Miamisburg, OH 
Sycamore Trails DGC Share
Uploaded By: timg Hole #4 (Taken 3/2009)
3 / 184ft.   3 / 184ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #4 Tee Sign

Reviews: 33
Avg. Rating:
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Reviews between: and Sort By:
Exp. (in years): Played: Reviewed: Only Trusted Reviewers
 One of Dayton's best

5+    11/11/2010   11/14/2010
Review By: kjk3410
Played: 44  Reviewed: 5  Exp: 6.5 Years
8 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Wide variety of shots. Some shorter throws through narrow woods, some medium throws with a few tree obstacles, and some long open throws. In order to be successful, you will need be able to throw shots that curve to both the right and to the left.

In the event that your throw veers off into the woods, finding your disc isn't usually a problem. The woods are often thickest near the edge, but open up once inside.

For the most part, the signs are in good shape. They indicate the location of the pin relative to the tee, as well as the location of the next tee and the distance.
Cons: A few holes are missing signs.

No indication of par on any of the holes. I suppose everything can be considered to be a par 3, but this assumption is just unfair on a few difficult holes (#2 comes to mind, especially with the new pin placement).

Navigation may be an issue for some. There are many trails here, and in several instances the nearest trail does not lead to the next hole. Consequently, "next tee" signs would be very helpful (they don't exist here). After playing the course a few times, navigation does becomes much easier.
Other Thoughts: In my opinion, the first 4 holes are the toughest. #1 requires equal amounts of skill and luck to go through the woods, across the creek, and to the pin.

#2 may be the toughest hole on the course. Opening drive back across the creek will most likely strike a tree, forcing a difficult path up a hill through many trees to reach the pin. I've averaged about a 5 on this hole since the pin was moved up the hill, but I'm also pretty terrible.

#3 requires a long straight drive, followed by sharp right turn into an opening in the woods. Very difficult to make par on this hole, especially if your opening drive is inaccurate.

Finally, #4 is a short hyzer shot, where anything less than perfect will result in your disc rolling down a steep hill into heavy woods. It's just as easy to score a 2 or 3 on this hole as it is to score a 9 or 10. More than any other, this hole punishes mistakes.

8 of 8 people found this review helpful.

 Nice And Challenging

1    9/1/2010   9/30/2010
Review By: Ben17
Played: 65  Reviewed: 31  Exp: 5.7 Years
3 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: To start it off i would have to say that this is a very well maintained course. The community takes very good care of it. The nice and very big concrete launch pads are very nice. They are one of the biggest pads that i have ever seen. The best part about it is that they are also concrete. This is pretty challenging course. They challenge you physically but also mentally. The sign at the tee is nice are very useful. They show the distance and where it is located. That makes it very easy to look for the basket. The practice basket is always nice no matter where you are playing. There are trash cans located at almost every hole,. This keeps the course always looking in top notch shape. The discatcher baskets are also always very nice. They are some of the best baskets around. They have a different variety in the holes. Many are very open while many are also very wooded. It is also located in a very nice area. All the people here are very friendly and helpful try to get you where you need to be.
Cons: There are not many cons but the one main one that i have to point out is the layout. Lets just put it this way, if you dont have a map or someone to guide you on your first time playing here, then well your pretty much screwed. They do not have any holes by eachother. Its like a holes basket is right next to a random hole and now where even close to the next tee. It is very hard to get around even with a map of the course. Also the other main thing that i personally didn't like was that they had no pars listed. The par wasn't on the tee sign or even online. If they want this course to become very nice then they will need to come up with some pars. Hole #1's basket is surrounded by trees. There is no way to get to it. It is very frustrating. On hole #4 it is very easy to lose a disc, as it is on a very steep hill. The disc golf course itself is hard to find. I got lost and then had to ask for some directions.
Other Thoughts: Overall Sycamore Trails is a pretty nice disc golf course. Still alot of work to be done if it is going for a pro course, but for now it is fine how it is. I drove an hour and a half to get there and believe me it was worth it. Great course and i will for sure be coming back here soon. Just a hint if you are taking a GPS system and you use the latitude and longitude to get here it is wrong. It brings you into a pools parking lot. So when it tells you to turn go down two blocks and you will enter the park. It took me plenty of time to try and get there. Also bring some bug spray, you will need it. There are insects everywhere. So i'll be back there soon and so should you.

3 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 Our home course

5+    8/30/2010   9/3/2010
Review By: sickem2
Played: 5  Reviewed: 5  Exp: 8.7 Years
2 Helpful / 7 Not
Pros: Love the layout of thos course. But if you dont know where your walking, print out a map. Leave your ego at home, and play a par 3 game. And dont throw anything green, clear, or tiedye. Just forwarning
Cons: I like the old tee pad for #1. We still throw from that pad. Its more challenging. Maybe move the baskets around more. Maybe change positon for #2, #6, #10, #11, #17
Other Thoughts: Ive you have ever played this course a few years ago, it was ALOT harder with all the overgrown pine trees, and brush. So yes it was more challenging, but it will alot of fun. A wide array of shot and skill leavels are required for this course. Oh.. this makes Belmont look like putt putt :o) Shoot a -13 here

2 of 9 people found this review helpful.

 love it

5+    7/20/2010   7/27/2010
Review By: moshjosh368
Played: 15  Reviewed: 3  Exp: 5.7 Years
0 Helpful / 5 Not
Pros: love the layout there is a little of everything. very challenging and its not to long but long enough.
Cons: hard to get around it if you dont know where you are. should be trimmed up a little more in the wooded areas and paths to the next hole.
Other Thoughts: great course for all types of players.

0 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 wow. tough to play. tough to rate

1    7/12/2010   7/16/2010
Review By: culinarywiz
Played: 185  Reviewed: 66  Exp: 27.3 Years
7 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Incredible challenge.

Great diversity.

This course winds in and out of tight and open conditions.

Concrete pads
Cons: Poor signage

Can be very frustrating...although this can be very subjective

Difficult to navigate
Other Thoughts: Where do I even begin?

This course has all the doubt. You will need distance drives for sure. You had better pack a good supply of controlled drives and your mid game had better be in order. That is the long version of - "this is a very technical course".

What intrigues me about this course is that there are many "open" holes. When I think of a true technical course, they are all tight and wooded. This course provides the bomber some breathing room. And trust will need it.

Hole three for example, was almost ridiculous. I thought wow, that was tough, then hole 4 came and I thought, "man, this is serious". Even the slightest error will provide you with a bogey at least. You had better send ahead a spotter.

This course is hard to rate because of the frustration that it can present. I threw with another guy that absolutely hated this course. I only bring up his opinion because I respect it, and he has played many of the same coursed I have played.

At the end of the day, I feel the true testament of how great a course is lies in it's diversity. This course has plenty of it. This course will chew you up if you don't have a balanced game.

I look forward to getting back to play this one. i guarantee if you play it once, you will want another chance to tame it.

7 of 7 people found this review helpful.

 tough... tough but fair

5+    8/18/2009   11/20/2009
Review By: tatonka
Played: 69  Reviewed: 6  Exp: 10.7 Years
This review was updated on 5/8/2010
4 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: tough... not a pro to all i guess, but i prefer a challenge. this course has everything from wide open bombs to 100 foot touch shots through the woods and a duck pond that has the biggest ducks ive ever seen. a great variety of shot types so bring them all. the designers made great use of the tight woods and a creek that runs though the middle of the course... hole 9 is one of my favorite holes in golf, a moderately wooded 300 foot drive, then an approach shot over the creek to a basket precariously perched on the other side. the more i play this course the more i realize the importance of the placement your drive. there are a number of legit par 4's here that require planning if you want a 3... hole 7 is a perfect example. you can try to hit a tiny gap in a line of trees 285' away (which if you miss, your screwed). or do what i do and lay up my drive to the left and throw a giant spike over the trees. its a fun course in the regard that you can play it a few times and not have the same shot twice.
the fist couple of holes can be very daunting, esspecially to new players, but a great course that can have you leaving happy or quite the opposite.
Cons: not marked very well. the first pad is hard to find and once you get to 11 they have you going around in a circle so bring a map. i also got stung by a wasp or something on 13 one time... it swelled up pretty good but im alright.
Other Thoughts: there are a few good courses in the dayton area for sure, but i think this ones the best...sorry belmont i know people have wet dreams about you apparently, but you're second best.

4 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 Sycamore Trail

1    9/6/2009   9/6/2009
Review By: Corkscrew
Played: 11  Reviewed: 5  Exp: 31.6 Years
1 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: Tough course for beginners, shot placement is at a premium. Nice to have some tightly wooded holes and some good old wide open bomb holes. Loved #16 and #18
Cons: Losers have left alot of trash along course even though there are trash buckets at most tees. TAKE MAP if you are playing its still hard enough to get around with map.
Other Thoughts: Very challenging course

1 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 Long, Difficult, and Most Important Fun

5+    6/2/2009   6/3/2009
Review By: Dizz
Played: 30  Reviewed: 6  Exp: 12.6 Years
8 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: This course not only provides a great exercise its also a very demanding and difficult course.

( Hole #1 Update: tee has changed to where you are looking straight at the Basket around 235' away, sounds easier than it is. Tee shot is looking through quite a few slim trees but watch out for the 20'wide creek that is flowing only 130' from the tee box. Shot selection is key, lay up and go for 3 or shoot for it and try not to hit the trees and then fly over the creek into the green. If you make it that's one H*ll of a shot. )

This course is set in a very nice location and sets you in some deep woods and spits you out for some long bomb shoots into some open fields, course is hard to navigate if you dont have a map and its your first time, some locals have made signs that point you to the next tee. I would not recommend beginners playing this course unless they go in knowing its gonna be a rough ride. Make sure you watch where your disc is going if its heading towards the woods, its VERY easy to lose a disc here, I wouldn't suggest throwing any green discs.

Fairly decent tee signs will show you pin location, they do switch the pins often so be sure to scout the hole before teeing off. 5 gallon buckets for trash cans are on all tee pads.

Cons: Navigation can be hard at times if its your first time out.
Other Thoughts: all around fun course with great elevation changes and difficult pin locations. I enjoy playing this course cause it forces me to dedicate myself to certain shots that you wouldn't normally play on your home course.

8 of 8 people found this review helpful.

 A solid course

1    3/14/2009   3/18/2009
Review By: timg
Played: 300  Reviewed: 58  Exp: 13.5 Years
14 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: A good amount of hole diversity to be found with plenty of open and wooded holes. Great signage with detailed maps indicating pin positions, next tee, etc. with garbage buckets attached to the posts. Also, the long concrete tee pads on each hole were very nice. I'm not sure if it was a result of the garbage buckets or that I played the course early in the season but it was very clean with little, if any litter to be found.
Cons: For people that take a good look at tee signs this may not be an issue but for someone like me that doesn't pay as much attention to them as I should there are navigation issues. Without a map and if you have a poor memory the layout can be confusing, I found myself wandering around quite a few times. Moral of the story, print a map!

The walk from basket #10 to tee #11 is a little unintuitive as well and it has you crossing #14's fairway. If you are uninformed about the course, finding the first tee might also be an issue as the course bulletin board is on the other side of the parking lot.
Other Thoughts: Sycamore Trails starts out by hitting you in the head with a mallet with some very challenging wooded holes. Hole #1 and #2 have you throwing through narrow wooded corridors where accuracy isn't just a luxury, it's a necessity. Hole #3 puts you out into the open although you'll be throwing at a very well protected basket. From there, you're back in the woods on what I felt could be (and what was in my case) a very punishing hole. It's a short hole that you could get to with a well placed hyzer shot. The punishment comes in if you hit any of the numerous trees that sit between you and the basket. The narrow fairway was built on a very steep hill side and if you kick right you will find yourself at the bottom of the hill trying to throw through countless small trees. They even built stairs off the fairway to make it easier to climb down and retrieve your disc so you can get your inevitable bogey or double bogey.

From there, the course intermixes open and wooded holes and just about every one of them has some element of challenge. The open holes will often have some trees and obstacles to contend with and the heavily wooded holes will demand every ounce of accuracy you can muster. A particular wooded hole that stands out in my mind (besides #4 above) is #16. It is a wooded corridor with a tree dead center of the fairway about 20ft. from the tee. You have around 3-4ft. to work with on either side of the tree with the basket sitting another 140ft. down the corridor. There is room to work and a good shot will get you close to the basket but I can see that hole adding a few strokes to the scorecard as evidenced by the protective gear that tree now sports.

Overall I really enjoyed this course. It had something for everyone from the long, open, grip-and-rip holes to the wooded, accuracy demanding ones and will surely require a diverse repertoire of shots to score well. If you're in Dayton or the Miamisburg area I'd definitely recommend stopping by Sycamore Trails for a round or two (just make sure to print a map).

14 of 14 people found this review helpful.

 Sweet coruse

5+    10/26/2008   11/19/2008
Review By: kily
Played: 333  Reviewed: 3  Exp: 38.3 Years
2 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: A well rounded course with wooded holes and open ones, short technical holes and long gripit-n-ripit holes. Many blind shots requiering control in both long and short game. There are flat to rolling holes with some holes that have dramatic elevation changes.
Cons: Difficult to find way around for first round with no course map available at shelter.
Other Thoughts: A good course for only a few years old and many improvements continue to be made to make the course more playable.

2 of 4 people found this review helpful.

Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.