Wrightwood, CA 
Sky High DGC Share
Uploaded By: mikethrice Hole #13 (Taken 6/2009)
3 / 201ft.   3 / --   3 / --   3 / -- Par / Distance:
Hole #13 Tee



Reviews: 34
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
< Prev 1 2
Epic SoCal course

5+    5/10/2013   4/16/2014
Review By: Nasastevo
Played: 23  Reviewed: 2  Exp: 3.3 Years
1 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: *Altitude
*Cool fresh mountain air
*Panoramic views
*Campgrounds
*Great mix of technical and BOMB drive holes
*Great proshop with ice cold beer and decent food
*Friendly knowledgeable staff
*The best $35 I spend every year!
*27 holes or 3 separate 9's. You chose...
*Dave Dunnipace (Innova) designed, so you know it's great!
*The BEST course in SoCal. BAR NONE. Don't believe me? Come out and play it!!
Cons: Buckthorn! Rattlesnakes! Lost discs, oh my!
Seriously not negatives just hazards. Bummer that it's not open year round but I'd rather not play in snow anyway...
Other Thoughts: Whether you live in SoCal or are visiting, YOU MUST PLAY THIS COURSE! Trust me! It's an experience that all disc golfers will enjoy and remember!

1 of 2 people found this review helpful.

It's all in the name...

2-4    5/24/2013   6/14/2013
Review By: JasonVista
Played: 26  Reviewed: 3
2 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: -Beautiful views, clean air, truly an adventure in nature.
-Challenging and exciting layout with tons of risk/reward shots.
-Aside from the disc golf challenge this course is also a fitness challenge with massive elevation changes throughout. It's an awesome hike!
-TJ in the shop is SO helpful (I played a tournament up here and had the amazing luck of getting paired up with him)
-NOT brutal in it's difficulty. Someone had told me this course was as tough as Dela, but that was non-sense. You can score out here if you are having a good round, but extreme punishment is lurking behind the next pin should you make a little error.
-It's fun to see the difference in stability of the discs at elevation, it's pretty crazy. Definitely bring your beat in plastic and send it soaring on lines it hasn't seen since day one.
-Course has a very fair variety of RHBH and LHBH holes... my RHFH came in really handy on the final 9 up above the lodge to ring up a few birdies.
-Hole 1 is an amazing down hill bomb, as well as hole 11. Both incredibly fun, crazy, dangerous, things of beauty.
-The rest of the holes (except #3). Every hole feels well designed, and the magnitude of the mountains lends an epic feeling to every hole.
Cons: -Hole #3, smoted me in the tournament. Short down hill putter toss. Was my 25th hole played and I was -6 before arriving. I gently threw my putter, and the head wind coming off the desert caused the putter to never, ever fade. That thing went forever, after looking for a while about 600 ft from the pad, down the mountain, I had to re-tee, and got a triple bogey. Oh well.
-Only open Fri-Sun, wish I could live nearby and play everyday out here.
Other Thoughts: This course is really fun! I can't wait to get back up here soon and play more.

2 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 Amazing Course!

1    9/1/2012   9/1/2012
Review By: cvvanarsdale
Played: 18  Reviewed: 1  Exp: 2.2 Years
This review was updated on 9/4/2012
6 Helpful / 5 Not
Pros: This was by far the best course I have ever played. I will definitely be back to play more in the future.

-Great view and beautiful course.
-Well manicured.
-Challenging holes.
-Rubber tees.
-Multiple pins for most holes.
-Nice staff at the pro shop.
-The course has a simple layout and we never got confused when we looked for the next tee.
-Bathrooms close by the end of the first 9 and the end of 27, they were very clean.
-Ran into some players from Innova. They play here from time to time because the company is down around Ontario.


To add to the staff at the pro shop, he was very thorough with the course directions. He also gave us a few tips on the course and allowed us to borrow discs that we were thinking about buying, for no charge.

If you get the chance, play this course.
Cons: I honestly don't really have anything bad to say. Some of the tee signs need to be fixed, but additional to that I have no major complaints.
Other Thoughts: Some other reviews say that there should be some shorter holes or that the long pins would not be easy to play, but honestly when I went there was only one or two holes that you played short on. I personally think that's what makes it a challenge. When you are from a town where there is only one short course where every hole is 150-250 feet, you want to throw far. I am still fairly new to the game and I was still able to manage to par over half of the holes.

I know I have been playing for less than a year, but I have played over 7 courses now, ones that were straight up terrible and others that were almost as great as Sky High. You don't have to be an expert to spot a good course from a bad one.

6 of 11 people found this review helpful.

  I Love Disc Golf

2-4    8/12/2012   8/21/2012
Review By: My dads Lion
Played: 15  Reviewed: 1  Exp: 4.4 Years
5 Helpful / 5 Not
Pros: Course was really fun with all the adventure style holes and wildlife to boot. Lots of shade, mixture of holes, fresh air, views, scenic landscape, sweet pro shop, bathrooms, food close by, parking lot, cool temperatures, easy to follow, and the challenge was king.
Cons: I honestly dont have any. Went so smooth I cannot think of another time that was this good. Dad paid for me to play and my food, so win win for the youth players.
Other Thoughts: Wish I lived closer, I would play this one alot. The area is beautiful and with two courses in Wrightwood you cant go wrong, just need a connection to get in the other. I recommend playing here for the entire day, you wont go wrong, the other area courses just dont compete.

5 of 10 people found this review helpful.

  Wow Wow Wow

2-4    8/12/2012   8/20/2012
Review By: mariana_ryan
Played: 11  Reviewed: 1  Exp: 6.8 Years
5 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: First off I have probably been to 50 courses with my dad as a player and spectater, this course was the longest and most challenging. The day we showed up all the holes were in the short positions which was sweet. ( I got 2 birdies). Awesome downhill holes that enable the younger crowd to throw further then ever, I did on hole 11. Course was easy to follow and we actually played the 1st and last 9 hole loops quick. I loved the weather and no bugs. I didnt see any bugs or get bitten, thank god. This course makes you feel like champion once you complete it and it wasnt bad with all the shade and walking down a hill to finish. I also liked that we got ice cream and food right after in town like a few minutes away. Plenty of stores to stock up on grub before you head up. By far the most challenging course I ever played or witnessed.
Cons: I did see a snake on hole 12. Wish there was water on the course, Its tough carrying 9 discs and a few water bottles up the hills. It would be cool if there was closer tees for the younger crowd or most as good. I dont know if I could of played the entire thing if the holes werent all in the shorts, I cannot image what the longs would have looked like.
Other Thoughts: This is the hardest course I have ever played. My dad took me here and told me to prepare myself for a monster course that was going to give me a real work out and help get me in shape for soccer, he wasnt lying. Also the pro shop was awesome and super nice. I had a great burger there and got a nice pink leopard from the shop which was loaded in discs.

5 of 7 people found this review helpful.

 Summer 2012

5+    8/12/2012   8/20/2012
Review By: cordovafirebird
Played: 202  Reviewed: 2  Exp: 7 Years
8 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: First off I have been playing this course for 5 years and with all the improvements over the years I finally feel its deserving of a 5. I feel that the current layout enables you to start on any 9 hole loop and play the course with no problems, especially if you show up on a crowded day which has never occured. The layout is simple to follow and you have direct line of sight to the next teepad once you finish a hole from the basket. You wont find any over grown vegetation on the putting green and rarely any in the OB areas. Baskets are all in great shape and the pads were all level. Great improvements on ensuring there wasnt anymore lumps or possible trip areas on pads. Parking is never a problem, clubhouse has food, drinks for all ages, and plastic. All you need to make it in wrightwood. The bathroom is at the clubhouse, so there is one after every 9 holes, plus one near the end of hole 9 aswell. Views are stunning and the landscape is peaceful. Just great weather all the time with the occational winds to challenge you.
Cons: If your not used to playing in higher elevation the hike will tire you out quicker and bring more understable plastic. Lots of downhill and uphill shots. There is a price to play which might be seen as a negative, but worth the price to keep the course running smoothly. In the future add more benches. Need to bring back the practice basket. I would like to see the downstairs bathroom open aswell at the clubhouse. Also if possible open up hole 27A once a few objects get moved to avoid broken windows.
Other Thoughts: I just played this course for the annual tourney here and it was spectacular. I camped nearby with what felt like half of the individuals playing the tourney. The Pro shop did a great job of using the heavy machinary to clear some brush and make some of the long downhill walks much better. Im an older individual and this course can really take it out on your legs, but with the vast improvement in the trails and slopes, this place is top knotch.

8 of 9 people found this review helpful.

 Epic

5+    8/12/2012   8/20/2012
Review By: lion
Played: 544  Reviewed: 23  Exp: 8.8 Years
12 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: 1. Strong mix of holes, over half the holes on the course have more then one position.
2. Nice fly 18 rubber tee pads with plenty of life and good grip
3. all holes are easy to navigate and the trails are well beat in from hole to hole.
4. I didnt encounter any fox tails or overgrown vegetation. Course was well manicured and kept up. No poison oak or tall grass. Course was put into championship standards.
5. No crossing fairways and plenty of mixed holes. Course provided a chance to use every shot in my bag.
6. New tee positions were nice on Hole 1 and hole 10. I notice that they change a few holes every year and it really keeps things interesting.
7. well positioned benches were nice on a few of the uphill walks, the rest of the course doesnt need benches since course is three 9 hole loops that meet in the parking lot, which gives you a chance to rest.
8. With an elevation at 7200-7400 its much cooler and has stunning views throughout. Nice sacrifice ledge after hole hole 12. Gives you a chance to throw a disc a mile and sacrifice one to the gods.
9. course has a good mix of elevation, the distance vary quiet a bit and it keeps the game interesting.
10. Clubhouse in the middle offers food and drinks, plus discs.
11. I was pleased to see plenty of trash cans throughtout the course and baskets have been rotated alot lately.
Cons: 1. I would like to see more hole placements in the future if possible.
2. Paying 7 dollars for a day there.
3. A few tee signs need to be replaced and updated.
Other Thoughts: The course was recently cleaned up and put into top form for a tourney there and I'm sure it will stay that way until it closes for the winter. My cons arent really cons at all. The 7 dollars is worth it, but most dont play more then a round because of the hiking involved. Wish it was open longer and if you do decide to come up there is camping within walking distance of the course by holes 7&8. Makes it super conveinent to play and camp for the weekend.

12 of 13 people found this review helpful.

 My New Favorite

5+    9/3/2011   9/22/2011
Review By: DocHaole
Played: 72  Reviewed: 48  Exp: 7.1 Years
11 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: - The course is like nothing I've ever played, at 7400ft this is truly disc golf paradise. Scenic vistas throughout the course where you can see for miles. The air is clean, cool, and much thinner than back on sea level.

- The 27 hole course consists of 3 9 holers that loop back the the same general area. This is especially helpfull since you may need break in between, beer is legal here. Each 9 holer seems to have it's own personality which keeps it interesting.

- The course design maximizes the potential of this incredible piece of land. It's not just all uphill then downhill. Most holes give you more than one choice of approach both with clear and immenent hazards. In the back of your mind there is always the 400 foot rollaway looming around the corner. The course definitely rewards accuracy and severely punishes bad shots.

- The layout is technical in a way that has clear hazards but safe landing zones or accurate throws.

- Tee pads are great, definitely the longest rubber tee pads I've ever seen. Baskets are in great shape and Tee signs are accurate making navigation relatively simple. Also they give you maps at the pro shop which are easy to follow.

- The DG vibe here is like nothing else I've seen. You can tell that everyone here truly appreciates the unique beauty and challenge that is Sky High DGC. Not only will you find everyone to be friendly, but also the pace is chill. You don't drive up here just to get in a quick round, but rather to take in the experience. Take your time, enjoy the scenery and patronize the bar and grill.

- The elevation changes everything, making the discs fly more stable. So you can leave the max weight boss in the car. The drastic change makes it more interesting after playing at low elevation all this time.

- Camping on site. It's definitely worth staying up here for the weekend.

- Overall the course was in great shape. I didn't run across much anything in the way of trash or any signs of disrepair. It sounds like the new guys have done a lot to clean things up.
Cons: I am really reaching here to find any cons. The biggest one is that it closes in the winter, but at 7500' what can you do.

Other Thoughts: I was blown away by this course. I can't believe that it took me a year of living in SoCal before I made it up here. The only course that I can even compare to this place is Lake Casitas. I don't take the 5.0 rating lightly but I truly feel that this course is disc golf perfection. I get the argument that this course has more short holes than others of this caliber but it makes it even more important to sink that birdie when you can.

Definitely bring a disc to sacrifice off the cliff to appease the DG gods. Also, I recommend spending some time hanging out at the 11th tee watching people launch down the hill. Just watch out for that first tree.

11 of 13 people found this review helpful.

  Best all around expirence

2-4    7/25/2010   9/6/2010
Review By: fmagdaleno
Played: 15  Reviewed: 1  Exp: 4.3 Years
1 Helpful / 12 Not
Pros: The best views in so cal and you get to play dg!! Only 45 minute drive from orange. Discs fly really well so be careful on your throws.
Cons: Make sure you watch your discs because they can get lost real easy.
Other Thoughts: Great hike

1 of 13 people found this review helpful.

 Break out the understables

5+    8/10/2009   12/10/2009
Review By: Apothecary
Played: 66  Reviewed: 36  Exp: 17.3 Years
34 Helpful / 8 Not
Pros: -cleanest air in socal
-3 separate 9 hole courses. makes it conducive to taking breaks at the picnic/camping area.
-great pro shop with knowledgeable staff and a pretty good disc selection
-WILD shots-hole 11 is my fave hole in all of discgolfdom. very long and a ton of elevation drop. will rival any top of the world hole out there.
-tons of animals. whenever i play this course, we seem to be the only people out there. rabbits, deer and snakes abound.
-the most rigorous workout one can get from a disc golf course.
-accurate maps, signs
-solid teepads
-excellent course design. this course has a place for every shot imaginable (except rollers, perhaps)
-a nice teepad for the sacrificial alter to the disc gods. take your old discs here to die...throw off a mountain cliff and land somewhere in the desert, 10 miles away
-camping available pretty much right on the course
Cons: -course not available in the winter (us discers have to share it with the skiers come snow season)
-LOTS of opportunities to lose your disc. many hills to go behind and brush and debris to get buried in. binoculars recommended.
Other Thoughts: super technical course. at around 7,000' above sea level, the air is much thinner than most socal courses, making every disc act more overstable. add in the massive elevation changes, huge pine trees and other obstacles and you get one of the most difficult yet rewarding disc golf experiences to be had. it helps to link up with anyone you see out there to shoot. more eyes often means less lost discs.
bring your old, unwanted plastic to chuck off the cliff after hole 11. last time i was there i threw a dx wraith that hit one too many trees. i think it was up for about 35 seconds before it bombed and probable left a crator the size of a volkswagon.
hands down the hardest and most interesting course in southern california.

34 of 42 people found this review helpful.

< Prev 1 2

Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.