Kansas City, MO 
Swope Park Share
Uploaded By: gabe_mahan Hole #3 (Taken 8/2013)
3 / 345ft.   3 / 345ft.   -- / -- Par / Distance:
Hole #3 Tee Sign

Reviews: 35
Avg. Rating:
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Reviews between: and Sort By:
Exp. (in years): Played: Reviewed: Only Trusted Reviewers
< Prev 1 2 3 4
The Granddaddy of the KC Metro

5+    8/26/2015   8/26/2015
Review By: SirDreward
Played: 24  Reviewed: 12  Exp: 6.3 Years
1 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: 1 - Elevation changes galore!
2 - Good signage
3 - Lost disc return and "clubhouse"
4 - Not a lot of opportunities to lose a disc.
5 - Area of park the course is in is dedicated to the course.
6 - Park overall is pretty nice.
Cons: 1 - Can get really crowded.
2 - Kinda' repetitive.
3 - Course layout can be a little confusing.
Other Thoughts: The course seems geared towards the "average" player: not too long, not too short, and little more technical on some holes, but not so much on others.

1 of 3 people found this review helpful.

Sorry, I was disappointed.

1    7/5/2015   7/5/2015
Review By: CGChase
Played: 18  Reviewed: 9
0 Helpful / 4 Not
Pros: Groomed
in decent shape
Cons: I thought the course lacked imagination.
First half was back and forth across the same ravine, the steepness changed and the trees were in different places but essentially it was the same shot over and over.
Other Thoughts: Sorry, I was disappointed.
I played a course at a college in rural Tenn. that was rated a 2 and found it far more creative and enjoyable.
This course isn't bad, it's just not a 3.5.

0 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 What a course!

5+    2/4/2015   2/6/2015
Review By: teddyjames
Played: 25  Reviewed: 1  Exp: 2.4 Years
1 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: This course is very well maintained. It has many great basket positions and t pads. You can tell that this community has worked really hard to keep this course going and growing as the years past. The course director takes the time to make this course really enjoyable to play and keeps it looking great. Can't wait to play here more!
Cons: It is a little packed in. But due to the lack of land expandability they have done great with the space allotted.
Other Thoughts: One of courses that you'll go back time and time again.

Oh and as of 2-7-15 the baskets will all be in long champion position for the remainder of the month. Happy golfing!

1 of 2 people found this review helpful.

Great Go and Throw Course

1    12/15/2014   12/15/2014
Review By: jasonrigler
Played: 67  Reviewed: 12  Exp: 3.1 Years
1 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Fast to play, great for new players, outstanding signs and pads, fun ace runs.
Cons: fairways are side by side. Not a course you drive a long way to go play more than once.
Other Thoughts: I think I would enjoy the course more if the baskets were in the championship position but even still i did enjoy playing here. The fairways were a little close so people were always wandering into throwing lines. And sometimes you look out from the tee and see 4 baskets and 2 other tee pads in your view. The signs and baskets were marked so well it really was never an issue. You always knew where you were walking and throwing. I think this is a great course to take casual players. And I do appreciate courses where you would be hard pressed to lose a disc.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

 Beautiful Design, Fun Course

1    11/7/2013   11/8/2013
Review By: constantlyej
Played: 13  Reviewed: 6  Exp: 2.4 Years
5 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: The layout of the course was extremely intuitive. The course has a lot of variation in elevations with a handful of ACE opportunities, and almost every hole has a line for solid Birdie chances if played correctly.

I think that playing this course for the first time in late fall was actually the best time to get on it because I could imagine that there would be a lot of weedy overgrowth and mosquitos near some of the creeks during July/August. But today, it was great- other than just a little bit muddy in a few areas- but we just had two solid days of rain, so that was expected.
Cons: #13 was kind of swampy, and the walk up the hill to #16 was really muddy due to someone allowing the water run from the park faucet... but that has nothing to do with the course, just a mistake made by someone playing.
Other Thoughts: This course was pretty, I had a great time playing it today- even though we barely had light by the time we hit #17. People at this course were great!

5 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 Shootin good in the hood!

1    10/14/2013   10/14/2013
Review By: jjw4ucm
Played: 31  Reviewed: 28  Exp: 2.4 Years
6 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Pretty views! Swope Park is really gorgeous and I loved playing in the fall colors here.

There's a lot of elevation here, and it's generally used very well on most of the holes.

As KC's oldest course, I think it's neat to see where the game has come from as opposed to what newer courses play like today.

The OB areas, trees, and fairways are all used well and create a clear sense of direction with the course. I was never left wandering around looking for the next tee and the signs with the numbers on top are a nice touch.

Speaking of signs, they're in good condition generally. A few holes have multiple tee pads and they really help make the course suitable for all skill levels.

This is a DG exclusive area; I didn't see any dog walkers, picnics, or the like wandering around.

The holes from 12-16 are the best on the course, in my opinion. There is a good amount of risk and reward involved with the trees, maintenance fence, and other various OB areas.

Baskets and tee pads are in good shape. The course was mowed well and I didn't see any broken limbs or other maintenance-related issues.

There's a pro shop here, although it was closed when I got there. Also features a lost disc return, which I thought was a nice touch.

Plenty of parking, bathrooms nearby as well.
Cons: Packed in waaay too tight! Super easy to throw into the other fairways. Swope Park is gigantic so I'm not sure why they decided to shoehorn the course into such a small area. 12-16 are much better in this regard but I could see this getting really irritating when the park is busy.

The first several holes are basically you throwing over a small valley, back and forth and back and forth. The different OB areas help keep it somewhat interesting, but it felt a bit repetitive and left something to be desired.

There isn't a big variety of shots to take at this course overall. There really isn't a hole that stood out to me as being really cool or interesting; they kind of blend together and that's just not good.

The excessive switchbacking keeps you from really enjoying the nature/scenery part of playing. Again, this is just one guy's opinion so you might not care at all, but I didn't care for this.

If you are new to KC or passing through -- this park is unfortunately in a very BAD part of town. The park itself is generally okay during the day; it's the surrounding neighborhood that's truly horrendous, so I'd highly suggest you not venture out looking for a convenience store or anything nearby just to be safe.
Other Thoughts: This course is pretty easy to get to from any part of the metro. It's a few miles south of the stadiums. Take 435 to Gregory Blvd and head west. Keep following Gregory and there's a sign for it on the right after about a mile or so.

The packed-in nature of this course really limited its potential and the enjoyment factor for me. I much prefer the courses that play with a natural progression between them, almost like a trail, rather than switchbacking on themselves. The scenery here is pretty but it's basically the same the whole time -- if you don't care about this and can avoid ending up in the other fairways, you'll probably like this course better than I did.

I didn't ding the rating because of the neighborhood, but I did list it in the cons to make you aware just in case that sort of thing makes you squeamish. I grew up in KC, know the area's reputation, and decided it was a worthwhile play anyway and you probably will too.

6 of 6 people found this review helpful.

 Clean, Solid Course with a lot of Elevation

1    9/27/2013   10/3/2013
Review By: BigAl724
Played: 114  Reviewed: 109  Exp: 3.3 Years
This review was updated on 10/30/2013
3 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Swope Park is a very large park located near the KC zoo and has a golf course, fishing lakes, and seemingly other activities on site. The nice thing is that the section of the park the disc golf course is on is dedicated just to the course itself. There is plenty of parking and a porta-john located near the first tee. There is also a nice-looking pro shop, but it wasn't open open the Friday afternoon I played there. The park setting is very nice, and it does have a country club atmosphere to it. The grass is mowed very low and there was limited trash with trash cans for every hole, as well as benches for every hole. Navigation is very easy, as big numbers sit on top of the tee signs, numbered flags sit on top of the baskets, and the courses flows well from one hole to the next. You won't do any extra walking from one hole to the next here.

Nice, accurate tee signs showing you O.B., pars, pin positions, and lengths to the different baskets. The concrete tees are in great shape and are a very comfortable length and width. There are multiple tees on maybe 2/3 of the holes, but some just have one tee. Three pin positions give very different looks and give a nice variety. Baskets are Mach 3's that are in great shape.

Elevation is the main test of skills here, although it's not as extreme as Water Works. Most holes offer across-the-valley type shots from one hilltop to another, with many trees to contend with. The multiple trees give you many different lines to choose from, and there is a great mix of hyzer, anhyzer, and straight shots. Most shots are in this form, but there are a few (12, 13, 16, and 17) that are pretty flat shots. O.B. is present on many of the holes in the form of the road and a little marsh area that is utilized on a bunch of holes. I liked that a lot as it added to the technical aspect, and bridges are placed if you need to walk through the marsh area. Pin positions are well thought out as well, often on a steep slope or placed behind trees. Hole lengths are pretty steady, but there are longer distances on some of the later holes.
Cons: -Said to be in a pretty rough neighborhood, and it appeared that way. However, I parked on the main street with a car-load of stuff and had no problems. Playing in daylight is probably safe with how many people come here.
-Which brings me to my second con, this course was pretty crowded when I played. Since the course plays a lot of back and forth across the park, there is a good chance of someone's disc winding up in your fairway. The holes play way too close together.
-The general type of hole presented here is indeed my favorite. That said, at least 2/3 of the holes are this way, not offering much variety. I probably enjoyed this more than most since I love these type of holes, but I can see many being bored with this repetition.
Other Thoughts: I thoroughly enjoyed my round at Swope Park, and I really liked the elevation challenge and the many different line options on every hole. It took me slightly less than an hour to play by myself, so it isn't a long, grueling course. Very fun with minimal chance to lose discs because of the maintenance. Located only minutes away from the Dynamic Discs store, Water Works, Rosedale Park, and a handful of KS courses puts this course in a great location. I recommend hitting this course up if you are looking to play a few courses in KC for the first time. I was happy I did.

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 Great Course

1    10/1/2013   10/2/2013
Review By: bluedvl228
Played: 13  Reviewed: 9  Exp: 5.3 Years
4 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Very well manicured when we played - the grass had just been mowed and from what I could tell this is well maintained due to the size of the park.

Nice elevation changes between holes, nothing too hilly, but enough to make it interesting.

Holes are very well marked and very easy to get from one pin to the next tee pad. I know that is very annoying especially when playing 18 holes or more.

We played in the morning on a week day so wasn't too crowded, but I imagine there is quite a bit of people out here during the week.
Cons: Although it's located in the heart of the park, the surrounding neighborhoods are a little sketchy, but felt very safe during the day time.

With the close proximity of the holes, there are definitely times where if it were busier you may have to watch for an errant throw.
Other Thoughts: Not really a lot to complain about, this park may not have the difficulty of Water Works, but still a great course to play on a semi-regular basis. The front 9 is definitely easier, but the back 9 can give a few challenges with the tight pin locations. Definitely a must play for any regular disc golfer.

4 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 Great, fun course

2-4    7/7/2009   5/7/2013
Review By: Hockeydoc2112
Played: 16  Reviewed: 11
2 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Well maintained course with sweet, challenging elevation changes everywhere.
Benches and markers everywhere give a nice flow to the course and places to relax if there's a wait.
Cons: Maybe a few longer holes would have been nice but course is excellent as it is.
Other Thoughts: Played here in the 2009 World's. Kansas City probably has the best collection of DG courses in the world and this is one of the main reasons why.

2 of 3 people found this review helpful.


1    8/28/2012   8/28/2012
Review By: powerplantthom
Played: 4  Reviewed: 4
0 Helpful / 8 Not
Pros: Nice open course with some fun shots. Nice set up with fun long shots across small valleys. Some friendly people around
Cons: A little confusing where the next tee box is on a couple holes
Other Thoughts: I enjoyed this course and would play it again next time i am in kcmo

0 of 8 people found this review helpful.

< Prev 1 2 3 4

Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.