Miamisburg, OH 
Sycamore Trails DGC Share
Uploaded By: timg Hole #9 (Taken 3/2009)
4 / 420ft.   4 / 420ft.   3 / 420ft.   3 / 420ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #9 Tee Sign



Reviews: 30
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
A Travelerís Challenge

2-4    1/19/2013   1/20/2013
Review By: sisyphus
Played: 164  Reviewed: 141  Exp: 3.1 Years
6 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: This course OWNS the majority of a park with shelters, playground, bathrooms (in season), and a picturesque reflecting/duck pond, and rolls through and above a couple of woodsy creeks. You'll find Innova Discatcher baskets in good repair (even a practice basket) , and a broad variety of shots, from open field bombs (6, 14, 18), through tunnel shots (11, 16) to nearly impossibly wooded (2), or shots that finish with a tight turn into the woods (3, 15). Elevation comes into play on nearly every hole.

There are some memorable holes here! #1 hooks to the right after crossing the beautiful creek ravine. You'll have a love/hate relationship with hole #2, depending on your skill level. #9 is a long-ish beauty through a clearing, ending in a couple of dastardly basket positions on either side of the ravine. #11 is a long, left-hooking tunnel arched over by the foliage the whole way down the hill. You finish with a blind bomb downhill on 18 back toward the parking lot. This place will stick in your memory.

The infrastructure is decent for a well-traveled (veteran) course: the concrete tees are nicely sized for the distances involved, and the places where you need to cross creeks usually have stone steps, rocks placed across, or a very nice bridge (on 2). There are frequent trash buckets on the tee sign posts, and an occasional fallen tree is used as a bench. The course handles winter melt surprisingly well, so it probably also does well with warm weather moisture.

As a mid-level Rec player, there aren't a whole lot of birdie opportunities, so this course does a fairly good job of separating out the real talent. For example, hole 3 required my arm to place a clean drive around the right-hand bend, then make a clean 100' upshot (with a 40' rise) into a tight tunnel back into the woods, and I was happy to make par (3). I don't have the precision-controlled 340' uphill forehand (I'm RHBH) it would take to set up a birdie. There are a number of holes that require that kind of course management to shoot par here.
Cons: Tee signs are getting to be a little bit dilapidated (many are missing), and 'next tee' indicators are minimal (I saw a brick arrow in the ground once). Bring a map. Course navigation gets a little tricky in spots. For example, you'll walk 50 feet past the bridge to get to the 2nd tee. After hole 10, you need to walk around the 14th tee, and look for a narrow gap in the middle (not the end) of the hedgerow to get to the 11th tee. Then go beyond 11, along the 'barely there' path to 12 (which currently has a massive tree downed in it). After 14, walk past the 18th tee to your right for #15. Finally, you'll see (on your left) that the 16th tee requires a walk back up the 15th fairway.

Not to sound like a whiner, but holes 2 and 15 (in the long position) don't seem to have an intended path to the basket (they're really tight wooded lines, if so).

The first teepad is eroding into the creek, and could be a dangerous fall if you're not careful. The hedgerows can be very unforgiving in the summer, forcing you to make some conservative shots at times (not sure if that's a pro or a con, though). There are multiple pin positions (some not yet marked on the map), so a walk ahead may be required on some holes. It would be really neat if they could incorporate an indication of pin position if/when they upgrade the signage here.
Other Thoughts: This is a great course for any Intermediate or above who's traveling I-75 and looking for a workout break. It's one mile west of the interstate at OH exit 44, but when you turn left on Heinke Rd, you'll probably have to double back in the bank or Wendy's parking lot because the park entrance is tucked too close to the intersection to safely do an immediate left-and-left. Go to the end of the park drive, and start to the creek side of the 'Nature Center' shelter.

6 of 6 people found this review helpful.

 Learned to play here...

5+    2/28/2012   3/15/2012
Review By: TheSkid
Played: 3  Reviewed: 3
3 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: This course is a must play for anyone in Dayton. It has everything a solid disc golf course needs. Open holes on 5,6,10,14 and 18. Nice mix difficulty in the wooded holes as well. 13 has a row of 5 trees directly in the fairway just off the tee. Course is well maintained.
Cons: Lack of signage is a problem for new players. There is an alternate tee on hole one because the first tee is almost washed out. Navigation from the basket of 10 to the tee for 11 does nt flow at all.
Other Thoughts: This course is maintained by a very nice man my friend and I were fortunate enough to meet. He is active in forward development of the course. That being said, the course is always changing. Bring water and maybe even a small snack as it is a hike to play this course.

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 Challenging

2-4    6/16/2011   6/18/2011
Review By: crazypep
Played: 14  Reviewed: 3  Exp: 0.7 Years
This review was updated on 7/25/2012
2 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Awesome holes! Very technical shots and requires some good shot placement! Nice mix of a hike through woods and open fields. Nice practice area for putting. Not a lot of other foot traffic other than disc throwers! Hole #3 is around a blind corner of trees! #11 hole awesome tunnel shot and #17 uphill around big tree! #18 nice finish downhill!
Cons: Hard to navigate with no map if it's your first time, not all holes have signs to the next tee.
Other Thoughts: I would certainly recommend playing this one, just allow for enough time to find your disc on a few holes! The only advice I could offer is play shorter safety shots the first time you play so you don't lose any discs!

2 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 Nice And Challenging

1    9/1/2010   9/30/2010
Review By: Ben17
Played: 62  Reviewed: 31  Exp: 4.6 Years
3 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: To start it off i would have to say that this is a very well maintained course. The community takes very good care of it. The nice and very big concrete launch pads are very nice. They are one of the biggest pads that i have ever seen. The best part about it is that they are also concrete. This is pretty challenging course. They challenge you physically but also mentally. The sign at the tee is nice are very useful. They show the distance and where it is located. That makes it very easy to look for the basket. The practice basket is always nice no matter where you are playing. There are trash cans located at almost every hole,. This keeps the course always looking in top notch shape. The discatcher baskets are also always very nice. They are some of the best baskets around. They have a different variety in the holes. Many are very open while many are also very wooded. It is also located in a very nice area. All the people here are very friendly and helpful try to get you where you need to be.
Cons: There are not many cons but the one main one that i have to point out is the layout. Lets just put it this way, if you dont have a map or someone to guide you on your first time playing here, then well your pretty much screwed. They do not have any holes by eachother. Its like a holes basket is right next to a random hole and now where even close to the next tee. It is very hard to get around even with a map of the course. Also the other main thing that i personally didn't like was that they had no pars listed. The par wasn't on the tee sign or even online. If they want this course to become very nice then they will need to come up with some pars. Hole #1's basket is surrounded by trees. There is no way to get to it. It is very frustrating. On hole #4 it is very easy to lose a disc, as it is on a very steep hill. The disc golf course itself is hard to find. I got lost and then had to ask for some directions.
Other Thoughts: Overall Sycamore Trails is a pretty nice disc golf course. Still alot of work to be done if it is going for a pro course, but for now it is fine how it is. I drove an hour and a half to get there and believe me it was worth it. Great course and i will for sure be coming back here soon. Just a hint if you are taking a GPS system and you use the latitude and longitude to get here it is wrong. It brings you into a pools parking lot. So when it tells you to turn go down two blocks and you will enter the park. It took me plenty of time to try and get there. Also bring some bug spray, you will need it. There are insects everywhere. So i'll be back there soon and so should you.

3 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 wow. tough to play. tough to rate

1    7/12/2010   7/16/2010
Review By: culinarywiz
Played: 170  Reviewed: 66  Exp: 26.1 Years
7 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Incredible challenge.

Great diversity.

This course winds in and out of tight and open conditions.

Concrete pads
Cons: Poor signage

Can be very frustrating...although this can be very subjective

Difficult to navigate
Other Thoughts: Where do I even begin?

This course has all the shots...no doubt. You will need distance drives for sure. You had better pack a good supply of controlled drives and your mid game had better be in order. That is the long version of - "this is a very technical course".

What intrigues me about this course is that there are many "open" holes. When I think of a true technical course, they are all tight and wooded. This course provides the bomber some breathing room. And trust me...you will need it.

Hole three for example, was almost ridiculous. I thought wow, that was tough, then hole 4 came and I thought, "man, this is serious". Even the slightest error will provide you with a bogey at least. You had better send ahead a spotter.

This course is hard to rate because of the frustration that it can present. I threw with another guy that absolutely hated this course. I only bring up his opinion because I respect it, and he has played many of the same coursed I have played.

At the end of the day, I feel the true testament of how great a course is lies in it's diversity. This course has plenty of it. This course will chew you up if you don't have a balanced game.

I look forward to getting back to play this one. i guarantee if you play it once, you will want another chance to tame it.

7 of 7 people found this review helpful.

 Sycamore Trail

1    9/6/2009   9/6/2009
Review By: Corkscrew
Played: 11  Reviewed: 5  Exp: 30.4 Years
1 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: Tough course for beginners, shot placement is at a premium. Nice to have some tightly wooded holes and some good old wide open bomb holes. Loved #16 and #18
Cons: Losers have left alot of trash along course even though there are trash buckets at most tees. TAKE MAP if you are playing its still hard enough to get around with map.
Other Thoughts: Very challenging course

1 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 A solid course

1    3/14/2009   3/18/2009
Review By: timg
Played: 243  Reviewed: 57  Exp: 12.3 Years
14 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: A good amount of hole diversity to be found with plenty of open and wooded holes. Great signage with detailed maps indicating pin positions, next tee, etc. with garbage buckets attached to the posts. Also, the long concrete tee pads on each hole were very nice. I'm not sure if it was a result of the garbage buckets or that I played the course early in the season but it was very clean with little, if any litter to be found.
Cons: For people that take a good look at tee signs this may not be an issue but for someone like me that doesn't pay as much attention to them as I should there are navigation issues. Without a map and if you have a poor memory the layout can be confusing, I found myself wandering around quite a few times. Moral of the story, print a map!

The walk from basket #10 to tee #11 is a little unintuitive as well and it has you crossing #14's fairway. If you are uninformed about the course, finding the first tee might also be an issue as the course bulletin board is on the other side of the parking lot.
Other Thoughts: Sycamore Trails starts out by hitting you in the head with a mallet with some very challenging wooded holes. Hole #1 and #2 have you throwing through narrow wooded corridors where accuracy isn't just a luxury, it's a necessity. Hole #3 puts you out into the open although you'll be throwing at a very well protected basket. From there, you're back in the woods on what I felt could be (and what was in my case) a very punishing hole. It's a short hole that you could get to with a well placed hyzer shot. The punishment comes in if you hit any of the numerous trees that sit between you and the basket. The narrow fairway was built on a very steep hill side and if you kick right you will find yourself at the bottom of the hill trying to throw through countless small trees. They even built stairs off the fairway to make it easier to climb down and retrieve your disc so you can get your inevitable bogey or double bogey.

From there, the course intermixes open and wooded holes and just about every one of them has some element of challenge. The open holes will often have some trees and obstacles to contend with and the heavily wooded holes will demand every ounce of accuracy you can muster. A particular wooded hole that stands out in my mind (besides #4 above) is #16. It is a wooded corridor with a tree dead center of the fairway about 20ft. from the tee. You have around 3-4ft. to work with on either side of the tree with the basket sitting another 140ft. down the corridor. There is room to work and a good shot will get you close to the basket but I can see that hole adding a few strokes to the scorecard as evidenced by the protective gear that tree now sports.

Overall I really enjoyed this course. It had something for everyone from the long, open, grip-and-rip holes to the wooded, accuracy demanding ones and will surely require a diverse repertoire of shots to score well. If you're in Dayton or the Miamisburg area I'd definitely recommend stopping by Sycamore Trails for a round or two (just make sure to print a map).

14 of 14 people found this review helpful.

 Sycomore Trails DGC

1    8/31/2008   9/1/2008
Review By: discgolferjr
Played: 16  Reviewed: 16  Exp: 6.9 Years
This review was updated on 12/8/2009
3 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: Good course. DISCatcher baskets. Some good holes. Concrete teepads. Challenging. Trashcans on almost every hole. Restrooms near #18 basket.
Cons: Ivy. Hole 4 has a huge slope. Easy to lose a disc. Practice basket and Basket 1 missing. Hard to navigate. Rusted chains. Too bad lake doesnt come into play.
Other Thoughts: Belmont Park is 10 minutes away go play it too.

3 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 nice walk about

3/10/2008   3/10/2008
Review By: chuckynobbs
Played: 19  Reviewed: 18  Exp: 15.4 Years
1 Helpful / 5 Not
Pros: couple of cool holes, course seems like someone put a lot of thought in the design
Cons: hard to figure out where to go if new and alone...kind of frustrating

1 of 6 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.