Disc Golf Store
Sturgeon Bay, WI 
Sunset Park Share
Uploaded By: notapro Hole #5 (Taken 10/2010)
3 / 219ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #5 Tee



Reviews: 8
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
Adequate Beginner Course

2-4    7/2/2014   7/9/2014
Review By: Fluxell
Played: 15  Reviewed: 3
Pros: Holes are fairly open and straight forward.
Cons: The baskets are unforgiving since the chains are attached to the bottom of the basket. None of the holes are very challenging. Missing tee box marker for hole 9
Other Thoughts: If you're looking for something that's easy and open you could do worse (and I have seen worse). Don't expect too much and you won't be disappointed. Also, note that with the pond on the course many of the holes were covered with goose droppings.

 Not bad to play once for a few rounds

5+    5/20/2011   5/20/2011
Review By: schroeder5520
Played: 47  Reviewed: 4  Exp: 20.4 Years
3 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: There are a couple holes that are interesting and/or long. Hole 1 is 419 and usually require a stellar approach as the fairway is lined with huge trees. Hole 2 is 219 but a rough anny for RHBH. Hole 3 is just stupid but an ace run at 159 I think. Hole 4 is longer I think 359 and does make a challenging duece. Hole 5 is okay, just a little blind but so short it doesnt matter. Hole 6 makes good use of available trees but is so short it is still easy with multiple lines. Hole 7 is actually pretty decent, longer and not an easy duece because of lines. Hole 8 is like 100 feet and ridiculous but some people like those ace runs. Hole nine is wide open and should be dueced every time.

Good signage and flow to course...... You cetainly will not get lost.

No one is ever here! You can play fast rounds, throw as many discs as you want on the longer holes.I usually average about 20 min per nine holes.

Baskets are kind of cool because some guy must have just machined them out of aluminum (more on that in the cons section). They suck bad but it adds a weird level of difficulty I have never seen anywhere.

Full Public restrooms are a big plus, as well as views of Sturgeon Bay, huge ships at Bay Shipbuilding right next to it, lots of stuff for kids/family to do if they don't disc.

Right in town so minutes from gas stations, restaurants, bars, shopping, sightseeing. Lots of history around.

WIND could be a plus.
Cons: Well you can gather from most review except for a hole or two it is not challenging except for maybe beginners. If you do see anyone else playing (and I have been out there on beautiful weekend days) they are always kids throwing forehand flicks, and not well usually. I have not once seen anyone with a disc golf bag, or more than 2 discs.

The baskets while being unique are absolute CRAP! They literally have 8-10 chains on them, hung very poorly. The aluminum (sounds like it at least) cage will tear up your putters if you put hard. You can literally hit the center pole a couple times a round and it will jump out. Cage will force jump outs a bunch too, I think it is a lot wider that regular baskets.

Did I mention if you do see anyone no one knows how to play or proper etiquette?

WIND. It is almost always windy, more often than not crazy windy. While I listed this a plus because I do enjoy it from time to time and for practice, but unless you really want practice I recommend checking the wind report for Sturgeon Bay before you come out. And I am saying this to tourists in town, it might not be worth even the 30 minutes of your time if it is really windy. This is partially because the cages suck so bad. For practice? Play a couple rounds, you will probably be pissed after but it is constant wind from many directions so good practice.

No trash cans or benches, so there is some on the course and in the tops of cages.

Very poor natural tees. I usually opt for the grass which can change a couple hole's lines.

Goose poop is really really annoying on holes 2-4 or 5.

An errant shot taken by the wind on hole 7 might hit some overflow parked cars near the baseball diamonds.
Other Thoughts: Well, I really only think this is worth playing if you are in Door County for vacation and want to fit in an hour or two tops of discing. Especially if you just HAVE to get away from the family for a few rounds ha. Otherwise you need to get in the car and at least drive to Algoma last, Green Bay, or Kewaunee I think (Winter Park). Winter Park being the best option around here for someone who plays.

Good luck and happy discing!

3 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 Beginner

1    10/31/2010   11/1/2010
Review By: notapro
Played: 417  Reviewed: 280  Exp: 11.1 Years
6 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: - Course is set in a small portion of a larger park. Pretty separate, only a walking path to contend with.
- A few holes make good use of the available trees. A good RHBH anny route around a tree line, and some others that take away the straight line to the basket.
- Good variety of hole length. One over 450', one at 370', as well as some ace runs.
- Path OB can add some additional challenge on some holes.
- Easy to navigate the hole/length markers. Interesting baskets that catch surprisingly well.
Cons: - All the holes are pretty straightforward apart from the blind anny shot. All other holes can be reached with any type of shot, as long as it avoids the few trees.
- Too many holes are too short, and offer zero challenge or interest.
Other Thoughts: - A good practice course at best; at least there are some longer holes to air out the drivers. Biggest factor here is the wind, which can be quite strong thanks to the lake.

6 of 7 people found this review helpful.

 Quick round

1    7/3/2010   7/6/2010
Review By: mashnut
Played: 815  Reviewed: 763  Exp: 12.6 Years
4 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: The course plays through a flat and grassy waterfront park with some nice views over the waterway. There are easily visible posts marking all the tees with distance marked on them, and decent homemade baskets with clearly visible numbers. The tees are natural but they were flat and free of ruts for the most part so they were fine to throw from. There are a couple interesting holes using the scattered trees in the park to make you shape some lines, and a longer hole where you can throw a little more of a drive.
Cons: The course is flat, mostly open, and other than one hole, pretty short. That makes for a quick and kind of boring round with no really special holes to make you remember the course. The baskets look interesting, but don't catch as well as newer commercial baskets, not a big deal to me but frustrating for some. The park has nice grass, but it is covered in goose poop, watch your step and bring an old towel for your discs.
Other Thoughts: This is a quick and easy course that's a decent place for newer players to try out the sport, but doesn't offer enough challenge or variety to make a more experienced player really have to work at all here. If you're in the area, it's not a bad place to get out and throw, but it's certainly not one worth driving any distance for.

4 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 Nice park, average disc golf . . . bad baskets!!!!

1    9/7/2009   9/8/2009
Review By: harr0140
Played: 736  Reviewed: 478  Exp: 5.7 Years
This review was updated on 11/1/2010
5 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: 1) Course is set in a nice park and relatively removed from other activities. Only one walkpath infringes upon the course.

2) Course uses the best features of this park to make the course as good as it can be for this site.

3) Long opening hole followed by some mid distance holes and a really short technical hole and another mid distance hole to end it. I like the use of the space and distance making the real short hole set in the midst of like 5-6 really large mature trees forcing you to gun right at the basket or try and shape it around one of the trees.

4) Very beginner friendly course because it is mostly open and very flat.

5) Posts and distances on every hole are easily findable and the number plates on top of the baskets are helpful to a beginner to find where they are going (and apparently serve as a wastebasket also) .

6) Nice use of the trees in the park to force some thought about how to attack the baskets.
Cons: 1) Goose poop everywhere . . . what else can you expect it is right along the channel going between Lake Michigan and Green Bay . . . and there are lots of fishing boats going in and out of Sturgeon Bay so I am sure the gulls may also contribute to the poop problem.

2) Fairly wide open course with no elevation changes.

3) It is a quick play . . . too quick because it is 6 holes but I cannot rank the course badly because it is only 6 holes. If noone else was there (or if was the only course I was able to play) I would have invented some other holes to play more holesm or I would play it 3 times trying different lines everytime.

4) Baskets catch as poorly as I have ever seen. Hit the center post and you might bounce straight back at yourself. Hit the chains anywhere but center and it may slide to the side . . . hit it with any angle and it could very easily shoot right through the chains. I recommend a second row of chians to make those baskets much improved.

5) Tees are wore out down to dirt.

6) No wastebaskets on the course so everyone throws their stuff on top of the baskets into the ring around with the number on it.
Other Thoughts: I am not sure how this course gets a 1/2 disc rating overall . . . I think it is biased because it is only 6 holes (or maybe because the baskets catch so poorly), but who says you have to have 9 or 18 holes. Play the course a couple times, or play some gorilla golf instead to add to the holes. I am ranking this course on its own despite it being a 6 hole course. I think they did about the best they could in using the features of this park, except #4 is a little goofy with the sidewalk as the main fairway and the massive silver maples right in the middle of the fairway.

I may get some negative votes because of this review . . . but I really feel that the course is not bad at all. It is messy with poop but it has a nice layout using all of the trees in he park and the native woodland area as perfect obstacles on this course. The mature trees that come into play on #1, #4, #5 make you pick a line and the crabapples on #3 are a perfect obstacle on that hole, either throw under them or try and bring in a big hyzer spike over them. Being 50' short of the basket your goal is simply to get past them to have a shot at birdie. I also like the forced anhyzer (or sidearm) on #2 around the natural area.


5 of 6 people found this review helpful.

 nice park

1    7/27/2009   7/27/2009
Review By: tallpaul
Played: 719  Reviewed: 133  Exp: 26.3 Years
7 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Pretty park. View of huge ships in harbor from course. I thought four of the six holes were nice holes. The last one; though very short; under 200, requires placement and perhaps even a kneeling drive!
Cons: Baskets kick out; but aren't any worse than Mach 1's (if you remember those days?). I, personally enjoy playing old style buckets, as you rarely see them anymore. Historical/old time type feel. Everyone is playing same course; relax. Instead, of putting, current/speed style; attempt old style putting, as if you had to land something in the basket, rather than slam into chains.
Other Thoughts: This is certainly not worth a special trip. However, I did enjoy the park and four of the six holes. Empty course; therefore as with all courses that get little to no play; you can invent whatever you would like as far as play goes.

7 of 8 people found this review helpful.

 OMG! Pass this, don't even try it!

2-4    7/14/2006   7/14/2009
Review By: superberry
Played: 168  Reviewed: 92  Exp: 16.4 Years
This review was updated on 10/14/2009
8 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: The previous review was wrong. The fact that there is a basket here is no Pro. These baskets are homemade and the bottoms of the chains are SECURELY fastened to the basket! That's right, no give in the chains, and thus they slam ace runs right out and gouge discs BAD!

There are NO PROS HERE!!!!!
Cons: So many, but I'll keep it simple. Layout is poor and wide open in a typical marina type city park. No real challenge, just a few trees and then wide open. I don't even remember the signs or pads, but it doesn't really matter. The baskets SUCK!!!!!!!!! There are ONLY 6 HOLES!!!!!
Other Thoughts: SKIP THIS! It isn't even worth checking off your list. I hate that I wasted my time playing here. Door County WI has a LOT of potential for great courses, maybe some private land owner will answer my requests to build on their property or the state or county parks will open up to my proposals, but until then don't plan to disc on your trip to door county. However, drive down the lakeshore and play 27 holes at Winter Park, you'll be GLAD you did!!!! I say this, living in the area and knowing full well that Door county is a tourist destination. As someone who may be travelling to the area, and a disc golf nut who wants to fit in a round, you may be tempted to play the local course but DON'T do it! If you really want to play but are short on time, drive down Hwy 42 along the lakeshore and play Algoma. Better yet, make some time if you are a true disc golf nut, drive 10 more miles south on Hwy 42 to Kewaunee, and play all 27 holes at the disc golf wonderland of Winter Park!

8 of 11 people found this review helpful.

 ??? Not for true disc golfers

2-4    8/12/2007   6/12/2009
Review By: Part-Time Ninja
Played: 54  Reviewed: 14  Exp: 8.7 Years
1 Helpful / 8 Not
Pros: There is a basket to throw at
Cons: Short, no real lay out, thrown together, baskets suck,
Other Thoughts: I remember I liked 1-2 holes. With better baskets and a better lay-out could be a little decent 9 hole course. If your in the area and have a disc,its something to throw at. Beats a tree at a regular park.

1 of 9 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.