Kansas City, MO 
Swope Park Share
Uploaded By: gabe_mahan Hole #11 (Taken 8/2013)
3 / 292ft.   3 / 328ft.   3 / 390ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #11 Tee Sign



Reviews: 31
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
Beautiful Design, Fun Course

1    11/7/2013   11/8/2013
Review By: constantlyej
Played: 13  Reviewed: 6  Exp: 1.1 Years
3 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: The layout of the course was extremely intuitive. The course has a lot of variation in elevations with a handful of ACE opportunities, and almost every hole has a line for solid Birdie chances if played correctly.

I think that playing this course for the first time in late fall was actually the best time to get on it because I could imagine that there would be a lot of weedy overgrowth and mosquitos near some of the creeks during July/August. But today, it was great- other than just a little bit muddy in a few areas- but we just had two solid days of rain, so that was expected.
Cons: #13 was kind of swampy, and the walk up the hill to #16 was really muddy due to someone allowing the water run from the park faucet... but that has nothing to do with the course, just a mistake made by someone playing.
Other Thoughts: This course was pretty, I had a great time playing it today- even though we barely had light by the time we hit #17. People at this course were great!

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

Great Course

1    10/1/2013   10/2/2013
Review By: bluedvl228
Played: 13  Reviewed: 9  Exp: 4.1 Years
3 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Very well manicured when we played - the grass had just been mowed and from what I could tell this is well maintained due to the size of the park.

Nice elevation changes between holes, nothing too hilly, but enough to make it interesting.

Holes are very well marked and very easy to get from one pin to the next tee pad. I know that is very annoying especially when playing 18 holes or more.

We played in the morning on a week day so wasn't too crowded, but I imagine there is quite a bit of people out here during the week.
Cons: Although it's located in the heart of the park, the surrounding neighborhoods are a little sketchy, but felt very safe during the day time.

With the close proximity of the holes, there are definitely times where if it were busier you may have to watch for an errant throw.
Other Thoughts: Not really a lot to complain about, this park may not have the difficulty of Water Works, but still a great course to play on a semi-regular basis. The front 9 is definitely easier, but the back 9 can give a few challenges with the tight pin locations. Definitely a must play for any regular disc golfer.

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

Great, fun course

2-4    7/7/2009   5/7/2013
Review By: Hockeydoc2112
Played: 15  Reviewed: 10
1 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Well maintained course with sweet, challenging elevation changes everywhere.
Benches and markers everywhere give a nice flow to the course and places to relax if there's a wait.
Cons: Maybe a few longer holes would have been nice but course is excellent as it is.
Other Thoughts: Played here in the 2009 World's. Kansas City probably has the best collection of DG courses in the world and this is one of the main reasons why.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

 One of KC's Best

5+    5/10/2012   3/19/2012
Review By: kcautoguy
Played: 14  Reviewed: 10  Exp: 3.2 Years
This review was updated on 5/30/2012
2 Helpful / 4 Not
Pros: Beautiful course with a huge valley and rolling hills. The elevation changes are extreme compared to most courses. This course will test your body and game! Very well designed and requires a variety of shots. This is one of the few courses you'll find that offers the technical difficulty without much risk of loosing a disc, very little rough. Excellent tee-pads, signs, and baskets. Not very difficult to navigate. Course is clean and very well maintained.
Cons: No restrooms. Not a good place for night rounds!!!
The neighboring parks department fence is a hazard and they get upset if you walk around to get your disc. Your better off going inside and then waiting for them to escort you.
Other Thoughts: The neighborhood really isn't bad during the day. Lots of other players. Drive in from I-435 on Gregory towards the Zoo, and you'll have a nice scenic drive. If your from out of town, most players start with hole 2 right next to the parking lot and then finish with hole 1 back by the parking lot.

2 of 6 people found this review helpful.

 Fun Fun.

5+    8/23/2010   8/24/2010
Review By: crimsonsation
Played: 10  Reviewed: 3  Exp: 5.2 Years
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: I love this course. It has nice variation in elevation, but it shouldn't wear you out. The tee signs are very nice and clearly marked. It's pretty easy to navigate the course; each hole has a metal number on top of the tee sign telling you what hole it is. Most holes require you to have a controlled drive and dodge a tree or two. This was the first course I played where there were "mandos" in place which makes it interesting. There are multiple pin locations which is nice. The course is pretty well kept up. The tee pads are nice, clean and long. Overall a very fun course. It's also fairly beginner friendly course which is nice. There are a good number of trees, but they can be easily avoided with low drives. There are plenty of holes <350 feet.
Cons: This course isn't in the best part of Kansas City, but I've never had any trouble. I wouldn't stay after dark though. Some of the fairways run right next to each other so if you have a bad throw on hole number 3, it could land on hole 1. It's usually not a big deal though.
Other Thoughts: This course is definitely one of my favorites. It's the first course I went even par (54) on and I don't consider myself a big arm so take that for what you will. My long drives can be 350 feet to give you an idea of how long this course is. I think it's a great course and everyone should atleast give it a try if they are in the area.

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 Swope Park...

1    6/17/2010   7/18/2010
Review By: eye-ball-sac
Played: 67  Reviewed: 46  Exp: 5.5 Years
This review was updated on 2/19/2011
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Big tee pads allow a big run-up. Baskets have flags on top of them and are really easy to see. Trash cans and Benches at every tee. Large, metal numbers on the signs are easy to see. Signs are also very nice. Multiple tees and pin placements make it a different game every time.

Lots of elevation. Most of it is throwing from the top of a hill to another hill top. On a few holes there are some interesting piles of rock that are O.B. Holes 9,10, and 11 play over a water filled pit (I can't think of another way to describe it).
Cons: Switchbacks get boring after a while. Back 9 is much better than the front. It's very easy to lose a disc in the giant piles of leaves between 7 and 9.
Watch out for people a hole ahead of you...switchbacks make it easy to hit them. Not really any other cons that I can think of.
Other Thoughts: There are bees in almost every trash can during the fall. If hole 13 is in the long position there's a giant cliff 3 ft. past the basket. Restrooms and a water spout around 16. Be careful of the road on 16. I almost got my disc ran over by a car.

-------------------------
If you mark this review unhelpful or you find a mistake, please send me a personal message here on DGCR explaining what is wrong with it.

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 Great

5+    5/22/2010   5/24/2010
Review By: kcplease
Played: 95  Reviewed: 31  Exp: 5.2 Years
This review was updated on 1/18/2011
1 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Great course with great elevation and use of space, varied holes. Look amazing in the summer/spring, but I'm not sure it would be as appealing in the fall
Cons: some fairways have trees that are just random, which can be annoying. Some interesting people tend to crowd the fairways. Was afraid of getting robbed past 6 at night.
Other Thoughts: great course and one of my favorites, would play again, especially before three in the afternoon. Would never play this or any course on the missouri side at night, or even the kansas side except shawnee and prarie center.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

 One of my longtime fav's

1    8/6/2006   12/31/2009
Review By: sportsheros90
Played: 11  Reviewed: 10  Exp: 31.3 Years
0 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Well maintained, nice variety of holes, can play real long, is easy to get around and usually not so bust you can't play at whatever pace you want. It's so under rated.
Cons: It gets overshadowed since Water Works has come on board.
Other Thoughts: It is really close to the ballpark so when we go down to see the Twins play it's cool to play a round before the game. Really is still one of my favorites.

0 of 1 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.