Nashville, TN 
Cedar Hill Park Share
Uploaded By: timg Hole #3
3 / 260ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #3 Tee



Reviews: 68
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
 Top quality up and down

5+    2/26/2011   2/26/2011
Review By: weeman
Played: 235  Reviewed: 59  Exp: 10.7 Years
8 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Cedar Hill provides the most complete challenge of any Nashville area course. Straight shots, hyzers, anhyzers, uphill, downhill, tunnel shots, and open bombers can be found throughout the course with even on the same hole depending on pin placement. The course sits in a large multi-use park tucked away from all the other activities for some nice secluded golf. The layout flows nicely from one hole to the other even with the variety of pin placements. Small directional signs are located near paths to the next tess throughout the course. Each tee sign also accurately shows where the next tees are. The signs are large with very good visuals of each pin location with distances and a red rivet system to mark where each basket is located. The fairways are adequate for the most part; ranging from wide open to tight tunnels with some having a tree or two left in the middle to add an element of luck in having a successful shot. Each sleeve location has woodchips within small containing logs for erosion control. This is even the case where baskets are in a different location. Many of the tee pads also have either woodchips or gravel around them so you don't have to wallow through mud. The tee pads are nicely sized and decently grippy for how old they are. Each hole incorporates some form of elevation change whether extreme or subtle. There are four extreme downhills (2 tightly wooded, 2 open), three extreme uphills (all tunnel shots), and the rest flowing subtly along the elevation changes. Staying in the fairway and out of the rough or cedars is paramount to scoring well. After all, it isn't called Cedar Hill for nothing
Cons: Honestly, not many that I can think of. The portion of the course (holes 7 through 12) that plays near Dickerson Pike can be quite noisy from the traffic and even the pedestrians. The trash cans on the course don't seem to be emptied with any regularity/schedule and can be very unsightly. One of the longer pin placements on number 9 forces you to play directly across number 10's fairway. The rough may be very troublesome for less skilled players or others who have trouble staying in the fairways.
Other Thoughts: This is a true championship caliber course that will test every golfer. Cedar Hill is the type of course that kick your butt and keep you coming back for more, and for me, its the type of course that makes me want to become a better player. With the frequency of the baskets getting moved, there's hardly any chance of playing the exact same course twice. More skilled players will be challenged here to hit their lines and execute a variety of shots to score well. Less skilled players will do well to just stay in the fairways and salvage a par though I wouldn't recommend them to play here in the first place. I'm looking forward to going back for another round at Cedar Hill.

8 of 8 people found this review helpful.

 Great Course!

1    1/29/2011   1/31/2011
Review By: mreynolds24
Played: 62  Reviewed: 4  Exp: 5.4 Years
7 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Amazing course! Great tee signs that showed all of their pin placements (which in some cases could include up to 6 different locations for one hole). Also did a good job of indicating which pin placement was playable at the time. Course was in great condition and everything looked very good. Tee pads were all consistently good and enjoyed that most "greens" had mulch around the basket which was a nice visual touch. The course was extremely fair as well. Offered several legitimate par 4's that forced some 'golf' shots. Course layout demanded some holes to have drives placed instead of running at the basket. Also this course demanded every type of throw as the layout of each hole varied and there was little to no repetitiveness throughout the entire course. This allowed for an added level of fun as every hole offered a different challenge but was not so challenging to take away from having fun. I really enjoyed this course and can't wait to come back and hopefully play some different placements for a totally different course.
Cons: Some of the baskets were a little dated and could be renovated to add consistency to the course, but there were only 2 or 3 of these older baskets on the course so it wasn't a glaring problem. If you didn't read the tee sign to look for the direction of the next tee pad and played an alternate pin placement that didn't lead you to the next tee I could see how people could get easily lost (as this happened while we were playing and since it was my first time playing as well couldn't provide any guidance). But generally if you looked hard enough from the basket you could find your way or follow the tee sign as they were great in aiding in the layout of each hole and the next pad location.
Other Thoughts: I had a lot of fun at this course and is deserving of the great rating. Could see the course not being as fun if ALL of the pins were in the easy locations (or perhaps the hard if you are not as skilled). This was not the case for me as they did a great job of varying the locations having some in the easy locations while others in the long. I would love to be close to the area and be able to play each hole in each location. Great course overall for any skill level and worthy of a stop if you are in the area!

7 of 8 people found this review helpful.

 

1    12/28/2010   1/8/2011
Review By: tamahawk
Played: 50  Reviewed: 50  Exp: 8.3 Years
12 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros:
Cedar Hill is one of the best all around courses of the 45 that I have played so far. The course offers such a great variety in length and layout on each hole with the multiple pin placements that it could play completely different every time you play here.

Course Essentials:
Baskets: Mix between MachIII and Innova Discatchers. Single basket with 3+ placements on every hole. All baskets are in good condition.
Tee Pads: Single position concrete tee pads, slightly worn but otherwise in good condition.
Signs: Tee signs on each hole show hole#, distance and layout for each of the multiple positions for the hole. Threaded holes with A,B,C, etc marked on the post are used to identify the current pin position on each hole, a red washer held in place with a small screw indicates which position the basket is currently located in.

Course Design & Layout:
Some of the key features of Cedar Hill include length, variety, and elevations that are offered at this park. With multiple pin placements (3+) on each hole, you get a range anywhere from just over 200ft to 600ft+ on the same hole. The varying pin placements not only drastically change the length of the hole, but also the layout and type of shot that you may play. The first hole is a great example of this, in it's longest position, it is 450ft requiring a slight right to left shot off the box to an open fairway, followed by an uphill approach under some low limbs from nearby cedars that offer good protection for the basket. In the shorter positions, the hole plays under 300ft requiring a slightly uphill tee shot with a gentle left to right flight path to clear some large cedars and get a look at a deuce. All holes at this course benefit from this same type of variety in length and layout.

The fairways at Cedar Hill are mostly narrow and lined with cedars/thick rough waiting to punish a bad drive. They are wide enough to work the disc some, but narrow enough to require a well-executed drive to stay in the fairway and out of the rough/trees which could quickly add strokes to your score at this course. There are several blind holes which requires a bit of scouting your first time through the course. There are no wide open holes on this course, the few holes that offer more open tee shots, also provide ample protection for the pin. A few of the shorter holes on the course offer more technical fairways which require an accurate tee shot to go for the two.

Elevations are moderate throughout the course and used effectively in the design. There aren't any flat holes at Cedar Hill, you will constantly be throwing up, down or across the elevations. Although you can see the elevations in the course photos, I don't really feel like pictures do them justice. The course has a good flow and great feel to it. The course utilizes land that is dedicated solely to disc golf within the park, with the exception of a couple holes which have a road which runs near them (3-4, 8-9, 14-16).

Course navigation was simple and straight-forward. The course makes one continuous loop from start to finish and does not return to the parking area after the front nine (come prepared). Next tee indicators on the signs help point you in the right direction, and the few areas that may be a little hard to follow have navigational aids posted as needed. The course was in good shape and there are a few benches scattered around the course. Ample parking provided near the first tee, portable restrooms available.
Cons:
Very little negative impressions about this course. The tees show some wear and were a little slick, and depending on the pin placement, there can be some big hikes between the holes. The day I played, most all the baskets were in the long position so the next tees were close by and easy to find. With distance varying by 200-300ft on many holes depending on the pin placement, the course may be a little harder to navigate when the direction to the next tee isn't obvious. If you follow the indicator on the tee signs and the few navigational tools in place, it should be pretty simple. Other reviews mention that this is not a beginner friendly course, and I tend to agree. I'm not suggesting to skip this course if you are new to the game, just be aware that the course can be very long and brutal, so be prepared for a challenge.
Other Thoughts:
As the old saying goes, you never get a second chance to make a first impression. This was the first Middle Tennessee course that I have played and I left with a great impression of disc golf in the area. This course is about 2hrs from my house, I was heading through the area a couple of weeks ago and realized that the course is only 1/2mile from I-65 so I had to stop and check it out, very glad I did. A beautiful course set on a great piece of land in a nice park. I highly recommend this course, the aesthetics of the course and challenge/variety in the layout make for a great day of disc golf.

12 of 12 people found this review helpful.

 TN's true "Trial by Fire" course

5+    8/27/2010   11/23/2010
Review By: slowRoll
Played: 62  Reviewed: 10  Exp: 7.7 Years
9 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Cedar Hill Park is truly a professional caliber course. Large teeboxes with fresh mulch or gravel surrounding them extends your run up area on most holes. Good clearly visible signage with current pin location well marked. Trash cans on most holes with benches sprinkled in every 3rd hole or so. This challenging setup will test even the best players with its mixture of length, elevation changes, along with its variety of open and densely wooded holes. Really nice variation in the pin placements let the course play out completely differently over the course of a multi-round tournament by stretching or shrinking holes by hundreds of feet. By far the most punishing course for errant throws in the middle TN area. Bring your A game.
Cons: Trash on the course around teeboxes can be an issue at times due to the parks employees not having a set schedule for emptying the various trash cans on the course. Not on the best side of town. The city park the course resides in has an assorted history. We locals are very wary of any gentlemen in parked cars that have backed into their parking spot.
Not a course I would recommend to newer players. Newer players could become very frustrated with their score here; as an advanced level player will be struggling to remain anywhere close to par on this course.
Parking for hole 1 can be difficult to find. Upon entering the park, take your first left, then take your 3rd right(not marked). Baseball fields will be on right as you circle around and hole 1(and parking) will be to your left.
Other Thoughts: Cedar Hill was the site for the 2009 TN Disc Golf Championships. It is the toughest, well maintained course within a hundred miles of Nashville, and an absolute must play for any serious disc golfer visiting the area. You can see a quick 2 minute walkthrough of this course(or any other middle TN course) via slideshow at my website located here:
http://mtdga.sports.officeliv...edarHill.aspx

9 of 9 people found this review helpful.

 

1    11/22/2010   11/22/2010
Review By: SirRaph
Played: 74  Reviewed: 17
0 Helpful / 6 Not
Pros: Top notch. Freshly mowed fairways. Diverse set of shots required, with a risk/reward balance on every hole. Distances vary, but even the longest hole felt fair. Elevation changes are what make this course special, though. Nothing like driving down a steep hill with trouble on both sides.

2-5 pin placements on every hole, with up-to-date marks for which locations the pins are placed.

One of the best courses I've played.
Cons: Not super easy to navigate. I missed a couple holes my first time through.

I can't imagine that all of the posted pin distances are correct. I'm no cannon-arm, but it doesn't take me two drives to get 350ft.
Other Thoughts: Even better than 7 Oaks.

0 of 6 people found this review helpful.

 It's all good

2-4    11/10/2010   11/10/2010
Review By: sloppydisc
Played: 199  Reviewed: 145  Exp: 6.1 Years
6 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Nice big concrete tee pads. Great signs that show not only distances, but basic lines, and large trees in your path. The signs also show all basket positions and use a screw and washer system to indicate the basket's current position. Benches at every hole. The course is
also located in a large park, but located in a separate
area, so there is no interference from other park users.

Great balance of open and wooded areas. Variety,
variety, variety. This course has every type of shot you
could ask for. #7 is a long, sweet downhill lined with
enough trees to punish you for your mistakes. #11and
12 are both tight uphills offering the same tight
fairways. There are also a few cedar trees scattered in
the fairways that make you select your line carefully.

Other holes offers big hyzers, big anny's, shots through the woods, shots over trees, and almost anything else you can think of. #17 let's you air it out down a long
hill. Feel free to bring out your big driver.
Cons: Not much to complain about. If I was in the mood to nitpick, I'd say there are no shots over water. Or you could make the case that there really isn't a signature WOW hole on this course. But you'd have to be in a real bad mood to make those complaints.
Other Thoughts: A truly enjoyable course. Great variety and great upkeep. Most of the baskets were in their long positions today when I played. There are 4 possible positions for each basket. This is a course you could truly play all the time, and not get bored. It is also a course with enough challenge to keep you honest, but not so difficult that you fell beat up after playing a round. Just a terrific all-around course. Definitely a must play in the Nashville area.

6 of 7 people found this review helpful.

 Wants to be great....

1    8/7/2010   8/9/2010
Review By: thebuckeyeguy
Played: 103  Reviewed: 15
2 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: So, there are a lot of great attributes to this course. It is challenging, there are "next tee" locators, and there is great use of elevation change. The crowd was minimal, and it was easy to find the park. There was concrete, and plenty of benches. Also, I never needed a trash can so didn't recall if they were plentiful, but I did notice that the course was clean. The locals that we did come across were very helpful and friendly, and the rough was not impossible.
Cons: I was really disappointed to see such a challenging course not be properly updated with a course par. I play par 3s when appropriate, but on a new course I like to play tournament rules including course par, and it does not take an experienced player to realize that some of these holes should reward three shots as a birdie, not call them just a standard "par". I mean, there are five pin locations...why can't there be a different par for different locations?! A lot of work was done to exclude this detail.
Other Thoughts: That being said, I simply gave this course 4 discs because overall it does not stack up to the ones I have given 5 discs to. If we were talking Nashville-only, I would definitely give it a five. Truth be told though, it was a good time but I wouldn't make a trip around it. If you are remotely near by and have time to play, definitely hit it up.

2 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 The Cedar Hill (cedar hell)

5+    8/6/2010   8/6/2010
Review By: BrandonKeele
Played: 8  Reviewed: 2  Exp: 4.6 Years
1 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: This is a course that will really challenge both newbies and old schoolers. If you have a long drive your going to need it but, you better have control. If your a newb play smart and dont try to be a hero or you will be playing from the outskirts all day. Every possible shot you can imagine is here besides water. But this is cedar hell its too hot for water.
Cons: I cant really think of any. The signs are better than most, the course is clean, plenty of benches and trash cans. Lots of basket pin changes and pro tee's. The course is never conjested. All I can say is TIIIMBEEEERRRRRR...TREE'S...You are your own enemy here. This course is fun. Cedar hell will eat your disks. I have lost two now and one of them I could see 100 foot up in a tree, but again that is my fault. On 18 you've got 574 feet. Four hundred of which is straight and then a hard right into the woods. Keep it straight as long as possible and vear right towards or into the path, if you shank it left or right your disc is either gone or your coming out bloody. If you do you may find a neat monarch disc...keep it, its yours.
Other Thoughts: I have yet to play a single digit score on this course....best is 12 and it felt good believe it or not. but today may be the day. Its just 8 minutes from my house...let's get together and conquer the beast. Brando81@live.com

1 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 Cedar Hell: My Home Course

5+    8/2/2010   8/2/2010
Review By: johnnyfoodstamp
Played: 25  Reviewed: 22  Exp: 4.9 Years
This review was updated on 8/4/2010
2 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: Wide variety of shots. Excellent layout. Course flows nicely. Lots of wooded shots. No problems with overcrowding. I play this course 3-4 times a week and love it. 8 min. up 65N past downtown.
Cons: None that I can think of. Excellent course and a must play for Nashville area. Certain holes (7/17/especially 18) can be disc eaters if your not careful. Very few open drives.
Other Thoughts: It's too hard. Right now (as of 8/2/2010) this course must be set to pro for the summer tourneys because several baskets are in their furthest postitions (Hole 2 502 ft, Hole 18 574 ft.) As a newer player this is intimidating.

2 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 This is what disc golf is about!

1    7/14/2010   7/23/2010
Review By: upfromtheashes
Played: 42  Reviewed: 38  Exp: 10.3 Years
9 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Very very enjoyable course. Teepads were good. Signs were adequate. This course has more alternate pin placements than any course I've ever seen. I think every hole may have had 3 or more possible pin placements, some as many as 6! I don't know how often the baskets are moved, but wow this could be like playing a different course every time you go! There were holes on the signposts marked A, B, C, etc, with a washer on whatever placement the basket was supposed to be that day. We found that the marked placements weren't always accurate on the day we played, but it's a good concept nonetheless and was appreciated.

Nice variety of holes, it never felt like you were playing the same hole over and over. Good use of elevation. Aesthetically, the course is very pleasing to the eye. It was clean, and there are cedar logs placed on the ground in a number of places that made a sort of terraced effect. I've never seen anything else like that on a course. Lots of benches. I think every hole had mulch around the basket which is a clear indicator that there are people taking care of this course. I've played enough courses that seem to have been forgotten about, that it really makes me appreciate the ones that get taken care of.
Cons: I have to get nitpicky in order to come up with anything negative about this course. My biggest gripe would be the lack of any sort of warmup area. No place to practice driving or putting except hole 1. You don't circle back to the parking lot until you play all 18, so if you are the type that likes to take a pit stop after 9, you won't be able to.

A few alternate teepads for Ams would make this course more beginner-friendly, but honestly I'm not sure that the locals would even want it to be so. I get the feeling that this is the "big boy" course in Nashville, and that beginners are free to play one of the easier courses nearby.
Other Thoughts: This is my kind of course right here. The fairways are "not too hot, not too cold" if I might make a Goldilocks reference. I'm not a big fan of 200 foot holes with 50 trees in the middle of the fairway to weave your way through. You'll find none of those holes here. Nor will you find many wide-open fairways where you can shank a drive way right or left and get away with it. These fairways are just right. Well-defined and wide enough to stay on with a decent drive, while simultaneously not requiring Ken Climo accuracy to avoid the rough.

I'm already trying to figure out when I can get back down to Nashville to play this one again.

9 of 9 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.