Miamisburg, OH 
Sycamore Trails DGC Share
Uploaded By: timg Hole #7 (Taken 3/2009)
3 / 487ft.   3 / 487ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #7 Tee



Reviews: 30
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
1 2 3 Next >
 love it

5+    7/20/2010   7/27/2010
Review By: moshjosh368
Played: 15  Reviewed: 3  Exp: 4.4 Years
0 Helpful / 5 Not
Pros: love the layout there is a little of everything. very challenging and its not to long but long enough.
Cons: hard to get around it if you dont know where you are. should be trimmed up a little more in the wooded areas and paths to the next hole.
Other Thoughts: great course for all types of players.

0 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 wow. tough to play. tough to rate

1    7/12/2010   7/16/2010
Review By: culinarywiz
Played: 166  Reviewed: 66  Exp: 25.9 Years
7 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Incredible challenge.

Great diversity.

This course winds in and out of tight and open conditions.

Concrete pads
Cons: Poor signage

Can be very frustrating...although this can be very subjective

Difficult to navigate
Other Thoughts: Where do I even begin?

This course has all the shots...no doubt. You will need distance drives for sure. You had better pack a good supply of controlled drives and your mid game had better be in order. That is the long version of - "this is a very technical course".

What intrigues me about this course is that there are many "open" holes. When I think of a true technical course, they are all tight and wooded. This course provides the bomber some breathing room. And trust me...you will need it.

Hole three for example, was almost ridiculous. I thought wow, that was tough, then hole 4 came and I thought, "man, this is serious". Even the slightest error will provide you with a bogey at least. You had better send ahead a spotter.

This course is hard to rate because of the frustration that it can present. I threw with another guy that absolutely hated this course. I only bring up his opinion because I respect it, and he has played many of the same coursed I have played.

At the end of the day, I feel the true testament of how great a course is lies in it's diversity. This course has plenty of it. This course will chew you up if you don't have a balanced game.

I look forward to getting back to play this one. i guarantee if you play it once, you will want another chance to tame it.

7 of 7 people found this review helpful.

 tough... tough but fair

5+    8/18/2009   11/20/2009
Review By: tatonka
Played: 58  Reviewed: 6  Exp: 9.3 Years
This review was updated on 5/8/2010
4 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: tough... not a pro to all i guess, but i prefer a challenge. this course has everything from wide open bombs to 100 foot touch shots through the woods and a duck pond that has the biggest ducks ive ever seen. a great variety of shot types so bring them all. the designers made great use of the tight woods and a creek that runs though the middle of the course... hole 9 is one of my favorite holes in golf, a moderately wooded 300 foot drive, then an approach shot over the creek to a basket precariously perched on the other side. the more i play this course the more i realize the importance of the placement your drive. there are a number of legit par 4's here that require planning if you want a 3... hole 7 is a perfect example. you can try to hit a tiny gap in a line of trees 285' away (which if you miss, your screwed). or do what i do and lay up my drive to the left and throw a giant spike over the trees. its a fun course in the regard that you can play it a few times and not have the same shot twice.
the fist couple of holes can be very daunting, esspecially to new players, but a great course that can have you leaving happy or quite the opposite.
Cons: not marked very well. the first pad is hard to find and once you get to 11 they have you going around in a circle so bring a map. i also got stung by a wasp or something on 13 one time... it swelled up pretty good but im alright.
Other Thoughts: there are a few good courses in the dayton area for sure, but i think this ones the best...sorry belmont i know people have wet dreams about you apparently, but you're second best.

4 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 Sycamore Trail

1    9/6/2009   9/6/2009
Review By: Corkscrew
Played: 11  Reviewed: 5  Exp: 30.3 Years
1 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: Tough course for beginners, shot placement is at a premium. Nice to have some tightly wooded holes and some good old wide open bomb holes. Loved #16 and #18
Cons: Losers have left alot of trash along course even though there are trash buckets at most tees. TAKE MAP if you are playing its still hard enough to get around with map.
Other Thoughts: Very challenging course

1 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 Long, Difficult, and Most Important Fun

5+    6/2/2009   6/3/2009
Review By: Dizz
Played: 30  Reviewed: 6  Exp: 11.3 Years
8 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: This course not only provides a great exercise its also a very demanding and difficult course.

( Hole #1 Update: tee has changed to where you are looking straight at the Basket around 235' away, sounds easier than it is. Tee shot is looking through quite a few slim trees but watch out for the 20'wide creek that is flowing only 130' from the tee box. Shot selection is key, lay up and go for 3 or shoot for it and try not to hit the trees and then fly over the creek into the green. If you make it that's one H*ll of a shot. )

This course is set in a very nice location and sets you in some deep woods and spits you out for some long bomb shoots into some open fields, course is hard to navigate if you dont have a map and its your first time, some locals have made signs that point you to the next tee. I would not recommend beginners playing this course unless they go in knowing its gonna be a rough ride. Make sure you watch where your disc is going if its heading towards the woods, its VERY easy to lose a disc here, I wouldn't suggest throwing any green discs.

Fairly decent tee signs will show you pin location, they do switch the pins often so be sure to scout the hole before teeing off. 5 gallon buckets for trash cans are on all tee pads.

Cons: Navigation can be hard at times if its your first time out.
Other Thoughts: all around fun course with great elevation changes and difficult pin locations. I enjoy playing this course cause it forces me to dedicate myself to certain shots that you wouldn't normally play on your home course.

8 of 8 people found this review helpful.

 A solid course

1    3/14/2009   3/18/2009
Review By: timg
Played: 239  Reviewed: 57  Exp: 12.2 Years
14 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: A good amount of hole diversity to be found with plenty of open and wooded holes. Great signage with detailed maps indicating pin positions, next tee, etc. with garbage buckets attached to the posts. Also, the long concrete tee pads on each hole were very nice. I'm not sure if it was a result of the garbage buckets or that I played the course early in the season but it was very clean with little, if any litter to be found.
Cons: For people that take a good look at tee signs this may not be an issue but for someone like me that doesn't pay as much attention to them as I should there are navigation issues. Without a map and if you have a poor memory the layout can be confusing, I found myself wandering around quite a few times. Moral of the story, print a map!

The walk from basket #10 to tee #11 is a little unintuitive as well and it has you crossing #14's fairway. If you are uninformed about the course, finding the first tee might also be an issue as the course bulletin board is on the other side of the parking lot.
Other Thoughts: Sycamore Trails starts out by hitting you in the head with a mallet with some very challenging wooded holes. Hole #1 and #2 have you throwing through narrow wooded corridors where accuracy isn't just a luxury, it's a necessity. Hole #3 puts you out into the open although you'll be throwing at a very well protected basket. From there, you're back in the woods on what I felt could be (and what was in my case) a very punishing hole. It's a short hole that you could get to with a well placed hyzer shot. The punishment comes in if you hit any of the numerous trees that sit between you and the basket. The narrow fairway was built on a very steep hill side and if you kick right you will find yourself at the bottom of the hill trying to throw through countless small trees. They even built stairs off the fairway to make it easier to climb down and retrieve your disc so you can get your inevitable bogey or double bogey.

From there, the course intermixes open and wooded holes and just about every one of them has some element of challenge. The open holes will often have some trees and obstacles to contend with and the heavily wooded holes will demand every ounce of accuracy you can muster. A particular wooded hole that stands out in my mind (besides #4 above) is #16. It is a wooded corridor with a tree dead center of the fairway about 20ft. from the tee. You have around 3-4ft. to work with on either side of the tree with the basket sitting another 140ft. down the corridor. There is room to work and a good shot will get you close to the basket but I can see that hole adding a few strokes to the scorecard as evidenced by the protective gear that tree now sports.

Overall I really enjoyed this course. It had something for everyone from the long, open, grip-and-rip holes to the wooded, accuracy demanding ones and will surely require a diverse repertoire of shots to score well. If you're in Dayton or the Miamisburg area I'd definitely recommend stopping by Sycamore Trails for a round or two (just make sure to print a map).

14 of 14 people found this review helpful.

 Sweet coruse

5+    10/26/2008   11/19/2008
Review By: kily
Played: 329  Reviewed: 2  Exp: 36.9 Years
2 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: A well rounded course with wooded holes and open ones, short technical holes and long gripit-n-ripit holes. Many blind shots requiering control in both long and short game. There are flat to rolling holes with some holes that have dramatic elevation changes.
Cons: Difficult to find way around for first round with no course map available at shelter.
Other Thoughts: A good course for only a few years old and many improvements continue to be made to make the course more playable.

2 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 Sycomore Trails DGC

1    8/31/2008   9/1/2008
Review By: discgolferjr
Played: 16  Reviewed: 16  Exp: 6.7 Years
This review was updated on 12/8/2009
3 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: Good course. DISCatcher baskets. Some good holes. Concrete teepads. Challenging. Trashcans on almost every hole. Restrooms near #18 basket.
Cons: Ivy. Hole 4 has a huge slope. Easy to lose a disc. Practice basket and Basket 1 missing. Hard to navigate. Rusted chains. Too bad lake doesnt come into play.
Other Thoughts: Belmont Park is 10 minutes away go play it too.

3 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 confusing, mix of good and bad

6/24/2008   6/24/2008
Review By: Innovadude
Played: 225  Reviewed: 178  Exp: 16.2 Years
5 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: -Several really nice top notch holes
-Challenging
-Good pads
-Nice land, well maintained
Cons: -Easy to lose disc
-Ivy
-Hard to navigate, you will waste lots of time figuring out where to go next and walking up on the hole, and finding the first 2 holes, if playing alone
-Many blind shots
-Does not "flow"
Other Thoughts: Needs some re-design in a few spots, better signs and waymarkers. Hole #1 needs to be pointed out better, hard to find and basket is missing as of 06/24/08.

5 of 8 people found this review helpful.

 nice walk about

3/10/2008   3/10/2008
Review By: chuckynobbs
Played: 19  Reviewed: 18  Exp: 15.3 Years
1 Helpful / 5 Not
Pros: couple of cool holes, course seems like someone put a lot of thought in the design
Cons: hard to figure out where to go if new and alone...kind of frustrating

1 of 6 people found this review helpful.

1 2 3 Next >

Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.