next.
Other Thoughts: It was nice to have real restrooms in the parking area. I am thrilled to find in this new pasttime how helpful the other experienced players are.

7 of 7 people found this review helpful.

 Very nice dual - park course

2-4    8/21/2010   8/24/2010
Review By: Conect11
Played: 17  Reviewed: 15  Exp: 4.4 Years
This review was updated on 6/14/2011
8 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Sprawling course laid out between two beautiful parks.
Pro and Am pads, with novice option at nearly every hole.
24 holes.
Water comes into play on seven holes. Many holes go directly over water.
Near several other disc golf courses and pro shops.
Beautiful and accurate tee signs.
Both parks seem very well maintained.
Practice Basket with Round the World game.
Cons: For as scenic as the park is, most of the holes seem to be out in the wide open.
There are parts of the course that flow very smoothly, (1 - 5, 14 - 24 come to mind) but the course is broken up by crossing a (non busy) street and walking about 1/4 block. Once you've done it, it makes sense. The first time, even with a sign guiding you it's a tad confusing.
There is plenty of water. (ponds, streams, river, etc.) That's a plus. Unfortunately, much of it is nasty with some kind of weird oily film on it. That's a minus.
Said water eats discs. Play conservatively.
Not really a con here, but there are a lot of reeds and tall grass around some areas of the creek, and around one pond. The reeds are thick enough to slow down an errant disc, so check them before assuming your disc has sunk in the water.
Bathroom is scary beyond all reason.
Other Thoughts: My friends and I went to the beautiful Arboretum - Spiker Parks in Canton this past Saturday. It's extremely nice to have so many good courses in the Canton area, and we hope to get down there more often. The courses straddles two parks, and tends to play in the open, grassy areas with the occasional hole in the woods. There is plenty of water, with creeks, ponds, and a river coming into play on 7 of the 24 holes. This water will gladly eat your discs. You've been warned. Not a lot in terms of elevation changes. Holes on the course overall slightly favor LHBH or RHFH style deliveries with their straight to slight right bends, though there are some left bends here too. Tee pads are all concrete, though I only saw the pro and am pads. Am not positive if the listed "novice" pads are actually installed. The bathroom at the hole 1 parking lot if a bit scary, with no lighting, and rumors that made me want to consider waiting till I got home to do my business.

8 of 8 people found this review helpful.

 

1    8/4/2010   8/10/2010
Review By: jkdisc
Played: 106  Reviewed: 103  Exp: 6 Years
9 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Absolutely beautiful park! Actually it's two parks next to each other. You start at Aboretum. There are many water hazards but only the ponds have murky water so if you toss one in the other waters you should be able to retrieve your disc. Other pros:
-course maps/scorecards at kiosk near tee #1
-detailed tee signs with bag holders
-3 sets of tees
-variety including: distances, some elevation, open/ wooded, and turns
-24 holes is a great bonus
-clean and peaceful even when the course is busy
-challenging for all level players
Cons: I guess my only con would be the lack of a signature hole, all the holes are nice but none really stuck out to me when I was done.
Other Thoughts: The first tee was near the bathrooms and pavillion in the Arboretum. Make sure to grab a map/scorecard to make navigation extra easy because you will cross a non-busy street to Spiker Park after the first quarter of the course and then back. Definitely worth playing this course.

9 of 10 people found this review helpful.

 Local Course

5+    8/2/2010   8/3/2010
Review By: kinger
Played: 36  Reviewed: 36  Exp: 4.5 Years
This review was updated on 10/25/2010
7 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros:
~24 holes set up for an assortment of various sized rounds.
~Great setting, the course is set throughout two parks dedicated primarily to open green space.
~12' concrete tees.
~Great variety of holes, each hole has it's own individuality and the course contains enough variety to keep things interesting.
~Multiple tee locations
~Easy to navigate.
~Signs at each hole with poles to hang your bag.
~Peaceful setting, the parks are nestled in the heart of the Avondale Community.
~Lots of parking with a large shelter between the 1st and 19th holes and a restroom as well.
~Practice basket next to the shelter.
Cons:
~The water is nasty.
~Baskets are showing some wear & tear
Other Thoughts: I play this course on a consistent basis, and I am always pleased with the conditions and atmosphere.
Depending on the mood and time frame, there are options for rounds of: 24, 19, 10, or 9 holes.....this also helps if the course is crowded.
Well thought out course design, you can tell that careful planning and enjoyment went into developing the entire course.
Top notch for my preferences.

7 of 8 people found this review helpful.

 Sectional

1    7/2/2010   7/12/2010
Review By: swatso
Played: 361  Reviewed: 348  Exp: 6.1 Years
9 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros:
24 holes. 3 tee positions per hole (blue and white concrete, red natural). Tee signs, which show a map of the hole, location of the other two tees, distances, and pegs to hang bags, are located at the white tees. Trash cans scattered about. Grass kept low. Bathroom at parking lot, between tee-1 and tee-20
Cons:
If technical is your preference, you'll need to look elsewhere (try Freelander). Right-turning #4 throwing blindly past tee #5 is less than ideal.
Other Thoughts:
The course plays in the gently-rolling open space of two (nearly) co-located public parks, just a few minutes from the NFL Hall of Fame. With some exceptions, the types of holes on the course cluster into various groups:
- Holes 1-5, 12 & 13, and finale #24 have some elevation changes, bring groups of trees and/or bits of woods into play, and often required turns of various degrees,
- Holes 7-11 are long, mostly open, and straight, although 9-11 bring the edge of the forest into play.
- After hole 15's short-n-sharp left-turn, 16-19 are shorter versions of 7-11 - straight, flat, open with typically a tree or two to avoid.
- Water potentially comes into play on 1/3rd of the holes. 6 & 14 have you throw diagonally across a rectangular-shaped pond, with baskets fairly close to the water's edge. 7 has you go across water early, and 10 has water some distance behind its basket. 20-23 play in a counter-clockwise fashion around a pond, so water will be on your left side on 20, 21, and 23. There is a stream not too far away, behind basket 22 and to the right of 23, making #23 a challenging hole due to water being on both sides

Favourite hole #20: a left-turner which needs to trace the shore of the oval pond, to a basket somewhat elevated on a slope and partially protected by a couple large hardwoods.

Navigation: After finishing basket-5, exit right to reach the side road, turn left to access the main road, go right, then crossover at the first side-street on left to find tee-6. Optionally, there is a small parking-lot near tee-6, so you could play 1-5, 15-24, then drive over to play 6-14.

The water makes this not the best course for beginners, and the relative flatness/openness probably makes it less interesting to pros, but the course is quite well-suited for intermediate and advanced players. Was fun to play, easy to find (near I77), and worth the visit.

9 of 9 people found this review helpful.

 good all around course

5+    6/18/2010   6/18/2010
Review By: discgolfer10205
Played: 30  Reviewed: 3  Exp: 20.3 Years
5 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: Well laid out course, a decent mix of hyzer and anhyzer shots on the course. Cement tees on both long and short tees. Great for practicing distance and also control. Hole ten is still a challenge no matter how many times you play it. If you are on a roll, you can shoot a great score from the short tees.

Its a great compliment to the Oak ledges course in Massillon, which is much tighter and much more technical.
Cons: The baskets are still mach 2's for most of the course, so a lot of spit outs.

The course could use some more trees in different areas of the course to increase the challenge and technicality of the course.

Hole 9's long tee could have definitely been thought out better, because it is basically a lucky drive if you get anywhere near the basket on your first shot.
Other Thoughts: Overall this has always been a great course with the swirling breeze/ winds and the variety of distances of the holes. This course, as any other could be improved, but for now it is still one of the best in Ohio in my book, and home to me forever.

5 of 8 people found this review helpful.

 Loves it

1    5/29/2010   6/1/2010
Review By: Jermy
Played: 60  Reviewed: 11  Exp: 4.3 Years
8 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: - Very exciting layout that makes excellent use of risk/reward scenarios.
- Signs were in good shape, easy to see where pin placements were. Course was well marked and would be hard to get lost.
- 24 holes - always a good thing
- Easy to find, has plenty parking, bathrooms on site
- Concrete tee pads
- Beautiful park
Cons: -Very old baskets
- The tee signs are placed in front of the pro tees which seems kind of out of place. I don't know how many people play the pro tee's out there, but it was kind of pain on several holes to find the sign then go look for where I throw from.
Tee pads seem really short / narrow, not a very big deal though
Other Thoughts: Had this course on my wish list for awhile and was lucky enough to be in the cleveland area for the weekend and ound time to play, and time well spent it was! Had a great time and would recommend the course to anyone.
I played all of the holes from the pro position, some of them are just - WOW when compared to the regular tee. Lots of drives through gaps that really demand accuracy as well as distance.
Water comes into play on several holes, for good and bad... but that much more exciting!
Lost 2 dyed discs on hole 19's pond, I'm from IN so theyre pretty much up for grabs if you wanna go for a swim! :)

8 of 9 people found this review helpful.

 Very Fun and Well Balanced

5+    3/23/2010   3/23/2010
Review By: Mike C
Played: 46  Reviewed: 18  Exp: 5.5 Years
This review was updated on 8/23/2011
16 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: -There is excellent shot diversity. There are multiple left and right turning holes, straight shots, more open holes and fairly wooded holes. The multiple pin placements adds to the variety of lines the course demands.

-Brand new baskets.

-Very high quality concrete tee pads that are sufficient in length for throwing long drives. The teesigns feature well drawn diagrams and accurate distances (Except #10). There are benches by 1, 6, 7, 10, 12 pro tee and 24's basket.

-It's mostly wide open with sparse trees in the fairways, so it's pretty easy to keep track of a disc and avoid losing it. There are a few rough spots to potentially grip lock into (#3, #4, #9) but they're easy to avoid.

-The course is well maintained. The club has been active in installing the new pin placements, replacing the baskets and fixing some bridges and teepads. I try to keep the paths maintained with my machete.

-Some nice elevation changes keep things interesting. In particular, driving hole 10, 15, 17, 18 and 21 from the longs feature fun elevation to play from.

-Beautiful scenery throughout the entire course. Plenty of mature trees from a variety of species, with Spiker being lined with some beautiful houses.
Cons: -Overall the course has been too wide open to present as much of a challenge as it could. Currently though the course is evolving to try and remedy this problem. New pin placements have been devised to try and take advantage of the trees the course offers, and trees are being donated by the city to be installed on holes like #10 and #8 to increase their challenge. The course offers a lot of diversity and the challenge will vary greatly depending on tee choice and pin placement. Throwing from the shorts in the original pin positions things will be pretty open and easy and deuce opportunities are everywhere, but throwing from the longs with the new pin positions will demand a lot more line shaping, distance and a diverse upshot skill set.

-The backside (#6-#14) can sometimes have dog walkers out on the fairways, but most of them have learned which areas to avoid by now.

-Gays creep out in the parking lot / bathroom near main entrance at times. Beware of a man in his 40's that drives a silver Dodge SS Avenger with license plate EFD 6456, he chased me around with a steel baseball bat threatening to kill me. The police have been notified.

-Hole 4 throws over hole 5's teepad. With the new pin placements, some baskets will be close to the next hole's teepad, such as 1b and 2 short, 16b and 17's tees etc. Keep care to look for groups a head of you.

-Don't go in the water. It's some stinky shit. Not worth it unless you have some good waders.

-Gets pretty crowded during the middle of summer. Rightfully so, but expect delays. Backside usually isn't as crowded.
Other Thoughts: This is a damn good course, one of the better ones I've played. It was the first one I ever threw, and two years later I spend as much time here as I do at my own home. Some of the longer holes were pretty intimidating as a noob, but it still made for a good introduction to the sport. Lets you work on a nice variety of shots.

Once the new pin placement putting greens have broken in and the trees are installed on holes 10 and 8 this will easily be a 5 star course. The club has been responsive to the most frequent criticisms of the course (Old baskets and holes too open / easy) by replacing the baskets and creating more challenging pin placements for the holes. The course is maturing into a more challenging and diverse disc golf course.

One thing that's nice about the layout, is you can play the front 10 in under half an hour by yourself, or you can do 19 or 24 hole rounds in about an hour if you move quick. Or do a 24 followed by the front 10, two 19's etc.. It's a fun park...it's easy to do two full rounds.

This is a damn solid course and alone would make a destination course. The fact that Massillon, Dover, Portage Lakes and numerous enjoyable 9 holes like Louisville and Malone are just a short drive away make this area a requirement for any serious disc golfer in the area. Make a weekend of it!

16 of 17 people found this review helpful.

One of NE ohio's best

2-4    1/21/2010   1/26/2010
Review By: TommyGun'n
Played: 54  Reviewed: 15  Exp: 8.3 Years
This review was updated on 8/13/2013
2 Helpful / 5 Not
Pros: very nice wooden tee signs show length and layout of hole (these are new and not shown in course photos). good balance of holes - from long to short holes , hyzer to anhyzer shots, open to wooded holes.

great shot over water with alternate pin positions (#6). nice teepads with two different tee's for all levels of players.

actually had score cards with course map at first hole!!!!!
Cons: some baskets are a little sketchy. muddy at times as this course is played by many during all seasons.

without a map this course may get confusing as it weaves through two parks.
Other Thoughts: if you are in the area you have to play this course! 24 holes all great! you will want to play two rounds!

2 of 7 people found this review helpful.

 Great "Long" Short Course

2-4    6/1/2009   9/24/2009
Review By: PsyStal
Played: 15  Reviewed: 13  Exp: 8.3 Years
6 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: An extremely well-maintained course, everything is top-notch. From the tee pads to baskets, to the course upkeep.

Course design is also phenomenal for the space and length of the holes. While most holes are relatively short compared to regular 18 hole courses, the layout is challenging and varied. The baskets are within reach for families and new players, but the veteran players will love the tight angles. Strategy and solid play are well rewarded at Arboretum.

Use of water hazards is also a unique feature. Many courses simply throw a pond or two in the way, forcing you to drive straight over them. Arboretum's water hazards are designed so that you often need only drive near them, and in many cases can circumvent them entirely. However, a well placed and angled shot will always get your disc within easy reach of the basket, you'll just have to brave some water to do it!

There's also 24 holes! And who doesn't want more disc golf holes?
Cons: This course is very popular (rightfully so), and often packed on weekends.

Holes are shorter on average, so veteran players won't realize as much of an advantage from the extra distance they can generate on shots.

Some holes are a bit too open for better players to feel challenged.
Other Thoughts: This is a superb course that is suitable for new players and experts alike. Although better players might not feel quite as challenged here, there's still enough variety to the course to keep things interesting.

The extra 6 holes really do a lot to make up for the length of the course!

6 of 6 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.