Branson, MO 
Sunset Park Share
Uploaded By: fedsigMaster Hole #8
3 / 199ft.   3 / -- Par / Distance:
Hole #8 Tee



Reviews: 17
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   

1    5/26/2014   5/28/2014
Review By: Moosejuice
Played: 23  Reviewed: 8  Exp: 2.3 Years
Pros: Located in town for easy quick access on the east side of town
Shade over the whole course
Trees add challenge to an otherwise flat, simple course
Neighbors seemed nice which is important because their homes are across the street from half the holes and a stray shot can end up in their yards
Cons: Pooling water in wet periods
Other Thoughts: While this is listed as 18 holes, it's really 9 with separate tees. Smart use of limited space.

A Good Warm-Up Course

1    5/12/2011   3/5/2013
Review By: bball7273
Played: 57  Reviewed: 31  Exp: 3.8 Years
1 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: - This course is located in a nice little peaceful park
- Nice baskets that are in great shape
- Tee signs at every hole
- Lots of trees make the course challenging
- Well maintained course
- Grass was cut well and looked nice
- Risk/ Reward shots and OB comes into play to make it a little more challenging
- Mix of lengths of holes.
Cons: - NO ELEVATION at all. This is extremley weird for being located in Branson because it is so hilly. It would have been nice for a hole to be on the bluff for an extreme downhill shot.
- Grass teepads (exept for 8). It would have been nice to have concrete.
- The course was full of sand and after i played it, it was all in my shoes. I guess this sand is because of the lake that is nearby, but it did effect the course
- The park is really really small. it is a round robin kind of course. it makes a loop around the park and i was suprized that they were able to fit 9 holes into this course.
- When it is wet, the course doesnt drain well at all as there was some standing puddles when i played.
- All of the holes were straight up the middle and really werent challenging.
Other Thoughts: Overall, it was a boring course. It really is just a good warmup course or a good place for a begginer. If you are in the Branson area, I would suggest to play the Treehouz course in Ridgedale, MO or you could play this course as a warm-up. This course is really just a check off the list course and i wont be coming back.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Boring

1    1/8/2013   1/8/2013
Review By: jayhawker737
Played: 47  Reviewed: 40  Exp: 5.5 Years
1 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: This course is set in a really pretty area. Big cliffs directly against the course on your north and a lake to the south. I am amazed how they fit 9 baskets and 18 pads on this land as it is only 200 feet wide, yet very long. You will never lose your disc in the bluffs or in the water (which is very far away, you would only worry about the road which is hard to reach still).
Cons: This course just drags on. For starters on the front nine the first four holes all go straight east, the 5th goes north, and the last four go straight west back to where you started. The same goes for the back nine as the 2nd set of pads are very close to the original pads, if not the same pad (how is that even considered a new hole?). While you have to keep your disc low, there isn't much variation in shot selection, especially since you are always going the same direction. It is hard to convince yourself to go back in another circle for the back nine. This is why I played the front and back at the same time.
Other Thoughts: I am glad that Branson has this course, as it was an easy one to pick up on my way to Treehouz. However, I didnt want to spend too much time here as the course was dull. There are holes with good distance, but the overall shot variety was not great.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Good use of the area

5+    8/28/2012   8/28/2012
Review By: Pwingles
Played: 56  Reviewed: 4  Exp: 8.6 Years
0 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: Very good use of the area given that it is probably not more than 300 feet wide at any spot.
Ive played tournaments there without many problems as far as fairways being too tight. But with a lot of newer players out there, it could be a different story.
Great place to utilize a roller shot.

Really close to The Journey Post disc golf shop.
Cons: Prone to flooding. Not really a knock on the course itself but more the unfortunate location and its proximity to taneycomo.
Mostly natural teepads. Some are a little choppy, however locals have started a league and are going to start with workdays soon I think.
Other Thoughts: There are established back 9 teepads.
There is a league there tuesday nights, singles, 2 divisions.

0 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 Early morning Round

1    8/9/2011   8/9/2011
Review By: noahrienks
Played: 8  Reviewed: 5
Pros: I played this course solo for an early morning round on my vacation. The course was layed out nice considering the land to work with was cramped. The holes are very straightforward, but offer some challenge to the basic disc golfer. The course flows well, and follows a basic circle for the first 9 holes. I only played the front nine, and could see the course was set up for alternate tees to accommodate 18 holes.

The challenges are mainly dealing with some of the low ceilings on some of the tees, and make for a little challenge.

The course is well maintained, and the grass was cut.

The baskets were nice and showed little signs of wear.

There are some risk/reward shots, and OB comes into play a little. I actually managed too lose a disc in the rough.
Cons: It's kinda boring, and offers little challenge. There aren't many tee pads, and the ground is slick and muddy in the mornings.
Other Thoughts: This is a quaint little course in the middle of Branson...a place not known for it's DG. It does well with what it has, and offers a little get away from the fakeness of the town that its in.

 Branson's Best?

5+    1/3/2011   1/4/2011
Review By: crusadersounds
Played: 71  Reviewed: 6  Exp: 5.2 Years
1 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: During the summer, this course presents some challenging window shots.

Lots of trees to make this course (especially the front nine) technically difficult.

Some holes (3 & 7) let you stretch it out a little more
Cons: Very straight course 4 up, 1 across, 4 back

Pretty short course

Other Thoughts: Branson is Missouri's tourism hotspot. I think that a place attracting that millions of people each year could do a little better than 9 holes of public golf. On the other hand, when I go to Branson, I make it a point to go to Sunset Park. I have now played 15+ rounds in my 2 most recent visits to Branson, and will probably put in a few more holes before I'm done!

1 of 2 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.