Nashville, TN 
Cedar Hill Park Share
Uploaded By: timg Hole #9
3 / 334ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #9 Tee



Reviews: 68
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
 Top-Notch

2-4    6/19/2004   6/19/2009
Review By: DavidSauls
Played: 115  Reviewed: 58  Exp: 19.3 Years
10 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Hard to add much to what's already been said. Very well-designed holes with clear and reasonable landing areas, and sufficient punishment if you miss them. There's a lot of elevation in play, but I only recall one hole where it's severe.

The cedar trees, if you've never met them before, are infallible disc-catchers; where they are in the fairways they provide excellent absolute obstacles for you to avoid, "or else".

All holes are well-designed, providing interesting challenges and a variety of throws, plus some fairway management on the longer holes.

Very convenient to several highways and major roads, so easy to stop in an play while passing through Nashville. Despite which, it's pretty and peaceful. The course is off to itself in a state-park-like property.
Cons: Seems to me this course is best scaled for Advanced and average Pro players. Probably a bit of a burden for beginners and weaker players, but top players may find it more fun than challenging.
Other Thoughts: I played Cedar Hill twice at 2001 Am Worlds, and have made a point to stop by and play it while passing through Nashville on several subsequent trips. Nashville has a number of good courses, but this is my favorite.

10 of 10 people found this review helpful.

 A must play in Nashville

1    4/11/2009   4/13/2009
Review By: craigd
Played: 92  Reviewed: 91  Exp: 6.2 Years
18 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Wow, I had heard that this is a superb course but it really passed my expectations. I think it has a little bit of everything wrapped up into one nice disc golf course package. First of all, you are in an area that seems to be dedicated to disc golf alone. You can just get out there and play without any distractions, save the road on a few holes. It is simply a beautiful park boasting a beautiful course. It is just minutes off the I-24 so getting there is not a problem if you are traveling through the area.

This is the kind of course that you will remember for quite some time after playing. The first thing I recalled after leaving the park was the fairways. While they are challenging and at times affectionately frustrating, they are just that, "FAIR"ways. I don't remember any holes that were unfair or impossible to clear. Some holes were tight at times but the baskets are approachable every time. The course seems to use the beauty of the landscape perfectly. Not only is most of the course very scenic but you will find shots of every type. There is no chance of becoming agitated by what seems to be the same old hole over and over and over. You will find uphill, downhill, "S" shaped, doglegs left and right, tight, and lastly a couple of relatively open fairways. It also boasts a wide range of lengths as well. Most holes are longer than usual and that adds to the challenge nicely. This is a great course for all. It is full of lessons learned for beginners and plenty of challenge for the experienced. Bring all of your discs and all your shots, you will need them!

Concrete tee pads are always a plus. The signs are in great shape and show all of the alternate pin placements and even suggest what must be the most popular and logical path to the baskets. Having the option to move the baskets to several different positions on each hole means that you most likely will see new personalities to the course each time you play. They use a nice and simple system to indicate the basket position. The baskets themselves are also in good shape and serve their purpose well.

Cons: Truly there are not many.

After playing behind what was a heavy day of rain I found the pads very slippery. I think that even just some summer dew would have the same effect. Evidence of repairs using some small pebbles somehow adhered on a few of them helped but an overhaul would be welcomed.

The road and its noise near the middle of the course are distracting. It is too bad there is not a buffer of trees blocking the street from view. It takes away from what would otherwise give you eighteen holes of what would seem like pure disc golf solitude.

Other Thoughts: In my view this is a must play. It really offers the best of what disc golf has to offer. If you are playing in the middle Tennessee area you have to put this one on your list. You won't be disappointed. Enjoy!

18 of 18 people found this review helpful.

 Must play course

2-4    3/22/2009   3/22/2009
Review By: kuhlbeans
Played: 48  Reviewed: 28  Exp: 9.5 Years
This review was updated on 3/27/2009
12 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: The best part about this course is shot and hole variety. Plenty of dog-legs to test your shot-making and there is a good mix of woods and open areas. In other words plenty of chances to test your distance on boomer holes and your technical skills on tight holes. I played this course in late March, so not everything was in bloom, but it doesn't appear that heavy brush will be much of a problem on most holes unless your shot is extremely off line. Also there is a lot of terrain elevation variety. All holes are clearly and accurately signed with pointers to the next tee; where needed there are also signs to point the way to the next tee near the baskets. All the holes have multiple basket positions (some even with different flight paths, not just longer or shorter distances) and a couple of holes have alternate tees (perhaps they are in the process of building more because they looked new).
Cons: Though the distances and pin positions are clearly marked on the signs, the pars did not seem to be. It is playable as all par 3's, but a couple of them are definitely a challenge to par out (depending on pin placement). The only other minor quibble is there are not any "easy" red tees for beginners or people working on their game. I think this course is playable for everyone, but red tees would make it a little more approachable.
Other Thoughts: This appears to be a great park and the way to the course is well signed and easy to find. Unlike another review I read, I did not find roads to be a problem as, on the couple of holes that run along one, there is a decently thick line of trees to stop your disc and a RHBH throw will curve away from them anyway.

12 of 12 people found this review helpful.

 Cedar Hill

1    3/3/2009   3/11/2009
Review By: Moffit
Played: 3  Reviewed: 3
2 Helpful / 4 Not
Pros: Amazing hole design, clean, variety of holes from woods to open straights. Not usually very busy (depending on which day you go of course)
Cons: If there is any wind it can ruin a few of the holes (can not remember which ones sorry). streets somewhat close by to some of the tee's and holes, not heavily trafficed though, since it is a park road. If it rains there are some extremely muddy patches.
Other Thoughts: I have only played Crocket park and Seven Oaks (close-by courses) but Cedar Hill was by far the best of the three.

2 of 6 people found this review helpful.

 Great challenge, fun course

5+    11/12/2008   11/30/2008
Review By: SimonCarr
Played: 60  Reviewed: 42  Exp: 10.5 Years
This review was updated on 1/21/2009
12 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: This is one of the best courses in Middle Tennessee, and probably the hardest as well. Depending on the pin placements, it can be hard to score below 60.

The multiple basket positions are a great asset for this course. Hole #2 comes to mind, as it can go from a par 3 to a par 5 depending on where to basket is.

Most of the holes on this course have wooded fairways, but there is usually at least one well defined route on each hole. Elevation comes into play on most shots, with three extreme downhill shots. Distances can range from 300 to 600 feet on most holes, and even the short ones are tricky.
Cons: I can't really think of many, except that it can be a frustrating course to play, especially for beginners.
Other Thoughts: Overall, I would say this is easily the best course in Nashville and probably in the top 5 of all courses I have played! This course is a great compliment to Seven Oakes. Seven Oakes is much more popular, so the traffic at Cedar Hill is usually not bad at all. If you are coming to Nashville to play disc golf, this is your destination!

12 of 12 people found this review helpful.

 

5+    6/1/2008   10/29/2008
Review By: bazkitcase5
Played: 122  Reviewed: 56  Exp: 10.5 Years
This review was updated on 11/28/2008
17 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: What a beautiful course. The name says it all, as this course is full of cedar trees that define the fairways and will punish you for straying too far away. Every hole has lots of pin placements, concrete tees, and very fair fairways. There is lots of elevation, lots of trees, lots of shot variety, and lots of fun to be had playing this course. There are also several tight technical holes, that don't use cedar trees, but have thick shule. You will need and use every shot in your bag to shoot well at this course.
Cons: As mentioned, some of the concrete tee pads have been worn down and can be very slick when wet. Also, this course is not beginner friendly. Cedars not only make a course tough, but they also eat discs. Being such a long course, it would be nice to see more benches. Also, I was only there for a tournament and did not see any bathrooms or running water, plus it is a long course, so be sure to come prepared.
Other Thoughts: This is one of my favorite courses. The different pin placements give this course a lot of different shots, while still maintaining the main features of difficulty and precise landing zones. Several holes would be legit par 4s and 5s in their longest positions. This is a challenging course for all levels of players, that will force you to use your mental game as much as it will your physical game. You simply have to play smart, stay within your game, and execute the shot at hand. I highly recommend this course if you are a tournament caliber player.

17 of 17 people found this review helpful.

 

5+    3/19/2008   10/29/2008
Review By: discflinger
Played: 96  Reviewed: 13  Exp: 10.5 Years
3 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: Beautiful course design, displaying rolling fairways and neatly tucked multiple pin placements. Big elevation on a couple holes, but mostly varying doglegs and mature trees. One of my favorite courses and right off the interstate, so it's easy to find.
Cons: The locals seem a little friendly, some guy asked if he could change my oil.
Other Thoughts: Nashville has a true gem of a course here. I only wish I lived closer.

3 of 6 people found this review helpful.

 Beautifully Manicured. A+

5+    5/11/2006   9/11/2008
Review By: dangitboy
Played: 3  Reviewed: 3  Exp: 13.5 Years
6 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Man this course has everything! Well thought out course design using every part of the land available for the best possible holes. Some true par 4s. Some shorter tighter holes. Must place many tee shots to setup for upshot. Very nice use of elevation uphill and downhill. Nice Innova Discatcher baskets with multiple pins and long/short tees. Beautifully manicured course! Challenging but no ridiculous. I believe a 1000 rated round is 53 or 54 for 18 holes. This is a must play for anyone who loves this game!
Cons: Could be a little daunting for beginners. Some of the evergreen trees seem to swallow discs forever.

6 of 6 people found this review helpful.

 Long, Tough, Challenging & A Must Throw!

1    8/14/2008   8/21/2008
Review By: The Valkyrie Kid
Played: 684  Reviewed: 636  Exp: 36.4 Years
18 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: What a wonderful setting for a course. Each hole has from 3-6 basket placements. Their placements are represented by screws w/red washers on the metal tee signs. The screw in the B slot means the basket is in the B position. That's the one simple thing about this otherwise complex course. These A,B,C layouts can sometimes range from 200' to almost 700''. This makes playing this course a totally different experience each time you play. The basket placements can be in some extremely difficult positions, tucked away deep in the wooded rough. There are some long, blind holes requiring accurate drives to par. (More about par later). I was lucky and had my wife and daughter both ahead of me spotting. Playing by myself for the first time, this saved me a lot of time hunting for errant drives and finding baskets. There is some elevation change. I was able to muscle up and throw my longest on a couple of holes but I'm pretty much of a wimpy, 275' driver. There are some tight dogleg shots and I thought the course was fair to both righties and lefties. There were some scattered benches to rest on. It does take about 2 hours to play. Bring water.
Cons: I guess it's not a beginner/family friendly course. It's certainly a hike. I didn't like the blind throws and did notice a certain similiarity to many holes. A long narrow fairway, with the basket tucked 50-75' into the woods at the end.
Other Thoughts: I guess with 3-6 basket placements per hole, ranging from 200' to 700', you just kind of throw par out the window here. I don't know how you could determine a par for this course when many holes could be played anywhere from par 3's to legimate par 5's. I've heard many players say they don't care about the par. I think I do care. I'm not complaining. It just seemed kind of odd for me to play a hole and not be thinking, "Well, another par" or "Cool, a birdie" or for me on this course, "Not another bogie." Overall, it's a wonderful challenging throw.

18 of 18 people found this review helpful.

 

1    7/25/2008   7/28/2008
Review By: noahat
Played: 13  Reviewed: 13  Exp: 7.1 Years
This review was updated on 11/28/2008
9 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: Very tough course. Toughest course I've ever played that wasn't just ridiculous. The layout of the course was near flawless. Most holes were long and technical. Lots of elevation changes. Very well maintained. Multiple pins and tees. All holes have from 3 - 6 pins.
Cons: On a couple of holes the baskets ran kind of close together... that's about it for the cons.
Other Thoughts: Best course I've ever played. After every hole I played I was just amazed at how awesome the course was. Challenged every part of my game like no other course has before. The day I played the course most of the pins were set at the hardest pin location which was good. I don't know what else to say except, play this course as soon as possible!

9 of 12 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.