Canton, OH 
Arboretum-Spiker Park Share
Uploaded By: Brall Hole #9 (Taken 10/2011)
3 / 325ft.   3 / 405ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #9 Tee Sign



Reviews: 43
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
 Great "Long" Short Course

2-4    6/1/2009   9/24/2009
Review By: PsyStal
Played: 15  Reviewed: 13  Exp: 8.4 Years
6 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: An extremely well-maintained course, everything is top-notch. From the tee pads to baskets, to the course upkeep.

Course design is also phenomenal for the space and length of the holes. While most holes are relatively short compared to regular 18 hole courses, the layout is challenging and varied. The baskets are within reach for families and new players, but the veteran players will love the tight angles. Strategy and solid play are well rewarded at Arboretum.

Use of water hazards is also a unique feature. Many courses simply throw a pond or two in the way, forcing you to drive straight over them. Arboretum's water hazards are designed so that you often need only drive near them, and in many cases can circumvent them entirely. However, a well placed and angled shot will always get your disc within easy reach of the basket, you'll just have to brave some water to do it!

There's also 24 holes! And who doesn't want more disc golf holes?
Cons: This course is very popular (rightfully so), and often packed on weekends.

Holes are shorter on average, so veteran players won't realize as much of an advantage from the extra distance they can generate on shots.

Some holes are a bit too open for better players to feel challenged.
Other Thoughts: This is a superb course that is suitable for new players and experts alike. Although better players might not feel quite as challenged here, there's still enough variety to the course to keep things interesting.

The extra 6 holes really do a lot to make up for the length of the course!

6 of 6 people found this review helpful.

 A delight

1    8/16/2006   9/16/2009
Review By: DavidSauls
Played: 115  Reviewed: 58  Exp: 19.3 Years
12 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: A real pleasure to play in this park. It's a garden (arboretum, after all). Well manicured grass, specimen trees to shape shots around, ornamental ponds, surrounded by a pretty nice neighborhood and away from heavy traffic noise.

The course offers 24 holes, a bonus in itself. Many are in pretty level areas, with trees to dictate flight paths but little underbrush to deal with. For variety, there are also a few holes with good elevation and/or dense foliage defining fairways.

Water holes---which add risk/reward excitement, yet it's not to difficult to play cowardly---uh, safe---and avoid them. (An unusual feature is that 2 fairways cross over water; crossing fairways with little danger of hitting anyone).

There are plenty of opportunities to boom a shot 350' or more, not completely wide open but open enough to let it rip, and some nice roller opportunities as well.

Multiple teepads. I played only longs, but looked like course would play well, if rather short, from the shorts.
Cons: Barely a "con", but no real signature holes. I thought all were fair and most were fun, but none with the "wow" factor that would elevate the course's rating.
Other Thoughts: The course is actually split between two nearby parks. After hole 5, you don't just walk across the street, but down through the neighborhood a block or so. A fairly long walk between holes, but at least a pleasant walk.

My visit was on a weekday in a steady drizzle,so I had the course to myself. I had very little problem navigating. I have no idea what crowding issues or non-disc-golfer issues there may or may not be on busier days.

12 of 13 people found this review helpful.

 get your fix in Canton

2-4    6/25/2009   9/16/2009
Review By: bthoma1
Played: 37  Reviewed: 16  Exp: 7.4 Years
This review was updated on 6/3/2010
7 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Very well maintained course is this one.
Decent variety of shots here, you can easily get by with just your backhand though, or sidearm if thats the way you go.
But if you have a wide variety of shots you can use them all here.
Multiple cement pads, so you can shoot the "pro" pads or just the normal ones depending on how you feel.
Practice basket
24 holes!!

Cons: course is broken in half, and even though there is a sign, I have seen many people get confused. Part of course is on the other side of the road.
If you don't like water then don't come here.
Not that it is overwaterlated<----Fake word I know
But water does come into play on atleast 6 holes
Other Thoughts: not quite half way through the course you have to cross the street..which I have seen many people get lost on.
There are also a few holes with water that I have also seen people lose many a disc on.
But there are a few long poles around these spots so you should be fine
They have bag hangers on the teesigns which is nice.
Bring a lunch, 24 holes are long

7 of 7 people found this review helpful.

 Very Nice Course

1    7/27/2009   7/29/2009
Review By: calcuttajoe
Played: 12  Reviewed: 9
0 Helpful / 10 Not
Pros: This is a fairly open course. Very well maintained. Water is in play on some holes. A few long holes. 24 holes. Nice tee signs and pads. Front nine designed by "Steady Eddy". Players of all ages will like this course.
Cons: None

0 of 10 people found this review helpful.

 Diverse Course

1    8/2/2009   7/29/2009
Review By: Technohic
Played: 15  Reviewed: 10  Exp: 5.3 Years
This review was updated on 8/3/2009
8 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: This course has everything from some holes that require accuracy with water and other hazards, to just wide open shots. 24 holes and big. Well marked. Every hole has a sign with the holes layout and "par" which most of them are 3 with a couple 4s with the really long holes. Signs telling you where the next tee is...This course isnt just plopped down and sitting there like some I have ben to. It is well kept and caters to disc golfers rather than just be a side note for a park that has other purposes.
Cons: Water hazards can be a pro or a con. Pro is as stated, adds the challenge. Con is; well, no one wants to lose discs so its eitehr throw a beater or lay up safe, but there is only a couple of holes with this. The shot by the busy street does make me nervous; as I have played from someones lawn across the street before.

Have to add in, some of the water hazards really stink. By that, I mean they smell bad.
Other Thoughts: Actually, I would suggest this for a beginner and pro alike. Gives amateurs a diverse course to experience many different types of throws and a lot of wholes; they can just not worry about it and let some fly. just as long as they dont expect to be a pro the first time and accept it took them a ton of throws to get there, but the more throws for a beginner the better in my opinion.

For a pro type player, it lets you really open up and spread your wings with your distance throws while at times still challenging your technical precision.

I had to update this as I just went again. If you have any chance of visiting this course, dont think twice and GO!

8 of 8 people found this review helpful.

 

5+    6/13/2009   6/19/2009
Review By: thadon
Played: 33  Reviewed: 31  Exp: 9.5 Years
This review was updated on 8/22/2011
5 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: What can possibly say about this course that hasn't already been said.
Awesome layout . 24 holes,Tees for long and short. Its all about distance and accuracy here. This course offers several holes you'll have to have a good anhyzer, several holes on distance , several holes with water in play, and several holes that are ..ace-able. Brand new tee signs added recently.
Cons: The water. Parking lot can be overcrowded on nice days. Some people will go in the water....i won't . I've seen the water moccasins ...yup...i'll just go buy another disc.
Other Thoughts: This course is the best maintained in stark county. One of the best overall in my opinion. This park is definatley a good hike. Take a water bottle with on hot day, Better yet have a retreiver handy just in case.

5 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 Big Blue

2-4    6/12/2008   6/12/2009
Review By: nate_0198
Played: 2  Reviewed: 2
0 Helpful / 5 Not
Pros: Good practice. Fairly diverse course. It is a very good challenge.
Cons: Some holes were a bit plain, just open land. Some tees were right next to a pretty busy road, made me a bit nervous.
Other Thoughts: Definately not for starters. Water hazards were quite fun as everyone took those holes very serious. :-)

0 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 Wow, what a great time!

1    5/30/2009   6/1/2009
Review By: Disc Dog
Played: 55  Reviewed: 44  Exp: 7.3 Years
10 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: I found this to be a course that required a great deal of precision in the placement of your drives. With several water hazards and many of the baskets tucked up into the tree line being able to throw an accurate drive was paramount. It also had some great grip and rip places with maybe just a tree or 2 in the way.

There new signs were some of the best I've seen. They are accurate and easy to read. They were on the short tee. The sign post also gave you somewhere to hang a bag.

Some nice usages of the elevation here.

This park is in a beautiful neighborhood and is well maintained.

It actually plays on two parks that are across the street from each other. Many people only play the first park and skip the baskets in Spiker Park. Unless you are pressed for time don't do it. You will be misssing out on some great baskets. Especially if you want too air some out.

There are picnic and playground facilities here.

There is a bathroom that can be easily gotten too while playing, from some tees.

My favorite was 10. It begins in the trees and is long. The initial throw is through a tunnel of trees into the open and the tee is on a higher elevation than the rest of the basket. Your next drive better be a good one because there is a water hazard about 10 yards behind the basket.

The baskets are in good shape. Although a couple were beginning to rust.

The tee pads are old but in great shape. They are skinny but long.

I played with a local and found the others I came across to be courteous and helpful.

Parking was good.
Cons: While I enjoyed this course immensely there are a few draw backs.

The first one I encountered was getting to the correct parking area. If you use the GPS address on the course page it will get you to the park but the wrong parking lot. With the parking lot on your right continue to the next right turn then go about 2/10's of a mile and you will see the course sign.

Some of the tees and baskets are very close. The one that bothered me the most was 4. It is a blind left to right along some trees. About half way, and out of sight of the number 4 tee, is the tee for 5. If you hook it tight it could hit someone if they are not paying attention.

Six and 14 cross there fairways over a man-made pond that some people were fishing in.

The foliage along the edge of the park can be very thick. The local I played a round with lost a disc on 9 because of this.

There were no benches and very few trash cans.

Bring something to drink. To play the entire course take about 90 to 120 minutes with no water fountains. You are going to get real thristy.
Other Thoughts: This is a must play course when you are in the area.

While it is not a technically challenging course from the perspective of lots of trees to throw around, the water hazards and other issues make drive placement a must ( I know. I short armed my Beast on 23 causing it to fade hard and it went in the pond never to be seen again). There is something here to challenge everyone.

One thing I will have to work harder on is a good anhyzer or turn over. It is essential on about 7 baskets for us right handed throwers. The distance will be to far to flick for most players.

10 of 10 people found this review helpful.

 Hail Marys

2-4    5/16/2009   5/18/2009
Review By: A.Mutt
Played: 34  Reviewed: 18  Exp: 11.4 Years
10 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: + Course was in great shape
+ Challenge comes in distance and accuracy.
+ Best Tee Signs I've seen yet
+ The course layout is cohesive
+ Water hazards provide extra psychological challenge but are all avoidable.
Cons: - Old baskets on most holes, but its not like they don't work.
Other Thoughts: This course really challenged the stretch of my distance throws, and at the same time required me to be fairly accurate. Hole 10 felt a mile long to me.

The balance of obstacles from trees to ponds, and creeks along with some elevation changes kept the course from feeling as long as it was.

The tee-signs are really nice. Very detailed and easy to read maps.

10 of 12 people found this review helpful.

 B- = Be too long for me to fully enjoy

1    8/28/2005   4/30/2009
Review By: Dave242
Played: 368  Reviewed: 275  Exp: 20.4 Years
This review was updated on 12/11/2009
5 Helpful / 15 Not
Pros: I review all courses (unless otherwise noted from the long tees). What I personally like and how this course stacks up in my list of 18 (or more) hole courses:

1) Holes with good risk/reward. Fair, but harsh punishment for bad decisions or execution. == C
(The vast majority of holes are quite open and do not punish you an extra stroke for your errors. Almost no risk/reward decisions are required. The risk IMO is needing to bomb your shots and getting a little wild.)

2) Holes that have rewarding birdie opportunities for me. I'm a Blue level player who throws 300' accurately, 360' max. == C
(18 of 27 holes are boring 3's with no chance of 2' for players with my D. In the shorts 14 are either too long or too short to be rewarding. Unfortunately for me, that lowers the addiction-factor a lot.)

3) More wooded than open - lots of variety of shots required caused by hole shape and topography == C+
(There are only a few holes that force you to throw an particular shot shape. There is indeed a variety of right and left ending holes, but usually plenty of room to navigate.)

4) Natural beauty (Appalachian beauty preferred) and seclusion. == A-
(This is by far the strength of this course. It is beautifully manicured, is generally secluded from the hustle-bustle of life, and is a great place to just breathe in an relax.)

5) Bonus points for multi-throw holes with defined landing zones, good risk/reward and multiple options to play them. == N/A
Other Thoughts: It's all about feeding the addiction, so I ranked this course subjectively based on my own "personal addiction factor". The grades above tell how well the course will draw me back to itself again and again and again. Since I have played a decent number of courses (149 18-hole, 91 9-hole as of late 2009), my hope is that players/explorers who have similar addiction tastes will find my ratings list helpful as they choose courses to play and explore.

I fully expect others with different tastes/philosophies to disagree with me….that's the fun of things here. See my profile for my rating philosophy.

5 of 20 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.