Wrightwood, CA
Sky High DGC Share
Uploaded By: mikethrice Hole #8 (Taken 6/2009)
3 / 262ft.   3 / --   3 / --   3 / -- Par / Distance:
Hole #8 Tee



Reviews: 33
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
< Prev 1 2
The Best Course in SoCal, Hands Down

1    8/4/2012   8/6/2012
Review By: rmcguire86
Played: 17  Reviewed: 8  Exp: 5.7 Years
6 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: - Amazing use of seasonal property. Kudos to the guy who figured out that a ski run in the summer would make an excellent disc golf course.

- The layout is great. The front nine is loaded with monster holes, while more technical stuff is worked into the last 18. A great "top of the world" shot on hole 11. 18 is a great tunnel shot, and you'll be able to park it, but only if you hit the line exactly right.

- The course is challenging, but not difficult just for difficulty's sake, which is really nice. I was never frustrated, or felt that a hole was "cheap."

- Course really lets you mix your shots up. I was using my forehand almost as much as my back hand.

- The view is AWESOME. The course is 7500 feet up, and overlooks the desert. If there's no haze, you can see for miles.

- Joe, the guy running the place, is really cool. He'll give you a good run-down of the course layout. Be sure to grab a map if its your first time out.

- Camping nearby. Took the wife and the dog, had a wonderful weekend.
Cons: - The signs don't tell you which location the pin is at. A very minor complaint, but several of the holes are obscured or blind and some kind of marker would be nice.

-There is an unusual amount of trash on the course. Some of it looked disc golf related (i.e. beer bottles) but most of it looked like skier detrus. That being said, the guys who run the course probably can't do much more than they already have to solve this problem. There are trash cans at almost every tee pad, and the course is WAY too big and rugged to go out and collect trash. That's why this didn't factor into my rating very much.
Other Thoughts: This course is RUGGED. Make sure you wear hiking boots or other appropriate shoes. Bring water and sunscreen. Watch out for rattle snakes. Not a course you blow through in an hour or so. Take your time, enjoy the surroundings. This is definitely a destination type course.

For someone who plays at or slightly above sea level, the elevation was a shock for me. Discs fly completely differently when your 7500 feet up. Everything is more over stable and flies faster. It took me four holes or so to get used to the difference, but once I did it added another facet to my round.

Be careful with your shots. On some holes, if you miss your line you'll probably never see your disc again. I lost one while I was out there (Yellow Tee Devil, Hole 24) and found one as well. Not really a con, just a result of the awesomely designed course.

6 of 7 people found this review helpful.

 you gotta play this course

5+    7/13/2012   8/1/2012
Review By: dscglfool
Played: 1  Reviewed: 1  Exp: 29.1 Years
0 Helpful / 4 Not
Pros: very well layed out course in either a or b positions. lodge and staff are excellent. joe has done a very good job with this course. it is well manicured but,if you arent accurate buckthorne abounds. there is enough action on these 27 holes to satisfy any addicted golfer.
Cons: high winds in afternoon lots of u.v. so wear your sunscreen . course is only seasonal but is not so bad with the addition of glen helen course 12 miles away
Other Thoughts: not for the weak of arm. the elevation requires more power to get your disks to work right. forehand seems to work well on several holes. bring a camera the views are unmatched hole 11 is the top of the world shot and will rival any like it. also hole 1 is a long downhill shot with 2 placements. both are difficult but if you hit your line easily parkable. lol good luck. overall the best so cal course. only knock is the seasonal. but as i said we now have glen helen and if that doesnt do it for you yucaipa is second in line to sky high for best play for the trip

0 of 4 people found this review helpful.

  Sky High DGReview

5+    8/28/2011   8/28/2011
Review By: discgolfer521
Played: 1  Reviewed: 1  Exp: 9.8 Years
3 Helpful / 6 Not
Pros: This course is amazing as it represents every type of mountain terrain from fire road to throwing over a 50 foot wide gap. While it demands supreme accuracy, Sky High was the first course that I ever shot under par on. While all of the uphill shots provide advantages for power throwers, there are many wooded and not wooded down hill shots that are nice for beginner players and accuracy throwers. Sky High is a 4 mile hike all the way through with great views. Think about it, does it really get much better than disc golf with a panoramic view of the Mojave Desert. If you look carefully, you can see huge dust devils down below.
Cons: There are a couple holes that if you let it go too early or too late or throw too far, I highly doubt that you will ever see your disc again. Many of the rubber mat tee pads are uneven so you want to plan your takeoff beforehand.
Other Thoughts: This course is definitely worthy of hosting the PDGA WORLDS!!!!

3 of 9 people found this review helpful.

  Hiking with a purpose

5+    8/27/2011   8/28/2011
Review By: dwEEbs
Played: 1  Reviewed: 1  Exp: 4.9 Years
6 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Let's start with the course.....
Each tee box offers the player a unique set of challenges and often more then one solution to the hole. Think it through before you chuck your discs because a long throw on many holes could make your hike a whole lot longer as many holes are next to down hill areas. These add a lot of distance to your throws.

Of all the courses I have played, bye far this is the most interesting layout and far and above offers the most enjoyment and strategy for the advanced player while giving the beginning player every opportunity to play their game as well. I know this because I learned to play here and as my game gets better, I play it so differently then i did in the beginning. I have a 70 year old woman playing the front 9 now 3 days a week and she loves it. so whether you throw 600 feet or 30 feet sky high is the perfect choice to spend your day.

A note to beginners.... the buck brush will cut you up. Hole 4 play to the left of the fairway... almost to hole 5's tee box, then continue back to the fairway to finish the hole out. Hole 14 play back to the lift staying to the right or the hill to avoid the cliff and buck brush on the side of the hill.

Now to the location
How can you beat playing disc golf while looking at views of the entire desert and beyond? The views are incredible to say the least and many times i will pause my game just to sit on a rock or log and just look. The weather is at least 15 degrees cooler then areas down the mountain and as much as 25 degrees cooler then many of the other courses in so cal.

Finally to the people

Joe and Dewey are awesome. Always there to offer advice and solve any issues you might have. If your playing for the first time, make sure you go over the map with them carefully because the first time you play can be confusing. The locals are always happy to help also so don't hesitate to ask for help or advice. This is truly a friendly environment with everyone just enjoying all this place has to offer. The pro shop has several different choices despite a recent break in and theft and there are some great deals to be had. Just show up and get all you need to enjoy your day
Cons: Some of the tee pads are uneven, a product of the environment. simply rehearse your run up before your actual throw to make sure your footing is right for your throw.
Other Thoughts: Altitude affects the discs flight. Even high rated under stable discs become stable at this elevation. Basically what this means to the weekend player is up here, you'll want to make some practice throws before you get started. A rhbh throw is going to turn left quicker then they do down the mountain. Something i figured out when i couldn't even throw some of my discs at courses down the mountain.

It's $7 bucks to play all day but once you play it you'll wish you bought the $35 season pass. When your down in Anaheim sweltering from the heat you'll want to be up here where the day is way cooler and the air is clean.

The lodge offers cold drinks and alcohol is allowed on the course. Please use the trash cans made readily available for all of your trash to help keep the place clean. They do all they can to pick up trash but that should be up to us who bring the trash to simply put in the big blue barrels they provide.

Make sure your names and numbers are on your discs because many lost discs are returned when found by others.

So instead of sitting there reading this review, I suggest you get to sky high today and enjoy a course designed to challenge experts as well as beginners, great air quality and weather and people who are friendly and helpful.

Last note: You gotta wear real shoes, no sandles etc because you really are hiking with a purpose.

6 of 7 people found this review helpful.

  Cooler temps, great course

2-4    7/1/2011   7/5/2011
Review By: rock crusher
Played: 1  Reviewed: 1  Exp: 7 Years
0 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: Incredible views, cooler temps, no wind (today at least)
Course is laid out very well, set up in 3, 9 hole segments, that return you to the pro shop each time. Was told they put out new tee mats recently, trash cans, recycle cans, and benches through out the course. decent amount of inventory in the pro shop, Burgers, dogs, and beer in the lodge. great time, people there were very friendly and welcoming. Had a blast will be back soon.
Cons: Lots of thorny bushes, they are off of the beaten path but if you have one get away watch out for rattlesnakes.
Other Thoughts: The benches were great but make of steel they got very hot in the sun light, maybe wooden benches next time. #11 is incredible, the guy in the shop said it was his favorite, and is now mine really cool watching the discs catch the thermals AWESOME!!!!!!

0 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 So Close To Heaven

2-4    8/28/2010   9/2/2010
Review By: Jukeshoe
Played: 185  Reviewed: 148  Exp: 4.6 Years
24 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: -Sky High DGC is located in Angeles National Park, 7500-some feet above sea level. Stunning scenery showcases the surrounding mountains, dotted sparsely with stunted shrubberies, thorns and pines. The course plays up and down ski slopes on fairly treacherous terrain. Guests must sign waivers for dangers such as falls, bears, mountain lions, or rattlesnakes, of which apparently there are quite a few. The proprietor had recently moved one large black rattler that kept appearing on the same hole. Despite the dangers (or maybe because of them?) this course is utterly epic.
-Elevation galore! Elevation loss and/or gain provides the main challenge throughout the 27 holes. Every up and down is used to its utmost potential, creating a weaving path across the mountainside. Risk/reward situations abound: many holes have clever pin positions that challenge players' accuracy with severe rollaways into large buckthorn patches or off the side of the mountain. No pin position was unfair, but with wind the course definitely makes even experienced players rethink throwing favorite discs due to the risk of losing one over the edge.
-Mandatories and a scattering of mature pines as well as the occasional shrubbery provide line-shaping opportunities. A clever trick of design encourages right-handed anhyzers yet the thin mountain air renders all but the most robust turnover shots unmanageable. Discs seem to fall "heavier" and putts often fall short without compensation for the altitude. Throwing here is like throwing on the moon, in the most spectacularly awesome way!
-Great signs that give hole history, alternative pin positions, and accurately describe the hole at hand. Trash cans and occasional places to sit. Pro shop sells hot food, discs, etc. The lodge has restrooms.
-Camping on site. The camp hostess, Aurie, is awesome. When someone questioned the rise in rates from $12 to $20, Aurie put her hand on her hip, looked at the huge cloudless blue sky arms-reach above us and said, "How can you complain when you're so close to Heaven?"
Cons: - Rubber tees are uneven in places. One or two are eroded or rutted out by rainwater. I can't mark the course down much on this though, as concrete tees are not allowed in national parks, the hills are used in winter for skiing, and the natural erosion of the mountain-side all prevent proper tees from being added.
- $7 for a day pass. $35 for a yearly pass. Definitely reasonable for out-of-towners, and certainly a deal for the year's pass if you plan on playing here regularly.
- The course was pretty trashed when I played it; however, the area had just experienced 30-45 mph winds after a steady deluge during the previous days. The wind/water knocked or washed a lot of trash onto the slopes, spoiling the natural beauty in places.
Other Thoughts: - Don't miss the "bonus basket" after #27...my group missed it despite it being clearly marked on the map. Speaking of which, be sure to grab a map at the pro shop. It makes navigation a snap.
- Be certain to sacrifice a disc off the ledge near hole 11. Sacrificing discs appeases the discin' gods as well as sends your plastic on a much-deserved vacation to Las Vegas.
- Be cautious. "Full shoes" are required, hiking boots recommended (although I got through totally fine in light tennis shoes). Dangerous wildlife and treacherous terrain should be taken seriously. Don't fall down on or get bit by nature.

24 of 24 people found this review helpful.

 Socal Disc Golf at it's Best

5+    7/23/2010   7/25/2010
Review By: TrippinBill
Played: 31  Reviewed: 8  Exp: 7.2 Years
15 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: This course is gorgeous! Set in the Angeles Forest, it has the cleanest air of any Socal course by far. At 7400 ft elevation, you can see North for over 100 miles. This is my favorite course in Southern California for many reasons. The above mentioned scenery, the excellent course design, the seclusion, the disc golf only aspect, and the thin air. The thin air makes your discs perform much differently than they normally would. This is the only course I go to that I actually rearrange my entire bag before I go out. The tee pads are rubber, and mostly in good shape. There is multiple pin positions for every hole, in some cases up to four. Trash cans and recycling bins are staggered throughout the course every couple of holes, and the baskets are mostly in good shape. The course is designed so you can stop at the pro shop or your car after every nine holes. The pro shop is not what it used to be, but still has some discs, and I'm told that custom minis are on the way. This year there are hambugers and hotdogs as well as beer and water that can be purchased at the pro shop. A welcome addition. The elevation here is dramatic, but the design is so great that you never feel like you're just hiking uphill all day. After you play one or two downhill, you work your way up gradually for a few holes. There are no extreme uphill holes, but there are plenty that play uphill. Hole #11 is the "top of the world" hole, and it's the best I've seen. I'm sure there are better out there, but I haven't played them. Another one of my favorite features is the sacrificial tee pad for throwing your unwanted plastic off a huge cliff. Although there is no actual tee pad this year, the spot is still there.
Cons: The absolute biggest con to this course is that it is only open in the Summer/Fall months. Also, the buckthorn. The buckthorn is the nastiest bush I have ever encountered. It is thick, the thorns are sharp, and it's diet consists solely of plastic. Pants are recommended if you are going to go in there looking for a disc. One more con is that they didn't get all the tee pads and baskets back from Yucipa this year. I believe there are two holes with natural tee pads now, and the practice basket is missing. From what I understand, one of the baskets was stolen in Yucipa. There is still 27 baskets though and it's easy enough to warm up on hole 9's basket.
Other Thoughts: The course is under new management this year. I will miss Tom, but the new guy Joe is super nice. He knows the land very well and really putting a great effort into it. He is also the chef, and the burger I had was pretty good. I highly recommend you take a couple days, camp at the campsites that are literally a disc's throw away from the course, get some good exercise, and play some absolutely amazing disc golf.

15 of 16 people found this review helpful.

 A Destination Course if ever there was one!

1    6/20/2010   6/20/2010
Review By: bazillion
Played: 55  Reviewed: 37  Exp: 13.6 Years
20 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Absolutely incredible setting, 7400 feet above sea level in a pine forest with stupendous views popping up all over the place. You can literallly see 40-50-60 miles to the north from a number of vantage points. While you're playing and enjoying the scenery, all you hear is the wind in the trees and the birds chirping, plus an occasional "ching" and an occasional "aw ****", just to keep things interesting :-)

Navigation is a snap. The course map looks hokey but is very accurate and with a couple of exceptions, all tees are visible from the previous basket. Lots of trash cans near the tees, restroom facilities here and there, oh and did I mention the scenery???

Now as to play. Each hole on this course presents you with a challenge. Some challenges are easy to solve, some are more difficult, but none are trivial and none are repetitive. You never walk up to a tee and say to yourself, "I just saw this back there". What impressed me is that I could tell this is true for all skill levels. I'm a noodle arm, and the fun factor for me was out of sight. I've also been playing with some decent players - a lot better than I am - and I could tell that had they been there, they would have had the same experience as I did. To me, that bespeaks superior course design and makes Sunrise a four-disc course, even without all the rest of the good stuff. Like the scenery, for instance ...

The clubhouse (which I visited but did not check out thoroughly since I was hot to play) looks grand and offers dogs & burgers out on the back deck. Beer is available too, for those who imbibe.
Cons: The ONLY con I can think of is the trash. There's a lot of it.

I can only hope that it comes from the ski crowd and only becomes visible when the snow melts - with the number of trash cans available for use, there's really no excuse not to have a clean course.
Other Thoughts: The DG facility has changed hands, effective with the 2010 season, and is now run by a guy named Joe Affleck. He has been running the ski stuff for a number of years and seems anxious to improve the local DG scene. The name of the course will be changing to SKY HIGH, probably sometime this year, and the course web site - http://www.mthigh.com/discgolf - will be going through a redesign as well.

For now, course hours are Mon 3-8, Tues through Fri 12-8, Sat and Sun 9-8. It cost me $7 to play (totally worth it) but I neglected to find out if this was a weekend rate or all the time.

Edit: Gotta say one more thing that I just remembered. I lost my wristwatch during my round and someone from a group following me picked it up, hollered at me from two holes back, and ran up to return it. Didn't even have my name & number on the back!

20 of 20 people found this review helpful.

 Extreme Course

1    7/10/2009   7/12/2009
Review By: coast2coast
Played: 89  Reviewed: 32  Exp: 10.9 Years
This review was updated on 7/14/2009
9 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Challenging. 27 holes. Map and refreshments available at lodge from friendly staff. Stunning views and setting. Wildlife abounds. Great variety. Drastic elevation changes. Signs on every hole with map, distance to basket, and a helpful hint or interesting fact on some. There is a spot to get rid of your old discs called sacrificial ledge. A round of 27 is good exercise. Not Crowded. Camping nearby. Season pass available for $20.
Cons: Closed for ski season. Inaccurate drives are very harshly punished. Well worn rubber tees. Look out for snakes!
Other Thoughts: This is extreme disc golf! The course is literally on top of a mountain and some of the fairways are black diamond ski trails. The baskets had been moved for a tournament so first time navigation was somewhat of an issue, but i'm told the map is accurate when the pins are in their normal positions.

9 of 9 people found this review helpful.

 Worth Every Effort To Play

2-4    7/5/2009   7/6/2009
Review By: markwilsonsd
Played: 13  Reviewed: 3  Exp: 34.9 Years
1 Helpful / 9 Not
Pros: Scenery, course design, variety, weather, elevation allows bomb shots for low power throwers.
Cons: no real cons.. but VERY grueling workout. VERY long uphill par 3's for an average player.
Other Thoughts: Read others reviews. Their descriptions are exactly what you will get. Worth the drive, gas, $, etc...

1 of 10 people found this review helpful.

< Prev 1 2

Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.