Miamisburg, OH 
Sycamore Trails DGC Share
Uploaded By: timg Hole #10 (Taken 3/2009)
3 / 304ft.   3 / 304ft.   3 / 304ft.   3 / 304ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #10 Tee



Reviews: 30
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
Sycamore DGC

1    8/23/2013   3/23/2014
Review By: Donthavefun3
Played: 29  Reviewed: 7  Exp: 12.6 Years
0 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Physcal challenging course. Some recent work has been done here to make this place more challenging. Lots of elevation changes, and a nice varity of shots.
Cons: Some fresh signs by the tee pads would go a long way. Some are missing and others were just wrong.

0 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Difficult Start

1    8/7/2013   8/10/2013
Review By: Nathan Stahl
Played: 15  Reviewed: 13  Exp: 2.4 Years
1 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: The course starts out very poorly, but once you get to 3rd and 4th holes it makes a great comeback. Many long throws that are not open directly to the basket. You will have to play around obstacles throughout the entire course. One of my playing partners lost a disk, but found another one to replace it. Keep your disk on the groomed path and you will have a great time. Venture off the path and good luck on the hunt.
Cons: The underbrush off the fairways can be a little to thick at times. This is the first course I lost a disk on, but also the first course I found a replacement at the same time. The thick bushes and trees like to hold the disk and not allow them to fall to the ground. I am sure my disk will fall to the ground after a strong wind storm and found by the next golfer.

As for the first two holes it was like the course was created and they came up short of 18 holes. So to fix it the first two hole where created quickly and not laid out very well.

Few of the tee boxes have marker posts that are functional. Time needs to be spent to repair the broken or missing marker post. The post that are present where very helpful to guide play.
Other Thoughts: You must have the map to play the course. Play does not flow easy enough and it would make for a long day of hunting for the tee box and basket without a map. Small trash cans on the course and they are full of trash, but trash was very limited on the field of play. This is a good example of how a course can be maintained if the golfers do their part.

1 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 One of my favorite Dayton courses

5+    8/6/2012   9/27/2012
Review By: douglowe
Played: 31  Reviewed: 7  Exp: 4.6 Years
4 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: This course is very challenging, without beating you up like another local course I won't mention. There are a lot of elevation and terrain changes that add to the fun. The best advice I can give is to not rush and go with the first shot that comes to mind. Quite a few of these holes take some creativity to shoot well on.
Cons: This course is not easy to navigate. The signs have needed replaced for quite some time now. If you're a newer player and not up for a real challenge, this isn't the course for you.
Other Thoughts: Download one of the maps for the course from this site before going for the first time. That's why maps exist. If you can't take the time to investigate a course a little bit before playing it, don't come on here afterwards and complain about how hard it was to find your way around.

This course is in my top 3 in the Dayton area. If you're anywhere in the vicinity I would deflinitely take the time to check Sycamore out. Every hole is unique and has it's own "personality". Don't get discouraged if you don't shoot par, because most non-pro players here don't.

Also, don't jugde the course based on the photos on this site. I've played there numerous times and these photos don't do it justice.

4 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 The Sycamore

5+    7/29/2012   8/6/2012
Review By: preludedrew
Played: 67  Reviewed: 43
0 Helpful / 4 Not
Pros: Pro calibur coarse, extreme variety, extreme walking required, great 18 holes, open and wooded.
Cons: Really tough, youll find discs and lose them.
Other Thoughts: they just started addding some more trees, Hole 1 basket now sits atop stairs on a cement mound.

0 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 One of Dayton's best

5+    11/11/2010   11/14/2010
Review By: kjk3410
Played: 44  Reviewed: 5  Exp: 5.6 Years
8 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Wide variety of shots. Some shorter throws through narrow woods, some medium throws with a few tree obstacles, and some long open throws. In order to be successful, you will need be able to throw shots that curve to both the right and to the left.

In the event that your throw veers off into the woods, finding your disc isn't usually a problem. The woods are often thickest near the edge, but open up once inside.

For the most part, the signs are in good shape. They indicate the location of the pin relative to the tee, as well as the location of the next tee and the distance.
Cons: A few holes are missing signs.

No indication of par on any of the holes. I suppose everything can be considered to be a par 3, but this assumption is just unfair on a few difficult holes (#2 comes to mind, especially with the new pin placement).

Navigation may be an issue for some. There are many trails here, and in several instances the nearest trail does not lead to the next hole. Consequently, "next tee" signs would be very helpful (they don't exist here). After playing the course a few times, navigation does becomes much easier.
Other Thoughts: In my opinion, the first 4 holes are the toughest. #1 requires equal amounts of skill and luck to go through the woods, across the creek, and to the pin.

#2 may be the toughest hole on the course. Opening drive back across the creek will most likely strike a tree, forcing a difficult path up a hill through many trees to reach the pin. I've averaged about a 5 on this hole since the pin was moved up the hill, but I'm also pretty terrible.

#3 requires a long straight drive, followed by sharp right turn into an opening in the woods. Very difficult to make par on this hole, especially if your opening drive is inaccurate.

Finally, #4 is a short hyzer shot, where anything less than perfect will result in your disc rolling down a steep hill into heavy woods. It's just as easy to score a 2 or 3 on this hole as it is to score a 9 or 10. More than any other, this hole punishes mistakes.


8 of 8 people found this review helpful.

 tough... tough but fair

5+    8/18/2009   11/20/2009
Review By: tatonka
Played: 60  Reviewed: 6  Exp: 9.7 Years
This review was updated on 5/8/2010
4 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: tough... not a pro to all i guess, but i prefer a challenge. this course has everything from wide open bombs to 100 foot touch shots through the woods and a duck pond that has the biggest ducks ive ever seen. a great variety of shot types so bring them all. the designers made great use of the tight woods and a creek that runs though the middle of the course... hole 9 is one of my favorite holes in golf, a moderately wooded 300 foot drive, then an approach shot over the creek to a basket precariously perched on the other side. the more i play this course the more i realize the importance of the placement your drive. there are a number of legit par 4's here that require planning if you want a 3... hole 7 is a perfect example. you can try to hit a tiny gap in a line of trees 285' away (which if you miss, your screwed). or do what i do and lay up my drive to the left and throw a giant spike over the trees. its a fun course in the regard that you can play it a few times and not have the same shot twice.
the fist couple of holes can be very daunting, esspecially to new players, but a great course that can have you leaving happy or quite the opposite.
Cons: not marked very well. the first pad is hard to find and once you get to 11 they have you going around in a circle so bring a map. i also got stung by a wasp or something on 13 one time... it swelled up pretty good but im alright.
Other Thoughts: there are a few good courses in the dayton area for sure, but i think this ones the best...sorry belmont i know people have wet dreams about you apparently, but you're second best.

4 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 Long, Difficult, and Most Important Fun

5+    6/2/2009   6/3/2009
Review By: Dizz
Played: 30  Reviewed: 6  Exp: 11.6 Years
8 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: This course not only provides a great exercise its also a very demanding and difficult course.

( Hole #1 Update: tee has changed to where you are looking straight at the Basket around 235' away, sounds easier than it is. Tee shot is looking through quite a few slim trees but watch out for the 20'wide creek that is flowing only 130' from the tee box. Shot selection is key, lay up and go for 3 or shoot for it and try not to hit the trees and then fly over the creek into the green. If you make it that's one H*ll of a shot. )

This course is set in a very nice location and sets you in some deep woods and spits you out for some long bomb shoots into some open fields, course is hard to navigate if you dont have a map and its your first time, some locals have made signs that point you to the next tee. I would not recommend beginners playing this course unless they go in knowing its gonna be a rough ride. Make sure you watch where your disc is going if its heading towards the woods, its VERY easy to lose a disc here, I wouldn't suggest throwing any green discs.

Fairly decent tee signs will show you pin location, they do switch the pins often so be sure to scout the hole before teeing off. 5 gallon buckets for trash cans are on all tee pads.

Cons: Navigation can be hard at times if its your first time out.
Other Thoughts: all around fun course with great elevation changes and difficult pin locations. I enjoy playing this course cause it forces me to dedicate myself to certain shots that you wouldn't normally play on your home course.

8 of 8 people found this review helpful.

 Sweet coruse

5+    10/26/2008   11/19/2008
Review By: kily
Played: 329  Reviewed: 2  Exp: 37.3 Years
2 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: A well rounded course with wooded holes and open ones, short technical holes and long gripit-n-ripit holes. Many blind shots requiering control in both long and short game. There are flat to rolling holes with some holes that have dramatic elevation changes.
Cons: Difficult to find way around for first round with no course map available at shelter.
Other Thoughts: A good course for only a few years old and many improvements continue to be made to make the course more playable.

2 of 4 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.