Wrightwood, CA 
Sky High DGC Share
Uploaded By: mikethrice Hole #8 (Taken 6/2009)
3 / 262ft.   3 / --   3 / --   3 / -- Par / Distance:
Hole #8 Tee Sign



Reviews: 34
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
"A Must Play!!!"

2-4    6/14/2014   6/24/2014
Review By: tommyUnitas
Played: 16  Reviewed: 9  Exp: 2.4 Years
This review was updated on 6/28/2014
1 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: What a great course!!! 27 holes of SoCal Mountains!! Obviously, there's a lot of elevation on this course, especially the back back 9. But this course is for sure do-able. Somehow I managed to throw a 2 over 83, and did not lose a disc. This course has a nice layout, front 9 down low, followed by mid 9, then back back 9 up on the hill. There are several opportunities for birdies, but do not over-throw, as the consequences can be severe. Anyone passing thru SoCal looking for a place to play has to stop by SkyHigh.
Cons: Be sure to wear long pants with hiking shoes. There's a lot of low lying sticker bushes that are attracted to your socks if wearing shorts. Also, down by the 3rd or 4th hole I heard a rattlesnake in the bushes about 20 feet from me. Don't go reaching in bushes and crevices while grabbing your disc. Also, I pretty much tried to pace myself, don't do too much too soon, or you'll end up winded and short of breath up in the high elevation. It also seemed discs or more over-stable at elevation, so bring some understable plastic
Other Thoughts: There's no bathrooms or water out on the course, it can be pretty rugged out there. Bathroom and food in the lodge. Lot's of parking. This course is a must play course. Rick in the pro shop is cool. There's up shots, down shots, long shots, short shots, wicked tree tunnel shots, spectacular view shots, find your disc shots... All very much well worth it!!

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

FANTASTIC- If its open!

1    7/25/2012   3/13/2014
Review By: Numbnuts
Played: 10  Reviewed: 7  Exp: 14.4 Years
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: *Amazing variability
*Clubhouse with discs for sale
*Very secluded, beautiful scenery
*Very rugged
*Well Designed
*Huge course
*Excellent challenge that starts out at intermediate difficulty and stays at pretty high level
*Awesome elevation changes
Cons: *Some VERY thorny areas
*Limited access throughout the year
*Maps needed (available at club house)
*Pay to play
Other Thoughts: This course is amazing, shared with a ski course on Mt. High, there is great variabliity in elevation, with 27 holes that stretch very far out, but bring you back to the clubhouse when you finish. You need to be in good shape to play this course, it is a mountain hike that will take the better part of the day to play. It is pretty far off the beaten path, so plan to make a day out of it and bring some provisions. It is only open a short time of the year, so check to make sure the course is open by calling before you make the trip. For experienced players only! I recommend wearing long pants, as this densely wooded area is very established, with some VERY nasty bramble patches that, if your disc lands in them, prepare to get pricked, and these patches are right in the path of some of the holes. If you are up for the challenge, I highly recommend experiencing this course.

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

Views and hikes that will take your breath away

2-4    6/2/2013   6/8/2013
Review By: Hector Chain
Played: 113  Reviewed: 111  Exp: 6.4 Years
7 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros:
The drive up from I-15 ascends several thousand feet and gives you a taste of what you'll find on the course. The first hole is an exhilarating bomb down a bunny hill slope. The rest of the front 9 plays below the lodge, winding among the tall and spare pines.

The middle 9 begin with one of the most picturesque holes I've played, a 500+ foot downhill missile launch. There aren't many trees to hit…except the two that are within three feet of the tee pad. There is a huge gap between them, but those trees definitely got in my head. No one wants to throw a 3-foot drive on this hole. At the bottom of this hole is a spectacular vista, along with a tee pad whose tee sign urges you to "sacrifice" a disc over the edge. There is actually a pad aiming over the edge. I wish I'd brought a crappy disc to throw.

The final 9 play above the lodge. Each 9-hole loop returns you near the lodge.

Every tee pad is rubber. It seems like most ski hill courses have natural pads, so this was a nice change. Signs are at most holes and give some good warnings on holes that you really don't want to overthrow.

There are some truly fun drives here.
Cons: The biggest con here is that, while there are a ton of fun shots, the challenge is limited. Paul McBeth owns the record at -21. The trees are used decently on some holes, but it would not be shocking to have a round where you never hit a tree. Most of the holes are pretty wide open. I know that part of the reason is that the course is on the part of the ski hill where people actually ski (i.e. not a ton of trees), but courses like Mt Charleston have fit in tight holes in spite of this. I wonder if more clumps of trees couldn't have been used to force more types of shots on certain holes.

I found the final 9 holes to be a bit of a letdown after the first 18. They crisscross their way up the mountain with only two real payoff holes. They're not bad at all, just not as good as the earlier holes.
Other Thoughts: I can't think of any course I've played with better views than this. And the elevation feels great above the heat of the valley below. You'll have time to take in the views when you're catching your breath from the hike up and down the slopes. Bring some water, too.

I played this on the way to L.A. and on the way out of town, and the $7 was well worth it both times. The guy who runs the course indicated the owners have been willing to put more money into the course as more people have come. Good. This is a must-visit course if you're in the area.

7 of 8 people found this review helpful.

 Mountain Views & Cooler Temps

5+    10/10/2009   4/19/2010
Review By: Discette
Played: 242  Reviewed: 30  Exp: 18.1 Years
This review was updated on 4/27/2010
18 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: I would give the actual course design a 5.0, but the upkeep and condition of this course make it only worthy of a 4.0. This is my favorite course in Southern California. It is great to go up the mountain in the summer and away from the heat of the valleys.

This is a Dave Dunipace course design. Some hole placements have changed over the years, but the original vibe is still present. While the holes are not super long, they are technical and do require a variety of shots to score well.

Unlike other mountain courses, the course is fairly easy to navigate and the holes do not simply go up and down. The first nine holes start out from the parking area going down the tube run. After Hole 3 play begins to slowly traverse across and up the hillside to Hole 9 next to the parking area. The second nine holes again leave from parking area and work down the hillside. Starting at Hole 14, players start to gradually traverse back up the mountain again to the lodge and parking area. The final 9 holes are the most challenging and begin just down and to the right of the lodge parking area. These are the longest holes on the course and cover the most elevation change. Holes 19-25 all play across and up the mountain. Holes 25 through 27 bring players back down to lodge area.

I personally prefer the holes in the short positions, but the long positions are also fun and very thoughtful additions. They are not just longer to be longer like happens at so many other courses. The long pins generally require different shot selection and really change things up. Long or short, the course still requires some stamina. The great part is you can play 9 and rest and play another 9 and rest and then finish another 9 if you still have energy. You can choose which nine holes you want to play first. The first nine holes are the shortest and require the least amount of physical activity. The middle nine requires more stamina and the final nine holes require the most endurance and are the most challenging.

Alcohol is legal on the course.


Cons: For a pay to play course, I expect better signage and definitely expect the restrooms to be clean and operational. Watch out for rattlesnakes at all times. While many areas of buckthorn have been removed from the fairways of many holes, it is still abundant on the mountainside. Errant shots could easily end up in this nasty thorn filled shrub.
Other Thoughts: Recommend sturdy hiking shoes for the rugged terrain and long pants to keep interaction with thorny plants at a minimum. That being said, you can still play this course in shorts and sneakers if you are in good shape and don't mind a bit of dust and stickers.

I have been the TD for the annual PDGA/So Cal Series event at this course since 2005. Pin placements for several holes are changed between the first and second rounds. Tom Bant will generally have the pins in both positions in the weeks prior to the event. On-site camping at Table Mountain adds to the feel of the event.

18 of 18 people found this review helpful.

 

2-4    10/18/2009   10/20/2009
Review By: dg_fever
Played: 38  Reviewed: 2  Exp: 6.3 Years
0 Helpful / 12 Not
Pros: Lots of up and down. 27 holes. Well maintained, well marked. Fantastic setting. You can camp within walking distance of the course. Friendly staff. Great place to make a day or weekend of your DG experience if you live in LA.
Cons: Relatively short holes. Closed for winter

0 of 12 people found this review helpful.

 Sunrise

5+    8/1/2008   10/2/2008
Review By: thrownow
Played: 9  Reviewed: 7  Exp: 39.7 Years
3 Helpful / 7 Not
Pros: Elevation and challenge on a great property. Beautiful ski area mountain top course within easy reach of the LA metro region. Dunipace/Bant design uses the hills and trees superbly. You will hike - so wear the proper footwear. Table Mountain Campground adjacent. Love it up here! Can be 10 to 15 degrees cooler than the flat land in the summer.
Cons: Closes in the winter. Tees could be improved.

3 of 10 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.