Miamisburg, OH 
Sycamore Trails DGC Share
Uploaded By: timg Hole #18 (Taken 3/2009)
4 / 401ft.   4 / 401ft.   3 / 449ft.   3 / 449ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #18 Tee Sign



Reviews: 30
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
 Learned to play here...

5+    2/28/2012   3/15/2012
Review By: TheSkid
Played: 3  Reviewed: 3
3 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: This course is a must play for anyone in Dayton. It has everything a solid disc golf course needs. Open holes on 5,6,10,14 and 18. Nice mix difficulty in the wooded holes as well. 13 has a row of 5 trees directly in the fairway just off the tee. Course is well maintained.
Cons: Lack of signage is a problem for new players. There is an alternate tee on hole one because the first tee is almost washed out. Navigation from the basket of 10 to the tee for 11 does nt flow at all.
Other Thoughts: This course is maintained by a very nice man my friend and I were fortunate enough to meet. He is active in forward development of the course. That being said, the course is always changing. Bring water and maybe even a small snack as it is a hike to play this course.

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 Mixed Feelings

1    11/24/2011   12/10/2011
Review By: zapplayer12
Played: 123  Reviewed: 40  Exp: 16.5 Years
3 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Sycamore Hills has a quality collection of open/woods holes. On the technical wooded holes, the fairways are generally quite narrow but thankfully are shorter in length so errant shot recovery is manageable (for example: #4, 12, 13 & 16 are all < 200ft. with only one woods hole - #2 - being over 300ft.) . The more open holes are generally longer (= or > 300ft with none more that 445ft.) but not excessive as to frustrate newer players or too easy for the more experienced player.

The course compels shot variety & has a decent balance of right/left/straight holes. Elevation was incorporated as much as it could be when available. In addition, pin placement consideration was noticeable with some on steep slopes, near water, tree jailed, etc. There is water in play on three holes as well (1, 2 & 9).

My favorite hole was #9 (despite it bordering Rt. 725) - a 420ft, lightly wooded, slightly downhill hole which meets a narrow strip of woods at the end, then introduces a modest ravine divided by a small creek. On the other side is the basket, uphill & placed on very fast, sloping green. A very enjoyable par 3 compound hole.

The most challenging hole is #2 - immediately off the tee is a throw over the creek through thick, technical woods, reverse S curving to a basket elevated on an extremely steep incline. It plays longer than 322ft and is one tough par 3 as roll away putt potential is probable.

The always preferred concrete tee pads were in good shape & the tee signs were sufficient as far as distance and hole layout. There were buckets on some tee signs for trash which, while a little odd and esthetically detracting, accomplished the objective.

Conveniently located off I-75 south of Dayton, it's definitely an easy drive-by play.
Cons: A map is essential for a first time player here. Navigation is sort of a mess and the 'layout by committee' design leaves much to be desired as far as flow is concerned - making the course feel disjointed and fragmented. Add in some long walks between fairways (passing other tees that are closer/seem like the next logical tee) as well as across fairways and these design flaws stick out like a sore thumb - significantly lowering the 'fun factor'.

There were some missing tee signs (vandalism?) but hole #1 having no sign whatsoever was a glaring omission . At the very least, spray paint the tee # on the concrete tee pad.

I liked the idea of 18's downhill bomb to end things but having it be blind is a safety issue.

Tee signs without par was noticeable however I just assumed all were a par 3.
Other Thoughts: This course undoubtedly has its fair share of challenging and enjoyable holes but suffers from some design/flow issues. It honestly feels like a 'tweener' in several ways....newer players may find it somewhat difficult (tight fairways/some longer holes) while the more experienced may find it lacking in some aspects (no real 'wow' factor and a lack of true pro-style holes magnifies the repetitive feel). It also doesn't feel quite mature (quirky layout/inconsistencies/underdeveloped holes) but at times flirts with perfection (holes 1-4 being a really stand-out sequence). It's as if the course hasn't yet found its identity and its potential not quite realized.

I have such ambivalence towards Sycamore Hills that I find it tough to recommend but can't not recommend it (if that contradiction and double negative makes any sense). While it's somewhere between a 3-3.5, this is one of those time where I feel a rounding down is necessary. Hopefully the next time I'm in the area, my schedule will allow another play in anticipation of growth, improvement & development.

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 Definition of Homey

5+    10/24/2011   11/1/2011
Review By: DrewMillerRH
Played: 96  Reviewed: 10
1 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: Many unique and challenging tee shots, good use of elevation, gorgeous scenary in fall and spring, well, as far as Ohio is concerned.....
Cons: The course is fun, but the trickery of some of the "fairways" are akin more to putt putt than golf. A share of illogical fairways, many are reachable in one shot but blind, the flow of the course is confusing as well ( bring a map). More of a what not to do than do from a golf course design perspective.

1 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 Very Challanging, Very Fun

2-4    8/8/2011   8/10/2011
Review By: flyersfan331
Played: 5  Reviewed: 2
0 Helpful / 10 Not
Pros: Great course for pros if you just want to get some practice before a tournement. It's not tournement worthy but very hard. This course is my favorite.
Cons: Great course for cons too beacause it's very hilly and has some long holes. This course is my favorite.

0 of 10 people found this review helpful.

 Challenging

2-4    6/16/2011   6/18/2011
Review By: crazypep
Played: 14  Reviewed: 3  Exp: 0.8 Years
This review was updated on 7/25/2012
2 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Awesome holes! Very technical shots and requires some good shot placement! Nice mix of a hike through woods and open fields. Nice practice area for putting. Not a lot of other foot traffic other than disc throwers! Hole #3 is around a blind corner of trees! #11 hole awesome tunnel shot and #17 uphill around big tree! #18 nice finish downhill!
Cons: Hard to navigate with no map if it's your first time, not all holes have signs to the next tee.
Other Thoughts: I would certainly recommend playing this one, just allow for enough time to find your disc on a few holes! The only advice I could offer is play shorter safety shots the first time you play so you don't lose any discs!

2 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 Mix of Shots

1    5/29/2011   6/14/2011
Review By: hooked312
Played: 34  Reviewed: 17  Exp: 6.5 Years
6 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: - This course will require a multitude of different shots and would be challenging for almost any level of player.
- No two holes were alike. There were a good mix of wooded holes, water hazards(1,2). and longer holes mixed throughout the course.
- Most of the tees had signs showing you where the hole was and the next tee in relation to that basket.
- A nice practice basket to warm up.
- Locals were nice in helping me find my way around the course.
Cons: - The first two holes are lacking signage. Once I got through those there were only a few other walks between holes that were tricky. (definitely take a picture of the course map before playing).
- #4 had a large downed tree that made navigation difficult.
Other Thoughts: - 1 and 2 are tight wooded holes
- 3 opens up into a field, but then 4 is right back in the woods for a nice challenge.
- Although 5 and 6 are out in the field they have a nice little challenge to them.
- 7 you have to hit a 10 yard opening to come back to the basket. 8 feels a little out of place.
- 9 requires a good tee shot and then back across the creek. 10 is a nice open anyhyzer shot.
- 11 is a cool tunnel hole. 12 and 13 are shorter wooded holes.
- 14 is a shorter version of #7. and #15 is also somewhat of a similar set up with a straight drive then an abrupt dogleg.
- 16 is a very short ace run. 17 is an uphill pretty straight forward hole.
- And then 18 is a long bomb, over a hill, blindshot.

- I love courses that require a good hike. and this course definitely has that feel. Only a few of the holes are in wide open fields otherwise you feel as though you are playing along trails.
- This wildness also seemed to hinder some of the holes as they felt overgrown in areas.
- This course is a good stop for anybody heading through the Dayton area, it was easy to find off the highway.

6 of 6 people found this review helpful.

 Lots of potential

1    9/10/2010   11/17/2010
Review By: mashnut
Played: 815  Reviewed: 770  Exp: 12.7 Years
4 Helpful / 4 Not
Pros: The course plays in a hilly park with a nice mix of open areas and tight woods. Many holes play through tight corridors, with some cool shots into or out of the woods and some open shots mixed in. A couple small creeks come into play adding a little bit of risk/reward without being disc eaters. The rough on most holes is thick enough to really punish you for missing your line.

There is a really good mix of lengths and hole shapes here. There are some ace run holes and some longer shots where you get to pull out a driver, with a nice variety in between. You'll need a good mix of shots to score well here, with a fairly balanced set of left and right turning holes. The baskets and concrete pads are in pretty good shape, and the signs that are in place are helpful with hole layout and distance, as well as direction to the next tee.
Cons: The navigation here is pretty weird, and often hard to follow even with the tee signs pointing the general direction. There are some long walks, you're often closer to a different tee than the one you need to go to next, and a couple walks cross other fairways. I had the course map up on my phone, without that it would have been difficult to find our way around.

The course info says this was designed by committee, and it shows. The course doesn't really have a consistent feel or really seem to be designed as a whole course, it really feels like a bunch of people came up with an idea for a hole and all of those got put together. The course doesn't use the elevation available nearly as well as it could have, which is a little disappointing. The best example of this is the last hole which has the potential to be a cool downhill finishing hole, but the tee was moved back on the top of the hill to make it more difficult. This turns the hole into a blind downhill shot where you don't get to see the flight of the disc, and you're throwing at two parking lots.
Other Thoughts: There are some fun holes here, and enough variety and challenge to make it worth a stop. It's a little disappointing that it feels a little run down with broken signs and trash, and fairways that need a little more clearing, some work could make this a really cool place to work. Beginners might find the challenge level a little high here, with several tight holes and some distance. More experienced players will enjoy several of the holes here, and will need to bring a variety of shots to score well.

4 of 8 people found this review helpful.

 One of Dayton's best

5+    11/11/2010   11/14/2010
Review By: kjk3410
Played: 39  Reviewed: 5  Exp: 5.4 Years
8 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Wide variety of shots. Some shorter throws through narrow woods, some medium throws with a few tree obstacles, and some long open throws. In order to be successful, you will need be able to throw shots that curve to both the right and to the left.

In the event that your throw veers off into the woods, finding your disc isn't usually a problem. The woods are often thickest near the edge, but open up once inside.

For the most part, the signs are in good shape. They indicate the location of the pin relative to the tee, as well as the location of the next tee and the distance.
Cons: A few holes are missing signs.

No indication of par on any of the holes. I suppose everything can be considered to be a par 3, but this assumption is just unfair on a few difficult holes (#2 comes to mind, especially with the new pin placement).

Navigation may be an issue for some. There are many trails here, and in several instances the nearest trail does not lead to the next hole. Consequently, "next tee" signs would be very helpful (they don't exist here). After playing the course a few times, navigation does becomes much easier.
Other Thoughts: In my opinion, the first 4 holes are the toughest. #1 requires equal amounts of skill and luck to go through the woods, across the creek, and to the pin.

#2 may be the toughest hole on the course. Opening drive back across the creek will most likely strike a tree, forcing a difficult path up a hill through many trees to reach the pin. I've averaged about a 5 on this hole since the pin was moved up the hill, but I'm also pretty terrible.

#3 requires a long straight drive, followed by sharp right turn into an opening in the woods. Very difficult to make par on this hole, especially if your opening drive is inaccurate.

Finally, #4 is a short hyzer shot, where anything less than perfect will result in your disc rolling down a steep hill into heavy woods. It's just as easy to score a 2 or 3 on this hole as it is to score a 9 or 10. More than any other, this hole punishes mistakes.


8 of 8 people found this review helpful.

 Nice And Challenging

1    9/1/2010   9/30/2010
Review By: Ben17
Played: 62  Reviewed: 31  Exp: 4.6 Years
3 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: To start it off i would have to say that this is a very well maintained course. The community takes very good care of it. The nice and very big concrete launch pads are very nice. They are one of the biggest pads that i have ever seen. The best part about it is that they are also concrete. This is pretty challenging course. They challenge you physically but also mentally. The sign at the tee is nice are very useful. They show the distance and where it is located. That makes it very easy to look for the basket. The practice basket is always nice no matter where you are playing. There are trash cans located at almost every hole,. This keeps the course always looking in top notch shape. The discatcher baskets are also always very nice. They are some of the best baskets around. They have a different variety in the holes. Many are very open while many are also very wooded. It is also located in a very nice area. All the people here are very friendly and helpful try to get you where you need to be.
Cons: There are not many cons but the one main one that i have to point out is the layout. Lets just put it this way, if you dont have a map or someone to guide you on your first time playing here, then well your pretty much screwed. They do not have any holes by eachother. Its like a holes basket is right next to a random hole and now where even close to the next tee. It is very hard to get around even with a map of the course. Also the other main thing that i personally didn't like was that they had no pars listed. The par wasn't on the tee sign or even online. If they want this course to become very nice then they will need to come up with some pars. Hole #1's basket is surrounded by trees. There is no way to get to it. It is very frustrating. On hole #4 it is very easy to lose a disc, as it is on a very steep hill. The disc golf course itself is hard to find. I got lost and then had to ask for some directions.
Other Thoughts: Overall Sycamore Trails is a pretty nice disc golf course. Still alot of work to be done if it is going for a pro course, but for now it is fine how it is. I drove an hour and a half to get there and believe me it was worth it. Great course and i will for sure be coming back here soon. Just a hint if you are taking a GPS system and you use the latitude and longitude to get here it is wrong. It brings you into a pools parking lot. So when it tells you to turn go down two blocks and you will enter the park. It took me plenty of time to try and get there. Also bring some bug spray, you will need it. There are insects everywhere. So i'll be back there soon and so should you.

3 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 Our home course

5+    8/30/2010   9/3/2010
Review By: sickem2
Played: 5  Reviewed: 5  Exp: 7.6 Years
2 Helpful / 7 Not
Pros: Love the layout of thos course. But if you dont know where your walking, print out a map. Leave your ego at home, and play a par 3 game. And dont throw anything green, clear, or tiedye. Just forwarning
Cons: I like the old tee pad for #1. We still throw from that pad. Its more challenging. Maybe move the baskets around more. Maybe change positon for #2, #6, #10, #11, #17
Other Thoughts: Ive you have ever played this course a few years ago, it was ALOT harder with all the overgrown pine trees, and brush. So yes it was more challenging, but it will alot of fun. A wide array of shot and skill leavels are required for this course. Oh.. this makes Belmont look like putt putt :o) Shoot a -13 here

2 of 9 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.