Kearney, NE 
Sunrise Middle School DGC Share
Uploaded By: fretgod321 Hole #5 (Taken 5/2011)
3 / 280ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #5 Tee



Reviews: 7
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
School Discin

1    9/4/2013   9/9/2013
Review By: mndiscg
Played: 348  Reviewed: 342  Exp: 6.5 Years
1 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: -Nice DGA baskets
-Tees are marked unlike the high school
-Lots of ace runs here
-Good for teaching beginners, playing a really quick round, practicing certain shots
-I liked hole 4, a short ace run with a protected basket.
-Gets the sport out to new players.
Cons: -Course goes all over school grounds including right in front of the school and all over the track and field in back of the school. This is going to make it hard to play those holes right before school or right after school and during sporting practice. The course is also probably closed to the public during school hours.
-Holes are mostly open and short.
-The flow is only ok, I printed out the map from here and it was very helpful.
-No elevation
-Your discs will get beat up if you land on the track. It is tar and not a modern synthetic track surface so it is like landing on a parking lot.
-Nebraska is windy.
-Tees are natural
Other Thoughts: -This course is at a middle school and they used their land fairly well. The shorter hole lengths and lack of challege is good because most middle schoolers are going to be beginners.
-Unless you are a course bagger, I wouldn't bother playing here. Cottonwood is the only truly worthy course in town.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

unplayable when sports are practicing.

1    6/17/2013   6/18/2013
Review By: prerube
Played: 213  Reviewed: 195  Exp: 7.5 Years
2 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Nice DGA baskets
Ace Runs abound.
introduces middle school students to disc golf in a safe environment.
holes 1-4 were a nice start with attractive short holes that could challenge new players.
Cons: Holes 1 and 2 missing signs.

No challenge. I deuced every hole except 6 (I played the wrong basket) and 9 (I just blew it)
Guide tap (colored tape on basket pointing to next tee) would have been nice. Hole 5 was a tough find.

as a physical educator myself, I am suprised at holes 5-7. I think holes inside the track fence are a poor choice:
Hole 5 throws over back turn of the track and over tee 6. 6 appears to go parallel with the long jump pit, but the actual basket has your throwing through the soccer goal. 7 throws over the first curve of the track with fence on right and track on left. You can not play these 3 holes if anyone is using the track or football/soccer field.
Tee 8's post was knocked out of the ground, so you have to guess and play safari.
Other Thoughts: I think it is amazing that both the middle school and high school have disc golf. I think it is humorous that the middle school has a better course than the high school, but with budgets getting slashed I have to respect the schools and those who fought to get the courses installed.

2 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 Teaching the next generation

1    7/10/2012   7/19/2012
Review By: srm_520
Played: 152  Reviewed: 138  Exp: 10.6 Years
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: I'm always a fan of having disc golf in schools, and I credit the coaches who implement it in their curriculum. This is a full nine holes that loop building in and out of the fence line, so I wonder how often it is actually used by the students.

Holes are a good length for middle school kids, and #6 would be considered a monster at 470' aiming through the football field and over the track. I like this idea because it gives people a great idea of how far they actually throw. Baskets are in average shape, tee boxes are natural and in good shape, and most holes at marked with at least the hole number.

BEST HOLE/S: #4; #6
Cons: It's a school course and everything that comes with it, and while the course is just about right for the middle school student learning to play the game, it pretty mundane for most players beyond the beginner level. Hole #3 is the only hole that has any real foliage hazard as the rest of the holes (save #6) are straightforward and short without any real obstacles.

Basically, with all of the other disc golf courses Kearney has to offer, this course is one of the lowest on my list - so even if you're a beginner my advice is skip it and spend your time at the Cottonmill or the Fort Kearney course.

WORST HOLE/S: #2; #8
Other Thoughts: When it comes to playing Kearney courses, you basically have Cottonmill DGC and then the rest. And while Cottonmill towers over the others in distance, terrain, playability, and overall quality - having played all of the Kearney courses, I will give and ordered rating of what I viewed as the best courses as well as my personal favorite courses in the area.

The best courses are ordered in what I believe are the variables other DG reviews would require to create a quality disc golf course. My favorite courses will vary a bit from the other rating just based on my overall playing experience and personal preferences. Take each with a grain of salt, and then go hit them all yourself and make your own list.

Overall Course Rating:
1. Cottonmill DGC - 4.0 discs
2. Fort Kearney State Rec. Area - 2.5 discs
3. Centiennial Park - 2.0 discs
4. Sunrise Middle School DGC - 1.5 discs
5. Kearney High School DGC - 1.5 discs.

Personal Enjoyment: (1 is best and 5 is worst)
1. Cottonmill DGC
2. Fort Kearney State Rec. Area
3. Kearney High School DGC
4. Sunrise Middle School DGC
5. Centennial Park

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 Fun and Short

1    12/31/2011   1/1/2012
Review By: 888HUSKERS
Played: 19  Reviewed: 19  Exp: 44.1 Years
This review was updated on 1/16/2012
Pros: Easy course for anyone learning the game of disc golf. While Centennial Park DGC in Kearney, NE would be a better course to learn the game on this would be a good course to practice distance throws because of the length of 1 of the holes.

You can play this one in a short amount of time and not feel drained from major elevation changes that some of the more challenging courses might have.

There is nothing like throwing the length of a football field to find out how good your drive is really going and you get that chance on hole number 8.
Cons: The tee for hole number 8 was damaged by the kids. While the post is still in the area it is not clear were the tee is really supposed to be at.

This course also would only be available during non school hours.
Other Thoughts: I would recommend this as a stop for anyone already in the area but it certainly isn't worth a drive for this alone. This course really is another great course for learning the game of disc golf. I would recommend avoiding the use of any of DX plastic discs on holes 5 and 6 if are worried about them getting banged up because one missed throw or a bad wind gust might send your disc riding across the track which will soon turn your stable to over stable driver into a under stable roller in a hurry.

 

1    6/7/2009   6/7/2009
Review By: fretgod321
Played: 25  Reviewed: 15  Exp: 8.5 Years
1 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: This is a great course for beginners, which is why it was put in for PE class at the school. There are numbered posts that mark the tee for each hole. There are holes that go right and left, and even a long hole across the football field past the goal post (hole 6).
Cons: My only gripe with the course itself is the lack of tee boxes. The course only has natural tees, which the school has tried to replant grass over, resulting in a very uneven surface to throw from. The school just should have left the tee work its way in on its own.
The course is also lacking elevation changes, which is expected, because it's on school grounds
Other Thoughts: In my opinon, the course is a bit short for me. Average disc golfers really only need a putter, midrange, and possibly a fairway driver to play this course. Once again, it is a great course for those who want to learn how to disc golf. I also thought hole where you throw across the football field was great too.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

 TOUCHDOWN!

1    10/2/2008   10/2/2008
Review By: Donovan
Played: 212  Reviewed: 185  Exp: 27.7 Years
11 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: OK, so this is the real rub for me on this course. They put this course in for part of the PE class. So they are teaching kids to play disc golf…WAY COOL! I am just going to say this. The pin on number 6 is in the end zone of the football field. SO the fun factor is high, because of one of the most unique locations for a pin…ever! I mean it was hilarious throwing out on to the field and putting straight through the goal posts to the pin. AND YES, I did yell, "Touchdown!" ;o) Anyway, the variety of hole lengths was really good for this course also and there is almost no way you will lose a disc, unless you throw it on the roof of the school. No, I didn't do that, but it did occur to me. :oD
Cons: No bathrooms, message boards, signs, or anything extra, except I may have actually seen one trashcan. There were posts for the tees and some had numbers on them. I hate that part of the holes play over the running track; this will cause major disc damage. There is no way to play here if there are any activities going on obviously. There are no real obstacles on any of the holes and nothing technical.
Other Thoughts: Here is the dilemma on rating this course. Do you rate low because the course itself is just plain lame and often not accessible. OR, do you rate it a little higher for the fact kids are getting to try the game out and you get play #6. There is no real answer here. All I can say is, "TOUCHDOWN!"

11 of 11 people found this review helpful.

 

1    7/26/2008   7/26/2008
Review By: High Flyer
Played: 23  Reviewed: 23
This review was updated on 8/18/2008
0 Helpful / 5 Not
Pros: Not a bad beginner course. Some very short shots. Some good long distances around the football field.
Cons: All flat, few obstacles.

0 of 5 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.
Disc Golf Center