Miamisburg, OH 
Sycamore Trails DGC Share
Uploaded By: timg Hole #14 (Taken 3/2009)
4 / 477ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #14 Tee



Course Rating Distribution
0.0
0.5
1.0
1.5
2.0
2.5
3.0
3.5
4.0
4.5
5.0

Reviews: 38
Avg. Rating:
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Reviews between: and Sort By:
Exp. (in years): Played: Reviewed: Only Trusted Reviewers
First time playing course

1    12/3/2016   12/3/2016
Review By: Adownard
Played: 15  Reviewed: 1  Exp: 2.5 Years
0 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: This was my first time playing this course and I really enjoyed it, I am a decent disc golfer and I found this course to be one of the more (if not the most) challenging courses in the area. It has a bit of everything. By that i mean it has holes that are heavily wooded with tight corridors to throw down. Open fields to wing it. Uphill and downhill shots/baskets. Even some water hazards. Since I am playing the course in early December almost all leaves were off the trees, probably making it slightly easier. I recommend any intermediate golfer to give this course a try.
Cons: The course is not easy. Most holes seem fairly long and have challenging obstacles. Beginners should not be discouraged by playing this course poorly, because even experienced golfers should have some difficulty playing this course. Only thing I was a little confused about was that the signs on each of the tees had an A and a B basket location. Reading some reviews would have helped me realize there is only one basket per hole, but they are sometimes in different positions? I am not quite sure still.

0 of 2 people found this review helpful.

Sycamore has TEE SIGNS NOW!

5+    9/23/2016   9/23/2016
Review By: Gh0stNappa
Played: 1  Reviewed: 1
3 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: This course is one of the best in Dayton!
- New Tee Signs installed
- Next Tee Signs installed (with some hanging from the baskets)
- Short technical shots and Long bomb throws, this course has it all!
- very clean course, grass cut weekly!
- Each hole feels like a separate hole.
- Baskets moved frequently to prevent repetitiveness
Cons: This is definitely a higher level course. But beginners should not stray away from it! It's a great course to play and learn new shots!
Other Thoughts: This course is a must play if you are in the Dayton area!

Beginners should not stray away from this course at all. This was the first course i ever played and I am much better off because of it. Learning on shorter courses will just make this one seem impossible. But starting out on a longer and tougher course will make all others seem EASY! It's a much better feeling!

Its all about how you present your data, longer holes means more practice!! :D

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

Building character.. one basket at a time

5+    6/26/2016   6/26/2016
Review By: ForearmGalore
Played: 132  Reviewed: 13  Exp: 3.5 Years
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: This course will challenge you to use every shot in your book, and maybe a few you don't have yet. When there hasn't been rain, and the creek is low, this is an incredible course.
-Open space to air it out for long drives
-Tight tunnels with plenty of places for error, BUT, there is a clear path to the basket.
-Some really unique tunnel shots, especially hole 11
-Every hole feels unique, there's no repetition at all
-Good tee pads
-Big park, with a good amount of parking
Cons: -The entrance is in a Terrible spot. You need to approach the entrance heading south. If you take 725 and then try to turn left into the park, you'll need to continue straight a few hundred feet and turn around in a parking lot
-You can loose a disc on every hole. Deep woods, thick tree lines, creek water, this course has it all.
-Bring/Download a map for this one. If you've never been it's hard to find your way to and from a few holes, especially 1 to 2, 7 to 9, and somewhat 10 to 11.
Other Thoughts: This course is NOT for beginners. But, it's a lot of fun.

TIP: I've found a roller to be the best option on 18, especially from the far tee pad. You've gotta throw about 100 ft., then it drops about 300 feet down a hill. Rollers have gotten me the closest every time. BUT you might have trouble tracking it down since you won't be able to watch it roll.

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 

5+    5/7/2014   5/17/2014
Review By: Bachmann_3
Played: 20  Reviewed: 7  Exp: 6.8 Years
3 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Great variety
Challenging course, but still presents ace and birdie opportunities.
Park gets very little traffic
Benches and a bathroom near the practice basket short drive from the mall in a good neighborhood
Cons: Course gets close to the street on several holes
VERY difficult for the average player
Can be easy to lose or find a disc, (Course motto is Sycamore giveth, Sycamore taketh away)
Creek gets very high after heavy rain
Other Thoughts: Sycamore is my personally appointed home course. Being only 15 minutes from my house, I have played this course almost once a month or more since I first began playing. Sycamore is NOT a beginner course, but has several short holes that are birdie or ace opportunities for anyone. Very tight woods, rolling terrain, OB and elevation changes make this course difficult to finish below +10 for an amateur player playing singles. There is something nostalgic about this course that keeps you coming back despite imminent bogeys or worse. This course will make you better no matter what your skill level.

3 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 Very Challanging, Very Fun

2-4    8/8/2011   8/10/2011
Review By: flyersfan331
Played: 5  Reviewed: 2
0 Helpful / 10 Not
Pros: Great course for pros if you just want to get some practice before a tournement. It's not tournement worthy but very hard. This course is my favorite.
Cons: Great course for cons too beacause it's very hilly and has some long holes. This course is my favorite.

0 of 10 people found this review helpful.

 love it

5+    7/20/2010   7/27/2010
Review By: moshjosh368
Played: 15  Reviewed: 3  Exp: 6.8 Years
0 Helpful / 5 Not
Pros: love the layout there is a little of everything. very challenging and its not to long but long enough.
Cons: hard to get around it if you dont know where you are. should be trimmed up a little more in the wooded areas and paths to the next hole.
Other Thoughts: great course for all types of players.

0 of 5 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.
Disc Golf Center