Miamisburg, OH 
Sycamore Trails DGC Share
Uploaded By: timg Hole #18
4 / 401ft.   3 / 449ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #18 Basket



Reviews: 33
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Reviews between: and Sort By:
Exp. (in years): Played: Reviewed: Only Trusted Reviewers
< Prev 1 2 3 4
Course is fun, Navigating it is not

1    7/30/2015   8/1/2015
Review By: treee
Played: 6  Reviewed: 1  Exp: 3.3 Years
1 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: -Some of the tunnel shots are really fun.

-Plenty of open holes for those who like to air it out

-A pretty looking park in general

-Good variance between flat holes and holes with elevation change.

Cons: -Course signage is minimal and flow from hole to hole is not always intuitive. (Going from hole 7 to 8 specifically)

-A lot of the tee signs are missing.

Other Thoughts: If you are playing this course for the first time I highly suggest you go with someone who is already familiar with it. Otherwise a fun design that could maybe use a little TLC.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Most of the course is gorgeous

1    7/31/2015   7/31/2015
Review By: jupiterthunder
Played: 7  Reviewed: 1
1 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Most of this course looks great. Holes are rather unique compared to other area courses. The holes with open fairways are nice because it allows beginners to sling freely. 18 is a fun open, but blind throw that makes the short player feel superhuman. I almost did this one in two seeing the course for the first time.
Cons: But a lot of the course is the last thing I expected. I've been playing for a month and a half. So when I took to the first four holes, I was caught off guard. 1-4 seem to be designed first for hiking and secondly for disc golf. I don't think anyone wandering onto these holes would expect to find that they are in the middle of a disc golf course. Especially with the stream running through hole one and the uphill climb.

Hole one has some rebar sticking up. It looks to have once held planks in place to create steps up to the basket but those planks seem to be gone. The rebar isn't obvious and could lead to a bad surprise if you don't know it's there. It's risky even when you do because of the ascent.
Other Thoughts: My child slipped and fell walking along four because the grade is rather steep and it is graded perpendicular to the direction of travel so it's not a case where you can shuffle sideways just to be safe.

I will go back when I have more time to spend. I will not be playing the first four holes due to the safety risks, first and the high potential for lost of damaged disk for this beginner.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Nice course

2-4    3/16/2015   3/16/2015
Review By: JDS3105
Played: 10  Reviewed: 10
Pros: Great variety of holes which give you chances to throw/learn different shots. Not overly crowded. Nice concrete tee pads.
Cons: Wooded holes muddy after rain, some of the tee signs could use some upgrades, trash cans don't seem to be emptied regularly. A few holes interact with park goers
Other Thoughts: Overall, this is a very nice course. I wouldn't recommend it for a beginner. This course will test your accuracy. Some of the par 3s should be par 4s. Reminds me of Indian Riffle only longer and tougher. I'm definitely putting this course on my playing rotation.


5+    5/7/2014   5/17/2014
Review By: Bachmann_3
Played: 20  Reviewed: 7  Exp: 5.5 Years
2 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Great variety
Challenging course, but still presents ace and birdie opportunities.
Park gets very little traffic
Benches and a bathroom near the practice basket short drive from the mall in a good neighborhood
Cons: Course gets close to the street on several holes
VERY difficult for the average player
Can be easy to lose or find a disc, (Course motto is Sycamore giveth, Sycamore taketh away)
Creek gets very high after heavy rain
Other Thoughts: Sycamore is my personally appointed home course. Being only 15 minutes from my house, I have played this course almost once a month or more since I first began playing. Sycamore is NOT a beginner course, but has several short holes that are birdie or ace opportunities for anyone. Very tight woods, rolling terrain, OB and elevation changes make this course difficult to finish below +10 for an amateur player playing singles. There is something nostalgic about this course that keeps you coming back despite imminent bogeys or worse. This course will make you better no matter what your skill level.

2 of 3 people found this review helpful.

Sycamore DGC

1    8/23/2013   3/23/2014
Review By: Donthavefun3
Played: 29  Reviewed: 7  Exp: 13.3 Years
0 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Physcal challenging course. Some recent work has been done here to make this place more challenging. Lots of elevation changes, and a nice varity of shots.
Cons: Some fresh signs by the tee pads would go a long way. Some are missing and others were just wrong.

0 of 1 people found this review helpful.

 Difficult Start

1    8/7/2013   8/10/2013
Review By: Nathan Stahl
Played: 15  Reviewed: 13  Exp: 3.1 Years
1 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: The course starts out very poorly, but once you get to 3rd and 4th holes it makes a great comeback. Many long throws that are not open directly to the basket. You will have to play around obstacles throughout the entire course. One of my playing partners lost a disk, but found another one to replace it. Keep your disk on the groomed path and you will have a great time. Venture off the path and good luck on the hunt.
Cons: The underbrush off the fairways can be a little to thick at times. This is the first course I lost a disk on, but also the first course I found a replacement at the same time. The thick bushes and trees like to hold the disk and not allow them to fall to the ground. I am sure my disk will fall to the ground after a strong wind storm and found by the next golfer.

As for the first two holes it was like the course was created and they came up short of 18 holes. So to fix it the first two hole where created quickly and not laid out very well.

Few of the tee boxes have marker posts that are functional. Time needs to be spent to repair the broken or missing marker post. The post that are present where very helpful to guide play.
Other Thoughts: You must have the map to play the course. Play does not flow easy enough and it would make for a long day of hunting for the tee box and basket without a map. Small trash cans on the course and they are full of trash, but trash was very limited on the field of play. This is a good example of how a course can be maintained if the golfers do their part.

1 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 A rewarding Course

2-4    7/2/2013   7/3/2013
Review By: zac.hancock
Played: 4  Reviewed: 2  Exp: 4.3 Years
1 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: There are a few holes that at a glance appear "impossible" but when you finish these holes you get a sense of accomplishment!
I always like a course that has both wooded and open field holes, this course delivers that.
Lots of blind holes, which I have always thought were fun.
Hole 1-2 can easily break your spirit, but they are my favorite holes on the course.
Cons: HARD to navigate, bring a map or another who knows the course.
Easy to lose discs in some of the wooded holes (and inherently find some discs), however I couldn't find a "Lost and Found."
Some signs were broken.
Other Thoughts: I would recommend this course only to advanced players. It is not only kind of a "big arm" course, some of the tactical, "thread the needle" shots will be needed to play this course successfully.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

 A Travelerís Challenge

2-4    1/19/2013   1/20/2013
Review By: sisyphus
Played: 230  Reviewed: 212  Exp: 4 Years
7 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: This course OWNS the majority of a park with shelters, playground, bathrooms (in season), and a picturesque reflecting/duck pond, and rolls through and above a couple of woodsy creeks. You'll find Innova Discatcher baskets in good repair (even a practice basket) , and a broad variety of shots, from open field bombs (6, 14, 18), through tunnel shots (11, 16) to nearly impossibly wooded (2), or shots that finish with a tight turn into the woods (3, 15). Elevation comes into play on nearly every hole.

There are some memorable holes here! #1 hooks to the right after crossing the beautiful creek ravine. You'll have a love/hate relationship with hole #2, depending on your skill level. #9 is a long-ish beauty through a clearing, ending in a couple of dastardly basket positions on either side of the ravine. #11 is a long, left-hooking tunnel arched over by the foliage the whole way down the hill. You finish with a blind bomb downhill on 18 back toward the parking lot. This place will stick in your memory.

The infrastructure is decent for a well-traveled (veteran) course: the concrete tees are nicely sized for the distances involved, and the places where you need to cross creeks usually have stone steps, rocks placed across, or a very nice bridge (on 2). There are frequent trash buckets on the tee sign posts, and an occasional fallen tree is used as a bench. The course handles winter melt surprisingly well, so it probably also does well with warm weather moisture.

As a mid-level Rec player, there aren't a whole lot of birdie opportunities, so this course does a fairly good job of separating out the real talent. For example, hole 3 required my arm to place a clean drive around the right-hand bend, then make a clean 100' upshot (with a 40' rise) into a tight tunnel back into the woods, and I was happy to make par (3). I don't have the precision-controlled 340' uphill forehand (I'm RHBH) it would take to set up a birdie. There are a number of holes that require that kind of course management to shoot par here.
Cons: Tee signs are getting to be a little bit dilapidated (many are missing), and 'next tee' indicators are minimal (I saw a brick arrow in the ground once). Bring a map. Course navigation gets a little tricky in spots. For example, you'll walk 50 feet past the bridge to get to the 2nd tee. After hole 10, you need to walk around the 14th tee, and look for a narrow gap in the middle (not the end) of the hedgerow to get to the 11th tee. Then go beyond 11, along the 'barely there' path to 12 (which currently has a massive tree downed in it). After 14, walk past the 18th tee to your right for #15. Finally, you'll see (on your left) that the 16th tee requires a walk back up the 15th fairway.

Not to sound like a whiner, but holes 2 and 15 (in the long position) don't seem to have an intended path to the basket (they're really tight wooded lines, if so).

The first teepad is eroding into the creek, and could be a dangerous fall if you're not careful. The hedgerows can be very unforgiving in the summer, forcing you to make some conservative shots at times (not sure if that's a pro or a con, though). There are multiple pin positions (some not yet marked on the map), so a walk ahead may be required on some holes. It would be really neat if they could incorporate an indication of pin position if/when they upgrade the signage here.
Other Thoughts: This is a great course for any Intermediate or above who's traveling I-75 and looking for a workout break. It's one mile west of the interstate at OH exit 44, but when you turn left on Heinke Rd, you'll probably have to double back in the bank or Wendy's parking lot because the park entrance is tucked too close to the intersection to safely do an immediate left-and-left. Go to the end of the park drive, and start to the creek side of the 'Nature Center' shelter.

7 of 7 people found this review helpful.

Worth the trip

2-4    11/14/2012   11/14/2012
Review By: AnimeJ
Played: 14  Reviewed: 10  Exp: 3.3 Years
This review was updated on 4/8/2014
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Solid, well laid out course making good use of terrain features, especially the creeks on 1, 2 and 9. Many holes require planning to make par, such as 15, where an overdrive can land you in a moderately wooded gully. My personal favorite hole was 11 though, which was a relatively tight tunnel shot from the tee, that opens up down hill right to left to the basket. Last, the downhill bomb of 18 to wrap things up was also an enjoyable hole to shoot.
Cons: While the individual holes are well thought out and designed, the course as a hole loses cohesiveness on holes 11-16. Getting to 10 from 11 crosses the tee for 14; going from 14 to 15 crosses the teepad for 18, and getting to 16 crosses the long tee for 18. Last, the path from 11 to 12 could use some widening and reinforcement to reduce erosion as it was a bit narrow to walk down.

On the course itself, while the teepads and baskets are both in good shape, there are several holes with missing and damaged signs. Also, without a map, I don't know that it would be possible to navigate the course easily. Even if you do have a map, bring your land navigation skills.
Other Thoughts: While the biggest improvement that could be made to the course is a partial redesign, focused on improving the flow from holes 11 to 16, some smaller improvements would be welcome. Repairing/replacing tee signs as needed, and adding markers to help folks navigate from hole to hole would also be an outstanding addition here.

Overall, this is a very solid course and well worth the trip(about a 25 minute drive from where I am), but with a little bit of work could be that much better.

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 One of my favorite Dayton courses

5+    8/6/2012   9/27/2012
Review By: douglowe
Played: 41  Reviewed: 7  Exp: 5.3 Years
4 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: This course is very challenging, without beating you up like another local course I won't mention. There are a lot of elevation and terrain changes that add to the fun. The best advice I can give is to not rush and go with the first shot that comes to mind. Quite a few of these holes take some creativity to shoot well on.
Cons: This course is not easy to navigate. The signs have needed replaced for quite some time now. If you're a newer player and not up for a real challenge, this isn't the course for you.
Other Thoughts: Download one of the maps for the course from this site before going for the first time. That's why maps exist. If you can't take the time to investigate a course a little bit before playing it, don't come on here afterwards and complain about how hard it was to find your way around.

This course is in my top 3 in the Dayton area. If you're anywhere in the vicinity I would deflinitely take the time to check Sycamore out. Every hole is unique and has it's own "personality". Don't get discouraged if you don't shoot par, because most non-pro players here don't.

Also, don't jugde the course based on the photos on this site. I've played there numerous times and these photos don't do it justice.

4 of 5 people found this review helpful.

< Prev 1 2 3 4

Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.