Kansas City, MO 
Swope Park Share
Uploaded By: gabe_mahan Hole #12 (Taken 8/2013)
3 / 375ft.   3 / 375ft.   -- / -- Par / Distance:
Hole #12 Tee Sign



Reviews: 31
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
Shootin good in the hood!

1    10/14/2013   10/14/2013
Review By: jjw4ucm
Played: 23  Reviewed: 22  Exp: 1.3 Years
4 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Pretty views! Swope Park is really gorgeous and I loved playing in the fall colors here.

There's a lot of elevation here, and it's generally used very well on most of the holes.

As KC's oldest course, I think it's neat to see where the game has come from as opposed to what newer courses play like today.

The OB areas, trees, and fairways are all used well and create a clear sense of direction with the course. I was never left wandering around looking for the next tee and the signs with the numbers on top are a nice touch.

Speaking of signs, they're in good condition generally. A few holes have multiple tee pads and they really help make the course suitable for all skill levels.

This is a DG exclusive area; I didn't see any dog walkers, picnics, or the like wandering around.

The holes from 12-16 are the best on the course, in my opinion. There is a good amount of risk and reward involved with the trees, maintenance fence, and other various OB areas.

Baskets and tee pads are in good shape. The course was mowed well and I didn't see any broken limbs or other maintenance-related issues.

There's a pro shop here, although it was closed when I got there. Also features a lost disc return, which I thought was a nice touch.

Plenty of parking, bathrooms nearby as well.
Cons: Packed in waaay too tight! Super easy to throw into the other fairways. Swope Park is gigantic so I'm not sure why they decided to shoehorn the course into such a small area. 12-16 are much better in this regard but I could see this getting really irritating when the park is busy.

The first several holes are basically you throwing over a small valley, back and forth and back and forth. The different OB areas help keep it somewhat interesting, but it felt a bit repetitive and left something to be desired.

There isn't a big variety of shots to take at this course overall. There really isn't a hole that stood out to me as being really cool or interesting; they kind of blend together and that's just not good.

The excessive switchbacking keeps you from really enjoying the nature/scenery part of playing. Again, this is just one guy's opinion so you might not care at all, but I didn't care for this.

If you are new to KC or passing through -- this park is unfortunately in a very BAD part of town. The park itself is generally okay during the day; it's the surrounding neighborhood that's truly horrendous, so I'd highly suggest you not venture out looking for a convenience store or anything nearby just to be safe.
Other Thoughts: This course is pretty easy to get to from any part of the metro. It's a few miles south of the stadiums. Take 435 to Gregory Blvd and head west. Keep following Gregory and there's a sign for it on the right after about a mile or so.

The packed-in nature of this course really limited its potential and the enjoyment factor for me. I much prefer the courses that play with a natural progression between them, almost like a trail, rather than switchbacking on themselves. The scenery here is pretty but it's basically the same the whole time -- if you don't care about this and can avoid ending up in the other fairways, you'll probably like this course better than I did.

I didn't ding the rating because of the neighborhood, but I did list it in the cons to make you aware just in case that sort of thing makes you squeamish. I grew up in KC, know the area's reputation, and decided it was a worthwhile play anyway and you probably will too.

4 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 Powerplantthom

1    8/28/2012   8/28/2012
Review By: powerplantthom
Played: 4  Reviewed: 4
0 Helpful / 7 Not
Pros: Nice open course with some fun shots. Nice set up with fun long shots across small valleys. Some friendly people around
Cons: A little confusing where the next tee box is on a couple holes
Other Thoughts: I enjoyed this course and would play it again next time i am in kcmo

0 of 7 people found this review helpful.

 Pretty Good Course

2-4    7/16/2012   7/17/2012
Review By: bazillion
Played: 55  Reviewed: 37  Exp: 14.1 Years
5 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Pretty clean course, mowed grass, good signage (including a directional sign on the main access street), "rough" is pretty insignificant (unless you shank one completely off the course).

You have your basic annie shot, your basic hyzer shot, your basic uphill shot, your basic downhill shot, your basic cross-canyon (well, gully) shot, and so forth. Good place to practice your line-shaping.
Cons: The main "con" I have with this course is that despite the cleanliness of the course, most of the holes pretty much follow the same formula. They're all about the same length, they all offer about the same amount of elevation change one way or another, they all have about the same amount of trees and/or rough to deal with.

No holes on this course could be called signature - none, imo, are sufficiently distinctive to be called unique. If you can drive 350 accurately and can avoid trees as a matter of course, scoring in the -12 range should be easy for you. For the rest of us, Swope is an absolutely superb practice course.
Other Thoughts: Cool silhouettes of the hole numbers sitting on top of the tee signs - makes them easy to spot when you're looking around after holing out, makes it hard to wander off onto the wrong tee.

Some reviewers have commented on the quality of the neighborhood - both times I was there there were enough people playing to make what's outside the course irrelevant.

Is this a destination course? No, probably not. What it is is a solid mid-level course where you and your buddies can go and shoot a good round of disc golf. Nothing special, nothing bad, just a good solid course.

5 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 Did you hear an echo? Elevation, elevation, elevation,

1    3/25/2010   4/3/2010
Review By: Donovan
Played: 212  Reviewed: 185  Exp: 27.6 Years
9 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Hill top to hill top is how much of this course is played. You are either throwing up and down a valley or over one. This course obviously has a ton of elevation, simple greens, and uses the hills to make it unique in that way. There are only 2 holes where I could say there's just slight elevation to them. The rest of the holes are for the hill hikers. This course has some interesting rough areas, OB and mandos. It has a pro shop in the center of the course and at least 6 tee pads are close to the pro shop. There is off street parking and a restroom here. This course has some nice tee pads and tee signs.
Cons: The layout seems a bit repetitive going back and forth, up and down the same huge slopes. There are enough pads and baskets in close proximity, you will need to be careful if someone is one hole ahead or behind you. You do throw over a road on 13, so be careful of cars or people there.
Other Thoughts: The Fun Factor did not really get me too excited here. I loved the elevation, but it just seemed to get a bit redundant after while. It is a great workout playing here. It is absolutely worth playing once. I enjoyed the last half of the course even more than the first half.

9 of 10 people found this review helpful.

 First Impressions

1    5/21/2009   5/22/2009
Review By: Moufwash
Played: 2  Reviewed: 2
1 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Lots of elevation changes, not crowded, its nicely maintained in a nice park. Back 9 offers a variety of holes. Good use of the smaller space.
Cons: Switches back a lot so it was hard to find the next tee sometimes (look for trash cans, tops have numbers painted on em). A bit "open" as a whole for my taste.
Other Thoughts: Good beginner course, if you have a decent apporach game you have no buisness not finishing under par on this course. I am nothing special (decent putt and appoarch with accurate drives to about 325 ft.) and didnt feel challenged at all.

1 of 2 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.