Disc Golf Store
Kansas City, MO 
Swope Park Share
Uploaded By: gabe_mahan Hole #5 (Taken 8/2013)
3 / 295ft.   3 / 375ft.   -- / -- Par / Distance:
Hole #5 Tee Sign



Reviews: 31
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
 Fun in the Sun

2-4    6/16/2012   6/19/2012
Review By: Clumsy Fumbles
Played: 8  Reviewed: 5  Exp: 9.3 Years
1 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Multiple Tee boxes and chain positions. Always kept clean and mowed. Great signs at Tee Boxes. There's nice hills and trees with great technical shots. Some nice big rocks placed in nice spots. A beautiful park with plenty of parking
Cons: The park isn't very big so there's a lot of back and forth but I don't think it's that big of a deal. Just don't throw too far to the left or right or you might cross into someone elses game.
Other Thoughts: This is one of my favorite parks even though you go back and forth a lot.

1 of 2 people found this review helpful.

  Swope Park, WTF

1    5/27/2012   5/30/2012
Review By: Rivn88
Played: 1  Reviewed: 1
1 Helpful / 11 Not
Pros: The park is full of mature trees. Nice long concrete tee pads.
Many of the holes have medium elevation change. The park is mowed and groomed.
Cons: Myself and three close friends played this course. We have played most courses in the KC area. This was our first time playing this course. Thumbs Down!
We played at 8am on Memorial Day and the course was missing two baskets. (not sure if they were stolen)
Finding a few of tee pads was challenging. The course is not marked very well or laid out with good flow.
That is why I will only give this course a 2 rating.
Other Thoughts: We all agreed, We would not return to this course.
KC has too many great courses to choose from!

1 of 12 people found this review helpful.

 Much better than expected

1    4/24/2012   4/25/2012
Review By: Hector Chain
Played: 112  Reviewed: 110  Exp: 6.3 Years
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: The course plays in, around, and mostly over a valley that winds its way through the corner of this massive park. Tee pads are concrete, the signs are descriptive, and navigation is not difficult. There are three or four positions on nearly every hole. The longer positions look like they would make this course a real beast. The course was mostly set up in short and medium positions when I played, generally in the 250-400 foot range.

This course is very scenic. The trees are tall and older, so you'll typically be throwing around trunks rather than through the branches. The many hills are surprisingly landscaped with some nice stone retaining walls and rocks lining the wetland areas that serve as OB sections of the course (they weren't all that wet when I played).

Most of the holes have you throw from one hill to a basket on another hill. I can't say I got tired of this formula. The course more than maintained my interest.
Cons: In the positions I played, very good players might not be challenged like they will at other courses in the area. Birdie opportunities are plentiful. If you can throw 250 feet straight, you won't have too much trouble shooting around 54. If you have a controllable forehand or consistent turnover shot, you could probably shred the course.

The biggest con is probably the neighborhood. I didn't feel unsafe at all while playing, but I did stop at a nearby gas station before the round, and I probably would not do that again! Still, for being in a rough part of town, the course was surprisingly clean and un-vandalized.
Other Thoughts: There aren't many places where you could end up with a really rough second shot. Your bad drives probably won't be punished too harshly, and that could be a pro or con depending on your viewpoint.

Given the things I'd heard about Swope, I expected something far worse than what I got. There are some parks you come upon and think, "This course was made for disc golf." I felt that way about Water Works, and I felt that way about Swope. Add some more elevation and make the valleys a bit deeper, and I don't think Swope is that far off from its more storied counterpart. I'm looking forward to my next visit.

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 One of KC's Best

5+    5/10/2012   3/19/2012
Review By: kcautoguy
Played: 14  Reviewed: 10  Exp: 3.3 Years
This review was updated on 5/30/2012
2 Helpful / 4 Not
Pros: Beautiful course with a huge valley and rolling hills. The elevation changes are extreme compared to most courses. This course will test your body and game! Very well designed and requires a variety of shots. This is one of the few courses you'll find that offers the technical difficulty without much risk of loosing a disc, very little rough. Excellent tee-pads, signs, and baskets. Not very difficult to navigate. Course is clean and very well maintained.
Cons: No restrooms. Not a good place for night rounds!!!
The neighboring parks department fence is a hazard and they get upset if you walk around to get your disc. Your better off going inside and then waiting for them to escort you.
Other Thoughts: The neighborhood really isn't bad during the day. Lots of other players. Drive in from I-435 on Gregory towards the Zoo, and you'll have a nice scenic drive. If your from out of town, most players start with hole 2 right next to the parking lot and then finish with hole 1 back by the parking lot.

2 of 6 people found this review helpful.

 

1    2/4/2012   2/4/2012
Review By: astomps
Played: 53  Reviewed: 39  Exp: 3.2 Years
This review was updated on 8/20/2012
3 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: -1st off, its pretty much only a disc golf course which is always a plus

-Signs are probably the best I've ever seen due to the metal cut out numbers that are on top of the sign. This is huge for me because you can see what hole the tee is for from afar. Also full color signs with distance and all the usual goods

-Baskets are in good shape

-very good use of the land including boulder lined ditches that are used as an OB obstacle
-Lots of elevation changes; every throw is probably either up or down hill, but not to an extreme or unpleasant degree

-Some signature holes IMO (1, 9, 13) (also depends on basket position)
-Color coded flags on baskets to signal placement is very nice
-Plenty of distance to air shots out and some smaller technical shots too
-I personally like city park type courses
Cons: -Tee pad on 1 is worn badly
-Some tight fairways on the first 4-5 holes, front 9 is tight in general
-One hole that plays right next to traffic
-Couple throws aimed towards parking lot
-Bathrooms are basically busted to absolute hell
-Shot lines are fairly straight (not always a con)
Other Thoughts: For me, this course is tragically underrated. I've only played it just today but it struck me very well and I think it gives Water Works a run for it's money. They are very similar and Swope likely has less people on the course on avg.

As for the "bad part of town" argument, I think thats what drives the rating down here. Yes the area to the West is run down looking, but Swope is in a huge park that is right down the street from the KC Zoo, and next door to a parks department facility. I'm sure some sketchy shit goes down here but that stuff happens at dg courses in good locations too.

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 Good, but not the best in KC

5+    2/1/2012   2/1/2012
Review By: south city flyer
Played: 24  Reviewed: 5  Exp: 5.6 Years
5 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: - The maps at this course, as every other KC area course, are second to none. They show each pin location with very detailed accuracy.
- There are a few holes that have multiple tee pads which help out when you are in a group with beginners. The more advanced golfers can throw from the long tees (especially on hole 13) and the new players can move up to throw at the shorter tees. Although some of the long tees are pretty tough, it just makes the course that much tougher and, in my opinion, better.
- The holes here are changed quite frequently. While not all of the holes are changed at once, there are almost always 2 or 3 holes that are moved regularly.
- As with all the other courses in the area (Water Works, Rosedale, Blue Valley), Kansas City disc golf is so unique and some of the best in the country in my opinion. When this course is set up on the Gold Tees (2009 Worlds set up and KC Wide Open), it can be on of the most difficult courses in the country.
-There are several practice baskets and a "pro Shop" near the first hole that is used for big tournaments. It is never open during casual rounds (not that I've seen), but is still a cool feature.
Cons: - The front 9 is very very very VERY repetitive. You play the first 8 holes by basically throwing one way over a valley, then throwing back over the same valley. Holes 1-4 are all in the same valley and is not something I like to see in a course.
- Some of the holes have practice baskets set up in random locations, which can make your aiming very difficult and also cause you to have to throw near other people, which is never good.
- Not a fault of the course, but once it starts to get dark, you should immediately leave the park. This is not in the best area of Kansas City, and multiple crimes have been committed in Swope Park and it is better to just avoid getting in any trouble all together.
- A lot of the holes are quite simple. Just avoid 1 or 2 trees, throw about 350 feet, and you can easily birdie a lot of the holes. This is a huge con for me as I like to have a lot of different types of holes at a course. Not just a drive/putt type course.
Other Thoughts: Although this course isn't nearly as good as some of the courses in the area(Water Works being by the far the best), it is still a very fun round of golf. You can finish an entire 18 round with a 4 people in about 2 hours, which is quite quick for most courses. If you are in KCMO for 1 day, go play Water Works. But if you are visiting the area for several days, check this course out. Or just come out for the KC Wide Open and watch some of the best players in the world struggle on the Gold Course.

5 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 Swope Park

5+    9/20/2011   12/7/2011
Review By: mindoveryou
Played: 8  Reviewed: 8
1 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: The oldest DG course in KC doesnt show its age. Well maintained with good signage and multiple teepads make it easy to navigate for all players. Lots of elevation changes that create unique lanes across numerous "valleys". A solid course design utilizing lots of trees to add difficulty on drives, then again, on the putting game back across the valley. This course is bird friendly for long throwers. Centrally located with easy parking, water, and restrooms.
Cons: Bad part of town; glow rounds are NOT recommended. Weekends in the summer usually attract picnics and BBQs on the fairways.
Other Thoughts: I enjoy this course and find most of the holes to be fun to play. Park in the center lot and start on Basket #2 for quicker in and out games.

1 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 top 4 in kc

5+    7/14/2011   7/21/2011
Review By: jeffreyjeanshorts
Played: 35  Reviewed: 7  Exp: 24.4 Years
1 Helpful / 6 Not
Pros: i you can throw big swope is for you. plenty of spots to chill. good crowd. one of the most popular courses in kc. multiple pins. bathroom . water spout. bench on every hole i think if not a comparable landscape timber. multi tees
Cons: close to the 'hood' so lock your cars.
Other Thoughts: i like it but i play it alot

1 of 7 people found this review helpful.

 An oldy but still a goody

5+    9/28/2010   3/8/2011
Review By: scarpfish
Played: 315  Reviewed: 95  Exp: 11.3 Years
10 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Good intermediate to recreational course in a large and very scenic park. Has multiple pin positions and on some holes multiple tee pads. Has a good element of elevation, albeit not extreme. Very fun for folks who like uphill/downhill golf. Tall glass OB at the bottom of the tree guarded "valley" on 6-11 and 14 provides a unique obstacle. God knows I throw one in there every time I'm here.
Cons: For advanced/pro caliber players, Swope (at least the usual track) hasn't kept up with the times and can be a birdie fest. Redundancy. A lot of holes have a parallel hole going back the other way. Towards the middle of the course, some holes (namely holes 7-11) feel a bit squeezed too close where you can easily end up on another fairway and in the line of fire. Some issues with flooding and mud on holes 12 and 13 if its been raining. Not in the best part of town. Definitely lock your car and keep anything of value out of view.
Other Thoughts: My last trip here was almost the perfect disc golf day. Course was freshly mowed, 70's and little wind. At 30 years old now, Swope is Kansas City's original DG course. While many have criticized that it is getting behind the times in terms of challenge, it still provides for a fun time for the casual player or even some big arms wanting to play some deuce or die golf. An excellent place to take newbies or kids.

10 of 10 people found this review helpful.

 Fun Fun.

5+    8/23/2010   8/24/2010
Review By: crimsonsation
Played: 10  Reviewed: 3  Exp: 5.3 Years
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: I love this course. It has nice variation in elevation, but it shouldn't wear you out. The tee signs are very nice and clearly marked. It's pretty easy to navigate the course; each hole has a metal number on top of the tee sign telling you what hole it is. Most holes require you to have a controlled drive and dodge a tree or two. This was the first course I played where there were "mandos" in place which makes it interesting. There are multiple pin locations which is nice. The course is pretty well kept up. The tee pads are nice, clean and long. Overall a very fun course. It's also fairly beginner friendly course which is nice. There are a good number of trees, but they can be easily avoided with low drives. There are plenty of holes <350 feet.
Cons: This course isn't in the best part of Kansas City, but I've never had any trouble. I wouldn't stay after dark though. Some of the fairways run right next to each other so if you have a bad throw on hole number 3, it could land on hole 1. It's usually not a big deal though.
Other Thoughts: This course is definitely one of my favorites. It's the first course I went even par (54) on and I don't consider myself a big arm so take that for what you will. My long drives can be 350 feet to give you an idea of how long this course is. I think it's a great course and everyone should atleast give it a try if they are in the area.

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.