Pullman, WA 
Sunnyside Park Share



Reviews: 12
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
< Prev 1 2
 Little Gem in the Palouse

5+    5/1/2014   5/1/2014
Review By: curlrider11
Played: 1  Reviewed: 1
Pros: Great variety of shots, some through trees, 13 over water hazard, lots of Hills, easy to find next hole if you've played once before, intuitive hole locations, challenging in fun. Tee boxes are okay, gravel with brand new rubber mats. Some makers have been stolen, but doesn't really detract much from the course. Spring is the perfect time to play this course. all baskets are in pretty good condition and are straight.
Cons: Some tee markers stolen, can be hard to find tee #9 from hole #8. Crowded during the college semester in the spring, people cross into shots on walking paths in a few holes (not bad).


5+    1/26/2014   2/10/2014
Review By: fuegoador
Played: 12  Reviewed: 10  Exp: 1.2 Years
0 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: Lots of open shots so it's a good learning course. Local league does their best to keep tees, baskets, and signs up to par with minimal help from the city.
Cons: Public park so it has the tendency to get a bit crowded on nice days. Pads, baskets, and signs could use some work but are good considering the city doesn't help out with that.

0 of 2 people found this review helpful.

Palouse Pleasure

2-4    11/29/2013   12/16/2013
Review By: idahooldguy
Played: 24  Reviewed: 23  Exp: 2.1 Years
This review was updated on 12/18/2013
1 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: - Elevation change on most holes.
- Well-spaced trees obstacles.
- One tee shot over water and a good variety of holes lengths.
- Nice variety of shots required and accuracy is important.
- New tee signs and rubber tee pads.
- Each sign shows the direction to the next tee.
Cons: - Some of tee pads are a little short.
- The city obviously doesn't water the course in July, so the grass was quite dry.
- I wish they would have taken advantage of the rolling terrain and made a couple of long downhill holes.
Other Thoughts: One of my favorite courses. I've been lucky to have played all three times in light/calm winds, but the Palouse can be quite windy. Check the forecast before you go. If you're in the area, definitely make plans to play here!

1 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 Best Course Around

5+    11/13/2013   11/13/2013
Review By: jupiter325
Played: 2  Reviewed: 1  Exp: 1.1 Years
1 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: Name plates for each hole are informative and easily read. Also showing where the next hole is located is awesome.
Well maintained and Tee pads are easily played from.
Cons: Layout can include some unnecessary walking.

1 of 3 people found this review helpful.

Fun for all levels

5+    6/27/2010   6/25/2013
Review By: ARManiac
Played: 14  Reviewed: 3
0 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Great course layout.
Easy enough that it doesn't scare off beginners, but still enjoyable for better players due to the hole placement.
Usually easy to find and retrieve wayward discs--unless it goes in the gross duck pond.
Cons: Tee boxes need work for sure.
Other Thoughts: Good family fun since it is in the park and kids can play.

0 of 1 people found this review helpful.

 A fun course if you're in the area

2-4    5/2/2011   5/3/2011
Review By: b-mart
Played: 44  Reviewed: 38  Exp: 3.9 Years
3 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Good use of the elevation and of the land available. Free. Definitely a high fun factor. Fairly short holes so it's not too tough for recreational players, but still hard enough with the elevation, trees, and wind to challenge any level of player.
Cons: The tee pads are abyssmal. Burying a landscape timber in the ground is fine for the first week, but once the grass behind it is worn in (which it is), it's just dangerous. I ruined a couple of drives because I was too focused on staying upright. No signage at all. If I hadn't been playing through with some locals I would have gotten lost after hole 2. Most of the baskets are unmarked too. Several teepads face up to three unmarked baskets within 25 yards of each other.
Other Thoughts: Although I could complain about the cons of this course all day, it was just too much fun to hate. Plus I hit two putts and several drives that could be marked as "top ten personal bests" all in one day, and had a reasonable score after a poor start. Hard to complain about that. Playing here makes me wish that I'd picked up the game when I lived there. It's the perfect thing to keep a broke college student entertained.

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

  Short and open, heavy winds

2-4    1/15/2011   2/1/2011
Review By: gmason1
Played: 1  Reviewed: 1
3 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Nice and open with mostly short holes. good course for beginners as the the open land makes for some fun shots with plenty of room for discs to turn. it gives advanced players a chance to hone up on some mid range and fairway shots. most holes are 200 ft or under with only a few exceptions. Nice park with playground equipment, room for walking, etc. for the family.
Cons: Lots of families on nice days.. tee pads are grass which sucks if its spring or wet..No long open holes to really bomb any long drives on.. Pond in the middle in nice but it isnt incorporated into the course.. This course could easily fit in another 9 holes if it was laid out better.. Wind is crazy down here! Bring some overstable mid-ranges :) it gets hot too in the summer!
Other Thoughts: Not worth the trip just to play the course but worth it if passing through and have an extra hour or two.. Fun place to come with family and thrown some discs.. it has a nice view of the rolling palouse hills..

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 

1    7/3/2010   7/7/2010
Review By: sillybizz
Played: 200  Reviewed: 192  Exp: 11 Years
This review was updated on 1/31/2011
3 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: This eighteen hole disc golf course was once a nine hole post course but now the course has all of the baskets in and is currently eighteen holes. This piece of land is blessed with multiple levels of terrain change and makes for holes with elevation going both up and downhill. The disc golf course starts right next to a beautiful community garden on the side of the first hill. Hole one is one of the better holes on the course with it's fairway that makes you hit the line or suffer a bogey even though it's not a terribly long hole. This is one of the most technical holes on the course as most of the other holes on this course are open but vary is length.
Cons: Not making the most of the land available - This is one of my biggest pet peeves in disc golf as our sport doesn't have nearly enough space available to build courses so when you don't use the land correctly and make the best course with what you have been given it is annoying to me. What I mean is this course is eighteen holes but it could have been a ton better if it were nine or even twelve holes as most of the downhill throws are quite short and I feel these holes could have been lengthened to make a fabulous course and about half the course feels like filler holes.

Tee pads and baskets - The tee pads are grass and dirt mixes and the dirt ones are an eyesore though they are alright for footing. The grass pads have chunks taken out of them and are another eyesore as well as being dangerous to throw on. The baskets are the Lightning brand and these are falling apart! They need new welding at the very minimum.

Navigation - I was lucky enough to have a map and I also had a guide (Local Nate was very helpful and friendly) to help me weave my way through the course but without him it would have been extremely frustrating, in fact there was a group in front of us confused on where to go and I couldn't blame them with the walkouts. Some next tee signs are needed badly.
Other Thoughts: I feel as though this is a nice course for the local players who have played multiple times and understand the course but until you have played it a lot it will be confusing but when you do there are some fun throws on this course. Nearby is the community garden I mentioned early on as well as tennis and basketball courts. There is also a nice large parking lot and porta potty.

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 WSU-Go Cougs!

5+    5/19/2004   4/8/2010
Review By: JR Stengele
Played: 181  Reviewed: 170  Exp: 14.2 Years
8 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros:
Sunnyside Park DGC is set in a multi-use park located in the wonderful college town of Pullman, WA. The course has multi levels with tons of elevation that comes in to play. The strong Palouse winds help add to the overall challenge which in my opinion is a good thing considering the course for the most part is not all that challenging. The beginning of the course has you starting off right away throwing uphill, then continues to weave up and down the hillside with a mixture of light to drastic elevation changes the remainder of the time. The course varies with the amount of foliage on each hole, with some being tight but the majority fairly open. Holes range from 159-343 feet, with all but 4 baskets visible from the tee. The front nine is just a little shorter then the back nine, but are all par 3 making course par 54. The holes that play down toward the big toy near the baseball field, and the holes on the back nine which play around the big pond are some of the more enjoyable holes to play.
The baskets are a nice addition to what was once large wooden posts when the course was originally put in during the mid 90's.

The course for the most part is always well maintianed thanks to the parks department, and trash cans are emptied regularly. When the weather is bad, which happens quite often in the Palouse, the course is completely empty. During harvest time, the wheat fields along the side of the course are breathtaking, as well as during the spring when all the fields are green and full of life!
Cons:
When I went to school at WSU, Sunnyside DGC was a 9 hole tone course which had players throwing over and around the ponds. I really wish they would have incorporated those holes in the new layout, but was told that they were tired of kids going in to the pond to get discs out.
The new layout I feel would have been a lot better if they didn't turn it in to an 18 hole layout. A long 9 hole or 12 hole course would have served the area much better, and could have included a few par 4's or even a par 5.

Since it is a multi-use park, there are usually students lying around the pond sunning or studying. Near the ballfields and playground, there are kids practicing as well as adults walking along the path the meanders through the entire course so be on the lookout!

Lack of tee signs and very poor tee pads continue to be an issue.
Other Thoughts:
It is really nice to see a course like this in a college town like Pullman. Even though it is not the most challenging course out there, it is perfect for those first learning the game or those looking to work on their game and get better. Hopefully over time the course will continue to improve, including signs, better tee pads, and perhaps even alternate pins. For the time being, it serves a purpose to the community like it originally was intended to do!

*Print off a map if you're a first timer*

8 of 8 people found this review helpful.

 Sunnyside

5+    9/3/2009   12/8/2009
Review By: jcbnxll
Played: 29  Reviewed: 5  Exp: 6.2 Years
5 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: --Variety: There are some good elevation changes here, variety of distances and some changes in difficulty. With the variety, players of different skill levels can enjoy the course. Beginners can learn a lot, especially playing with more advanced players, and for advanced players you can push yourself to birdie all the easy ones and work on distance throws, good anhyzers and helixes.
--Cream of the crap! Considering the other courses available in the immediate area--Lewiston and Moscow--this is the best of the lot!
--Family-oriented: There's a playground, tennis courts and a nice hangout area in the park so you can easily bring your family along and they can have a nice time using the facilities while you rattle some chains.
Cons: --Baskets: Some of the baskets are okay but most are simply hater baskets.
--Tee pads: The grass is worn away so that they're pretty much silt boxes. Some of them are gravel. This is probably my #1 beef with the course as it's dangerous to throw when you can't be 100% sure of your footing!
--Temperature: Make sure you bring water as this course can be a scorcher! A lot of people don't know that eastern Washington is a desert and the way the park is set up, you spend most of the round right in the sun.
--Traffic: It can be pretty busy so you have to be careful that you don't hit evening strollers and afternoon picnickers.
Other Thoughts: This course could definitely be nicer with a little TLC: signs to navigate, real tee pads would be a huge bonus, alternate pin locations and somebody to take the course under his/her wing to set up regular get-togethers and make sure the course is properly treated.

Also, because there's a fair amount of space, this is an easy course to mix and match holes. My group always plays hole 19: tee 17 to hole 9. Fun hole!

#11: Hit the tree, get a birdie!

Watch out for that Palouse wind!

5 of 5 people found this review helpful.

< Prev 1 2

Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.