Red Feather Lakes, CO 
Sundance Trail Ranch DGC Share
Uploaded By: timg Hole #3
3 / 264ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #3 Tee



Reviews: 18
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
< Prev 1 2
Decent, but not great

1    8/7/2014   8/11/2014
Review By: bcos4life
Played: 21  Reviewed: 15  Exp: 2.6 Years
2 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Has good tunnel shots. The level change is phenomenal... rarely does the elevation stay the same. Good mix of long and short shots. And when you have a short shot, you have a tiny alley to nail for a good run. The guy running it couldn't be nicer. Good people up there.
Cons: Terrain is pretty rough, and the hike between holes doesn't help much. The map isn't very accurate, and signage is pointless now. The temp baskets are solid, but not as nice as the pictures here. The measurements are super inaccurate. I calculated that each hole is at least 50-100 feet off of it's listed length.
Other Thoughts: I try to find the positive about every course, and this one had some... but when I drive that far and pay to play, I expect a lot more than what I got.

2 of 3 people found this review helpful.

Better of Two RFL Courses

2-4    3/29/2014   3/31/2014
Review By: mndiscg
Played: 352  Reviewed: 345  Exp: 6.6 Years
3 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: -Like Beaver Meadows, this course is based in the foothills/mountains of the Northern Front Range of the Rocky Mountains. The land is absolutely gorgeous and there are plenty of views.
-Much better signage and navigation than BM. I would still recommend printing the map at home because they might be out when you get there. Most holes had signs with numbers and the baskets were numbered. The scorecard/map has more info. There are also a lot less blind tee shots than BM so that helps navigation as well as a better basket to next tee flow.
-There are a few ace runs here, nothing super easy but many holes within striking distance for most players.
-Great use of the abundant elevation. Hills just make courses more fun.
-A solid mix of hole distance and shot variety. There are some holes in the mid-100s and a few in the 500s and even 600 I think. There were some sweet bomber holes with cool views and some fairly tight lines through the conifers. The course didn't seem to favor a certain throwing style over another and was overall very fair. There was one water hole but I didn't feel like the carry was as precarious as a few of the throws at BM. You can also work your way around the edge of the water.
-Some cool and unique pin positions among rocks and on slopes. Can make for some fun and interesting putts.
Cons: -Natural tees. They were kind of muddy at this time of the year (late March) and look like they could be uneven and rutted when they dry out later in the season.
-Not a beginner course. There are some short holes but the few that are 400+ and feature elevation are pretty difficult. There is one water hazard to be wary of that could eat a disc.
-Pay to play. This is a course that isn't going to see a lot of traffic regardless of its fees due to its remote location. I think the pay to play just makes the ranch a few more bucks but isn't put back into the course often. A few more dollars spent on this course could definitely up the quality.
-This is a ranch so you have to be aware of other users and be ok with possibly landing in horse poo a time or two. Most of it is pretty dry and it isn't a big deal but it is there.
-Be careful with the weather up in the mountains.
Other Thoughts: -This is a course that I would return to. I think it would be even more fun if I had waited to play it in warmer weather when all of the snow was gone. I am moving a lot farther away from this course soon and had to play it at this time.
-There is a lot to do here including just relaxing at this awesome, peaceful and serene ranch. If you bring others here and they just want to relax or explore the property, that would give you time to get in a round.
-There is food on site as well as lodging if you want to make a vacation out of this destination. The disc golf is pretty good but I wouldn't make it the only reason to come out here.

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

One Hard Course

1    7/4/2013   7/5/2013
Review By: fantomhockey
Played: 42  Reviewed: 3  Exp: 8.8 Years
1 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: This course really does have it all. Technical short shots, technical long shots, open raw power shots...and hole 10. Hole 10 is absolutely in my top 3 favorite holes of all time. 10 is a shorter hole played up the side of a rocky hill. The basket leaves no margin for error, play too long or too far left and you're down a 20' vertical drop. The views from the basket, looking over the entire ranch, make the whole trip worth it.

As for scheduling the round; they're pretty relaxed and don't seem to require scheduling a tee time. Your 3 dollars for the round (or 5 for the day) also include juice and some cookies! The ranch seems like a great place for a mini stay-cation as well, tons of other activities available.
Cons: The drive is long, even from north FoCo. It is a very pretty drive though, counts for something.

Being a ranch, the many horses seem to either be ridden or wander over the entire grounds. Poo is everywhere but that's not really the problem. Sure, there is some smell, but the real problem is the horse and deer flies it attracts. They can get very annoying and don't seem to mind DEET at all.

My biggest grievance was the walk back to the lodge (and car) from 18. Next time I may try to leave the car near the end of the course and make the walk at the beginning when I'm fresh.
Other Thoughts: This is a long, fairly difficult course. If you're playing with beginners or someone who doesn't have a long arm offer plenty of moral support, they'll most likely need it. They had also run out of score cards (which have the course map on the back) when we played and although we played without it, a map would have been very useful and appreciated. Worth the time to print one off before heading to the course just to ensure you have one in hand.

Visit the Cache La Poudre course in Laporte if your headed south after finishing the course. CLP is a great confidence booster after a difficult 18 at Sundance Trail Ranch.

1 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 9/6/12

2-4    9/5/2012   9/6/2012
Review By: NoahPeterson
Played: 58  Reviewed: 7  Exp: 3.1 Years
0 Helpful / 5 Not
Pros: This is the epitome of what a course should be. Superb layout (although on 9 you can confuse that with basket 13, just go UP the hill), baskets are covered in obstacles (trapped by rocks on hole 3). A few long shots (it could use a few more more), some fun short shots, lots of woods, some open spaces, up and down the hill and fun! Primitive tees, baskets have flags on them, This course is too much fun. Easy? No, Very difficult? No. Playable and fun for all levels: absolutely.
Cons: I shot very, very badly. Both games.
Other Thoughts: more course reviews posted in the Active Players social group.


0 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 Lots of Fun

1    8/6/2012   8/13/2012
Review By: tbsox
Played: 40  Reviewed: 17  Exp: 8.5 Years
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: The Course offers a lot of variety. The first 7 holes are tight and wooded with a more technical approach. 8 plays over the lake (its the only water hole). 10 through 14 are up and down mountain holes. 10 has a fantastic view on its summit. One of the most visually fantastic holes I've ever played. The final few holes are back to the more wooded variety. There are a few shorter holes and a few epic throws.

I am also a fan of the local hole sponsors. The signs were great (a few were damaged by the elements). It made the course more clear to play. The people at the lodge were also very nice and offered a nice map with a scorecard on it. They were also dog friendly for well mannered dogs.

The WOW factor for the course is definitely hole 10. Great view.
Cons: Hole 9. Its a big massive hole that is designed to get the players across the valley to the hill where the second section of the course is. It is so far away that It feels like its the next holes pin. My feeling on the hole is that getting a 19th hole in that space would be preferable. It has a few obstacles to use for 2 holes and easily enough space. Holes 16 through 18 are a bit redundant. They are a collection of more technical shots that largely use the same space.
Other Thoughts: I am definitely going to be playing this course again. It was a great time and a good play. The 3 dollars to play was well worth it. Red Feather is a fun area in general and if nothing else was a fun day trip. It is by no means a quick drive up here even from Fort Collins but it was a good very pretty drive.

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 Pay to be frustrated.

1    8/7/2012   8/12/2012
Review By: StimpiSteve
Played: 165  Reviewed: 10
1 Helpful / 7 Not
Pros: Beautiful area for disc golf. You can tell it's a work in progress, and they seem to be improving things with tee signs that give you a picture of the hole, and a yellow line demonstrating where you should throw. Unfortunately, many signs were missing.
Cons: Tee signs aside, you had to walk many fairways to get a look at the basket. Many holes seemed "dumb". Next tees were sometimes hard to find. For a "pay to play" course it isn't worth the money for someone that doesn't already know the course. I prefer to play a course as intended, but that involves accurate maps and signage. Courses where you wander around to find tees and baskets are very frustrating.
Other Thoughts: A course that takes money in should spend some on making the course playable for first-timers, not just depend on the locals to be the only players. I won't be back.

1 of 8 people found this review helpful.

 Dude Ranch

1    5/28/2011   6/7/2011
Review By: Kuiky
Played: 15  Reviewed: 5  Exp: 4.6 Years
0 Helpful / 5 Not
Pros: Beautiful setting in the mountains. Very technical course and a wide variety of holes! Short throws, long throws, uphill, downhill, across water, holes for forearm and sideshot throwers. A great course to hike and enjoy the scenery and excercise. The people at the Ranch are very friendly and hospitable.
Cons: This is on a Ranch so I know this is part of the experience, however there was almost too much manure. Bring a dirty towel to clean ur discs off!
Other Thoughts: Beautiful course! I would definately play again. We drove 2 hrs to play this course, well worth the experience. I will be back!

0 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 A different style mountain course

1    5/28/2011   5/29/2011
Review By: 14erDisc
Played: 40  Reviewed: 40  Exp: 4.8 Years
7 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: This is a beautiful Colorado Mountain course. However, it is not your typical Colorado mountain course in the fact that there are many open fairways & pastures which you encounter. Having said that, this course still ranks up with the toughness of CO mountain courses. Expect to throw most (but perhaps not every) throws in your bag. There are some short and very tight holes weaving through the trees(2, 15, 17), and there are 600 foot bombers starting in a pasture and ending up in the woods(8,9). Hole 8 is a 550 foot bomber that finds a large body of water fairly unavoidable. The pins are all well marked and most have a 4 foot tall flag on top so they can be seen from almost all of the tees. There are still a few blind shots… I did not scout them out and I certainly paid the price for that. The signs at all of the holes do a decent job of showing you the style of throw you want… but these seem to never match up with my view of where the basket actually is. That being said, every hole has a sign. Hole 11 is one of my favorite holes of all time, and I have played many a mountain course. 11 is a downhill hyzer that hooks through an extremely tight corridor. It is an awesomely hard shot… but the perfect throw could easily yield an ace. I couldn't help but tee off 4 or 5 times on this hole. The course is certainly a good mixture of various aspects of your game. Short and long uphills, long bombs, all requiring a fair amount of precision and accuracy.
Here you get a scorecard and a map… the map will end up being necessary. The map is certainly a nice feature to have. While this is not an essential feature, the baskets are all painted a cool blue around the rim and have the Colorado flag on them. This adds to the character of the course… I certainly enjoyed it.
Cons: The course was not all that inspirational and a few holes looked like they took little thought to design. This is a pay to play course. Normally, I do not mind a pay to play environment because you can tell the money goes back into the course. Here this is not the case. The course looks like it does not get tons of maintenance. While amazing and beautiful, the course is not up to par with every other pay-to-play course I have been to in terms of overall shot layout, thought, and maintenance. This being a "ranch" for vacationers to stay at, it seems like my pay-to-play is going to something else. Another issue is that while you do have a map, it is possible to get a tad lost. For the most part the map keeps you in check, but make sure to always look at it before you wander to "the next hole". You also end up a decent amount away from hole 1 and your car, which is not a big deal to me, but some view this as a hassle.
Other Thoughts: This is a very unique Colorado Mountain course. If you're into the hiking style courses it is certainly worth checking out, and will test a good amount of your disc repertoire. Be prepared for a few blind shots, some awesome tight corridors, some cool Colorado baskets, and maybe a bit of getting lost. Hard course, and was certainly loads of fun. Benches at many of the holes as well.

7 of 8 people found this review helpful.

 Top 3

2-4    11/7/2009   11/10/2009
Review By: GDisc
Played: 58  Reviewed: 34  Exp: 6.6 Years
4 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Absolute Beautiful course. This course has a great mix of Long, Mid and short Holes with Open and Wooded shots. Rock Formations are beautiful and play into course. Basket 3 sits back behind a few large Boulders with a thick grove of trees that divides the fairway and there is a fence marking OB off to left. Scenery here is unbeatable especially on Hole 10. Plenty of Holes have Benches.
Cons: Tee pads are all natural and not in the best shape but this is a mountain course and I have yet to see anything other than natural tee pads,at a mountain course, so it's not like I was expecting anything better. Course could have a little better signage but map is good so not to much of an issue. I really don't have any true complaints about this one.
Other Thoughts: I highly recommend this course to anyone and everyone in the area. It is absolutely beautiful. You will need your whole bag here due to the technicallity and length of Holes. There is lunch provided for anyone interested at a very reasonalbe price. Can't beat a little Home Cooking! There is a $3 charge to play but you get a ScoreCard with a map and it is well worth it.This course is in my Top 3 courses played and Hole 10 is my favorite Hole on any Course that I have ever played! If you get a chance to check this one out I'd jump at the opportunity. Awesome Course!

4 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 Watch Your Lines

2-4    9/13/2009   9/14/2009
Review By: TalbotTrojan
Played: 102  Reviewed: 102  Exp: 6.3 Years
5 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: This is a great mountain course that provides a great deal of challenge. There is a great variety of length and a good mix of open and tight holes. Despite what some in the past of said every hole offers a good challenge both physically and mentally, and yes there is a line to take on every hole and often multiple lines on the holes that seem to have none. This sits in a little valley that is part of a ranch in the Colorado high country and is just a beautiful piece of land. The folks that run the ranch are extremely friendly. They will call you in you loose a disc there that is later found so be sure to have your name on your disc. Many land features that are unique in the area are used well and it seems as though the layout was designed to really maximize a few of these great features. The baskets had some of the stickiest chains that I have yet seen and were all well marked with flags.
Cons: One of my biggest cons in everything is the cost of playing and this is a pay to play course, but one that is well worth it if you are in the area. Otherwise I would say that the tee pads, though they have recently been improved left some to be desired. The tee signs are nothing more than stumps with numbers on them (that is unless they leave the signs from the CSDGC's). I think that the layout might be a little confusing as it is not always clear where the next hole might be, though there usually are worn paths. The baskets all have portable bases though I do not think they move them all that often if at all.
Other Thoughts: I really enjoyed my expereince at this course but realize that it is not a course for just anyone. There are some nice long holes that some may take bunches of strokes to even get to the basket. The shorter holes are usually very technical and you will take several shots to get to the basket if you do not hit the right line. Because of this I would not reccomend this course for newbies. It really is a wonderful hike though the mountains but that also means it is at some elevation so play accordingly with water and for the low landers out there bring even more water. Make sure that you do call in advance for a tee time as the people here were very accomodating to me while I was there. Respect their land and pack out what you bring in. With some minor improvements this could be one of the best courses out there but at the same time I do not think that is a priority.

5 of 6 people found this review helpful.

< Prev 1 2

Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.
Disc Golf Center