Nashville, TN 
Cedar Hill Park Share
Uploaded By: timg Hole #14
3 / 278ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #14 Tee



Reviews: 68
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
< Prev 1 2 3 4 5 6 7
Relentless yet rewarding

5+    3/15/2014   3/27/2014
Review By: tampabay
Played: 41  Reviewed: 8
This review was updated on 9/3/2014
7 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: -Type of course: This course really is a good balance forcing you to hit general lines as well as navigating the woods. Holes (2, 3, 5, 9, 10, 11) I would consider to be wooded. Holes (1, 7, 12) I would say have tight fairways and you get punished for not hitting your gaps. There aren't really any "long bomb" holes on this course but there are some holes that reward having 400+ feet of power. Hole 17 is downhill and gives you some room to put something behind your shot.

-Pin Placements: I feel that I should start with this. Most holes have multiple pin positions and the change in pin could make a hole an easy two or a brutal 4. The perfect example is hole 2. I love courses with multiple pin positions because it allows a local course to mix it up and keep it fun for regulars. It also allows them to really change the feel and the difficulty of the course. Hole 2 is the perfect example. I love multiple pin positions and with how great the terrain is at Cedar Hill I'm glad they are making use of it

-Shot variety: Regardless of the pin positions, I think this course is so well balanced. Some of the more challenging holes give you options for a FH or a BH as well as forcing you to throw uphill, downhill, straight, and dogleg right/left. I think this course does a great job of forces you to have multiple varieties of shots in your arsenal. I love the change of pace. From the last time I was there it played (1, 3*, 6, 7*, 15*, 18*)- finished right, (4, 8, 12*, 13)- finished left and the other 8 had crooked fairways or opened up and gave you choices. * denotes elevation coming into play.

-Elevation: I love the elevation on this course. Hole 7 is one of my favorite holes that I've ever seen, in the longs its a 400' tunnel shot downhill then another 200' to the basket. It's beautiful, and the elevation on this course can be so challenging. Hole 15, 16, 17, and 18 have significant elevation. I think they use the elevation for really stretching your shot selection. The elevation is also a ton of fun on this course. It never feels gimmicky, even 17 which is the "downhill open" hole has a pretty tight fairway.

-Scenery: This course looks beautiful. It really does feel like a true Nashville course because of the looks. Very wooded, yet there are some open holes. Truly a beautiful course to play. Hole 7 has one of my favorite views off the tee that I've seen to date.

-Multifaceted difficulty: This course challenges a lot of aspects of your game. I've played wooded courses, long courses, water courses, you name it. This course felt like it was just difficult because it was designed well. All of the fairways feel like true fairways, there aren't any where you just huck your disc and hope it gets through. This course is grueling and you will probably feel pretty exhausted by the end. When the pins are all in the longs/hards it is such an adventure. No matter how exhausting I feel so satisfied with a birdie, or even a par at Cedar Hill.

-Uniqueness: Something about this course just sticks out. The holes feel so unique. I can't necessarily attribute it to one thing. Hole 2 at the longs is a 500' hole shaped like a backwards ? mark. The woods are tight enough that you need to pay attention, but loose enough that a well placed shot can net you a 3. The elevation on this course combined with the difficulty stops Cedar Hill from ever feeling like it has a filler hole or a gimmick. This course is awesome.
Cons: -Mud. This course does not drain well, it gets really muddy and that combined with the elevation makes it a little dicey when it's wet out.

-Course flow. Some of the holes are a little confusing, 7,9,10 in particular can be really tricky as well as 11/15, and 5/13. There are some shared baskets, where the pin for 7a could also be the pin for 10b (not at the same time). I can imagine as someone traveling those holes could be confusing. After hole 15 you have to cross the street without any real indication as to where to go.

-No open hole. This is more preference than anything, but I really like for a course to have at least one hole that is mostly open that rewards people with a little more distance. Even the open holes here have mandos/trees.
Other Thoughts: -This is a difficult course. I would not bring a beginner here.

-Great course. I have to give it a 4. I think Cedar Hill has a layout that I would rate a 4.5 but I also know they have a layout that I would give a 3.5. So I have to leave it at a 4. Best course in Nashville in my opinion.

7 of 8 people found this review helpful.

Favorite course in Nashville

5+    2/28/2014   3/3/2014
Review By: Declarkus
Played: 34  Reviewed: 12  Exp: 11.6 Years
0 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: I love the variety. Upshots, downshots, and turns requires your whole bag.
Well maintained.
Rarely crowded.
Move baskets often
Cons: Limited benches. Maybe 2 trash cans (which I honestly don't care about)
The bottom of #7 gets muddy
Don't back in!!
Other Thoughts: This is the best course in Nashville. Plain and simple. Challenging shouldn't be a con. Its my favorite part. It humbles me, but when I score well, it feels way better then on a wide open flat course.

0 of 3 people found this review helpful.

Gets Better Every Time

5+    1/15/2014   1/28/2014
Review By: ALPO
Played: 59  Reviewed: 2  Exp: 3.4 Years
3 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: This is a city owned park but all the maintenance and labor is done by a remarkable course crew. There are constant improvements in areas such as: walking paths, erosion control, fairway maintenance, benches and signs etc. CH has all the amenities one looks for in a good disc golf course -- concrete tee pads, trash cans, benches, practice basket, good tee signs. You can tell right away that this is a lot more than just baskets and concrete dropped in and neglected since course installation. Cedar Hill is constantly evolving and slightly better every time you play it.

Where a prestigious ball golf course stands out due to excellent scenery, landscaping and greens, an outstanding disc golf course needs to rely much more on trees and elevation to craft fairways that reward good shots and provide excitement -- and it helps to have some scenic views (hole 17) and beautiful putting greens (hole 2). Cedar Hill nails this. Fairways are well defined and challenging but not unfair. Holes range from densely wooded to moderately wooded, however several holes are 'open' enough to reach for max D -- but you will need to exercise some control.

The greatest attribute of Cedar Hill is the varying pin placements. This will obviously be lost on you if you only play the course once a year or less, but it is what makes this course elite. Pin placements at Cedar Hill can change the entire experience. I personally have not played a more versatile course. Most holes have three pin placements, several have a 4th and 5th as well. Various layouts could theoretically alter average scores by upwards of ten strokes. Adding difficulty is not necessarily what makes them exciting though, instead it is the ability to make a hole left to right, right to left, or dead straight, etc.
Cons: I think casual players and newcomers may struggle with Cedar Hill's more challenging holes. I don't see this as a con, but judging by some unfavorable reviews it would seem that perhaps not all skill levels will get the same enjoyment out of this course.

If your distance is in the 300-350 range and you don't have a several shots in your repertoire (i.e. turnovers, flicks, tomahawks, etc) you may get frustrated with some of the longer more challenging holes. For instance holes 1, 2, and 7 require excellent placements shots just to be in position to think about getting a 3. Many can and do argue these are par 4's or 5's but that is a different topic.
Other Thoughts: The mix of holes means you can pretty much be as creative as you want from the tee pad. Play the fairways, go over the top, or throw rollers, you will have options. A varied mix of elevation throughout the entire course, an elevated basket that can play on 7 or 10, amazing downhill bomb on hole 17, the most serene putting green you may ever come across on hole 2; these are just a few of the qualities that make Cedar Hill worth your time.

If you are coming to play in Nashville this is a must stop. If you live in Nashville and want to get better at disc golf, then make sure you play Cedar regularly and don't shy away from its challenges. I can assure you, there is nothing more rewarding then mastering this course -- or so I've been told I still can't get under par.

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

Fantastic Course

5+    11/10/2013   1/10/2014
Review By: BIGHAFNER
Played: 48  Reviewed: 2  Exp: 3.4 Years
2 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: - Great teepads and signage
- Well used trees but no really stupid holes without a fairway
- Multiple pin positions
- Close to the interstate
- Obvious care goes into the course
- Amazing Views
- Different shots for almost every hole
- Varying distances from the 200' range to almost 600'
- No real wide open fairways, they all require good, accurate, and long shots.
Cons: The only bad thing I can think of about this course is that it is not beginner friendly. At all. This course is difficult. Most of us humans won't shoot in the 50's.
Other Thoughts: Difficulty is not a Con in my book. Just because its not an easy course doesn't mean that it deserves a 2.0 rating. This is truly one of the best courses in Tennessee and one of the best in the country.

I also have more Pro's but I can't think of them all.

2 of 4 people found this review helpful.

Troll's Review

1    10/15/2013   10/17/2013
Review By: Eric troll Biscuits
Played: 31  Reviewed: 29  Exp: 26.4 Years
1 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: 18 hole
Multiple placements
Well maintained
Great signs and easy to find tee's
benches at every tee
Great mix of holes, and use of the landscape
A super tall basket!
X factor tee box
Loads of technicality
Cons: nothing major to say....
No "disc fearing" holes
Or water hazards, and O.B.'s...
Other Thoughts: I know that some people(where I live) don't like the reviews I give.... Well, take a trip to Nashville. I compare courses to the whole world, not just my locality. Obviously, with Nashville's 3 to 4 different disc golf clubs, plethora of great courses... Its sad to say but Cincinnati is lacking behind

1 of 3 people found this review helpful.

Top Notch!

1    2/4/2013   2/4/2013
Review By: Dirt4dinner
Played: 72  Reviewed: 17  Exp: 8 Years
1 Helpful / 4 Not
Pros: A little bit of everything, and big rewards for a well placed drive, and a nice slap on the wrist if you get a little wild with a shot.
Cons: A little muddy today and some worn out tee pads.
Other Thoughts: Terrific course all in all. It's a different shot on almost every hole, with very few that feel the same. I enjoyed the mix of short, long, tight, open, left and rights. It just had everything!

1 of 5 people found this review helpful.

Mud Bucket

2-4    1/11/2013   1/11/2013
Review By: WillAnderson
Played: 28  Reviewed: 12  Exp: 3.8 Years
This review was updated on 1/14/2013
3 Helpful / 15 Not
Pros: Challenging for all levels & RH/LH players. The changes in elevation cause the wooded holes to be a lot harder, but if you hit your line, you'll be in good shape. The downhill shots are exciting...if you hit your line. In the Summer, the trees provide great shade. Decent tee pads & well marked signage (for most holes) helps plan & execute.
Cons: My main beef with this course besides its poor erosion control, is that it's frustrating to play. The downhill shots have trees midway that block you from trying monster drives bc you'd have to be extremely lucky. I prefer themed holes instead of plain nasty obstacles on top of obstacles. Throwing an uphill shot through a narrow set of trees to find a basket guarded by pine trees is ridiculous. I can understand a guarded basket, uphill shot, or a narrow fairway, but all together? Why even cut down trees? You may as well say, roll it through & name it Plinko. The soil doesn't perk well. If it has rained within the last couple of days, prepare to go on slip-n-slides between holes. I only remember 2 trash bins on the entire course. The design of the course is unforgiving so prepare to have a great shot or a poor one...no in-between. The baskets & benches are shoddy at best.
Other Thoughts: Bring a trash bag with you instead of a towel. Download an app or pay close attention to the signs because the baskets are confusing, & it's difficult to navigate between holes. On several holes, it's hard to find the next tee pad. Some tee pads don't have signs. Baskets don't have numbers designating which hole they belong to. In a field 5+ baskets for 3 different holes converge w/o a way to tell which to throw to (#7-#11).

3 of 18 people found this review helpful.

 Worth the Trip

2-4    10/8/2012   11/19/2012
Review By: nyrblue2
Played: 28  Reviewed: 23  Exp: 4.7 Years
10 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Terrific 18 hole course winding through the wooded portion of a large county park.
- Wonderful setting for a course - off in a mostly, otherwise un-used portion of the park, with some great lines around and through large, mature cedars
- Only 1 tee per hole (on almost all holes), but as many as 5 basket locations that I assume get rotated/moved every once in a while - I think holes #9 and #10 may be the only one with 2 tee pads?
- Very descriptive tee signs showing distances to each pin location and a good map showing obstacles and flight paths - nut/washer system on pole to define current pin location - "next tee arrow" is on the sign
- Nice, used concrete tee pads on every hole - large, level and grippy
- Large variety of hole types - a few big open ones, some through heavily wooded areas, some up, some down, some left, some right - need to have a wide arsenal of shots prepared
- Mix of short and long holes keep things interesting
- Difficult, but fair - I don't remember any holes with seemingly impossible drive routes or obstacles - poor shots can/will get punished due to the trees throughout - good shots will be very rewarding with good looks at an approach or putt
- A few really awesome looking holes - #7 (downhill tunnel) is a beauty, #8 (drive is framed by 2 large trees acting as mandos I think), #5 (tiered, slight uphill through trees), etc.
- Cool elevated basket on #7 (or #8, depending on current layout?) that appears to be a memorial of sorts
- Not a high chance for lost discs, I feel - since most of the trees are cedars, there isn't much leaf cover and what is there is dead and trampled well (maybe on the big downhill #17 if you lose control and your drive gets too much hangtime and buries long or left)- no water holes - no real OB as far as I know (road nearby on #8, but not really in play)
- You can tell someone takes care of this course - a couple holes had noticable improvements, probably for erosion control, by using boards to create tiers/steps or some sort of buried mesh geo-fabric (hole 2 and 5 come to mind - maybe others)
- No trash that I saw
- No frills - honestly, there isn't too much specific explanation to say about this course as maybe expected for a high rating - the course is just really solid and makes great use of the natural terrain, even without water or OB
Cons: - No course map - this one is always a pet peeve of mine - for such a top-notch course, this should be a must - either online or at a kiosk/board at the start
- There are signs along the park road to guide you to the start of the course, but I missed the small one and spent 10 minutes looking the first time I went - Also, once you get to the parking, the actual location of the first tee isn't obvious - go around the locked parking gate and downed log to find it tucked behind the trees
- No "next tee" signs at the baskets (as far as I saw) - had to hunt a couple times (long basket 2 to tee 3 took a bit, I think) if I forgot to look at the tee sign
- Maybe it's just me, but I thought a couple of the tee sign maps were a bit off - the relative distance from tee to dogleg or tree or something didn't quite seem to match up with how it actually played (I think hole 6 in the short position didn't feel accurate)
Other Thoughts: - Seating and trash cans on some holes
- I don't think you really get back near your car until you're done with all 18
- Didn't encounter anyone in the way, but hole #17 has a pavillion somewhat near the tee, so there is a possibility for picnic-ers to wander onto the fairway

As I mentioned, as I sit here and think about it, the course is just really solid. It's a great design using the natural terrain and trees - good use of natural fairways and elevation changes. This course is definitely a must-play every time I'm in Nashville.

10 of 10 people found this review helpful.

 Great course

5+    8/27/2012   9/4/2012
Review By: mm1315
Played: 15  Reviewed: 2  Exp: 4.6 Years
5 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: Challenging but fun course that is well maintained, if not the top it is certainly in the top 3 courses in our area. Good signs with distances. Trash receptacles every third hole or so. The course is setup on its own designated area so little worry about other park users getting in your way other than possibly on hole 17. Cedar Hill is a well-designed course that forces you to use a variety of shots.
Cons: Being called Cedar Hill will give you a clue to the fact there are a number of Cedar trees on the course that you can easily get discs stuck high in a tree and have difficulty retrieving them. The walk from hole two to hole three is a little long but trail is easy to find. If it's your first time playing it can be difficult to navigate from one basket to the next tee pad since they are not always marked. Finding hole one can be difficult as well. When you turn into the park take the first left and the disc golf parking area is the third right there is a post that says Disc on it on the left, you'll drive past the softball field and see another post that says discs on it, park there and there is a large message board next to the first hole. Although the baskets change location somewhat regularly in my two years of playing the course they have never moved hole one's basket from the long position, and they have never moved seventeen's basket either.
Other Thoughts: Time for an overview of the course, Cedar Hill is of course a very wooded course with a lot of elevation changes just as the name suggests. It is also a fairly long course with multiple pin placements, depending on the configuration the par for the course can change from between par fifty-four for the short configuration to par sixty for the long. Usually the course managers keep it in the middle with about a par 58. There is an alternate start on hole ten if you prefer to start your round there. I must make note I am a Right Handed Back Hand(RHBH) thrower so any shot suggestions are geared with that in mind unless noted otherwise.
Hole one is considered to be a par four by most, you start off with a nice tunnel shot towards an open field. A nice slow turning hyzer through the tunnel but keeping out of the large cedars directly ahead puts you in an ideal spot for your upshot. It is best to come as close to the left side of the cedars ahead to get the distance and cut some off for your next shot, but that can be risky because being under/in them means you will most likely take a four. The second shot is through a window roughly fifteen feet wide and ten feet tall slightly uphill with the ground sloping downhill left to right. The closer you get to the window on your first shot makes your upshot much easier. The other option is to go up and over the trees with a thumber if you aren't comfortable throwing through the window. I have tried going up and over with a hyzer to the left but there are too many trees blocking your shot when the disc tries to come back in. If you clear the window it's a fairly simple putt from there. There can be a wide range on scores, a three is possible with a well-placed drive but I have seen people take a seven as well.
Hole two depending on the pin placement can be a difficult par four as well. Another semi tunnel shot like hole one, a simple slow turning hyzer works well here. I have seen a few forehand rollers work as well but not much room for error. If possible you want to land before or after the ditch, being in it you will have an awkward run up and probably make a poor shot. If the pin is in any of the short placements you will have a simple upshot with a few trees to deal with. If the pin placement is long then it is up through the trees directly ahead with an almost ninety degree turn to the right. The pin is between 100-150ft past the mouth of the opening. From your drive a good sidearm works well, you just have to get through the opening before letting it fade off right. You can also throw a very late turning anhyzer as long as you don't fade left at the end you should have a good putt at the basket. There is a little creek that makes somewhat of a moat around the green but there is rarely water in it.
Hole three has three pin placements, this is considered a birdie hole. The first pin placement is straight ahead and a little right down the gravel path. Just throw something straight at it that doesn't fade or even a slight right turn at the end. The second and third pin placements are off to the left one short and one long both going uphill. The best shot here is a high stall hyzer and letting it pass through the gap in the trees and fall towards the basket.
Hole four has two trees about twenty feet from the tee you have to shape your shot around. There is another large group of medium sized trees the pin placements are focused around, one to the right, one to the left and one behind them. There is a mound directly in front of the tee and the fairway slopes downhill left to right for its entire length. When the pin is in the left or right you pretty much throw straight at it avoiding the woods on whichever side it is on. In the long position going down the right side with a powerful straight shot and letting skip towards the basket seems to be the preferred shot, but there is a late turning anhyzer shot if you like going through the left gap or play sidearm.
Hole five has three pin placements as well. It is uphill the whole way and levels out near the pin. There are low hanging branches that create a tunnel with about a fifteen foot ceiling. The three pin placements are center, to the left of center and to the right of center with trees guarding the pin. The best shot no matter where the placement is to throw straight up the center aiming at the center pin placement and letting your disc turn towards the basket on whichever placement it is. This is considered another birdie hole with a possible ace on the center placement with a nice controlled shot for the more powerful throwers.
Hole six is another tunnel shot with a ninety degree turn about 150ft out. The pin has multiple placements all past the turn. After making the turn the ground slopes downhill and has a major slope once you pass the long position. On this hole I have seen a more wide variety of shots than on any other hole I've played. It is set up for a nice sidearm or lefty hyzer, but I have also seen lefty tomahawks over the trees, back hand mid-range rollers, right handed forehand cut rollers, anhyzer shots and my personal favorite shot here the thumber. The main thing is to stay out of the trees to the left or right and not go to long and end up in the trees beyond the turn. How far you want to go down the hill after the turn is up to you. From there an easy upshot on any of the short placements awaits, the long position you really are forced to lay up otherwise you end up 50-60ft down the hill with a considerable height difference between you and the basket.
Hole seven is one of my favorites, a long downhill shot with woods flanking both sides. This is possibly a par four with the longest placement. There are a few pin placements on the hill but I've never seen them there, the placements they use are beyond the large log at the bottom of the hill. Depending on how aggressive you want to be you can use anything from a putter to a driver off the tee, being downhill you get a lot of glide no matter what you choose. The main thing is to keep it straight all the way down with maybe a little late right turn and fade back left at the end. There are multiple trees to hit the length of the fairway so I prefer to go with a mid-range to have more control and not have the bad skip left at the end you get with a driver. Also with a midrange you don't have as bad a skip off a tree if you hit one. As long as you end up in the fairway a good ways down you have a shot through a large gap with a semi low ceiling towards the basket. The pin placements are directly at the bottom of the hill, off to the right about 100ft from the bottom or it could possibly be the raised basket on the wooden stand straight ahead.
Hole eight has a mando between two trees into an open area with the pin either amongst the trees just at the edge of the treeline to left or long in the same treeline, a nice straight shot off the tee with a little anhyzer flex to get you to the treeline is the best option here. If the pin placement is long you have to make sure not to fade off left at the end. There is also a large cedar you can get caught in if you fade off to early. Being in the open the wind can swirl here so disc selection is key.
Hole nine has two tee pads and four pin locations, if there is a cable/rope across the tee pad close to eight's basket then follow the path to the right to the second tee pad. The first tee pad is for the two pin placements that are straight ahead, one being short off the tee and a possible ace. The second pin on the first tee pad is long through the trees to the opening near the parking area, just keep your shot straight down the middle and deal with a few trees on your upshot. From the second tee pad the pin placements are straight ahead and through a gap turning left, one long and one short. A nice stall hyzer is the best shot here. You have to be careful when going for the long placement here because you cross ten's fairway.
Hole ten has two tee pads and if hole nine is in the long placement from its second tee pad you are supposed to use the short tee pad for ten. On this hole you are throwing through a window, across the gas line right-of-way, through a tunnel with the first possible pin placement here; otherwise it's either short or long past the tunnel. For the shortest placement inside the concrete wall just a nice straight shot aimed to land near the big tree in the center of the fairway is best, also if the placement is in one of the farther two positions this is a good landing area if you just want to take a 3. For the farther two pin placements you want to aim just right of the large center tree and let something fly as straight as possible with very little fade. The trees are thick on both the left and the right so placement is key here. The farthest pin is actually a raised basket with the tray about six feet in the air with a ring of logs around the basket about ten feet out. Landing in this ring or skipping up to it on your upshot is a good play.
Hole eleven is straight uphill with trees lining both sides, the open fairway being dogleg right with the right side of the fairway having openly spaced trees to navigate through. A slow turnover or side-arm shot are best here, unless you are super accurate and can throw straight through the trees. There are three pin placements the first is a definite birdie and a possible ace for the more accurate throwers. The mid pin location is just at the edge or the gas line right-of-way, a possible birdie if you can get through clean on your drive. The third placement is across the gas line right-of-way on top of a couple terraces, hitting the basket or a tree then rolling back down the terraces and putting up at the basket is common here.
Hole twelve is a long uphill shot with a fairly narrow fairway that levels out once you get to the green. You have to be able to throw straight and far to do well on this hole. I have seen a lot of players fade left or pull right into the trees and take a five. Best play here is to just put something up past the ditch about halfway up the fairway straight up and in the center no matter which pin placement is in. The first pin is in putting range if you can make it past the ditch. The second pin placement requires a controlled upshot from where your drive lands through a couple different gaps. Personally I'm happy with par here, it's too easy to take a big number if you don't place your shots.
Hole thirteen is a nice hyzer shot through a tunnel, three pin placements all along the same line. Just take something stable with some hyzer and let it carry around the corner to the left and you'll be putting at the first two pin placements, both of which are a possible ace. For the farthest pin placement there are a few cedar trees guarding the pin from where most land off the tee.
Hole fourteen is a straight shot through a tunnel with pin placements left, center and right about 150-200ft beyond. Knowing which pin placement you are throwing at is a must because they each require a slightly different shot. For the left placement once you past the tunnel there is a trimmed cedar tree you want to get past about 50ft before hyzering out. For the center placement you want to have a very late turning shot past the large cedar directly ahead. For the right position you need to turn slightly right at the edge of the tunnel and be right of the large cedar and have it finish straight once you pass the cedar, this takes a lot of touch/finesse. For the throwers that don't quite have the power to reach the pin, just getting out of the tunnel and into the open works best; then taking a controlled upshot.
Hole fifteen can be somewhat difficult and depending on the pin placement, very long. You are throwing straight down the gas line right-of-way here. The first pin placement is just off to the right past the tree line that juts into the fairway on the right side. A late turning shot works best here or a power side-arm, but beware the cedar that you can't see just past the tree line. For all the other pin placements you either have to have a very late turning shot that after it turns goes straight all the way down, or my play is to just nestle a mid-range/fairway driver on top of the crest of the hill. From there just a nice touch shot and you can reach any of the pin placements with relative ease. The second and third placements are on the right down the tree line in little coves. Being able to control your upshot and land inside the green can be difficult here. The fourth pin placement is on the terraces on the left, which is also sometimes eleven's long placement. The fifth placement is nearly at the bottom of the hill to the left with multiple trees guarding it, coming in below the branches from atop the hill can be difficult. This is a definite par four in this placement. Make sure you don't hyzer into the woods off the tee here, otherwise you can take a big number.
Hole sixteen is across the road from hole fifteen, there is a little path back at the top of the hill to sixteen's tee pad. Here there are three pin placements, all inside the far tree line. The first pin placement is almost directly straight ahead of you across the field; the second one is where the right side tree line and the tree line directly ahead meet. You must be difficult going for the second placement or putting since the hill drops off and goes down a ways behind the basket. The last pin placement is past the second a good 75ft down the hill.
Seventeen is a long downhill shot with a few well-placed trees in the center of the fairway. The two main shots here are either hugging the right side tree line all the way down letting your disc fade towards the basket at the end or throwing straight at the pin with a disc that won't fade at all. The thing that makes this shot interesting is there always seems to be wind either rushing up the hill pushing your disc right or coming from behind you making your disc fade out early. There is a far pin placement (also hole one's farthest pin placement) but I have never seen it used in the two years I've been playing here.
Hole eighteen has a few different pin placements, focused around gaps/tunnels in the trees left and right in the far tree line. You must know which one you are going towards here. You are throwing out of a tunnel into a field and back into another tunnel here. For the two placements on the right throwing straight at the small tree on the right is the best play, as long as you can land there, just a bit left or closer to the mouth of the gap you should have a good upshot towards the pin. Hyzering out and being to far left of the gap and not having a decent upshot is common here, so work on placing rather than distance here. For the pin placements on the left just a nice straight shot out of the gap with a little fade at the end and you should be looking right at the pin.
I hope this gives you an idea of what you will face at one of our top courses in middle Tennessee. You will definitely be forced to work on your accuracy and placement at Cedar Hill, so get out there and have fun.

5 of 8 people found this review helpful.

 One of the best courses in nashville

5+    8/24/2012   8/28/2012
Review By: nashvilleguy99
Played: 4  Reviewed: 3  Exp: 4.1 Years
0 Helpful / 8 Not
Pros: The course is the 2nd best course in middle tennessee it has great scenery great course layout the tees are very easy to follow as are the baskets are easy to find. lots of trees and obstacles in the way which makes the challenge even more fun overall an awesome course. The park also keeps grass cut and well maintained.
Cons: Some of the holes there are alot of trees which is more difficult and frustrating but other than that i dont have a clue..
Other Thoughts: If you are visiting tennessee or live in nashville i highly recommend this course to play.

0 of 8 people found this review helpful.

< Prev 1 2 3 4 5 6 7

Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.